Show Those Pearly Whites!

I ran across a very interesting article called, Healthy Mouth, Healthy Body? The Impact of Teeth, Breath & Gum Problems, on WebMD. It listed 6 ways that having healthy teeth and gums helps boost overall health.

  1. Boosts your Self Esteem and Confidence
  2. May Lower Risk of Heart Disease
  3. Preserves your Memory
  4. Reduces Risk of Infection & Inflammation in the Body
  5. Helps Keep Blood Sugar Stable
  6. Helps Pregnant Women Carry to Term

To read about each one…visit the article for some interesting information! But this got me thinking about my own dental hygiene. It is good but not great. I typically brush twice a day (morning and night) and floss once or twice a week. I use just plain old Aquafresh toothpaste and a plain old soft bristle toothbrush. Now let’s take Keith. He brushes his teeth easily 3 to 4 times a day, flosses every night, uses the Sonicare toothbrush and rinses with fluoride a few times a week. He is clearly better at his dental care than I am. Yet I don’t have cavities when I go to the dentist and despite my coffee addiction I have very white teeth, I never have a lot of tartar or plaque build up and the only real problem is that I brush too hard and am causing my gums to recede. But I will say that in all my areas of ‘health’ this is where I tend to slack of the most. I will shamelessly admit that there have been many nights where I have gone to bed with a ‘dirty mouth’ out of the sheer laziness of getting up to take the 5 minutes to brush. And I will admit that on occasion a ‘tooth-brushing’ event might only last about 30 second.  Hum…probably something I need to work on! 🙂

Do you have a good oral hygiene regime in place?

On another childhood obesity note! (YAY YAY for awareness) Anna Miller sent me this link today because she thought it would be something my readers (and me) would be interested in. SHE IS RIGHT!! 10 Ways to Fight Obesity in Your School! Great read! I urge you to read and forward it out! I am loving all the attention you guys are giving to this issue! MY READERS ROCK!

30 Responses

  1. I try to floss everyday but it’s one of those things i forget often. I am writing about how unhealthy college eating is tomorrow so you may be interested? It’s more like a rant about schools lol!

  2. I have the same regimen that you have… just the basics 🙂

  3. Ugh I totally don’t take as good of care as my teeth as I should. Going to the dentist today and not looking forward to it.

  4. I floss twice a day!! It’s almost an obsession, sometimes I do it more.

    Great informative post!

  5. I’m borderline obsessive when it comes to my oral hygiene. I get cavities really easily (compared to my husband who never flosses yet never gets cavities). One doctor told me it was because my teeth were really tight together and my molars have deep grooves. Whatever the reason, I’m crazy about keeping them clean. I also attended a scientific talk about periodontal disease and was so grossed out by the photos that I have flossed nightly ever since. (And love love love my electric toothbrush.)

    Another thing about good dental health: there’s a link between periodontal disease and diabetes, kind of along the lines of the heart disease link where the inflammation may cause the disease.

  6. Oh man, I seriously need to floss. I’m such a slacker!

  7. I slack in this area, but I’ve been getting better. I’ve started flossing once a day (I usually do it about five days a week or so). Thanks for the article!

  8. i am definitely a slacker in the oral care department, compared keith anyway! i brush twice a day, floss a couple days a week, and that’s about it. thanks for the article!

  9. i need a good good job…i need health benefits…cuz i really need eye and dental stuff 😦

  10. For the most part I take great care of my teeth by religously brushing and flossing, but I too have those nights when all I can think of is getting to my bed and I have no interest in brushing, let alone flossing!! Andrew brushes twice a day no matter what, rinses with mouthwash, but I can’t for the life of me convince him to floss. He never has cavities though, so I just stopped trying, haha! 😉

  11. My sis always tells me about the scary cases she sees in the clinic.. so even if I am tired i get out of the bed and brush my teeth..

  12. I just went to the dentist today 😀

  13. I like to take care of my teeth 🙂

  14. I am obsessive about my teeth, like Keith. I brush first thing when I wake up and then again after coffee and at night. I floss once a day and rinse with a fluoride rinse at night. I have one of those electric toothbrushes, too, because the last time I went to the dentist they said it would help with my receding gums (I brush too hard too!). But, I’ve only been to the dentist once in the last 9 years!

  15. I am SO OCD about my teeth! I want them to be white…white as computer paper! I sleep with bleach trays from the Dentist.
    I feel like today was talk about Teeth day! I went to the Dentist this morning, my mouth STILL hurts!

    • Seriously the dentist is my LEAST favorite doctor…there is just something about having someone digging in my mouth that grosses me out!

  16. Holy moly! I learned a lot in this post! Good teeth hygiene can do so much! I only knew about self esteem and save money.

    I brush too hard, too. I think I’m going to need grafting sometime in the next 5-10 years 😦

  17. I always brush my teeth before bed no matter what and it’s the first thing I do when I wake up, even before I eat anything. I very rarely floss, though. I need to work on that for sure.

  18. This post hits home for me! When I weighed 300 pounds I didn’t go to the dentist for 8 years because I was embarrassed and afraid I wouldn’t fit in the chair.

    When I lost all my weight I went and guess what? I had 8 cavities – maybe one for each year I missed.

    Great post!

  19. i am embarrased to say i rarely floss 😦 bad me…….i know i should! love your site so glad you found me today 🙂

  20. I have an electric toothbrush but am too lazy to use it a lot of the time. I don’t know why I find it harder than a manual toothbrush! I probably floss 4 days a week.

    One of my best friends works for WebMD. They have an Atlanta office.

  21. My teeth look nice on the outside but are in MAJOR need of a dentist visit. I am too afraid though but just need to suck it up and go. They could definitely be whiter but years of smoking and cigarettes definitely took a toll on them. Maybe my April goal will be go to the dentist??

  22. I’m always reading about the importance of good oral hygiene but never really make it a priority in my life. I must! It seems to be linked to so many other health areas!
    I am like you- I brush, floss sometimes, and wouldn’t think twice if I forgot to brush before bed. Though I don’t really get cavities ever, I’d like to start a better routine, especially with better flossing!

  23. Taking care of my teeth is DEFINITELY one of my weak points in taking care of my health. I do brush 2x/day at least and floss regularly but I know my mouth needs extra TLC. And sadly, I haven’t been to the dentist in way too long. This is the 2nd post I have read about teeth today. I think it may be a sign. LOL

  24. I’ve heard about the connection between dental health and physical health. It really makes sense when you think about it.
    I used to be a total slacker with my teeth, but I’m trying to do better now. Years of binge/purge sessions really messed with my teeth. So did all the store bought whitening treatments I used. I can only brush my teeth now with Sensodyne Pronamel or my teeth get too sensitive. I’ve never had a cavity (by some miracle) and I’m trying to keep it that way.

  25. I’m obsessive about dental hygiene…but that’s not always a good thing! Like you mentioned, I brush too hard, and I have severely sensitive teeth due to receding gumlines. If I could impart wisdom on anyone, it would be…don’t brush obsessively or hard! It can lead to serious pain down the road.

  26. I’m not as good about flossing as I should be, BUT I do chew a lot of gum and eat fruits & veggies. I think they help to keep things healthy 🙂 I went to the dentist bright and early this morning – no cavaties. Yay!!

Leave a Reply

