Who’s Who Wednesday

Good Morning!!!

Good morning peeps! How is everyone doing this fine Wednesday morning. I am gggrrreeaaattt! (think Tony the Tiger!) I just busted out an awesome 10 mile run at 7.0 with a 1 % incline (had to treadmill it this morning because I gotta lot going on and had to start early) I feel awesome! I am currently doing the breakfast thing: coffee, egg whites and yesterday’s cinnamon raisin steel cut oats before heading out to meet Janet for a nice 3 mile run. Janet is my running lady on M,W, and F and I have to brag on her really quickly.  About a year ago she came to me not being able to run 5 minutes without stopping…and now sheesh…she is a running fool! She can easily go an hour without stopping! It is amazing what hard work and dedication can do! GO JANET! Woot! Woot!

Another person I need to mention is one of my best friends, Hilary!! She and her husband are AMAZING and Keith and I love love love them! Well she has entered the blogging world! YAY! And I urge you to go check her out. She is a good soul and I am lucky to know her (and live about 10 minutes away!!! JEALOUS? You should be!) She ran my first marathon with me, has been there for me through good and bad times and basically just rocks! Anyway…go check her out here! And for good measure I am posting this adorable self portrait of her:

Aint she cute?

Dinner last night was an easy easy one. Keith had grilled some fresh red snapper and flounder (THANKS JAMES) the other night and I just reheated that and paired it with a big salad (mixed greens, avocado, cucumber and sunflower seeds) and we were good to go.

Easiest dinner ever...thanks Keith!

Thanks for everyone’s opinion on the Brazilian Butt Lift post from yesterday. I think after doing a little research and thanks to Ellen’s advice, I am now considering the Physique 57 Program. I am one that needs a program like this. I can run all day everyday and am easily the most self-motivated person on the planet when it comes to running. But for weight lifting I need a class…hence why I do body pump…and this program looks like something that would be very complimentary to my workout routine (of running and body pump). What do you think about this one? I am also planning on being Katie’s Insanity Partner when she finishes P90X in a few months! That is going to be F-U-N!

Has anyone done the Physique 57 Program?

Okay last thing, then I gotta jet out of here. Is there one thing that, no matter how bad the day, always makes you smile? For me it is simply completing the daily crossword in the paper (in pen). There is just something about opening the paper and finding the blank crossword and then making it all work that makes me happy! 🙂 And with that…guess who finished today’s? Today is gonna be good….

What simple pleasure do you find each day?

52 Responses

  1. I love doing crosswords, too! The simple pleasures I find everyday are coming home before my hubby, relaxing and just reading a bit. So nice. 🙂

  2. Simple pleasures are family time for sure 🙂 And hearing my baby laugh! Its the most precious thing in the world!!

  3. So glad you’re feeling better!!! My simple pleasure is a glass of wine after a long day…or in the middle of a long day 🙂

  4. I love Physique57. The long workout is one of my favorite DVDs. The burn I get, especially from the leg work, is fantastic. I haven’t tried the shorter P57 DVDs, yet.

    Simple pleasure? A walk in the sun.

  5. Way to go with that run. And now you’re off for another one? Do you ever stop??? LOL. I love doing sudoku puzzles. My one pleasure every day though is to read in bed for about an hour.

  6. wow you are up and going girl 🙂 so happy to find another morning person! i haven’t done physique 57, but i have heard really good things about it! i would say that i take pleasure in walking on my lunch break (or running!) every day that i can…it’s such a stress reliever!

  7. I have heard great things from other bloggers about Physique 57 – can’t wait to hear what you think of it.

    How cool that you are going to be Katie’s Insanity partner. It’s great to have a good friend to help motivate you on tough workouts. I just finished P90X and started Insanity and Brazil Butt Lift yesterday. Insanity is a KILLER. After my workout this morning (4:30 AM) I wanted to crawl back into bed I was so exhausted. I can’t find a friend to workout with me at that hour. Imagine??

    What makes me happy no matter how bad the day? A good workout followed by a glass of wine. I know….not the healthiest but I love it!

  8. My simple pleasure is actually a looong hot shower with a yummy smelling body wash! 🙂

  9. Definitely dessert. I’m not sure if that’s because it’s sugary and amazing or because it’s in that in-between time I love–after work and before bed when I can just relax.

  10. Mine is definitely a relaxing breakfast while reading the news (or blogs)!

  11. I wish I liked crossword puzzles more! I always want to, but my brain doesn’t work like that, haha. You’re lucky to have such good running buddies…glad you had a good one this morning, YOU ARE MY HERO for that 7 min pace….that’s my goal. 🙂 Happy Wednesday!

  12. Thanks for the shoutout, Kel!

    Curling up with a good book when it’s quiet is my simple pleasure. The whole world goes away.

  13. This will sound lame but a simple pleasure for me? Waking up next to my hubby and giving him a big ‘ol hug before getting out of bed. He even has this little song he sings in the morning that ALWAYS makes me smile and is just the cutest sweetest thing ever. And yes, he’d totally be embarrassed if he knew I was telling you all this. 😉

  14. I love the 30 minutes between when I first wake up and before I head out the door in my running shoes. I usually am curled up on the couch with a cup of coffee, wrapped in a blanket, and quietly reading blogs so I don’t wake John up! It’s definitely my “me” time!

  15. That’s so awesome about Janet’s running improvements! All about hard work and dedication 🙂

  16. Wow! Your running buddy is awesome! I honestly need one because the BF won’t run with me (I’m much slower paced than he is, and he doesn’t like going slow).

  17. I haven’t tried Physique 57 yet but I would LOVE to! I’ve thought about taking one of their classes here in NYC but haven’t found a way to squeeze it into the budget yet!

  18. yay for your friend joinin the blog world! Ill def check her out. Ive never seen physique 57 but have heard of it in the celeb world i think. might as well try it!

  19. Ahh, Hilary sounds like a wonderful friend- there’s nothing better!
    And I have heard the best things about Physique 57- good luck if you try it out!
    Simple pleasures for me mean walking with Daniel, doing crosswords, reading, and baking. Love them all!
    Happy Wednesday my dear!!

  20. Thanks for the blogroll add! I’m blushing. 😉

    Oh and cute new pic! I noticed it last night after you posted on my wall- adorable!

  21. I need a class for that too 🙂 I want to try Insanity but the price tag scares me away! I don’t know much about Physique 57 but I always hear good things…Can’t wait to hear about whatever you decide to do!!

  22. I’ve heard great things about Physique 57 as well and have been considering it. We have a copy of the P90x videos, but haven’t tried them yet. Our apt is small, so I don’t think it’s going to be conducive to the program. But maybe after my marathon I will give it a shot – I’ll need a new motivation. Let us know how you like Physique57 if you start it.

    Little things like enjoying my coffee in the morning before a barrage of work hits me is alway nice. I get very upset if I don’t have that calm time to adjust to the new day.

  23. That fish avocado salad looks amazing! My simple pleasure is just reading a little bit each night before bed. Right now, I am reading Food Inc…. never heard of that 57 thing

  24. So many simple pleasures I enjoy these days but one of my favorites is enjoying a cup of coffee in the morning with my Husband.

  25. I have never heard of physique57, but you’ve peaked my interest in it!

    My simple pleasures include hot showers, smoothies, and watching my kitty fall asleep in my lap. And finding a really great new band with wonderful new music to add to my repertoire. That’s always great.

    This is my first time commenting so I just wanted to say, I love your blog and your bright, positive disposition!

  26. My simple pleasure is actually sitting down for my midmorning coffee during my girl’s nap and either reading a book or catching up on blogs.

  27. My simple pleasure is going for walks. I love running for fitness, but I walk to relax and enjoy the scenery.

  28. You go girl.. you are on fire today!

    Cuddling with Sadie ALWAYS makes me feel better 🙂

    As far as the oatmeal face mask goes.. it really help my irritated face… my face was burning and itching and it calm it down. I have done on Sun, Mon and Last night, different variations but starting with oatmeal.

  29. Yes Yes YES! PHYSIQUE 57!!! I’ve done the classes here in NYC and do the short DVDs regularly. I need to try the longer ones. It is great for sculpting, lengthening and lifting. (PS. My friend Erin at: http://www.o-cookies.blogspot.com is in the vid!) Kelly Ripa does it four times a week, if that tells you anything. No matter how fit you are, you will be challenged. Your muscles will be shaaaaking. It’s awesome!

    Love your positivity, Kel—it’s inspiring!

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  30. I’ve heard Kelly Ripa does that class. That’s all. Only in the States. I need a kick in the butt to do anything, and even then it doesn’t work.
    Cute pics.

  31. My simple pleasure is singing in the car on my way to work. Its just fun. 🙂

  32. I have not done the Phsyique, but I’m all about some bodypump and p90x. I miss it!

    Simple pleasure: reading something each night that is NOT school/teaching related. It’s how I take a few moments to disconnect myself from my job. I look forward to it each night. Lately, I’m reading Food, Inc, Born to run, and a trashy Harlequin book :p

    • Hooray for trashy reads! I started New Moon last night (I am determined to get through the Twilight series!)

      • I have all of them on my nightstand right now. I read the first one and heard about the second one with Jacob and just couldn’t make myself read it. I want her to be with Edward. Maybe this summer, I ‘ll read the others.

  33. that’s awesome about janet! wowzaaa! 🙂

    also, my simple pleasure is absolutely my dog. seeing her sleepy at the end of a long day or drowsy in the morning is the most adorable thing in the world.

  34. You are my hero! Two days ago sick as a dog, today, running 13 miles at a “leisurely” pace…wowza.

    I’m a big crossword addict too. I actually have several books, since I don’t get the paper. It is part of my nighttime routine. That or reading in my pjs with some tea. I’m an old dork.

  35. My simple pleasure is a cup of coffee in the morning. Insta-good mood :)!!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  36. For me it’s that 1st cup of coffee in the morning. It just gets me into my day! Now I’m going to go check out your friend’s blog.
    by the way, how early do you get out for your run in the morning? I don’t know how you do it 10 or more miles every morning! I’d have to get up at like 5am to do it! That’s not going to happen 😉

    • Keith and I get up every morning at 4:30am. He had to open up the gym at 5:00am so I am up by default. On days when I run outside I typically wait until closer to 6 so that it isn’t too dark outside. 🙂 You get used to it!

      • Every once in a while I get up for an early run. Maybe someday when I don’t have any little ones waking up in the night I’ll be able to do it. For now I’ll just keep reading about your early morning runs and doing mine later! lol It’s inspirational to read about your 10 mile runs each morning…it helps to get me out there! 🙂

    • That is so sweet….thank you. 🙂

  37. If you get up by 4.30am at what time do you go to sleep at night??

    It’s difficult for me to think these small positive things, I am not that happy-shiny-person as you 🙂 So reading your blog makes me happy. A huge coffee mug in the morning makes me happy too. When my dog (still very young) behaves well I am happy. But mostly I am happy when I can escape the everyday rutines.

Leave a Reply

