Mama Knows Best (and more great recipes)

One of Keith’s favorite things is egg salad. I have tried time and time again to make it for him and each time he smiles, eats it and tells me is was good. (not great, not fantastic, not please make again…just good) Then every time we go visit the in-laws in Dallas his mom makes egg salad and Keith is over the moon, tongue hanging out, drool slowly sliding down his chin, excited! Obvioiusly…mama knows best! So I called Keith’s mom for the recipe and today is Keith’s LUCKY day because I made him his mama’s egg salad. He tasted it…I waited…and ever so slowly that look of sheer food coma bliss started to emerge! I DID IT! I successfully recreated the classic and I owe it all to my mother-in-law! 

EGG SALAD from the mother-in-law’s kitchen! 

Mom's Egg Salad

  • 12 hard-boiled eggs
  • 1 jar of green olives & pimento (5 3/4 oz)
  • 2-3 ribs celery
  • 2-3 tablespoons mayonnaise
  • salt & pepper; to taste
  • paprika for dusting

 In a food processor, first dice celery. Remove. Cut the eggs in half and add them to the food processor and pulse a few short times. Then add the entire jar (juice included) of olives, the celery, the mayonnaise, salt and pepper. Pulse a few more quick times to incorporate everything. Pour into a container and dust with paprika! Tada…yumminess awaits! 

I also made up another batch of steel-cut oats in the crockpot. This is the way to go people! Forget the stove top! They come out so creamy and delicious. Today’s rendition: 

Cinnamon Raisin Steel Cut Oats 

Cinnamon Raisin Steel Cuts

  • 1 cup steel-cut oats
  • 4 1/2 cups water
  • 1 tablespoon butter (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins

Mix everything in the crockpot and cook on low for 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally. PERFECT! 

Serves 6-8

(based on 8 servings) 125.1 Calories; 2.8g Fat (1.2g saturated fat); 3.9mg Cholesterol; 150.9mg Sodium; 24.7g Carbohydrates; 2.8g Fiber; 5.4g Sugar; 3.3g Protein

What dish do you (or your significant other) love that ‘mama’ just makes better? 

On a more serious note, Jill, wrote this post last week and it is AWESOME! Please go read this. She commented on my blog that this was right up my alley and she knows me! It definitely hits to the heart of the childhood obesity problem that I am so passionate about! WAY TO GO JILL!

47 Responses

  1. i would say my mom makes AMAZING enchiladas, and his mom has this amaretto cake that rocks my face off…i’ve tried both recipes, but it never tastes as good as mom’s!

  2. I think I would LOVE that egg salad because I love olive juice!

  3. There’s still certain things that just taste better when my momma makes them. I think it’s a mom gene.

  4. I think growing up in your momma’s kitchen is why EVERYTHING tastes better made by her. I guess it’s an acquired taste. Haha now I want to see mommy 🙂

  5. My husband loves egg salad but I can do it. I have this thing against mayonnaise and certain food fears related to eggs (as in they don’t mix with mayo or ketchup). Anyhow, my husband loves egg salad and only gets it when he makes it himself and I don’t have to watch him eat it. So I’ll have to pass this on.

    On a (more appetizing, for me) note: Those oats look great. Good to know a slow-cooker works. I love steel-cut oats but I’m not a fan of how long it takes to stand at the stove and make them. Throwing them in there and walking away is smart

  6. This seems weird but my Mom makes the best salad dressing! I try to recreate it and it’s never the same.

  7. My mom’s enchiladas are a classic dish! Nothing can top them in my book!

  8. I love egg salad, it looks delish! My mom makes um, everything, better than me. When I’m home, I never ever want to go out to eat which is the opposite of when I’m on my own- I love trying restaurants. Her food is just way better!

  9. My mother-in-law is a home ec. teacher…so no pressure on me or anything! lol. She makes awesome cookies, and I’m not a baker, so my husband can just live with it and eat her delicious treats when we go to visit 🙂

  10. i love eggs.
    i fail – i open a package of oats and add boiling water 🙂
    hope u are feeling better.

  11. Those oats look yummy – think I’ll be trying them for breakfast tomorrow!

  12. If you ask my husband “Mama” makes everything best. Hahaaa.

  13. I love egg salad. My boyfriend won’t eat eggs though. His grandma put a hard boiled egg in his mouth once as punishment and he never got over it.

    Anyhow, I make borscht all the time. I love it, and he says its great. But its not the same as the stuff his grandma makes. Doesn’t even come close.

  14. YUM that egg salad looks So good!! I love egg salad on rye toast…brings me back to my jewish roots

    My mom makes the BEST homemade soups! i cannot get over that everytime she makes a different kind it is mouth watering! i want her to make a soup book!

  15. My boyfriend’s mom is an amazing cook – and never a recipe in sight! There’s no way I could recreate her drool-worthy dishes, so I just make sure to steal the leftovers!

  16. I love egg salad! That recipe sounds wonderful!! 🙂

    Andrew’s mom is a terrible cook, so noooooooo pressure at all for me, haha!! 😉 We ate there on Sunday and green beans from a can as one of our sides… and her meat is always dry and bland, blech. Anyway, my grandmother is my favorite cook in our family and there are countless dishes she makes that I could never recreate: any kind of pie, spaghetti sauce, lasagna, chocolate chip cookies just to name a few! 😉

  17. Oh my gosh. I was going to tell you about Nutrition Detectives too, as I just discovered them. I actually wrote to Dr. Katz to tell him how impressed I was and if there was any freelance work I could do. While he didn’t give me anything specific, they told me to feel free to pass out the materials they have to school administrations. Maybe we could put our heads together and come up with a plan to reach more people? I’ve tried on my own to reach out the school system and it’s not going so well. AND I’m glad you’re better and your egg salad looks delish!

  18. Egg salad, love eggs, never really had egg salad though. Does your mama-in-law read your blog – or the rest of your family for that matter?
    And my ma always made everything taste better…when she burn anything that is…kidding! no, secret ingredients i guess. oh wait – my grand-ma made the best gumdrop cake ! the secret was actually just eating it frozen…but i think it was her 🙂

    • Yes my family reads my blog (Hi mom…Hi Dad) haha! Keith’s parent’s read my blog on occasion…they are older (in their 70’s) and so they whole internet thing can sometimes be confusing. But I sent her the link so hopefully she sees what a happy boy I made her son today!! 🙂

  19. I love the green olives and pimento–I need to try that recipe!!!

    I have tried time and time again to make my mom’s pork taco recipes but it never turns out as well. Maybe because it is made with so much love? lol

  20. Both of those dishes look superb! I LOVE a good egg salad sandwich or wrap.

    And I ADORE steel cut oats! I used to make them all of the time, I don’t know why I fell away from eating them so often! Making them in the crock pot seems like a wonderful idea. I assume you eat them throughout the week? How long do they last for?

    • You got it…we eat on them all week. They usually last the entire week between me and my husband. I make a new batch every Sunday or so (last week I did a tropical version) But you can always halve the recipe if it is just you! 🙂

  21. Your crock pot steel cut oats look so much better than mine. Mine didn’t turn out so hot the time I tried to make them.

  22. i haven’t made egg salad or steel cut oats in too long, which is a shame as i love both of them 🙂 hmm, everything mom makes is yummy… although i know i wasn’t as easy to please as a kid! maybe it’s mommy juice? 🙂

  23. My mom is definitely a better cook than I am … i can never master the persian food like her.

  24. what a DELISH couple recipes!! love me some egg salads 🙂
    and my bfs mom makes the BOMB cookie dough!

  25. I still need to get on the crockpot oats bandwagon.

    I don’t know where I got the cooking/baking gene, because my momma certainly didn’t pass it down. unless it is a recessive gene (gosh, I’m a nerd, but I have to bust out all that biology stuff I’ve been cramming in there). When I go home, I cook for her!

  26. Mmmm I just adore egg salad! I love to eat it while the mix is still warm, on toast! Deeelish!
    I’m so glad you’re feeling better now!!

  27. Glad the commenting box is fixed for you on my site.

    And all the awesome things you said about me, my abilities, my recipes, that you know I can and will excel…thank you, Kelly. You are such a doll!!!!!!!!! Wow. So nice to hear these things from a woman like yourself who i feel the exact same about!

    Love the new avatar/headshot thingey. The cap that you used to have on in the old pic was cute, but i love seein’ your sassy hair…va va voom!

    xoxo

  28. My mom makes the best meatloaf! I cannot replicate it.

    Also, as a comment to your previous post, I’m almost certain that you don’t have any trouble spots! You don’t need to buy the Brazilian Booty Lift thing!!!

  29. oh, his mom makes way better peanut butter cookies. i get told this every time i try to recreate … maybe i should give in and ask for the recipe. we’ve only been married for 10 years.

  30. His mom wins hands down in the meat cooking department! I don’t make much of it (once in a blue moon and when it is it’s usually cooking up chicken sausages), so he always turns to mama for that! He claims I won him over with pumpkin bread and I definitely win in the “baked goods” category!

  31. my mom’s scones are to die for. i loved this post! it is so fun to read about everyone’s moms!

  32. Wow, you really went an extra mail for Keith!! My mom-in-low sucks in the kitchen and my husband doesn’t have any good memories from his mom’s cookings. Actually he is a chef now parttly because his mom didn’t cook (neither dad) so he had to learn to cook for himself very young. And since I am married to this amazing chef he really cooks everything so well that I don’t miss my mom’s cookings at all.

  33. Nothing beats memories of mom cooking! So a big congratulations to you for matching his mom’s dish! I love egg salad 🙂

  34. My Mom makes everything better, she’s my inspiration in the kitchen. She doesn’t use recipes so it’s hard to re-create her dishes, only she gets them right.

  35. […] I feel awesome! I am currently doing the breakfast thing: coffee, egg whites and yesterday’s cinnamon raisin steel cut oats before heading out to meet Janet for a nice 3 mile run. Janet is my running lady on M,W, and F […]

  36. First of all, the cinnamon raisin steel cut oats look dee-lish.

    This may sound crazy, but my Mom makes a fantastic sandwich. There’s something about the layering and condiment to filling ratio that is really satisfying.

    She also makes the best apple crisp I’ve ever had. Hers is WAY better than mine. I suspect it has something to do with the amount of sugar she uses vs. the amount of sugar I use. Mmmm, I wish I had some right now.

  37. […] it was onto the egg salad.  I got the idea from Kelly’s blog.  I really enjoy making recipes that other bloggers have made…I find so many great ideas! I […]

  38. […] Cinnamon Raisin Steel-Cut Oats […]

Leave a Reply

