Check. Check. Check Me Out!

A while back (and I mean a long while back) I came across a contest that Taste of  Home was doing. The contest was to submit a recipe with 5 ingredients or less for the Taste of Home Simple & Delicious Magazine. Taste of Home would then narrow down all the entries and actually make the ones that sounded the best and then from there there would be 4 winners and 8 runner’s up. So 12 people would actually win…and I thought heck why not. I mean really what were the odds…slim to none…but I thought it would be fun.

Well…I was selected as a Runner Up! And I was published in the Simple & Delicious June/July edition!!! I can’t believe it!!! The recipe I submitted was my all-time favorite chicken recipe! (oh and FYI: salt and pepper didn’t count in the ingredient list)

MARGARITA CHICKEN

  • 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice
  • ½ cup frozen margarita mix, thawed
  • 1 ½ pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon pepper
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced

Mix chicken, margarita mix, lime juice and garlic in a Ziploc bag. Marinate overnight. Remove chicken and reserve marinade.

Place chicken on grill. Brush with more marinade and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover and grill 15 minutes. Turn and brush with additional marinade and add more salt and pepper, to taste. Cook until chicken is done and is no longer pink in the center.

Yields: 6 servings

CALORIES 119.7; FAT 1.5g (0g saturated fat); CHOLESTEROL 55mg; SODIUM 243.6mg; CARBOHYDRATE 4.9g; FIBER 0g; SUGARS 4.1g; PROTEIN 23.1g

The Magazine
My Published Recipe…it has my name on it and everything! I am so excited!!!
The actual recipe!

Do you “geek” out when you see your name in a magazine? I obviously do! 🙂

47 Responses

  1. Congrats! I was told I *might* be in a food network mag issue and I’ve kept my eye out ever since

  2. Congratulations!!!! Such exciting news – not that I’m surprised b/c your recipes are AWESOME!

  3. Congrats!!!! I would certainly be ecstatic too.

  4. Congrats, Kelly! I would be just as ecstatic : )

  5. um OMG that’s awesome! i’m entering a contest soon too, and i’m really hoping that something comes of it. i would totally geek out and buy a million copies and frame them all if that happened 🙂

  6. Congrats!! I would frame it 🙂

  7. Um…I’ve never seen my name in a magazine so I’d say YEAH I’D GEEK OUT! So exciting, Kel! I love that recipe.

  8. Look at you! That’s awesome! Congrats on your new-found fame! 🙂

  9. congrats! i could point it out to people and be all like I KNOW HER! 🙂 youre a celebrity!

  10. AHHHH!!! That is sooo cool. Seriously. You are such a gem girl. I admire your ability to strive for things…you prove the law of attraction correct.

  11. CONGRATULATIONS! This is seriously amazing Kelly! You should be so proud of yourself!

  12. WOW!! Kelly!! I want your autograph!! 😉 That is amazing!! I would be on TOP of the world right now if I were you!! You should frame your published recipe!! 🙂

  13. Ahhhhh that is so cool! Congrats!

  14. HOORAY!! How cool!!!! I always wonder if those people are real, they are!!! 🙂

  15. CONGRATS!! How exciting! And your recipe sounds SO Delish!!

  16. Yay!!!!!!! I’m so proud of u! That’s awesome!

  17. Congrats Kelly’! That’s so awesome.

  18. CONGRATS!! That’s exciting! I wish I was creative with recipes like that! 🙂

  19. That is extremely exciting. You should very proud of you. A huge accomplishment.

  20. Congrats!!! I would be so proud to see my name in a magazine!

  21. congrats!! that is so cool!!!!!!

  22. AHH Kelly that’s so exciting!! Congrats on being in a mag, I would be a total nerd about it too if it were me! 🙂

  23. Ahhh! How exciting! Tons of congrats!!! I will definitely give this recipe a try! I’m heading to the grocery store soon, and am going to look for the magazine!

  24. Oh my gosh you are such a ROCKSTAR! (Duh.) I do actually “geek it out” when I see my name on anything. Last summer I actually got my pic taken for Glamour mag for a small column called “Walk of Shame.” Not exactly my mom’s proudest moment, but I thought it was hilarious! Check ’em out here:

    http://firednfabulous.blogspot.com/2009/08/photo-shoot-friday.html

  25. Obviously, I am not surprised. Aren’t you the same Kelly that helped a restaurant develop a new, healthy menu?!? It’s funny that this is the recipe you chose because I was immediately intrigued by it when I first read it, but my grill is broken so I haven’t made it. This is going to be the first thing I do on the grill now! Congrats again 🙂

  26. I would geek out if that ever happened to me too!!! Congrats to you. I’ve made your recipes, and I am not surprised. in fact, I may have to make this with my friends here in London!

  27. That is so flipping cool!

  28. Congrats to you! That is super cool! Makes me want to buy the magazine…and eat the chicken!

  29. Yay!! Congratulations! I’ve never been published in a magazine that actually has real READERS. Only academic journals…and once I co-authored a very exciting chapter on eHealth and it’s benefits for keeping employees healthy. Yes, I know, it sounds thrilling. 😉 haha I have to admit that not only do I have a copy of that entire book, but I scanned in the chapter so I could save it to my computer.

    So yes, I would geek out over a magazine article too! Hope you frame it 🙂

  30. That’s awesome, congrats!!!!!! I’ve never been in a magazine, but I would totally geek out!!

  31. Great! Congratulations! I would Geek out if my name and recipe were to appear in a magazine. So cool!

  32. Oh my gosh! Congrats girl! How exciting is that!

  33. congrats!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i had a recipe published on the Hers magazine site and on Tropical Traditions website but never in an actual print magazine…OMG CONGRATS!

  34. Congratulations!! I am so proud of you – look at you!! You are gorgeous, smart, fit, talented – what a tour de force!!

  35. Fantastic!! I am so excited for you!

  36. Kelly that is so awesome!!! I’m so excited for you! 🙂
    That chicken sounds amazing btw.

  37. snort! i’m fairly confident my name has never been in a magazine so, i haven’t had the chance to find out if i geek out or not. SUPER cool for YOU though!!! congratulations. my, my, i’m going to give that one a try (i have cooked a TON of your recipes btw).

  38. Oh my gosh, congratulations!! I don’t think I’ve ever had my name in a magazine, but if I did,I would TOTALLY geek out about it too! 🙂

  39. CONGRATS KELL!!! So exciting, you deserve every last letter of recognition for your talent and amazing spirit!!

  40. CONGRATS!!!!! That’s awesome and the recipe sounds delish!

  41. Wow that’s fantastic, congratulations.

Leave a comment