It’s Christmas Eve!

YAY! I am SO excited!! Everyone (being: my mom, my stepdad, my brother, his girlfriend, and my grandma) are coming over around 5:00 p.m for PRESENTS and good food!! I have the Tortilla Soup going in the crockpot and my mom is bringing the Tamales! We are also going to have chips (blue-corn), salsa, queso and guacamole for some pre-dinner noshing! Here is the tortilla soup recipe I promised…it is SO easy!!

CROCKPOT TORTILLA SOUP

1 lb shredded cooked chicken (I boiled the chicken in chicken stock yesterday)

1 (15 oz) can whole canned tomatoes, mashed

1 (10 oz) can red enchilada sauce

1 medium onion, chopped

1 (4 oz) can chopped green chili peppers

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup water

1 (14 1/2 oz) can low-sodium chicken broth

1 teaspoon cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1 bay leaf

1 (10 oz) package frozen corn

1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro

 

Place chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, onion, green chilis and garlic in crockpot.

Pour in water and chicken broth.

Season with cumin, chili powder, salt, pepper and bay leaf.

Stir in corn and cilantro.

Cover and cook on LOW for 6-8 hours or HIGH for 3-4 hours.

Garnish with tortilla strips or chips, cheese, avocado, etc…

Serves: 8

170 Calories; 5.1g Fat (1.2g saturated fat); 42mg Cholesterol; 816mg Sodium; 14.7g Carbohydrate; 2.2g Fiber; 3.3g Sugar; 17.5g Protein

Tortilla Soup Goodness!

I will be back tomorrow evening with fun Christmas Eve AND Christmas Day pictures of family, presents and food! Happy Holidays to EVERYONE!!!! 🙂 CHEERS!

10 Responses

  1. I love your recipes!! Have a very, very merry Christmas hun!! 🙂

    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  2. I make that soup all the time! So good!

    • I know…and don’t you love how healthy it is?! To me there is nothing better than enjoying REALLY tasty and good food while still be healthy!

  3. Sounds like a great recipe! I love tortilla soup. Have a great holiday 🙂

  4. Merry Christmas!

    Thanks for sharing that recipe, it looks like something my hubby would love!

  5. Merry Christmas! I have shredded chicken right now that needs a dish to go in – your soup looks perfect for day after Christmas meal!

  6. hi…merry cristmas
    nice article
    thank’s

  7. Thanks for visiting my blog! I look forward to reading yours now, too.

    Merry Christmas!!

  8. […] Eve was a fantastic night. Everyone slurped my tortilla soup and licked their trifles clean!! […]

Leave a comment