And the wait continues…

Hey guys. So surgery is Monday at 10:30a.m. I am bummed that it isn’t going to be tomorrow but I am trying not to dwell on what can’t be helped. I did meet with the surgeon this morning and he explained in detail what would happen. The tendon has probably fallen to about mid-palm and so an incision will be made from the middle of my palm to the tip of the pinky. He will reconnect the nerves of the little finger and the tendon. He was quick to remind me that this is going to be a procedure that is going to test my patience. He told me that I will be in a full hand cast (finger tip to elbow) for 48 hours after surgery to ensure no movement of the wrist. (remember yesterday’s anatomy lesson) Then after those 48 hours my hand will be transferred to a splint that will still restrict all movement of the wrist/hand but will allow me to start occupational therapy. The doctor told me to expect to be in the cast for 8 weeks minimum and to expect to not have full use of my hand for 10-12 weeks. That is 3 months people! I might have just teared up while writing that part. The tendon is fragile and the possibility of re-tearing it is extremely high if I do any movements!!

So things to say, I may not be commenting much in blogs but I am still reading. But I am doing all of this with one hand so it is difficult. Please don;’t forget about me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Here’s what I have learned so far:

  • Peeling a banana with one hand is near impossible
  • Keith is not the best hair stylist ๐Ÿ™‚
  • Insurance companies SUCK

Challenge: keep your non-dominant hand behind your back and try to prepare a meal or do any normal household activity. That will be me for the next 10-12 weeks. (2 1/2 – 3 months) Do it and report back.

I love you all and thanks for all the support, cards, emails, etc. Keith and I feel very blessed to have such strong prayers coming from so many people!

51 Responses

  1. wow, sounds like a massive test in patience. thing is you’re going to be so much stronger coming out of this! love you ms. kelly ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh that stinks. I am not patient at all so I can’t imagine having to wait until Monday. Maybe Keith’s hair styling skills will improve now ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Ugh I learned how important your hands are when my pain was really bad last year. 3 months is a stinking long time, but hopefully it will go well, OT will be good, and you can put it behind you after that.

  4. Wow, that is a long time for what seems like a small injury. It sounds like the outlook for repair is good though, no?

    Liked your anatomy lesson and was so surprised on how interconnected it all is. Insane!

  5. Oh Kelly, I am so sorry that you have to wait. That stinks…to say the least! Yeah, the hair won’t be good. Head bands and pony tails. Keith needs to come up with a good gay stylist name while he does your hair. Tony’s was Antoine. Anything to amuse you for a little bit cause it is so frustrating!

    Never worry about being forgotten! You are too amazing to be forgotten! Try to enjoy your afternoon!

  6. I will miss your daily comments! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    Ever heard the song always look on the bright side of life from Spamalot?
    “How could it possibly be worse?
    Always look on the bright side of life!
    Always look on the right side of life!
    If life seems jolly rotten, there’s something you’ve forgotten.
    And that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing.
    When you’re feeling in the dumps, don’t be silly chumps,
    Just purse your lips and whistle, that’s the thing!”

    At least it wasn’t your right hand!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Hope all goes well. I see you are registered for Healthy Living Summit. I have been on the waiting list for a ticket and finally got one! Yeah. See you there!

    • No I won’t be able to attend now. Not with having surgery on Monday. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I emailed Caitlan letting her know and I hope someone can use my ticket.

  8. Oh man…that’s horrible. I broke the bones in my right hand (dominant) my first week of grad school and couldn’t use it for 6 weeks. GAH..way to start things out right?

  9. I’m sorry surgery was delayed…I know it will be a long road. Hard to think of the right thing to say. I have an aunt that has had hand surgery and injury. It’s amazing when you realize how much we rely on two hands for everyday tasks. I have another aunt who is very reputable OT. If you need to bounce anything off of someone with knowledge of hand trauma, let me know. I will put you in touch with her.

  10. im sure i wont last one minute without my dominant hand.

  11. I am very close to a person who was once in a hospital on bed-rest for 4 months….no leaving the bed, no going outside, nothing. She was a runner previous to that.

    3 months is nothing Kelly. A year even is never really anything. It is the little things each day that you got to be happy for. A funny comedic show. An open window. Hot water.

    I know what it is like to feel down! I have no car, I cannot exercise either, and I just then had a very frustrating and tear-jerking conversation with my father, trying to be positive is hard! But I am going to try – so you try to! At least you have supportive family!

  12. I remember doing this “challenge” in middle school where we had to tape our fingers together on one hand for the whole day. No opposable thumb… no grasping… it was hard!! All I can say is I’m praying for you Kells!

  13. Eek that sounds tough. I can’t imagine doing everything as a lefty. It even feels weird cutting things with that hand!

  14. Well . . . Monday isnt that far away, so thats good.

    I wouldnt expect you to be making lots of comments with only one hand, thats hard! And time consuming!!

    Peeling a banana with one hand would be hard! Did you wind up putting one end in your armpit? Thats the only way I can think of to do it.

  15. Sorry about your accident Kelly! You seem like such a strong individual that I know that you will get through this. Sometimes there are little bumps in the road, but in the end it only makes you stronger. I’ll keep you in my thoughts and prayers and wish you well in your surgery on Monday! Stay positive ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. It’s good to hear that you’re at least getting some answers and getting things set up.

    I’m sure all Keith needs is a little time to master the hair styling ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. Aw, Kelly this sounds so frustrating! I can see why you won’t comment–your entire day would be filled with commenting on blogs. Can Keith do all the cooking until you’re able to move your hand? I’d beg for The Man to play chef. Will you still be able to do your job?

    • Yes Keith is a great cook. He will help with that for sure. And I can definitely still work just wont be as fast on the computer as I usually am. And I do plan on learning how to be an awesome one handed cook! ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Good luck, good luck, good luck! It can be very frustrating to recover from surgery, but it’s alot like life: one day at a time. Best wishes to you!

  19. Hey, girlfriend!! Please send me your address if you feel comfortable doing so. I promise I’m not a creepy stalker person – I just want to send a card. ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. You are going to be the master of one handed cooking! I wish I lived closer so I could do your hair for you!! Monday will be here before you know it!

  21. If anyone can get through this, Kelly, you can! I’m truly thinking and praying for you. I give you HUGE props for continuing to blog! And oh man, don’t even get me started on crappy insurance companies!

  22. LOVE you Kelly. We are all here for you. Feel free to express your true feelings everyday- good & bad thoughts. Sometimes it helps to just vent.
    You’re in my thoughts!
    LOVE you!! xoxo

  23. I completely understand how difficult this is! Last year I fell at work (I work at a zoo) and broke my wrist really bad. I was holding a big knife at the time so I guess I’m lucky I didn’t eviscerate myself as well. I required surgery and had to get two long screws through all of my fingers in order to stabilize the bones in my arm. It was the middle of winter, and I was stuck all alone in my apartment for months. I live alone so I had no one to help me and I was bored out of my mind because I couldn’t go to work. I couldn’t even get my hair into a ponytail! I couldn’t go to the gym, or cook, or even sit outside to read because it was too cold. I remember one night I got so excited because I realized there was something I could actually make- chili! All I had to do was dump some ground turkey, white beans and a can of corn in a pot- no chopping or preparing involved. I bought all of the ingredients and got ready to cook and then realized I couldn’t use a can opener with one hand! I was SO frustrated. I ended up holding the can steady between my feet and using my good hand to crank the opener. After about 10 minutes of struggling I finally did it. By the end of those few months I thought I was seriously going insane. It completely mad me appreciate having a job when I got to go back, not to mention two functioning arms which most people take for granted. It’ll be a test of your patience for sure, but at least you have Keith to help you out. I’ll be thinking of you on Monday Kelly ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. God bless you, that sounds so tough!

  25. Oh Kelly, this is so difficult to go through I can only imagine.

    I treated a patient today who was just taking her splint off for the first time after a radial (wrist) fracture…she can’t move any of her fingers or thumb nor can she supinate properly…oh, and she passed out in the chair when I took off the splint and started doing the ROM with her…God. Partly because of the pain (I was inflicting more, but it HAS to be done…) – and she can’t stand the sight of the stiches and cut (although it was healing amazingly). …anyways, she’s on her 5 th week, and still has another 7 at least….the worst part is that she lives alone – another difficulty in convincing her to take off the splin more – because she’s afraid she’ll get sick looking at it home alone!! – poor, poor soul.

    …so at least you have Wonderful Mr. Keith??…even though he sucks at hair…?

  26. You’ll get better at one-handed everything and Keith will become a master hair stylist.

    Scary thought…?

  27. Kelly, I just got myself caught up with everything that’s been going on – I’m *so* sorry for you. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ This is so unfortunate but hopefully the surgery will go as planned and you’ll at least regain use of your hand.

    Good thing is, we all know you’re strong enough to handle it, no matter how tough. Hang in there! โค

  28. Ooh that’s a tougher challenge than some of your runs. I wish I was there to help do your hair and type for you. We need to locate you an assistant, asap.

    Take it easy this weekend and I really will be thinking about you on Monday.

  29. I have been backlogged in reading blogs and I’m so sorry about your hand. I can’t believe you will be out for 8 weeks. ARGH! I broke my finger (on my dominant hand) when my little guy was six months old, one week before we moved to Boise. Though I tried to get some sympathy, it sucked! It really is hard to do much of anything.

    And yes, you are correct. Insurance companies are useless these days. And wear your hair in pony tails a lot – you look cute in them anyway!

  30. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mary Chandler, Heath Lackey. Heath Lackey said: And the wait continuesโ€ฆ ยซ HEALTHY LIVING WITH KELLY: HEALTHY LIVING WITH KELLY ยท Entries RSS | Comments RSS. That'… http://bit.ly/cIDqj2 […]

  31. I’m just catching up on your posts & I’m so sorry this happened! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ But I hope your surgery goes well! Maybe you’ll learn how to better use your non-dominant hand as well as your teeth…and feet? ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. Poor thing!!!!! Aww, I broke my right wrist in a car accident 2 yrs ago in the mids of July and my left wrist was a 2nd degree burn. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ My bf well ex bf now was my hairdresser too. I wish you lots of luck and just remember the cast is only for 48 hrs – My hard cast was for 5 weeks ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  33. hang in there girl……..

  34. OMGOSH I have been missing from your blog for ages and right when I come back I see you’re going into surgery! Good luck! If you need anything I’m only a few miles away, even a cup of soup some Amy’s Ice Cream or a french braid!

  35. I feel for you! I had limited use of my wrist during my sprain and it was annoying enough. However, I am not able to text well with my left hand.

    We will all be thinking of you through all of this! I know its rough but you can handle it! ๐Ÿ™‚

  36. Wow friend, that is such hard news – I will be thinking of you on Monday and sending lots of love and good vibes. hang in there.

  37. Yuck. I will be thinking of you!

  38. oh honey, i’m very very very very behind in my blog reading, so I’m just now seeing about all of this. it really is pouring on you this summer. hopefully it just means you are getting all of your injuries out of your system.

    Anyway, I’m thinking of you and hoping the surgery goes flawlessly and that you’ll be back at it in no time!

  39. I hope that the surgery goes well!

  40. Ohh Kelly – I am so sorry. I am thinking of you and hoping for the speediest of recoveries. And I know you are upset, but your comment about Keith not being the best hair stylist made me laugh out loud. It reminded me that even in the face of adversity, you are still you and I know that’s what will help you get through this tough time.

  41. Best wishes on your surgery Monday! You will be in our prayers…

  42. […] To Surgey I Go… Posted on August 9, 2010 by Kelly Alright guys I am going in…surgey this morning at 10:30am. I know I am going to be in a lot of pain when I get home but I will try to […]

Leave a Reply

