One Hand? No Problem!

Happy Wednesday guys. I am about to head out for my morning doctor appointment with the hand surgeon. Wish me luck…details this afternoon!

But let’s hit on dinner last night. One hand…no problem! This might have taken me a lot longer to cook than normal but I managed. And managed quite well thank you very much! I may have dropped a few curse words along the way and I may have gotten a tad frustrated but in the end I made dinner with 8 fingers and without getting my left hand wet or dirty. Sounds easier than it is…trust me!

Anyway…we had boneless lean pork chops that needed to be used so I got busy. I also roasted some okra for a yummy side dish! Keith is not a huge okra fan but in light of my situation he is basically inclined to let me have whatever I want! haha!

ISLAND PORK CHOPS

(adapted from P90X recipes)

  • 16 ounces boneless(extra lean) pork chops
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/8 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 tablespoon garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tablespoon Cholula
  1. Preheat Oven to 425 degrees F
  2. Stir together salt, pepper, cumin, chile powder, and cinnamon, then coat pork with spice rub
  3. Heat 1-2 teaspoons oil in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat and brown pork chops (about 4 minutes) turning once
  4. Stir together brown sugar, garlic and Cholula and pat onto each chop. Place on a baking sheet and cook for another 10 minutes (depending on how thick your chops are)

Holy goodness...this was AMAZING!!! I already want it again! This was the best porkchop recipe I have found and I am not even a big pork chop lover! TRY THIS!

 Okay…Happy Wednesday everyone! Wish me luck at the doctor!

Foodie Questions: Do you like pork? What’s your favorite pork recipe?

BEST VIDEO EVER: this will give you chills!!! http://finishstrongmovie.com/ 

38 Responses

  1. oh i love pork! i know it’s basically taboo in bloggerland, but it’s so amazing and flavorful!

    i gotta say pulled pork is my favorite EVER. it’s so tender, juicy and flavorful! even better when it’s on an island in Hawaii 😉

    • I know and I can’t figure out why because pork is not that bad for you at at all. Especially if you buy the lean boneless chops…it is actually very healthy.

  2. I like to have pork occasionally and this looks like a great recipe. I’ve never heard of cholula though? What kind of spice is it?

  3. It’s no secret I love pork. Especially in the form of bacon. 😉

  4. Good morning I am proud to learn that you and husband made thru the just fine .You are too positive to let anything get you down.Have a lovly visit.

  5. I’m always so inspired by your positive attitude, Kelly!! Good luck at the surgeon today!!!

  6. I love pork! I made tenderloins and boneless chops a lot. The stats are similar to chicken in those forms, so I don’t have a problem with it.
    \
    Good for Keith on allowing in the okra. Let’s see….what elsee can you get out of him while you’re hurt? 🙂 Kidding of course.

    See ya in a few hours

  7. Good luck at the doctor’s!! I’m not a big pork chop fan. I blame my mother who made Shake ‘n Bake pork chops that were dry and super chewy. It kind of turned me off of them for good.

  8. Good luck at the doctor! The sooner you get things fixed, the better it will be! My boys love anything bacon!

  9. GOOD LUCK!!!

    I love Pork – I just picked up some nice looking pieces a few days ago – great on the grill or the oven.

  10. Good luck at the doctor! If I only had one hand I would have been picking up the phone and using it to call for takeout, haha.

  11. i haven’t ventured out into cooking pork yet since i’ve started eating meat again. hahah… i JUST accomplished poaching chicken, so lets just say i’m taking baby steps. 🙂 i’ve eaten it at chipotle (!!) but cooking meat on my own is still intimidating for some reason.

    recipe LOOKS great though. maybe with step by step instructions i can give it a try!! you have such great recipes – do you have any suggestions for ground turkey?!?!

  12. Great job, one-handed woman! 😀 That recipe looks great-and easy enough got me to try. Oh, and I definitely would have cursed a few times and gotten frustrated…and then smile like the cheshire cat after the meal was done! haha

    Good luck at the doctor! Hope you get some good news.

  13. I’m actually not huge on pig products. My boyfriend is though. I do love BBQ pulled pork though! NOM!

  14. I like pork in pulled pork sandwiches! LOL As well as the occasional pork chop. It’s not my go to meat by any means but it is good to mix things up. Yours sounds really good.

    Hope the doc visit goes well.

  15. Best of luck at the doctor Kelly! My mom used to make pork chops and sauerkraut all the time when we were growing up. SO GOOD!

  16. I typically don’t love pork chops….I think my dad always overcooked ’em when I was little! When done right, they are very tasty. This looks like a good recipe!

  17. I’ve never been a big pork fan, but I’ve also never been much of a meat eater so that’s probably why.

    I’m impressed that you cooked pork with one hand. I would have been too afraid to tackle meat at all!

  18. I knewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww this would happen. After I read your blog yesterday afternoon, and when I commented, your pinky was on my brain.

    I had a dream that I too cut my pinky off, which didn’t bother me for some reason (and it didn’t bleed) but what freaked me out was I cut half my palm off – on the cushiony thumb part. Instead of having it hang off so I could rush to a hospial and have it sewn on, I decided to slice through the whole thing!!! OMFG Kelly. Why do I have these weird dreams???

    Also. That didn’t bleed either, and I didn’t even scream. My dreams are definitely MESSED up!!!!

    Thought you should know. lol. Obviously I’m sub-consciously thinking of you 🙂

  19. Happy Wednesday and wishing good news for you!

  20. I wish I liked Pork Chops, but my hubs on the “other hand” would be all over this.

    Just make sure you can give us the thumbs up later, if it goes bad – we’ll expect a middle finger.

  21. So glad you were able to go around that pinkie issue. And I’m hoping for good news after the surgeon meeting!
    I don’t eat pork..pigs are my favorite animal 🙂 But I’ll make it for the boyfriend.

  22. Glad you managed to get dinner done! You need to teach me some of those cooking skills 😉

    I am actually not the biggest fan of pork. I like ham and bacon, but that is about it. Pork chops don’t really do anything for me.

  23. Hey Kelly!
    Hope your doctor’s appointment goes well this am and you get good news (or at least the best news possible)!!! I gave you a shout-out on Caitlin’s website. Since you know, you ARE my hero!! 🙂 Hope you have an awesome day!

  24. I am so sorry about your hand! Good luck at the Dr! That pork looks sooo good and i usually don’t say that about pork!

  25. Pork chops I can’t do. They remind me of growing up, and my mom made them simmered in cream of mushroom soup – GROSS. However, pulled pork…YUM. Oh, yum.

    Milk the finger situation with Kieth for all its’ worth! 😀

  26. Holy wow – I’m gone for a few weeks and you’re so upset you try to dismember yourself?!! Heheh – sorry for the joke and sorry to hear about your finger. Oh wow – that is scary. Anytime there is blood I’m a big old baby. I hope you’re mending well. I’m going to be better now about keeping updated – back to the blogworld for good.

  27. Ohmygosh, i’m just catching up to speed here! Your poor hand! I’m so sorry, Kelly, but I know if anyone will get through yet ANOTHER challenge with a smile, it’s you 🙂 I’m thinking about ya!

  28. Hope your appt went well. I’m very impressed you are still making yummy home cooked meals!! GOOO Kelly!! 🙂

  29. I feel for you with the 1 hand.
    I had a hard time getting dressed and my mom had to come and wash my hair and drive me. (Dr wouldn’t let me drive the week after surgery and Dan was living out of state then). I’m sure Keith will take really good care of you!

    My favorite pork chop recipe is Vietnamese Pork Chops from the hwc1973 blog. She has a ton of awesome clean or close to clean eating recipes

  30. omg, i just caught up on your blog and choked on my own spit from gasping about your pinky. OUCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You poor thing. Good luck at your appointment.

  31. hope your appt. goes well-fingers crossed-no pun intended!

  32. Yay!!! Okra 😉
    I’m beginning to like you more and more every post- I LOVE okra and have a platter and “cookie jar/urn” (???) in my kitchen in that same pier one pattern as your plate 😉

    But sadly I have nothing to add about the recipe Since I no longer eat meat ;(
    But kudos to you for cooking with your injury – reminds me of when someone gets hurt on TOP CHEF and still have to finish a full gourmet meal 😉
    Trooper!!!

Leave a Reply

