When It Rains…

Well guys…I am just not going to be little miss positive today, okay? Why? Well yesterday afternoon I was cooking and decided that I didn’t really need my pinky finger. Yes…big ole butcher knife…down on the pinky. Blood everywhere, me screaming (literally) and my sweet honey rushing me to the emergency room as I hyperventilated and concentrated on not fainting.. 2 hours later…after a tetnis shot and some stitches I was informed that I have severed the tendon from my first joint to the tip of the finger rendering the top of my finger completely useless. Literally I have no control over it and it just flops over. I had an x-ray to look at the bone because I cut myself all the way to the bone. Nice, huh? But thankfully the bone looks fine…just the pesky tendon. I have an appointment with a hand surgeon on Wednesday morning and the he said most likely I will be having surgery on either Thursday or Friday of this week. And apparently it is full on under the knife with anesthesia surgery. Fun!

Who really needs a pinky?

Poor hand!

So as I mentioned yesterday, I HATE to be aimless when it comes to working out so I started the awesome 90 day P90X challenge. Well I guess I lasted one freaking day because that aint gonna happen now. No weights, no pull ups, no push-ups…nada. Oh and did I mention no running because of the damn knee…so yeah…not happy…not in a good place. I am definitely a Mrs. Grumpy Pants today! Keith says it just a setback, an obstacle, and I will be able to do my P90X challenge, just not right now. Sigh. Someone tell me joke…cheer me up…please…I beg!

81 Responses

  1. Ohhhhhh, Kelly!!!! I am so sorry, sweet girl!!!! I can only imagine how bummed you must be right now 😦

  2. Oh no Kelly! I wish I lived closer…I would come and hang out and cook for you! Can you go for walks or are you out for a while on everything? If it makes you feel any better…I have done that twice, on two separate occasions and in two different ways. Once with a knife (in 7th grade, while cooking dinner for my family) and once in shattering a glass while putting ice in it (6th grade). My dad always joked with me that I would never be a hand model. This was all before culinary school too! I hope you feel better soon! Keep your chin up! Trust me, I know it gets frustrating, but it will pass. I am sending many hugs your way today!

  3. Ok girl… I am SO sorry. 😦 You have been dealing with so much lately. Something good has got to be coming your way!!

  4. Oh Kelly!!! I”m so sorry!

    I wish I had a joke to tell you… but I”m horrible at jokes 😦

    I agree with Keith… its just a setback. Once your hand is healed, We’ll all be cheering you on 🙂

  5. This is unbelievable. You poor thing 😦 Hang in there. Things can only go up from here. Xoxo

  6. Sending you best wishes.

    Lately I have been really trying to force myself to be “okay” with a simple walk.
    Why?
    Because I keep thinking if I don’t appreciate it, it will bite me in the ass and I will be in some horrendous accident and end up with no limbs.
    So, just remember, appreciate every ounce of skin and skill you have. Even if its still a lot (like u) or very little (like me, ha).

  7. Oh no! I hope you’re doing okay.

  8. Oh my goodness! I’m glad you are ok. I’m definitely attempting to send ‘happy lucky’ vibes your way. Pinky will be back in no time 🙂

  9. Oh no, so sorry Kelly!! It seems to me that when things start to go wrong they start to do that in every aspect of life… You can use your spare time planning what you will/want to do when you will be ok, sounds lame I know but a good plan is a good start. Try to hang in there!! As Eddie Wedder says ” No matter how cold the winter there is always a spring time ahead”.

  10. Oh Kelly, I am so sorry. You were very brave though not to faint with all of that blood. Maybe you can take this is as a sign to slow down? Everything happens for a reason right? Keep your head up!

  11. so so sorry. that absolutely sucks!

  12. I can’t believe it. I don’t know what to say except that I really want to give you a hug! Instead, I’ll leave you with a kindergarten favorite…

    “What do you call a deer with no eyes?” No idea!
    “What do you call a deer with no eyes and no legs?” STILL no idea!

    Lame, but it’s the best I can do. Sending well wishes your way.

  13. Wow, so sorry to hear about your injury! Hopefully your hand will heal quickly. I know how frustrating it can be to not be able to exercise due to injury. Maybe there are certain yoga/pilates moves that you can do in the mean time. Feel better!

  14. Oh my God – I am so sorry for you! That is not good – but it could be worse, it could have been the thumb or index – and they are really needed functionally…maybe this is a sign that you are meant to do something else right now??…or maybe that you shouldn’t cook…;) Kidding! HUGS Huge to you.

    But bad news?…well, how about having your car break down, spending thousands of dollars on hotels, food, gas, etc while waiting for said car – and getting none of that money back…

    Or having your furniture shipped to you which cost $2500 – and most of it damaged – and they refuse to give you any more than a couple hundred back…?

    Or how about you go out for a walk and the humidity is so high and you are so down, that you turn around and come right back in…

    Meh, I could go on …lost all the money I had saved up…

    OH wait – how about learning that one of your good friends is going to Australia for a great job – something you’ve always wanted to do – and could have done had you planned properly…but now you have NO money and lost it all from not working for a couple of months and aforementioned car troubles, moving, etc…

    Those are just a few…not any pinky-slicing – but just something 😉

  15. I’m so sorry Kelly! You can always walk or do the elliptical. Chin up…smile if you can 🙂

  16. spend a couple minutes on this site. http://foodnetworkhumor.com/ cracks a smile no matter what. 😉

  17. Oh no!!!! I hope you get the surgery and can get to healing soon. That is awful. I would be really frustrated too. Use this time to focus on other things you don’t normally have as much time for. Try to stay positive. I know it will be tough though. Really tough. Remember this will all pass in time. I want to give you a big hug!

  18. Oh Kelly, I’m so sorry. That must have hurt so bad, you poor thing. I wish I could come over and bring you a glass of wine and watch a chick flick or something to cheer you up.

  19. Keep that beautiful smile deep in your heart and you will not be grumpy,forever the smile..

  20. Aw omg, your poor finger! I can’t imagine how badly that must have hurt. Well at least you can go in for surgery quickly, and i’m sure you’ll have a fast recovery because you’re too stubborn not to! Feel better, sending a hug your way!

  21. I agree with the others who say go for a walk! I know it sounds sissy but just getting out and moving will cheer you up!

  22. Oh my goodness! That sounds incredibly painful! This is just not your summer. I hope the surgery goes well and you recovery quickly. For now, I’d spend the day relaxing and nursing my poor hand!

  23. Kel, I’m so sorry!

    Everyone, I will give her a BIG HUG for us all when I see her tomorrow.

  24. You’ll get over this hump! Don’t worry! Just hang in there!!! Trust me, you’d rather rest now and have a pinky finger and knee than not rest and lose them both 🙂 You’re strong! You can make it! Maybe you can go for long walks???

  25. OH NO!! Good luck with surgery! I hope you get that pinky back! Every finger is important! :O

  26. Oh Jeez, Kelly! I’m SO sorry about all this. You’ve had a BRUTAL couple of months! You do not deserve any of this pain and suffering that you’re going through. Maybe the universe is trying to tell you something? Or maybe you’re just having a string of bad luck and the rest of your life will be smooth sailing…

    Keep your chin up – you’ve got a ton of people cheering for ya!

  27. Aaaahhh! I think my pinky hurt for you when I saw that- I’m terrified of big knives!

    I hope it heals quickly! And until then, it’s a crappy Tuesday- so just snuggle under the covers on your couch and have a movie day! I think you deserve it…

  28. BIG HUG to you Kelly! I’m super-bummed out for you…put you back on my prayer list though!! So it will be ok! You are gonna be ONE TOUGH MOTHER when you get back to 100%!!!! Hang tough girlie! 🙂

  29. Uh Kelly, I’m SO sorry 😦 😦 😦
    I’m glad that the bone is OK though- that’s something to be thankful for though, right?! I know, it’s hard to look @ it like that.
    I can tell you that I MISSED you (& your blog) while I was on vacation!!! So, I hope that cheers you up 😀

  30. OH NO Kelly!!!! Don’t you know that your supposed to cut vegetables, not finger?! Haha. OUCH!!! Sorry you’ve run into another obstacle- but remember, it’s just an obstacle, and you be back and at ’em in no time!! Hope you’re feeling ok 🙂

  31. http://cuteoverload.com/

    Definitely you need a morning of cute overload. Head there immediately!

    Keep on smiling.

  32. Oh no! That totally sucks Kelly! And I can’t think of any jokes for you.
    If I think of anything good I’ll be back! 🙂

  33. Oh my gosh…I’m so sorry this has happened. However, you control your actions and reactions, and you basically choose to be happy or unhappy. You have to choose not to to let this bring you completely down-mourn a little bit to get through it, but you need to step back up again and get back into a positive state. You can do P90x at a later date…but stick with something you CAN do. Maybe some cardio on machines that if you need to balance yourself, you use the opposite hand. Your hubby is right–it’s a setback. It’s how you handle it that will determine your mood for as long as it takes to recover. Chin up, girlie, you will get through it and be moving right along at your normal speed in no time.

  34. Kelly I am so, so sorry! That really just sucks. Here’s hoping the rain clears for you soon!

  35. Oh Kelly when it rains it pours doesn’t it?! You need to spend the day with some amazing Felicity or Dawson’s Creek reruns. Definitely the best way to spend a “sick” day!

  36. Oh man that really sucks! I have cut myself a few times, nothing as bad as that, but it’s not fun. Sending positive thoughts your way!

  37. oh no kelly! i am so sorry…i’ve been there before…sucks feeling helpless. just remember that even though it sucks right now, you’re on your way to healing. take some time to remember what you’re thankful for, and what’s going well in your life.

    and remember…sometimes it’s OK to not be OK! life happens…it’s how you recover and get stronger that matters 🙂 i’m cheering for you here in Colorado 🙂

  38. Oh, Kelly, you are a much stronger person than me, I would have blacked out…… I’ll come and visit you next week when we get back!! XO

  39. oh your pore pinky! I am so sorry that happened 😦 it’s ok to be a grump, we all need those days.

    But do remember that this is a set back (and we ALL have set backs) and take it as a time to find other interests and passions outside of your physical body….life is more than exercise and we are more (much more) than our physical bodies….

    Hang in there!

  40. Awww, Kelly!!! I’m SO SORRY!! I don’t blame you for being grumpy at all…I would be having a full on break down. But your sweet hubby is right – it’s just a setback. You are such a determined person, I’m sure you will be back in no time. Hope you are already feeling better! 🙂

  41. oh honey, thats terrible. wishing you a speedy recovery!

  42. OH NO!
    Considering your circumstances, this might not be funny, but it’s worth a try… My brother was born with 11 fingers and has always had an extra bump on his pinky from where the finger was (it had no bones and they just cut it off… I’m sure you’ve known someone with this)… One day he made a mistake at work and damaged his finger and now his pinky is stuck at a 90 degree angle, and we always joke “bet you wished you still had that 11th finger now!”…

    Also, My “boy” is missing 3 fingers (luckily he has his index and thumb)… He has no pinky at all… Sometimes I’d be carrying something and say “can you give me a hand?” and then he replys “a whole hand, or half a hand?”… smart ass.

    Don’t worry though, neither struggle at all without their pinky, but I hope the surgery is successful and you recover quickly!

  43. OMG Kelly! I am so sorry to hear that! That is unimaginable but look at the bright side…it wasn’t your leg or neck or wrist…just a pinky! I know it’s a bummer about the time off from exercise but you’ll think of SOMETHING to get you going. No worries girly! WE all have our injury set backs but you will be back to normal in no time! Keep your chin up! Thinking of you!

  44. You poor thing! OUCH!!! I would have been crying like a baby. Let me know if you need anything!

  45. That’s not your Kung Fu Grip hand is it? Because Keith might soon become one sad fella! 😉 Totally kidding!

    Holy crap girl! That is one serious injury and I’m so glad that it isn’t any worse. Goodness you know how to liven up a day, no? 🙂

  46. WHOA crazy!!! Man, I hope that heals up fast for you. Just take the time to read some books and relax and heal for footsies up too!

  47. Eeek! That’s terrible news. I hope that the surgery will be able to fix it. Will you be able to use it in the same way you used to? Nose-picking may never be the same!

    • Yes…I might have to have some PT and I may not regain feeling for at least 2 years! But it should eventually all be normal again…sheesh!!

  48. Jesus Christ girl!!!! You are so lucky you didn’t do any more damage. Wow. I wish I could give you a big hug right now!

  49. That is awful! I am so sorry… 😦 Best wishes for a speedy recovery. You will be back to P90x before you know it! You take this time and relax! ~ Take Care

  50. Wowzers, how painful that must have been. Glad you can see a surgeon basically right away. I scream over papercuts. Not sure I could handle the pinky cut that you just did. I nearly vom’ed reading it. AAHH

  51. I am sooooooooo sorry, Kelly!!! I am sending positive vibes your way right now!

  52. OMG Kelly! I hope everything is ok!

    Who are you using for your surgery? I’ve only had 1 surgery (drill bit through my hand 2 years ago, it broke in half, both pieces in my hand). I used Dr. Gadaria and he was amazing.

    Hope surgery goes well and you have a speedy recovery. While my hand issue wasn’t the same, I can somewhat sympathize.

    Please let me know if you need anything at all! I deliver 😉

  53. So sorry! Stay positive, because you are such an inspiration to so many of us. We LOVE reading your posts everyday and envy the workouts you have. Keep smiling. This too will pass. We love you Kelly 🙂

  54. Oh and you can’t see my scar and I didn’t have permanent nerve damage (I had temporary tingles for 6 m onths)

  55. […] 3, 2010 by Kelly Hey guys…thank you all so much for all the warm wishes you left me this morning. I will say that this has been one hell of a summer. I feel like it just one thing after another […]

  56. oh my gosh ouch!!! you poor woman! big fat hugs to you! and good luck w/ your surgery!!

  57. Oh no! Scary!! Glad it will be ok

  58. Wow I am so sorry to hear of this. But you know what, now that you are not able to workout like you want, really sit back and enjoy the extra time that you have. Sometimes experiences like these help us realize what’s really important to us and you having the use of your finger back is what is most important. 🙂

  59. Ack! this whole tragic account gives me the shivers. The pain! the agony! (seriously) so sorry for your ordeal.

    Shall I send you a full body cast to prevent further injury?

  60. Oh no!!! Is that your pinky swearing hand too? How will you pinky swear?

    I am so sorry….I’d say that everything happens for a reason, but if you are at all like me, you’d probably punch me in the face, so I won’t say that.

    Hang in there and watch some trashy tv. You can still walk though. And maybe you can do some lower body exercises? You don’t need your pinky to squat!

  61. kelly im so sorry about your finger.

    and yeah, when it rains it just pours. but like kieth said, its just an obstacle. youll be a-ok in no time.

  62. Oh, Kelly!!!! I am so incredibly sorry to read about this. You’ve been going through some really tough stuff lately, lady! BIG HUGS. You’ll be in my thoughts. 😦

  63. Oh I am sooo sorry that happened- i cut the tip of my thumb clear off one time in the kitchen using one of those plane graters trying to grate an onion 😦 yikes –

    Poor thing! And on the start of a new wkout routine – hubs and I are planning to do P90x in the fall this spring we did the 9wk Insanity program- awesome for cardio but it did jack with my ankles and heel spurs! Arhg!!!!

    Anyway,
    hoping for u to heal fast 😉

  64. Oh my goodness!!! I’m so, so sorry!! I’m hoping that the finger heals quickly after surgery and this won’t be too much of an obstacle for you!!

  65. OMG that is absolutely horrible!!!

  66. oh no!! this sounds horrible, eek!! 😦 i hope it doesnt hurt too much and you get it fixed!

  67. […] by Kelly Happy Wednesday guys. I am about to head out for my morning doctor appointment with the hand surgeon. Wish me luck…details this […]

  68. Gah…sooo sorry! My uncle always says things like this build character…and my response is that I have enough damn character thank you very much. Hope surgery goes well and you recover quickly!

    Also — I’m cracking up because the shake weights commercial is on in the background.

  69. oh i feel so awful for you kelly!!!! so sorry….hang in there.

  70. I did that to my index finger in January using a hand stick blender. I didn’t have surgery, but I am still numb at the end of my right index finger. (Lovely) The most painful thing I’ve been through in quite some time!

Leave a Reply

