Let’s Get To It!

Hey guys…thank you all so much for all the warm wishes you left me this morning. I will say that this has been one hell of a summer. I feel like it just one thing after another after another. As soon as I start to pick myself up…BAM…I am thrown another curve ball. But I have the most amazing husband on the planet who reminds me that life is full of curveballs and how we deal with them is what shapes our future.

So, this girl is picking herself up by her bootstraps and making a game plan. I have an 8:45 am appointment tomorrow morning with the hand surgeon so I will have a lot more details tomorrow. And until then I am just going to chill and enjoy some time off from exercise. Let me body enjoy it too. I can’t sweat because they don’t want the injury to get wet so maybe I will do some light walking and just enjoy life! Then I fully plan on aquajogging and doing other cardio (post-surgery) and I will pick back up with P90X as soon as I can. I also know I can do some lower body weights and abs. So there is still plenty for me to do. But I am NOT going to do anything until after I have met with the surgeon and let him tell me what to do. There is no point in doing something temporarily stupid that will have results prolonging any recovery.

So yesterday many of you wanted to know what the “Kelly” eating plan is. Well let me share! (it will make me feel useful! haha) Basically I said that I was following a cross between the P90X plan and Jackie Warner’s plan. Here is the deal per day:

  • 1-2 carbs (usually for me that is oatmeal in the morning and sometimes brown rice in the evening or a piece of gluten-free toast with lunch. Sometimes it is only oatmeal in the morning. AND this is important any refined carb has to have less than 5 grams of sugar…anything with 5g of sugar or less will not spike your blood sugar and insulin levels)  
  • 1-2 fruits (usually just 1 fruit for me…I am not a HUGE fruit person so usually one piece a day works just fine but if I do eat it twice one serving is usually in a smoothie form)
  • unlimited veggies (I eat a lot of vegetables…probably 5-6 servings a day…but I never heard of anyone being unhealthy from too many vegetables!)
  • 4-5 protein (I try to eat a protein with every meal and most snacks)
  • 1-2 Fats (usually in the form of nuts, nut butters, flaxseed, seeds, olive oil, etc.)

I know Dairy is missing from this list…but my stomach doesn’t handle dairy well at all. So I usually only eat it a few times a week at most. When I do it is NEVER milk but usually greek yogurt or cottage cheese.

Here is a typical day of eating in the life of Kelly:

  • Breakfast: Egg white omelet (stuffed with vegetables), 1 cup oatmeal (sweetened with truvia and cinnamon and sometimes some unsweetened cocoa powder and sometime sprinkled with seeds or nuts)
  • Snack: Green Monster (as of late) or maybe a handful of almonds
  • Lunch: Big salad (usually mixed greens, bell pepper, tomato, cucumber) and topped with a protein (chicken, tuna, tempeh) and a dressing of balsamic vinegar and olive oil.
  • Snack: An apple with PB or almond butter or vegetable sticks with hummus
  • Dinner: A protein (usually chicken or fish) and vegetables (any and all kinds) and sometimes a starch like brown rice, quinoa, etc.

I make sure to ALWAYS eats every 2 to 3 hours. Most of my meals are around 400 calories and my snacks are about 100-200 calories. This seems to work REALLY well for me. I am typically not a late night snacker because I go to bed about 2 hours after I eat dinner.

Does this help you?

Do you like seeing what a typical food day is like for me?

35 Responses

  1. So sorry to hear about your injury! I always feel too that when I get motivated and start up a new plan, something gets in my way.

    We have very similar eating habits! I too do not eat dairy very often and since I’ve given most of it up, I’ve felt so much better! I can’t really put my finger on it, but I just feel healthier without it. Probably TMI, but dairy = bloat to me.

  2. Thanks for sharing your eating plan. I’ve wondered how you fuel for long-distance running. Since my workout routine is still new to me, I feel like I’m always adjusting what and how I eat. I can’t really compare myself to others, but I like hearing what others do. I feel like it always offers great tips!

    I definitely eat carbs, lots of fruit and veggies, and nuts/nut butters. I work hard to get my veggies in, too. Protein is tough for me. I really have to focus on getting more protein into my diet.

    Glad you’re taking a breather. Between the mental and physical stress you’re endured, I’m sure it’s a welcome break. Keep your chin up 🙂

    • Okay but wait this is how I eat NOW when I was in full marathon training mode I ate a lot more…probably closer to 1800-1900 calories a day. My body needed the extra fuel for those 20+ milers.

      • That’s good to hear! This looks like a balanced diet, but I know I need more than that to take me through long training runs. 🙂

  3. i love getting food ideas, especially since you seem to eat such a balanced diet!

  4. Yum! Looks like a great day of meals and snacks to me! 🙂

  5. I eat really similar to you – not too many fruits or carbs. Tons of veggies and eating every 2-3 hours instead of 3 really large meals.

  6. Honestly, I dont really get help from seeing others eating plans. I tend to compare mine to theirs and yours, and it messes with me.

    That being said–your day looks great, healthy and balanced.

  7. Thanks for the info regarding your food plan. Do you ever crave more carbs? I’m training for a marathon right now, and I’m just craving carbs like a ravenous animal…! My appetite seems insatiable, but I try to limit calorie intake to about 1600 per day (every day except the long run day).

    • No I should have pointed out that this is how I eat NOW. When I was in marathon training mode I usually ate more like 1800-1900 calories a day and a lot more carbs…like 3 to 4 a day. My body NEEDED it! I usually ate whole grains, brown rice, quinoa, and other non-processed carbs. And before my runs I would eat a powerbar! HELLO CARBS!

  8. Looks like a balanced diet! I am a carb whore though 😉

  9. Your meals look great–pretty similar to mine! Egg whites and oatmeal in the morning are what get me through my day!

  10. oh my gosh, what a summer indeed :/ i hope things go well with the surgeon– i’ll be thinking of you!!! and ha, yes, i would love to be your personal chef 🙂

  11. You’re such a healthy eater 🙂 Have you ever thought about doing fitness competitions? And can you send some of your clean eating my way – I’ve been hitting the junk a little too hard lately.

    Sorry to hear about your hand – my sister just did something similar to her toe. Yikes.

    • No fitness competitions for me but I definitely admire those who do those. I don’t think I am strict enough with my diet to do one. I try to eat healthy 80% of the time but there are definitely junk food indulgences. But I am okay with that…sometimes I need a little buttah! 🙂

  12. Oh Kelly…holy wow, just got to check in for the day and caught this morning’s post with this one. I hope you’re okay, it has to be painful…and you still made me laugh in your ‘I’m grumpy’ post. It’s a gift.

    If you need anything, or Keith needs an extra set of hands just holler!!

  13. Sorry to hear about your pinky finger! that totally sucks. i hope it’s not too frustrating and gets better soon!

    It is very interesting to read what you eat and when. I’m always interested in what works for other people. I eat more fruit than you, but I love fruit. I also eat more carbs, but usually they are grains. Thanks for sharing!

  14. Way Healthy!! Insane. But everyone is different. I think we should all do what works for us because comparison gets you nowhere.

    Good Luck with the Hand Surgeon! I was thinking the same thing about your summer..oh well – at least you know this won’t happen to you again…right? Crossing fingers.

  15. I like your eating plan. Sounds very well balanced (and yummy, too!)
    Good luck with your hand…I’m so sorry to hear you’re going through another obstacle. But just remember, that’s all it is, an obstacle. It will pass!! 🙂

  16. Good girl! Keep that chin up! I definitely feel normal now when I think about what I eat! I always think about my ratio of carbs, veggies, protein and fats! Good luck tomorrow. I will be thinking about you! Oh and to what you said on my blog…I feel the same way and I hope to meet you one day too! Have a good night!

  17. You’re so healthy!! I love how you eat eggs AND oatmeal for breakfast. I feel like that would last me until dinner 😛

  18. Oh… Man I wish I could figure out an eating plan that would work for weight loss…
    I also eat every 2-3 hrs – usually 5-6 x a day (3 meals & 2-3 snacks ) most days similar to your eating plan written here- with a salad for lunch 3 x a week – always a fuji apple at 4 pm (usually with almond butter)
    I am a snacker at night ;(
    Around 1500-1700 cals a day but despite wking out also no weight loss in 6 wks?
    So I am planning to go to a nutritionist soon but always nice to compare with others
    😉
    Thanks for sharing!!!

    • Hum…it could be that you aren’t eating enough. If you don’t eat enough then your body automatically goes into starvation mode and your metabolism will slow down and not burn off fat even when working out.

  19. Thanks for sharing your eating plan. I have the Jackie Warner book and I like what she has to say about food and meal planning. I too cannot handle dairy and just live without it!

    I am so sorry to hear about your poor finger! 😦

  20. Hey there- thanks for replying on my comment 😉
    I appreciate advice!!!
    I did speak with a nutrition consultant on the phone this evening and she mentioned the same thing that since I burn alot during the day working a physical job and workout regularly that I may be restricting my intake TOO much and also being vegetarian I need to make sure I am getting everything the body needs – so I plan to work some additional intake and also have a metabolic wkup taken 😉

    Thanks sooo much!!!!

  21. You are a model eater, Kelly!

    I eat about the same approach as that really – but a lot more of it. I have the metabolism of a cheetah, luckily, so I can eat to my hearts content. I don’t eat a ton of carbs, partly because of the gluten thing, and partly because if given a choice between carbs and veggies, I always pick veggies!

  22. You have such an awesome attitude! I’m sure you will breeze through it.

    Your breakfast reminds me of one of my favorites. If you don’t mind eating an egg yolk or two, poached eggs over roasted veggies (often leftovers) is awesome! Can’t beat sweet potatoes in the mix.

  23. Have you ever tried goats milk? Its supposed to be easier for the body to digest. Plus, I’ve always liked it better.

  24. Oh wow–I am so happy to see that I am not the only one who is not a HUGE fan of fruits–I much rather have veggies anyday over fruits! YUM! I adore a good salad with all sort of goodies in them–I see you like your dressing simple as well-I love a good olive oil and Balsamic dressing–I suggest this INCREDIBLE balsamic vinegar you can get at William Sonoma-the brand is Oliver’s-its a 25 years old-and it’s DIRT cheap. Oh, it’s yummy over strawberries too! Love it!

  25. To be honest, I really don’t think that you are eating enough. I am a recovering anorexic and this eating plan is very very close to the plan that I was eating when I was starving myself. This is just some friendly advice so please don’t get offended. In my opinion I really think that you need to eat more carbs. Carbs will give you energy and will provide your brain with the necessary fuel it needs to function properly. In fact, the minimum number of carbs we need to eat per day to prevent ketosis is 130 grams.

    I also think that you should add in more healthy fats because they lubricate the skin (got dry hands?) and promote good heart and brain health. Also, when you aren’t eating enough your metabolism will slow down and hold on to every calorie you give it. Have you tried calculating your bmr? This is the basic number of calories that your body needs everyday to function, regardless of how much exercise you do. If you aren’t hitting this number then you are doing your body a disservice.

    One more thing: I have learned from working with my nutritionist that it food is actually important for exercise. Before, I was forcing myself to go extremely long periods of time exercising but I wasn’t eating enough. She said that I needed to start eating more so that I could fuel my exercise and gain benefits from it. She also said that if I am not eating enough my body is not going to burn off as many calories exercising as I think it will.

    Sorry if I sound like a bratty know-it-all. I just hate it when I see how others struggle with eating and feel that they need to eat a lot less than they really do. Really, I only want to help and share the knowledge that I am learning through my own struggles.

Leave a Reply

