Recipe Contest #1

Happy Sunday! Well as promised I have picked 3 recipes submitted from YOU to be in my recipe contest! First up was Hilary’s Chicken Enchiladas! 

Keith and I are going to be using the following criteria for each recipe. We will rate the criteria 1 to 5 (five being the best) and then we will add up the numbers and find the average score. The person closet to 5 WINS!

  1. Preparation Time/Degree of Difficulty
  2. Taste
  3. Ease of finding ingredients
  4. Presentation
Chicken Enchiladas a la Hilary
  • 1 medium onion, chopped fine
  • 1/2 t vegetable oil
  • salt
  • 3 medium garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 T chili powder
  • 2 t ground cumin
  •  2 (8 oz) cans tomato sauce
  • 1 c water
  • 1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • ground black pepper
  • 8 oz shredded reduced fat cheddar cheese (I used reduced fat mexican blend)
  • 1 (4 oz) can pickled jalapenos, drained and chopped
  • 1/2 c minced fresh cilantro leaves (I used an entire cup of cilantro but Keith and I love that flavor)
  • 12 (6 in) corn tortillas

Preheat the oven to 400.  Combine the onion, oil, and 1/2t salt in a large saucepan.  Cover and cook over medium-low heat until the onion has softened, stirring often, about 8 -10 min.  Stir in the garlic, cumin, chili powder, sugar, and cook about 30 sec or until fragrant.  Stir in the tomato sauce and water.  Bring to a simmer and cook until slightly thickened, about 5 min.   

 Nestle the chicken into the sauce.  Reduce heat to low, cover,a nd cook until the chicken is no longer pink, 10-12 min (it took mine closer to 20).  Transfer chicken to a plate and allow to cool.  Season the sauce with salt and pepper to taste. 

 Shred the chicken and toss with 1/2 cup sauce, 1 cup cheese, jalapenos, and cilantro and season with salt and pepper.  Warm up the tortillas until pliable.  Place 1/3 c chicken mixture in the middle of each tortilla and tightly roll each tortilla around the filling.  Lay them seam side down in a 9×13 in baking dish. 

Lightly spray the tops of the enchiladas with cooking spray.  Pour 1 cup of remaining sauce over the enchiladas and top with 1 cup cheese.  Cover the dish with foil and bake 20-25 minutes.  Remove foil and continue to bake another 5 minutes or until cheese browns.   

Nutritional Info:  (2 enchiladas per serving) Cal: 350 ; Fat: 10g ; Sat Fat: 4.5g ; Carb: 37g ; Protein: 33g     Fiber: 7g ; Sodium: 980mg

 Preparation Time/Degree of Difficulty: 3. This took quite a long  time to make. From beginning to end it took about an hour and half. It was worth it but it isn’t a quick meal you can just throw together on a busy weeknight. But while it may have taken a long time to make it wasn’t difficult. Nothing harder than chopping onions.

Taste: 5. OH MY GOSH! Keith and I both agreed these were better than any restaurant enchiladas we’ve had!

Ease of finding ingredients: 5. All the ingredients were easily found at my local grocery store.

Presentation: 4: These are pretty but enchiladas are always hard to plate, in my opinion. I haven’t mastered that part yet. 🙂

FINAL SCORE: 4.25

31 Responses

  1. Yum!! Those look awesome! I agree that enchiladas are hard to make “pretty”…but the taste usually makes up for that 🙂

  2. Kelly, This is such an awesome addition to your Blog. You and Keith are so creative.

    They look delish.I’ve never really had enchiladas…but if it has cheese, tortillas, sauce, and veggies…then, what the hell am I waiting for?!!

    Great rating system too – easy to follow – I’m surprised you didn’t have “Nutrition” or something specific as a value – but that’s kind of nice actually! And, I’m sure most things you cook aren’t along the lines of Ms. Paula “Butter” Dean LOL!!

  3. Ooohh those look good! I love enchiladas and for some reason I’ve never made them.

  4. Ohh I haven’t had an enchilada in forever. Sounds yummy! Although, yeah, I probably spend an hour and a half TOTAL for one week of cooking 🙂

  5. Sounds good. Taste > presentation ANY DAY!

  6. That has nothin on my burgers 😉

  7. I love Mexican food at home…this would probably be a good Sunday night choice. Looks tasty!

  8. Yum! Enchiladas are one of my favorite foods! Were these better than your amazing Enchilada Casserole? 🙂

    • Good question…I would say yes! It is better because I love the addition of fresh cilantro. BUT these are a lot more time consuming to make. So it is a toss up…more than likely I will make my enchilada casserole but on those days when I have the time and want to impress…these are the way to go!

  9. Enchiladas are the only thing that make me miss cheese.

  10. Oh yum! I love enchiladas! These look delicious!

  11. They look so good!!!!

  12. The presentation was not so pretty for me,either. I couldn’t get those suckers out in one nice little roll. Oh well. At least they were good 🙂 Glad you liked

  13. Gosh these look good! This contest was a great idea by you. Can’t wait to see the other two!

  14. Homemade enchiladas are SO worth the amount of time they take. My hubby begs for them!

  15. Never had homemade enchilads but my god do those look good!

  16. These look awesome! I love enchiladas…especially when they are made at home!

  17. Those look so good, though I probably would only make them on the weekend seeing as they take so long to make.

  18. Those turned out really good – and sometimes on the weekend, I don’t mind spending that much time in the kitchen. Hope you guys had a great weekend!

  19. OMG! First of all, those look AMAZING! Heaven! And I just found your blog and LOVE IT!! I am a newbie runner and really loving it, now working on training for my first 5K and beyond! Yay! I bookmarked you and added you to my blogroll. I’ll be back regularly! Keep up the great blogging!

  20. oh i am drooling! it might not be something super easy to make, but it sounds like it’s well worth it when you do! one other thing i want to know is if they freeze well? if so then you could do a couple batches, freeze, then reheat for dinner in a hurry 🙂

    • Oh yeah, I would think they would very easily freeze! That is a great idea. The next time I make these I will definitely make a double batch and freeze them! It is awesome!

  21. What a fun idea!! You are so creative! Those enchiladas look wonderful!

  22. […] even tell you how good it was because I dont have a big enough vocabulary. Yesterday morning I saw a recipe on Kelly’s blog that I absolutely had to try now. Hilary’s Chicken Enchiladas. As soon as I read it, I […]

  23. I have never made enchiladas but these look very do-able! Thanks for the great recipe!

  24. Oh mannnn! These look fantastic. My boyfriend loves enchiladas more than pretty much anything so I am going to have to make these for him

  25. […] days for this ole blog and I wanted everyone to get a chance to see my review for entry #1 of the recipe contest! Recipe 2 will come at some point this […]

  26. kelly I love enchiladas but you make them even better and then you left the recipe,thanks for sharing that with us..

Leave a Reply

