New Things Saturday

Good morning! So last night, as told, we went to dinner at Kona Grill with good friends, Doug and Kelly. Keith and I were a little all over the place with our food selections. We actually had sushi and pizza. ha…don’t judge. We split a sushi sampler and a margarhita pizza. Kudos to our waitress…she didn’t even flinch when we told what we wanted! ๐Ÿ™‚

Okay now I want to talk about something. I want to talk about the Green Monster. Now I know this was HUGE in the blog world a few months ago. And truthfully, I am not one to jump on a bandwagon because everyone else has. So I honestly just never got the appeal of the green monster smoothie trend. Well this morning after a killer weight workout, I wanted something COLD! So I thought I would finally try it. Into the mix went:

  • 8 ounces water
  • ice
  • 1 peach
  • 1 scoop Jay Robb Vanilla Whey protein powder
  • handful spinach
  • 1 tsp xantham gum

My First Green Monster (Oh and yes I was wearing a sweatshirt...the sweat combined with the AC made me cold! haha)

I blended, I sipped, and then I might have geekedย out all over my kitchen! THIS WAS AMAZING!!! You can’t even taste the spinach! I know, I know 90% of you are rolling your eyes while the words “duh” are running through your head! What can I say, I am late to trends! Case in point, it took me forever to embrace capri pants. But back to the point…I loved it.

What’s your favorite Green Monster creation! Bring it on!!

Today, we don’t have too much on the agenda. Laundry, as usual, and some cleaning. GAG! For Keith’s birthday (last March)ย me,ย my mom and stepdad, Jim, wentย in together andย got him a huge gift certificate at a massage place for multiple 90 minute massage and today he is cashing in on another one from 3:30 to 5:00! LUCKY GUY! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Then tonight I am making my first recipe from the recipe contest I have going. We are making Hilary’s chicken enchiladas! Results tomorrow!

HAPPY SATURDAY!!

29 Responses

  1. I have never had a green monster, but I don’t think I would mind it since I think I am the only one that actually likes hemp protein powder and that has a very “green” taste! So glad you had a great night and can’t wait to see your recipe results! Have a great Saturday!

  2. Haha, pizza and sushi sounds like a good combo to me ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I don’t have smoothies often, but when I do, the Green Monster is the way to go. Then again, I wore capri pants on the first day of high school because I wanted to look like Audrey Hepburn. I let everyone make their “flood” comments…they were wearing them a year later!

  4. If you happen to spill xantham gum all over the microwave and then try to wipe it off, it gets all slimy and disgusting. Just something I learned this week!

  5. I used to make green smoothies all the time and had the best luck when I used xantham gum in addition to guar gum. They haven’t sounded at all appealing since being pregnant and I don’t see that aversion going away any time soon, but hopefully post-baby they’ll sound good again!! Glad you enjoyed your first experience with them!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I always hate trying things for the sake of them being popular in the blog world. I’m glad I tried that awhile ago though because it certainly has helped me get in an extra dose of veggies here and there when my preggo body hasn’t been feeling them. They are good!

  7. Lol I am drinking a green monster right now! So good!

  8. I laughed when you said it took you forever to jump on the Capri bandwagon- I was the SAME way!!!:).
    I love Green Monsters, but most of my friends think I’m crazy when I tell them I put spinach in my protein shakes!! They also think I’m weird for taking pictures of my food too…haha!!

  9. Welcome to Green Monster world! I like to make mine with 2 c. spinach, 1 banana, 2 tbsp of peanut butter, 1 c. milk, and some ice. Matt even liked it! I love how you can get two servings of green leafy vegetable and only taste peanut butter! They are so refreshing.

    Also, we went on a double date a while ago to sushi. Matt was a good sport, but just didn’t eat enough. So he had some pizza at the bar we went to afterward. So pizza & sushi, not so bad.

    Plus, he did like the pizza sushi (pizza snow crab, smoked salmon, and avocado topped with tnt sauce and baked. drizzled with eel sauce and finished with bonito flakes and green onion). ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Pizza and sushi seems like the PERFECT combination! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I only tried green monsters like a month ago so I grinned reading about your first experience. It’s so strange because our brain says “don’t drink that, it’s green” but our mouth says “it doesn’t taste like spinach from here!” I’ve convinced my very vegetable picky hubby to try one.

  11. I STILL haven’t taken part in green monster mania! I like my smoothies pink or red!

    I suppose I could get over the green if I added peanut butter to the mix. Because I’ll eat ANYTHING with peanut butter. ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I make a green monster everyday. I just started a week or so ago. I LOVE them and they give me so much energy.
    Right now i have about 2 cups of spinach, 1Tbsp flaxseed, 1 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, +/- 1/2 banana, and a scoop of Amazing Grass. It doesn’t taste wonderful but I know how good and filling it is for me.

    Let us know other combos you like with your Green Monsters ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Never had sushi. Pizza of course. Not sushi. But I shall try…as soon as I ever am able to save up and live somewhere where is culture enough to do that…

  14. My mom had been putting spinach in our smoothies for years when we were growing up! I thought green smoothies were totally normal. Mango is my favorite thing to put in mine!

  15. haha green monsters are awesome!! I made a pina colada one the other day – SO GOOD!!

    Its funny that you ordered sushi and pizza, because thats what I ate yesterday too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. I made a bomb GM the other day: spinach, banana, bluebs, cherries, almond milk, flax, cinnamon – hella good!

  17. A restaurant that serves sushi AND pizza? Awwwesssome. I’ve never had a GM either. I’m super-late on health trends…maybe it is time to check it out for myself!

  18. I’ve been drinking a lot of smoothies this summer, and anything with mango is the best. mango, lime, spinach, ice, almond milk. Yum.

  19. I had pizza yesterday too! My local awesome pizza parlor doesn’t have fajita chicken pizza (my fav) so I batted my eyelashes in person and asked them to attempt it…best I ever had! Also, detail your star rating on the enchiladas!

  20. isn’t it awesome how you can’t taste the spinach?! i really adore that…and i try to start every day with a GM of some sort ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. I made a green monster once and it was just okay! I haven’t made it again. I added banana to mine and I think I added too much. I will have to try it again. Glad you liked it!

  22. green monster the best way is with frozen cherries banana, ice cubes, and some dark chocolate powder. Absolutely AMAZING!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  23. yay for GMs! i was surprised to hear it was your first – they’re awesome!

  24. Yep, can’t go wrong with spinach, but thus far, that is the ONLY green I like in smoothies. Proceed with caution ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, but like Sarena, I do like hemp protein powder.

    Never tried xanthan gum in a smoothie!

  25. glad you enjoy the green monster! my fav combo: frozen pineapple, half a banana, vanilla protein powder, a knob of fresh ginger, almond milk, ice cubes and SPINACH!!!!

  26. Yay for getting on the GM bandwagon!! I absolutely love them and wish I could afford to buy more and more protein powders to play around with.

    My fave has been chocolate protein powder, almond butter, vanilla soy, ice and splenda. I don’t even like nut butters but I found it amazing!!

  27. Ha! I was saying “duh you can’t taste the spinach” right before I read that!!!

  28. I’m always behind on trends too, but glad you tried this one. They’re the best!

Leave a Reply

