Thursday Recipe Winners

Happy Thursday everyone!! Well last night was an easy (but delicious dinner) we had Tilapia, steamed broccoli and kidney beans. Boring…but tasty and it did the trick! I simply seasoned my tilapia with some fresh lemon juice, salt and pepper and some garlic. It was nice and light.

Look out veggies!!

Workout this morning was nothing short of exciting. Woo-Flipping-Hoo….can you just hear the excitement. I tried running again. Can you see where this is going? I ran 4 miles at a (I think I might cry) slow pace. (6.7 on the treadmill) then I followed up with 20 minutes of HIIT from Monday. I know I need to not be so hard on myself but I feel like such a baby…my workouts suck. Okay there’s my Thursday pity party…moving on.

Let’s talk about the fun stuff and what most of you really want to know! The recipe contest winners!!! Well I am excited to say that we got some AWESOME entries and for those of you I didn’t pick…don’t worry I am still going to be making them! But for this contest, Keith and I chose:

So over the next few days to a week we will be testing all three of these recipes out. I will post for you the recipe and pictures with mine and Keith’s opinions and ratings! Remember the winner is going to get a copy of my first cookbook and a feature in my second cookbook scheduled to come out this November! WOO HOO!

Which would you make first?

Question of the day: Do you have any addictions?

Me: I am totally addicted to:

  1. Orbitz Sweet Mint Gum
  2. Crossword puzzles
  3. Ebay
54 Responses

  1. Congrats to the picks! I’m excited to hear more about the recipes too since I always need new good ones.

    And I’m addicted to…the computer!!!

  2. Thai basil chicken! I would totally try that first. It sounds delicious.

  3. The Thai basil chicken sounds so good! I’d try that first. As for addictions: chocolate, of course.

  4. Sorry the workouts suck. I hate it when I feel like that after waking up to get the day going! I am sure it will get better. Patience is not really in my vocabulary! Hmmm the burger seems like a great summer meal!

  5. Any workout is better than no workout. And 6.7 isn’t that slow, to some people it’s probably their fast pace.

    • I know! You’re right and you make me feel like a real bitch for complaining! haha! In a GOOD way though. It is like you snapped me into realizing that you are right. I guess it just hard to swallow because prior to this knee crap I was running 10+ miles at 7.0 on the treadmill. Humility is a hard pill to swallow. But YOU ARE RIGHT…at least I can workout. Sheesh…thanks for giving me some perspective!

  6. I am a total gum addict too. I used to be an ebay addict, but finally broke that one (before I broke the bank). Sorry you had a crummy workout. That’s always disappointing.

  7. I’m addicted to healthy living blogs, ha!! πŸ™‚

    I can’t wait to read about this recipe challenge!

  8. I’m addicted to those things too! But not Ebay so much as it’s protege, half.com!

  9. Sorry your not happy with your workouts. But your really hard on yourself. Your doing way more than most and are lucky to still be able to run! And I agree with Kelly above – caution when calling it “slow” – some people are very proud to run those paces and good for them!

    I definitely have addictions…but let’s not get into them here ;)…you need to add running to your list though haha! Cheer up.

    • Thanks Jenn! You always offer such good words of wisdom and perspective! Love you!

      • Oh man…that is so nice of you to say…I’ve had such a bad morning and your words just made such a difference (I’m tearing up here girl!)…and no wisdom – I’ve gotten it all from you and other readers who kick me in the butt when I need it…often…hugs to you.

  10. Congrats to the winners!! I’d make the chicken enchiladas first b/c I looooooove mexican food!!

  11. Addictions: cofee, coffee….COFFEE!!! πŸ™‚

    No, really.
    1. Coffee
    2. gum (not a fan of the sweet mint flavor, though. Sorry!)
    3. Words with Friends (virtual scrabble) and Angry Birds (a stupid sorta video game) on the iPhone. I blame the hubby for both πŸ™‚

  12. If I could afford that fancy beef:) Those are great pics, tasty tasty!

    I am obsessed with Starbucks chia tea lattes. I think I’ve helped their stock go up.

  13. Okay, I am being biased, but you’ll love my Thai Basil Chicken cups!! So glad you picked me and can’t wait to see what you think πŸ˜€

    Happy Thursday (and for the record, 6.7 to me is considered a sprint so I wouldn’t be too hard on yourself!)

    • Thanks Biz…I appreciate the kind words of encourgament! I also can not wait to try the Thai Basil chicken cups…they were my pick! They look so good!!!

  14. Shhh Kells. TRY and remember your excitement from just like two days ago and that kickass workout you had!! And try to remember that if you want a future FULL of hardcore workouts, then you need to listen to your body NOW to ensure that it’ll be there for you for YEARS to come. Chin up!!

  15. My number one addiction would be coffee. Congrats to the winners!

  16. I’m addicted to nut butters. I don’t discrimate. They’re all amazing!

    I know the workouts aren’t what you’re used to, but they really are better than nothing. And…I actually could run with you now πŸ˜‰

  17. That thai basil chicken sounds so good!!

    I’m addicted to coffee and the internet. I could live without tv, but no internet and I think I would die. I wouldn’t know what to do if I couldn’t google every question I’ve ever had.

  18. my protein ice coffee drink, got to have it!

  19. i love that you’re doing this contest! i’m checking out the recipes now. i’m addicted to crossword puzzles, my horoscope (embarassing!), my blackberry, and my camelbak.

  20. Oooh, make the enchiladas first! I love Tex-Mex food!

    I am addicted to Laughing Cow cheese, frozen yogurt, reading cookbooks/cooking magazines/blog recipes, triple decaf Americanos and Extra spearmint gum. πŸ™‚

  21. Try to think of it as a means to an end Kelly! In order to be able to get back to those kick ass high mileage speed demon workouts you NEED to have these baby, slower (but still awesome) workouts. Your body is going to give you a big, fat hug for it! If you want to be a runner years from now this is what you need to do. I’m addicted to gum (any of the fruity Extra ones), triple soy lattes from Starbucks, and awful television.

    • Thank you so much for such awesome words! I know you’re right. I know….and I promise to be more grateful tomorrow! πŸ™‚ Thanks for bearing with me!

  22. enchiladas all the way…i so miss really great tex-mex!

  23. I think I would make mine πŸ˜‰

    I am totally addicted to PEANUT BUTTER!

  24. I would definitely make the thai basil chicken…YUMMM! I used to seriously be addicted to gum. And the funny part is, it started with orbit sweet mint!! I used to buy the huge packs at sams club! and about a month ago I decided that having a pack of gum a day (I know, ridiculous) is probably not good for me! So I stopped. Cold Turkey. I’m also addicted to blog reading πŸ™‚

  25. I have those same addictions.

    I’m on a thai basil kick myself, so I’d make the chicken. In fact, I think I might!

  26. I’m totally addicted to popcorn with hot sauce. In fact I’m eating it right now.

  27. 6.7 is pretty fast for me! πŸ™‚

    I’m addicted to clif mojo dipped bars right now!

  28. LOVE the sweet mint orbit gum! YUM! πŸ™‚
    Addictions? Soft serve ice cream. Can’t get enough of the stuff.

  29. i would make Matt’s burgers! how exciting your own cookbook! i am addicted to Real house wives of New Jersey!

  30. I run/jog like 3 times a week at 6 so you are fine! You are like me, your own worst critic? Give yourself a break dolly! Also I think I would try Hilary’s Chicken Enchiladas first. Can’t go wrong there. As for my addiction – COFFEE! Does that even count lol?

  31. sugar and the internet are my only addictions.

    so cool about the cookbook!!!!

  32. oh kelly, i know this sounds disgustingly whiny on my part…but i seriously cry every night…seriously…
    people don’t understand
    i used to be a runner
    a good runner
    a speedy runner
    and i did it cause i loved it….i just did it and it became my identity

    now my body aches…over a year ago i gave up running…and when i try to jog for 30 secs my body and muscles ache and the deep-throbbing fatigue sets in

    my adrenals and my body have been shockingly exhausted

    u are so lucky kelly
    so lucky
    and u don’t realize it
    not that that is your fault
    people never seem to realize till its gone

    the hardest for me is when people think i exaggerate it all…i feel so much guilt and loss…seriously

  33. Congrats to the winners! Addictions – puzzles, hot tea, CSA oranges, and cookies of course πŸ™‚

  34. […] am a finalist in a recipe contest. Who knew my love for burgers would win me something? Thank God Whole Foods has grass-fed bison […]

  35. […] picked my recipe! Posted on July 30, 2010 by biz319 Kelly and her husband were looking for new/healthy recipes to try out.Β  Kelly got a pick, her husband got a pick and then they agreed on one together.Β  Well […]

  36. The Thai Basil Chicken looks awesome, I have that bookmarked to make too! Enchiladas are always good too though. Can’t wait to see the results!

  37. […] in on another one from 3:30 to 5:00! LUCKY GUY! Then tonight I am making my first recipe from the recipe contest I have going. We are making Hilary’s chicken enchiladas! Results […]

  38. Yeah, that’s exciting you picked my sister Biz’s recipe! Great choices, and love the cook book! Great job!

  39. Totally with you on the Orbit sweet mint gum. I’m actually chewing a piece right now! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

