Wednesday Wonders

Good morning everyone! Happy Wednesday to you! It’s hump day…already! Is this week flying or is it just me? Last night I wasn’t feeling all that great so I (bad wife) left Keith to his own devices regarding dinner. I don’t really know what is going on with me but my energy level is about a 1 on a scale of 1 to 100 and I just feel blah. I don’t really have a reason to be so tired but….whatever…I am. So the bad wifey left Keith on his own. Sue me! 😉

I got a full 8 hours of sleep and I felt better this morning. My workout was a good one! I ran 3 miles (8:50/pace) and then did weights again. I was sore from Monday but in a good way…plus the burn does feel good. I have to admit. Today was:

  • Dumbbell Hammer Presses (15 reps/3 sets)
  • Reverse Dumbbell Presses (15 reps/3 sets)
  • Sissy Squats (30 reps/3 sets)
  • Front Dumbbell Lunges (15 each leg/3sets)
  • Triceps Kickbacks (15 reps/3sets)
  • Nose Busters (15 reps/3 sets)
  • Ab Hold (30 seconds/3sets)
  • Windshield Wipers (30 reps/3 sets)
  • Dumbbell Presses w/ Twist (15 reps/3 sets)
  • Dumbbell Flys (15 reps/3sets)
  • UFC’s (30 reps/3 sets)
  • Front Kicks (15 reps each leg/3 sets)
  • Headbangers (15 reps/3sets)
  • Narrow Presses (15 reps/3 sets)
  • V-Tucks (30 reps/3 sets)
  • Bicycles (30 reps/3 sets)

Now I need to STRETCH!!!! But I do need to show you something, first. Keith has our organic garden back in full force! So we have transplanted the following:

  • bell peppers (orange and red)
  • cucumbers
  • summer squash
  • zucchini
  • spaghetti squash
  • okra (I AM MOST EXCITED ABOUT THIS ONE!)

This is our second garden. The first one we had a lot of success with the squash and broccoli but our main problem was pill bugs. They literally starting eating our root systems. We want to have an organic (pesticide-free) garden so we tried a lot of natural remedies and nothing worked! But we are going to try and be more diligent this time and catch those guys before they start!

Do you have a garden?

How do you keep the bugs away and still be organic?

Don’t forget to enter my Cooking Contest. You have until tonight to enter! Keith and I are already torn at what to chose…keep those emails coming!!

51 Responses

  1. I wish we had a garden but we really don’t have a spot! I would love to have one because I always assume it would help me eat veggies. 🙂

  2. I wish we had a garden, but I would just kill it all. Peter wants to do one someday. I told him he would have to do most of the work. Outdoor labor (even for food!) is not my thing.

    And I love feeling an extra burn with a workout too.

  3. Garden love it and the pics by the way. So I have a fresh herb garden for now, my little Ryan likes to bull doze my plants with his trucks and soccer balls. So I’m holding off on veggies for now. Yet we do go to farmers markets to fresh veggies and fruits!!! Have a great Wednesday.

  4. I blame the heat and humidity for my blah lately! It just seems to drain me! I wish I had a garden. We have tried so many times, but the critters eat my plants. We need to come up with a better way of doing it.

  5. I would love to have a garden but I first need a backyard. My “garden” consists of a potted basil plant on my skinny balcony. Oh well.

    I hear planting flowers can help keep bugs away because the bugs go to the flowers instead. If only I could remember what type of flowers!

  6. I have a garden, but it’s so tiny! Adam and I dug everything by hand and all we do it water it. We haven’t put any chemicals at all into it and things seem to be growing. I’m sure it would be better if I did things like trimmed and weeded…but I’m eating fresh veggies from it, so….

    Your garden looks pretty amazing! Good luck with it 🙂

  7. Oh wow! What a huge garden! This is our first year doing a garden and I love it so far. Not much trouble with bugs though! Let me know what you find that works! Have a great day!

  8. I have a garden… our biggest problem is squirrels. I wish i had some advice for your bug problem. I’ve never used pesticides… I just sprinkle cayenne pepper all over the garden and the critters stay away 🙂

    Good luck!

  9. I also wish I had a garden, all I have is a basil plant! I can’t wait to see how your comes along.

  10. I’ve been lacking energy too lately. I don’t know if its the heat or months of pregnancy 🙂

    I don’t have a garden, but we just bought our first house and I hope to next summer. Yours is beautiful!

  11. I don’t have a garden. Can’t wait to see what you do with yours!

  12. I’m glad you’re feeling better!

    Your garden rocks!! I’m so jealous– I really want one…but I’m too lazy to do it, ha!

  13. Congrats on getting the garden going again! It looks awesome! I use sluggo plus to get rid of the pill bugs (or at least knock down their numbers.) I can’t wait to hear how your okra does! My cucumbers have been prolific this year, but that’s about it as far as the veggies go. Hope your plot produces well for you!

  14. i used to grow basil…but it died in a hail storm 😦 otherwise i have no gardening experience whatsoever!

  15. Nice workout. We have a garden but it’s doing poorly b/c something (not bugs but an animal) keeps snagging on my veggies. It’s even started in on the jalapenos so it’s serious!

  16. I had a ginormous garden one time. I had rows and rows of everything. It was way too much work for me, and that was when I wasn’t working. I lived somewhere were I had to keep it weed free…I loved having fresh veggies, but I got garden burn-out fast.

  17. My parents had a huge garden back home… I never fully appreciated it until now when I love eating fresh and don’t have much room to work with to have my own… 😦

  18. Whew girl, you really have an awesome strength training routine. I’m not sure if I know what some of those exercises are, but I’m curious to find out and try them! So hopefully good old google will help me out. Good luck on the garden. My dad had one back in the day with a little white picket fence around it. haha

  19. I’ve been lacking on energy too, i think it’s just the heat of summer draining us.

  20. your workouts are INCREDIBLE.

    I reviewed a product recently too that fits your gluten-free needs if interested (or anyone!)…and it’s cookies…;) – i’m not gluten-free at ALL but…cookies? You don’t have to twist my arm 🙂

  21. Hope you get to feeling better soon!! Take care of yourself!! 🙂

  22. You’re garden is so fresh and so clean, clean. Seriously, nice gardener too:) My nanny has a garden and I pick all sorts of stuff when I visit. She’s my local farmer, lol.

  23. Our garden was a bit of a bust this year. It was our learning year, we figure. We did get a few cucumber and some cherry tomatoes out of it, though.

    I just posted the chicken enchilada recipe if you want it.

  24. dang Keith! I spy mega muscle man in those pictures!

  25. Your lack of energy might be mental. Sometimes I feel like I am dragging when I am not working out as much, but it should feel the opposite. You know what I mean? Hang in there Kelly! That was a sweet lifting session today 😉 You totally gave me some motivation to hit the gym after work.

  26. I just had okra for the first time last night! Delicious.

    You know I love my garden!!! For bugs, I just religiously spray them with soapy water. At least once a day, I DOUSE them with it. It worked for me, and I was able to save my bok choy.

    I got that book at the library yesterday and I am doing this workout (or the one from Monday….) tomorrow. I can’t wait, I’ve been missing my weights!

    You’re hardly a bad wife!

  27. glad you are feeling better-it is amazing what a full 8 hours of sleep will do for you. love the garden pics-i live in a townhome so no garden for me 😦

  28. Glad you are feeling better! So cute to see your husband gardening. My husband has the green thumb, but we haven’t had a place where we can actually garden (he’s mainly growing herbs in the window and planting everything in site to see what grows in a pot – he’s a little nuts 🙂

    But, I am hoping we can do some gardening when we get a new place.

  29. Love your garden! No garden here in my 5th floor apartment. =)

  30. I would love to have a garden, but we forgot to plant one. Boo…

  31. What a wonderful garden! You have so much space, I would go crazy planting everything I could think of. I don’t really have a designated garden, but I do have herbs growing in various spots in the yard. And a couple of avocado and papaya trees!

  32. I don’t have my own garden as I live in the city, but I would LOVE one! I’m moving to the outer part of the DC area in a month or so and I’m hoping to have one there :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  33. We have a garden but it’s a patio garden. the heat rags on things more than bugs. I use organic seaweed soap stuff on them if I get anything, it’s all natural.

    Our yard is very uneven and Dan won’t let me plan anything in the ground until it’s leveled. I REALLY pushed for leveling this past year and it never happened 😦

  34. Glad you are feeling better too! Being energy zapped is terrible!

    I have half a mind when Dan is on one of his work trips in the coming weeks, to just go ahead and rip some grass out and stick things in the ground, lol! Although with all of the rock in our area, that may be a huge challenge

  35. My dad was just saying last night he heard that if you plant garlic around the perimeter of your garden, bugs will stay out. Now, I dont know if that means ALL bugs, but its worth a shot.

  36. I use nets …it helps for the birds…and water and a dash of soap in a spray bottle..sprayed and beer in flat plate for the snails

  37. No garden for us but I definitely want one when we have a backyard. I can’t wait to hear about your bug solutions. Will be good to know

  38. I am jealous of your garden. Our backyard is really shady so I don’t think we can have one. I will just live vicariously through you.

  39. Kell – you might want to try the above ground boxes. My girlfriend here has some great vegetables and flowers. Use this link to check out the books available. My stepdad is starting to use this now too.
    http://squarefootgardening.mybisi.com/products/Books_213237/?page1

Leave a Reply

