Laugh It Up Saturday

Happy Saturday morning everyone! I hope everyone enjoyed their Friday night!! We had pizza night…this seems to be a running tradition in the household a la Kelly &  Keith. We got a little adventurous and made our own pizza crust. We used Matt’s recipe with a few tweaks to make it gluten-free. Basically I just used gluten-free flour instead of the whole wheat flour. It was great….thanks Matt!!! Then for dessert I did something different. I took two caramel rice cakes and put cool-whip in between and then froze it for  few hours. It was quite tasty. A quirky spin on an ice cream sandwich. 😉

Super Cute Friday Night! HA!

Then Keith and I watched an interesting movie: District 9. This was without a doubt one of the strangest movies I have ever seen. I am not sure that I would recommenced it. haha!

Have you seen this movie? What did you think?

Tonight Keith and I have plans with our favorite couple. Who? My mom and stepdad, Jim! They are the most fun and Keith and try to get out with them at least once a month! We start to feel mom and Jim deprived when we go longer than that! haha! My mom is quite literally my best friend and Keith and Jim are like two peas in a pod too! So it works well…they are the BEST! We re going for dinner at Moonshine! Keith and I have never been there before so we are excited. Check and the menu and tell me what to get! Then later we are headed to a famous comedy club in Austin, Esther’s Follies, for  night full of extreme laughing!!! I am so excited! I love to laugh!

Do you like comedy clubs?

What should I order tonight at Moonshine?

What fun plans do you have for tonight?

33 Responses

  1. do you have to eat a main? Can you just order everything on the dessert menu? haha

  2. Glad you liked the pizza! Happy weekend Kelly!

  3. i really like your glasses! very cool!

  4. I have seen District 9 and agree that it was weird, but I liked it. It was very different. I think you have to be the right kind of person to like it though…as in, I’m not the type to like chick flicks, so I’m not surprised I liked it. I enjoy movies that are a bit “off”.

    • It was definitely “off” and I think I liked it….but I can see how most people wouldn’t. That is why I don’t think I would actually recommend it to people. You know?

  5. Ohh that “ice cream sandwich” sounds good! I’ll definitely try that. I love movie night. I went to see Inception last night and it was seriously amaaazing! You and Keith have to see it! Today I’m going to a minor league baseball game, which should be fun. I like doing things that take me out of the big bad city and make me feel “normal.” ha!

    • It was REALLY good. I was pleasantly surprised! Definitely try t. Have fun at the baseball game. Sounds like the perfect day! Can I come?

  6. Hey honey!! So happy to hear you are well, as well as you can be in your given situation. I am away from home, eating lot’s of berries every day from the backyard 🙂 Please never stop blogging, I don’t come here for your running but for YOU! I just bought seal oil, heard that it is the best way to get omegas in, have you tried??

    • Seal oil?? No, I haven’t heard of it!!! Keep me posted on how it makes you feel.

      Sounds like you are enjoying yourself. Now I only wish I was with you eating all those fresh berries. Sounds like the perfect way to spend an afternoon!

  7. Freaking LOVE Moonshine! I had the molasses and chili rubbed prok with bourbon apple sauce lasttime and it was awesome. Jensen had the buffalo meatloaf and it was RIDICULOUS! I also tried some of the rianbow trout with cornbread stuffing that someone else at the table order and it was fantastic, too. I think pretty much everything is good. Can’t go wrong. Oh, and the roasted sweet potatoes with rosemary rocked, too. 🙂

    • I knew you would have good recommendations!!! haha! I am not sure what I am going to go with! But I know Keith will probably order that Bison meatloaf so I will get a bite! 🙂

  8. Your glasses are too cute on you!

    xo

  9. That dessert sounds good!

    I don’t like stand up comedy. I know that’s weird but it just doesn’t make me laugh. I have a strange sense of humor!

  10. Oh, how I wish I’d read this before hitting publish on my post today. You never fail to put a smile on my face!

    Love your glasses!

  11. I recently watched District 9 myself and had a similar reaction. It was weird.

  12. Have fun! I haven’t been to a comedy club in a long time but we’re trying to get to one soon with some friends. They are such a good time.

  13. Yeah your glasses are cool. That’s “ahhhhh” worthy that your ma is your best friend. Enjoy your night out.

  14. love the dessert idea. Definitely something different to try. I thought the advertising campaign for District 9 when it came out was very interesting, they used a lot of interactive techniques, but it just seemed really strange and i have no desire to see it.

    Have fun tonight. I love that you and Keith are so close with your mom and step dad!

    • I actually went out with a friend once who ordered dessert as her main meal. She just strugged because she figured if that was what she really wanted why watse room with anything else. As funny as I thought it was at the time, I kind of seem the wisdom in that decision. I mean if her body REALLY wanted dessert then even a good meal probably wouldn’t squash that craving and she would end up ordering dessert anyway. Then she would feel stuffed and gross because she over ate. So why not just skip the meal and order the good stuff! Obviously not something to do on a regular basis but every so often it actually sounds quite good! 🙂

  15. Love the glasses! I agree with Evan, the desserts all look SO good!

    • I know!!! My mom and Jim always order dessert so I am sure there will be something yummy with 4 forks tonight! I am going to lobby hard for the red velvet cake! haha! 🙂

  16. How cute are you with your glasses? Love ’em! Pizza and movies are the perfect Friday night pair. I’ve yet to perfect the crust, so maybe I’ll try that recipe. Enjoy dinner tonight!

    See you in a few weeks!!

  17. I have seen that movie! Yes it’s quite odd. My brother came over to stay one weekend and he told us to rent it….uh…I didn’t know the F word could be used so many times! I mean I thought the plot had some meaning behind it, but I can do without the extreme language for sure. Have fun with your parentals!!

  18. Cheers to Pizza Friday! Hope you guys have fun tonight. We spent the day on the lake with family and are going to have dinner with friends this evening.

  19. That’s so endearing that you guys are so close to your mom and stepdad. I hope you have tons of fun! And I’m hoping to organize a pizza night with my own family someday, too! 🙂

  20. You are SUPER cute, girl!!! How was District 9?? Heard mixed reviews, wanted to see but was hesitant?

  21. I LOVE Moonshine. I’ve only been there twice, but SO good.

    I had a pork tenderloin the first time, but it wasn’t on the menu last time we went. 2nd time I had one of the sandwiches and it was devine, as were their rosemary roasted potatoes. I dont usually get potatoes as a side, but they were yummY!

  22. oh i bet your homemade pizza dough tasted so much better than take out 🙂 yumm!!
    love your glasses by the way – you look adorable!

  23. Popped in to say hi! I grew up in Austin, and Esther’s Follies was all the rage when I was in HS! I hope you had fun!

  24. Hi kelly! Just caught up on your blog from the past couple of posts. I’m glad you are hanging in there with your running. Hope you had fun with your mom and stepdad! I love hanging out with my mom and stepdad too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

