Fruity Friday!

WHAT A WEEK! I can honestly say that I am thrilled it is Friday! Thank goodness! I am ready to de-stress, make new goals, have some Kelly & Keith time. Then come Monday….look out peeps…that annoying Monday lover will be back in FINE form! bahahah!

Please tell me all your exciting plans for this weekend!!

But I can’t leave you without some awesome health knowledge, now can I? Speaking of, if you missed it you should really go check out the article I posted yesterday afternoon about The 5 Biggest Health Myths. It is pretty hysterical in it’s own way. But today…let’s talk about fruit! It is no doubt that usually in the summer I find myself craving fruit. I eat substantially more fruit in the summer than in the winter. So with that said, how about a list of the Top 15 Healthiest Fruits!

1. Apples – 1 medium apple (80 calories, 0 g fat): An apple’s 3 g of fiber help you meet your fiber goal of 20 g to 30 g daily. High-fiber diets can lower heart disease risk;

2. Apricots – 3 apricots (51 calories, 0 g fat): A good source of beta-carotene (which is converted to vitamin A by the body), providing the equivalent of 35% of the RDA for vitamin A;

3. Bananas – 1 medium (105 calories, 0 g fat): Bananas are a great source of potassium, which plays a key role in heart health and muscle function. Plus each one has 2 g of fiber;

4. Blackberries – 1 cup (74 calories, 0 g fat): This fruit boasts a whopping 10 g of fiber in a single cup;

5. Blueberries – 1 cup (81 calories, 0 g fat): Blueberries help prevent and treat bladder infections by making it hard for bacteria to stick to urinary tract walls;

6. Cherries – 1 cup (84 calories, 1 g fat): A good source of perillyl alcohol, which helps prevent cancer in animals. Heart-protective anthocyanins give cherries their color;

7. Grapefruits – 1/2 fruit (39 calories, 0 g fat): A good source of vitamin C and a compound called naringenin, which helps suppress tumors in animals;

8. Kiwi – 1 medium (46 calories, 0 g fat): Just one little fruit packs a mean vitamin-C punch (74 mg) and an impressive 2.8 g fiber;

9. Mangoes – 1 mango (135 calories, 1 g fat): A single mango has enough beta-carotene to cover your RDA for vitamin A while racking up 57 mg of vitamin C;

10. Oranges fruits– 1 orange (61 calories, 0 g fat): One orange provides an impressive 50 mg to 70 mg of vitamin C, 40 mcg of folic acid and 52 mg of calcium;

11. Papayas – 1 cup, cubed (55 calories, 0 g fat): Loaded with vitamin C (86 mg per cup), a healthy dose of fiber (2.5 g) and a sprinkling of beta-carotene and calcium;

12. Purple grapes – 1 small (113 calories, 0.9 g fat):Offer three heart-guarding compounds: flavonoids, anthocyanins and resveratrol (green grapes are not rich in them);

13. Prunes – 1/3 cup, stewed (87 calories, 0 g fat): Prunes’ famed laxative effect is no mystery: There are 5 g of fiber (both soluble and insoluble) in just 1/3 cup;

14. Raspberries – 1 cup (60 calories, 0 g fat): Teeming with 8 g of fiber per cup, they also boast vitamin C, ellagic acid and anthocyanins;

15. Strawberries – 1 cup, sliced (50 calories, 0 g fat): Strawberries have high levels of ellagic acid and anthocyanins, and are rich in vitamin C (95 mg per cup) and fiber (3.8 g per cup).

What’s your favorite summertime fruit?

54 Responses

  1. I love fruit so much so I don’t think I can pick. But I really love strawberries and watermelon!

  2. YUM fruit! I love it! It is my favorite sweet treat! have a great weekend Kelly!

  3. I really love all fruit, but strawberries and peaches are at the top of the list in summer. Come fall, I love apples from the orchard, which make grocery store apples taste like junk.

  4. I am addicted to all fruits!! Right now I’m obsessed with crunchy red grapes and our georgia peaches!! 🙂

  5. Fruit is quite possible my favorite food group! I love summer berries and melon, but I seriously would die without tried and true apples and bananas!

  6. I love all the stone fruits– nectarines, peaches, plums…yum! I also love watermelon. Actually, I love almost ALL fruit! 🙂

    Hope you have a nice, relaxing weekend!

  7. I don’t think I could choose a favorite fruit. Although I do have a banana everyday, without fail.

    Exciting weekend plans??? We are painting our baby’s nursery 🙂

  8. I love fruit, too. Weekend plans – dinner with friends and painting my bathroom. Have a great weekend Kelly!

  9. Yay! Berries, apples, and red grapes are big tops on my list of favorite fruit.

    And my exciting weekend plans are an Atlanta blogger meet up tonight!! So excited!

  10. strawberries & bananas!! love ’em. I make sure to have a banana every single day – good for runners, but you already knew that 😉

  11. Strawberries, watermelon, and peaches. I love Graeter’s peach sorbet in Cincinnati. Now if I could just get my hands on some.

  12. My favorite fruit has to be strawberries. I used to hate bananas, but now I crave them. Funny how tastes can change. I hope you get a lot of de-stressing and hubby time!

  13. Favorite fruits are kiwi, pineapple, and apples. Apples are good all year round and travel well, so they are easy. I love all berries and peaches in the summer, too. Clearly I’m not picky when it comes to fruit 🙂 Pretty much the only one I won’t eat is papaya and I’m not a fan of the melons (watermelon, honeydew, or canteloupe).

    • I am not much of a melon gal either…texture. It is too mushy for me! On a side note…be safe driving home today from SPI!

  14. Love this post! I just made a fruit bouquet last night, and I am loving everything about the fresh fruit! My favorite in the summer is fresh strawberries and raspberries hand picked! Yum!

    xo enjoy your weekend gorgeous!

  15. Oh my goodness, I don’t think I can pick a favorite! I am a total fruit-lover. My morning snack today will be three apricots, which I’m very much looking forward to, but I also have a plum and a nectarine. And most days I eat at least one apple and at least one banana! Whew!

  16. You forgot peaches:( I love ALL fruit, that’s right. I can’t get enough, so fresh. Dried fruit is practically dessert.

    This weekend, who knows:) Hope you’re staying out of trouble.

  17. I”m all about the berries!

  18. I was reading this as I was chowing down on a banana. haha. I have been obsessing over cherries this year! yum

  19. Sadly my favorite summertime fruits (honeydew and cantaloupe) aren’t on there 😦 I do love blueberries and blackberries though!

  20. My favorite fruit isn’t listed..but I LOVE it- which is watermelon- delish 😀 The one listed that I love is Kiwis..yummy!!

  21. I love all the fruit available in the summer! Its totally the best part. I don’t know that I could pick a favorite – watermelon maybe? And mango, and raspberries.

  22. I enjoyed your health-myth post yesterday! Especially the myth about walking being the best exercise haha. Granted, walking is exercise…but I wouldn’t say it’s superior to other forms of exercise.

    Fav. fruit = pineapple!

  23. I LOVE kiwi! but I rarely eat it because I hate the preparation. Lazy I know, but when I do eat it, it’s such a treat! This weekend I have absolutely NOTHING planned (except a couple workouts) and I am sooo excited to do nothing! Can’t wait for your spunkiness (is that a word) on Monday morning! YAY!

    • Okay seriously with kiwis….I just bite into them skin in all. I thought it was gross too until I watched my stepdad do it. I tried it and the skin is not bad.

  24. I just love how enthusiastic you are about Mondays! 🙂 1st thing I need to do Monday morning is look here and it’ll put me in a better mood!

    I’m a HUGE Mango fan!

    • Hehe…I don’t know what my deal is with Mondays…I just like them. They symbolize the start of the week and make me feel eager to start fresh!

  25. I LOVE most fruit, but fresh peaches and berries are wonderful. I eat a ton of berries this time of year.

    This weekend is my mom’s 60th bday. They are coming to town today through Sun. Tonight is dinner at my house. Tomorrow morning her, myself, and my sister are going to Dell Fit Fair in Lakeway to do the 2 mile run with her (mom is a new runner who does Galloway). Then RR Express game tomorrow night. Lunch for her bday on Sunday before they leave town, with Nothing Bundt Cake minis for her cake 🙂 Our family loves those things, perfect portion control for special occasions. I will probably get 4-5 flavors and we can mix and match bites of each between the 6 of us (double servings for the boys).

    • Sounds like a GREAT weekend! Enjoy the baseball game! We are actually going to Ester’s Follies on Saturday night! I am SO excited!

  26. this is awesome, i’m totally bookmarking 🙂

    i love watermelon and strawberries…is there anything better? i think not 🙂

  27. Ah I love fruit! I have been eating so much of it this summer!

    Take some time to relax and recharge this weekend. Have you drawn up a new cross training plan?

  28. I eat any and all fruit, and eat tons of it in the summer. I have berries, mango, peaches, apricots, and pluots in my fridge right now!

    I think my favorites depend on whats in season, right now I can’t get enough mangoes and peaches and melons. In the winter though, I eat more pineapple and I try to like apples, but they don’t agree with me.

    • I am not a mango girl but Keith loves them! So we have them in the house but I can’t seem to like them. I am really starting to realize that I am kinda picky about my fruit! haha!

  29. Hands down Strawberries are my favorite fruit. I think I eat two pints a week of strawberries….i’m surprised I haven’t turned red yet;)

  30. I am so glad to see all the berries up there! Those are my favorite!

    Enjoy your weekend of K&K time 🙂

  31. Peaches are so cheap right now and they are just so stinking good!

  32. I LOVE FRUIT!!!

    Oh – and I picked up “The Host” based on your review! 🙂

    • Oh good! Okay my one piece of advice is to get through the first few chapters. It is really confusing right at first but it all makes sense and works out…but you have to get through the first few pages. Stick with it…I PROMISE it is good!!!

  33. Hi I just found your blog! Everything is so informative–love it! 🙂

    I love love LOVEEE mangoes. My family is in Taiwan so whenever I go back to visit them over the summer, I make sure I have enough to turn my skin orange 😀

  34. Yikes I don’t know if I can pick a favorite. I pretty much love all fruit. Maybe strawberries… 🙂

  35. weekend plans consisted of taking off Friday night to run a challenging night trail 10k run in San Antonio. The only requirement was a head lamp. Which came in handy in the heavly wooded very narrow path! It was a blast, and definitely not a trail you come to PR. It was fun and recommend anyone who likes to run to look it up and register for the next one.

    Back to what I call my work week!!! Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  36. […] Not Forget The Veggies Posted on July 28, 2010 by Kelly Last week I posted The Top 15 Healthiest Fruits  well what about vegetables? We can’t really forget about those? I present you […]

Leave a Reply

