Make Someone’s Day Monday

Happy Monday everyone! I hope everyone had a great weekend. We did but it was long and tiring. We did lots of yard work (well okay okay Keith did lots of yard work!) But I was a great cheerleader! That counts for something right??

I forgot to tell you that we watched a movie on Saturday night that was interesting. It was one of those movies that you totally didn’t see coming but was also really good! It was called “Unthinkable” with Samuel L. Jackson, ever heard of it? It is a thriller centered around a black-ops interrogator and an FBI agent who press a suspect terrorist into divulging the location of three nuclear weapons sets to detonate in the U.S. I liked it…and so did Keith. I like movies that make me think and this one will leave you thinking….

What was the last movie you saw that stayed with you for a few days?

Today’s recipe is courtesy of my friend, Erika! She made this for her family on Saturday night and sent it to me saying it was a “must-make!” So I plan dishing this up this week! But I thought I would share with you guys too! THANKS ERIKA!

SHRIMP & ANGEL HAIR PASTA

5 oz Canadian bacon, diced
1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1 onion, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
2 t minced garlic
2 t dried basil
2 t dried oregano
1 bay leaf
1/4 c all-purpose flour
1 (10-oz) can chopped tomatoes and green chilies
2 lbs peeled medium shrimp
1 (16-oz) pkg angel hair pasta
1 large bunch green onions, chopped

1. In large skillet coated with nonstick cooking spray, cook Canadian bacon over medium heat until begins to brown, about 3 minutes. Add green pepper, onion, celery, garlic, basil, oregano, and bay leaf, sauteing until tender, 5-7 minutes.
2. Gradually add flour and tomatoes and green chilies, stirring. Add shrimp, cooking 7-10 minutes or until pink and done, still stirring.
3. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to package directions, omitting any oil; drain.
4.  Toss with shrimp mixture, and add green onions. Serve immediately.

Serves 8-10

Nutritional Information per serving: Calories 279, Protein (g) 22, Carbohydrate (g) 42, Fat (g) 2, Calories from Fat (%) 8, Saturated Fat (g) 1, Dietary Fiber (g) 3, Cholesterol (mg) 115, Sodium (mg) 453

On another Monday note, A while back I found an article called Top 50 Ways to Make Someone’s Monday. Here is the list for things you can do for a stranger:

  • Smile as you walk past
  • Hold the elevator
  • Smile as you drive past
  • Say thank-you
  • Say please
  • Say “excuse me” when you walk between them and something they’re looking at
  • Put a quarter in their expired meter – The person may never know you did it, but it can be the little nudge that changes their day
  • Give them a compliment
  • Pay for the person behind you at the coffee drive-thru
  • Say “hi, how are you” as you walk past
  • Buy flowers at your grocery store and give them to the cashier on the way out

I thought this was a great list! And it is double happiness for me because it always makes me feel good to do something nice for someone else. So this is a win win!

Have you ever done anything on the above list for someone you didn’t know?

What can you do today to make a someone’s day better?

39 Responses

  1. I try to give compliments to others and be extra kind to anyone working in the service industry and dealing with the public all day. When I run in the morning, I always wave and say hello to the people I pass…but I am sometimes disappointed when others don’t respond. A smile really sends a powerful message!

  2. Great advice! I’ve always wanted to pay for someone’s order behind me in the drive thru, but never have.
    The shrimp recipe sounds great! I love shrimp.

  3. Happy Monday. I think being the cheerleader definitely counts. I cheered on my hubby while he mowed the yard yesterday too. I try to always hold the elevator door (as much as I don’t always want to). I try to remember to smile at people too b/c I like how I feel when someone smiles at me.

  4. I guess in the busy day to day activities I always forgot about things like that, but they are so true. I need to be more mindful and do such things. Have a great day girl! 🙂

  5. I think that saying “please” and “thank you” and holding the door open for others is simply common courtesy, something we should all be doing naturally. And yet these days it seems like those small actions have become more and more rare, unfortunately!

  6. Aww what a great list!! I seriously think smiling at someone (even if they don’t deserve) completely changes everything- the way you both react to a situation, the flavor of your day, everything. And it’s so easy. 🙂

  7. I have done all of the above except for 2. It is such a great feeling to do something nice for another. Especially when they tell you that you just made their day because they have been having a bad one.

    I will be trying that recipe soon.

  8. i try to do all of those things whenever i can, but i will say that a real, genuine smile always makes MY day 🙂

  9. The only thing a little sad about that list is it’s really things we should be doing all the time! (well except the flower thing, ha)

    Happy Monday 🙂 🙂 🙂

  10. I think smiling as you walk by is so underrated. There’s a woman at my work with a permanent scowl and seeing her can put you in such a foul mood. Giving a little smile when you see someone, even a stranger, is just plain ol’ polite!

  11. I think I do the first six regularly!

  12. That sounds like a great movie! The last movie I watched (which was Remember Me) stayed with me for a while… Without giving TOO much away, it makes me rememer epic things in my lifetime that I sometimes forget on how much they affected me.

  13. Need to mark that movie for my queue. I just re-watched Lost in Translation, fantastic movie.

    Pay for the person behind you at the coffee drive-thru -> I really need to do this, considering my habit.

    You make my Mondays:) I think if every person made one attempt to be pleasant to a stranger we’d all be better off.

  14. I’m proud to say I’ve done everything on that list, and most of it daily, in errands and such. It’s just what we do in the South 😉 especially in New Orleans.

    As far as movies…my brain always wanders. I’m a terrible movie watcher. I did see Despicable Me over the weekend and tell you it’s about villians. Ha! Small tidbit of info I remember!

  15. Look at you being all positive this morning! Happy Monday to you! The movie “The Fountain” always sticks with me! We went on our morning walk this morning and we always say good morning to others. I think smiling at people is a great thing too. People don’t smile enough anymore! Have a great one Kelly.

  16. I like to be cheerleader also specially when it’s about yard work!! One movie that left me thinking for a long time is The Village, have you seen it?? Off to work now, only 2 days till vacationes 🙂

  17. isn’t it awesome how such little things can make someone’s day? i love it! being polite is very easy and it’s amazing how often people aren’t!

  18. I always smile at people when I walk by, which is commonplace in the midwest, but definitely leads to people giving you funny looks elsewhere!

  19. I have two movies I’ve seen somewhat recently that stayed with me for a while. The first is “Brothers” and the other is “7 pounds” I loved both, but they were hard. That’s the only word I can use to describe them. Worth a watch, though

  20. Aww I love these tips on how to make someone’s Monday!! Sometimes it’s the little things that count the most 😀
    I can’t wait to rent that movie- it sounds good & I know your movie reviews are always great- I totally trust what you say about them!

  21. I love your list! I actually was in the drive-through at Starbucks before, and when I got up to the window, they explained that about 2 hours earlier, there was a man that paid for his order, as well as the one behind him, in an attempt to “pay it forward”. The girl working said it wasn’t required to continue, but that it had been going for so long, they wanted to try to keep it going. I happily participated and often wonder just how long it went for!
    Happy Monday! 🙂

  22. I love when movies make you think! I will have to look into that one.

    And I really believe small acts of kindness can go a long way for a person. I always try to at least smile at others.

  23. I really want to see that movie now! Just added it my Netflix queue 😉

    Happy Monday Kelly! Have a good week!

  24. Hi Kelly! How is your knee and everything feeling? Were you able to run today? I’m praying for you!

  25. Every good lawn job needs a great cheerleader.

    I try to do everything on that list. Several years ago, I was at an airport standing in line to buy water and gum, and the woman in front of me (who I didn’t know) asked the cashier to put my stuff on her bill. She said she tries to do something nice for a stranger everyday, and that has stuck with me ever since. Such a great idea.

    The last great movie that stuck with me is Shutter Island. 1. Because Leo DiCaprio…nuff said and 2. Because it really made me think….still thinking about it 2 months later.

  26. Happy Monday!!! Thanks for the movie reccommendation! I love movies but lately I haven’t seen anything special….. I should watch this!

  27. Compliments can go such a long way…I’m actually writing about that today! A lady on the train randomly told me she liked my top and I was beaming for forever! I try to give compliments…sincerely…and say please and thank you always. And re movies…the last one I watched was New Moon (again). And yeah, it stuck with me cuz you know I can’t get Taylor Lautner’s biceps outta my mind! 🙂

  28. What a fabulous list! Its been ages since I saw a movie! There’s a couple out that I’d love to see though 🙂

  29. The list is great and yes I have!

  30. I think I’ve done most of those things on that list! I’m a firm believer in small acts of kindness and being kind to EVERYONE… not just people I know. Now paying for someone behind you in the drive-thru… that is so sweet, I need to do that some day!! 🙂

  31. I say hi to everyone I see when I am running. Probably annoying to some people.

    That recipe looks GREAT! I am starring that for sure!

  32. Happy Monday! I absolutely love this post! That pasta sounds fabulous and I definitely did some of the things listed what a fab post!!!

    xo

Leave a Reply

