Book Review

I mentioned last week that I had started the book, The Host, by Stephenie Meyer. The same woman who wrote the Twilight Series.

The Storyline:  Melanie Stryder refuses to fade away. Our world has been invaded by an unseen enemy that takes over the minds of humans hosts while leaving their bodies intact. But Wanderer, the invading “soul” who occupies Melanie’s body, finds its former tenant refusing to relinquish possession of her mind.  As Melanie fills Wanderer’s thoughts with visions of Jared, a human who has avoided invasion and lives in hiding, Wanderer begins to yearn for a man she’s never met. Soon Wanderer and Melanie – reluctant allies – set off to search for the man they both love. Featuring one of the most unusual love triangles in literature, The Host is a riveting and unforgettable novel about the persistence of love and the essence of what it means to be human.

My thoughts: This book was fabulous! I found myself going through all the emotions: anger, love, jealousy and sadness with the characters. I was completely involved in this story and it really is one of the better love stories that I have read in a long time. I was torn at times and conflicted with how I felt or how I could imagine I would feel in the same situation. My only complaint was that it had to end. It was worth the read. I am not usually a sci-fi girl but this book doesn’t feel like sci-fi! I promise…don’t let the idea of aliens jade your thoughts. How many of you would have thought you would have been a werewolf and vampire lover? See?

Bottom Line: READ THIS BOOK!

26 Responses

  1. wow, i got a little confused with the review, but it sounds really cool!

  2. Cool – thanks for the review. I am always looking for a new book to read!

  3. I tried it once and got confused and bored with it but I am willing to try it again, just for you Kelly! I am not a sci-fi gal either but I am a sucker for love:)

    • I thought it was odd at first too and it took me a while to figure out the writing style with the multiple pesonalities…but once I go it, I loved it. They are going to make it a movie!!

  4. You finished? Yay, now I can borrow 🙂

  5. Wow . . . you read that FAST!!

    • Yeah when I get hooked on a book there is no stopping me. I remember staying up until 3:30am one morning reading Eclipse and I had to be up for work at 4:30am…that was brutal but so worth it! haha!

  6. Renting it from the library now! Thanks for the rec!

  7. Dang! My library doesn’t have it. LAME!

  8. I have tried to read this book several times and each time I abandon it. It’s just too creepy of a concept for me- I don’t like the world coming to an end type of thing. But you liked it? I feel like it was definitely a little more grown up than the twilight series… maybe I’ll give it another go…
    🙂

    • I definitely liked it. I just thought it was a very interesting love story and what someone will do in the name of self-sacrifice and love. It actually has a very deep meaning once you get into the plot and depth of the actual story. But it is definitely “out there” and not for everyone!

  9. I’ve always wondered about this book—glad to see its good!

  10. I read that book too and loved it. I thought it was a little slow at first but then I really got into it!

  11. I’m on it. Thanks for the review Kelly!

  12. I’ve been wondering if her other books were as good as the Twilight ones! I’ll definitely be checking this out!

  13. Ohh, thanks for the review!! I’ve heard about the Host but wasn’t really sure what it was about. I’m looking for some new reads, so I’ll have to put that on my list 🙂

  14. I’m glad you liked this book. I LOVED it as well:). I’m ready for her to write the sequel…it’s been a couple of years since she wrote this book! I thought the storyline was so unique and interesting:).

  15. WOW….I was SOOOOOOO Obsessed with the Twilight Saga, that I wasn;t sure if I would be able to get into another story line…especially one so far aware from vampires. I am happy to hear you enjoyed it so much!!! I will def have to check it out!!! Thanks fotr the review 🙂

  16. i just finished my latest book last night. thank you for the recommendation! i love getting book suggestions!

  17. It took me a while to get into it, and now I’m about halfway done. It’s such an interesting story! Definitely not what you would think in a story about an alien.

  18. I’ve had this book sitting in my room for over a year as I got it as a gift, but have never read it! I need to start it after this review!

  19. Thank you for the book recommendation…I am an avid reader! Usually I don’t care for sci fi but I do love a good love story so I will look for this at the library.

  20. Ooh i saw this book in the store and wanted to get it but didnt know if it would live up to Twilight. Thanks for the review Kelly 🙂

  21. Wowww I’ve been thinking of buying this book!!
    Thanks for the review,
    Tes

Leave a Reply

