Wind Me Up Wednesday

Happy Wednesday everyone. My least favorite day of the week. I am channeling my inner harmony to make peace with today! Hehe! Actually today is not so bad. I ran my 6 miles @ 8:20/pace (per the schedule) and then did 15 minutes on the elliptical. Truth, I definitely resisted the urge to follow that up with anything else. Knee pain = GO AWAY! PLEASE! I feel like I am seriously to the point where if someone told me that standing on my head while drinking coconut water through my nose would heal my knee I would. I would even do it PUBLICLY! Do I sound desperate enough? I kid, I kid….well maybe. 😉

Dinner last night was a bit…um….odd (to say the least). Keith wanted Ahi. Sounds good to me. Nothing better than seared Ahi tuna on the grill. Grilled lightly on the outside and raw on the inside. Oh I was all too happy to oblige. Now here’s where is gets odd. Keith wanted french fries and spinach as his sides. I am serious. So I dined on some lovely Ahi seared to perfection with a side of steamed spinach and Keith had the same thing plus french fries. I’m not saying I don’t like me some french fries now and then but it just didn’t seem to go with the Ahi. Maybe Keith is pregnant! hehe!!

Keith's "pregnancy" meal! hehe!!

Do you have any odd food pairings?

Me? Not gonna lie, I like peanut butter and Swiss cheese sandwiches! I am totally serious! It is so good. Don’t knock it till you try it? Right mom? (She likes them too…thanks to me!)

Do you ever find that you are running low on energy? Sometimes I do…maybe that is why I don’t like Wednesdays? Well according to Web Md, if you eat a balanced diet but still find yourself lacking in energy, you could have a slight magnesium deficiency. This mineral is needed for more than 300 biochemical reactions in the body, including breaking down glucose into energy. So when levels are even a little low, energy can drop. All of this according to New York University nutritionist Samantha Heller, MS, RD.

In a study done at the Department of Agriculture’s Human Nutrition Research Center in Grand Forks, N.D., women with magnesium deficiencies had higher heart rates and required more oxygen to do physical tasks than they did after their magnesium levels were restored. In essence, their bodies were working harder which, over time, says Heller, can leave you feeling depleted. The recommended daily intake of magnesium is around 300 milligrams for women and 350 milligrams for men. To make sure you’re getting enough, Heller suggests:

  • Add a handful of almonds, hazelnuts or cashews to your daily diet
  • Increase your intake of whole grains, particularly bran cereal
  • Eat more fish, especially halibut

Do you notice an increase in energy when you add the following magnesium-rich foods to your diet?

To learn more about magnesium go here!

37 Responses

  1. lol @ Keith’s cravings…sometimes you just want fries!! 🙂

    Have a great one!

  2. Peanut butter and swiss cheese?! What?! I have never heard of that lol. 🙂

  3. My hubs has these unhealthy cravings too…but I let him enjoy them by himself. Today I ate icecream with strawberries to breakfast, yap!!! That’s very uncommon of me, haha, but I am not preagnant!!

  4. You gotta give your body what it wants – props to Keith for wanting fries! 🙂
    I don’t really have any odd combos of food- although I do love to put a lot of ground pepper on my cottage cheese!

  5. I pair odd food all the time. Some of this I blame on curiousity. SOme I blame on not hitting the grocery store for a while… :p

    Good for you for resisting overdoing it. I’m kind of at a crossroads and know I should ease up on mine (hence the extra rest day I’ve thrown in this week). It’s just rough when I’m less than three weeks away from my half! Ugh… 😦

  6. I have such a passion for tom yum paste and emmental sandwiches. The sharpness of the paste with the nuttiness of the cheese – yum! I started cooking for myself when I was about 14, so I have developed some peculiar tastes.

  7. That’s such an interesting sandwich combo. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to try it.

  8. I can’t think of any odd food pairings for myself but my hubby is a huge fan of peanut butter + Doritos sandwiches…and my younger brother has been enjoying PB & J sandwiches dunked in spaghettios + hot dogs for years. Never understood that one!

  9. Um, compared to PB and Swiss, I think my food combos sound quite normal 😉 When I was a kid I loved cheetos with the chocolate outer layer of the Little Debbie Swiss Rolls.

  10. The oddest combo for me is a PB and pickle sandwich 🙂 Weird, I know 🙂

  11. Haha, well that dinner looks reallllllly good to me so maybe he IS pregnant! 😉 One weird thing I really like is ketchup on my baked potato! I mean, it’s basically like french fries and ketchup!! 😉

  12. I’ve definitely never tried pairing PB and Swiss cheese, but I’ll try anything once! 🙂

  13. Right now, if you told me to eat dog food and it would cure my knee, I would. No questions. (Though, if you were only joking I might punch you.)

    As for weird food pairings, I’m really strange with food and certain pairings (eggs and ketchup being the major one) make me queasy. So, no pb& swiss for me.

  14. hahah i love the food pairing! keith must be hormonal.

  15. I think I’d have to choose french fries over PB and Swiss…I don’t know if I could handle that combo!

  16. Sometimes french fries can de-fancy any fish I cook:) Yum, yum.

    I try to take a b-12 if I am running low on energy, love the tips for fish and nuts though.

    PB & Swiss, you crazy girl.

  17. I like french fries with anything lol!

    I like peanut butter on chicken, which is usually odd to others!

  18. Haha boys eat strange things sometimes!

    Peanut butter and swiss cheese eh? What I’m curious about is how you thought to combine the two. I don’t doubt that its good though. Cheese makes everything better!

    • Haha! Honestly, I was craving a PB sandwich but I also wanted a grilled cheese…so I thought um…why not combine the two!

  19. I think I could eat french fries with anything, lol. Sorry about the knee pain. I hope it gets better soon.

  20. sorry to hear about the knee pain! maybe it’ll pass after the few intro weeks of marathon training.

    love the thoughts on magnesium. it never struck me to think about that before when I’m feeling less than stellar energy wise.

  21. My weirdo combo is spaghetti and meatballs paired with a big glass of milk. I didn’t think it was that odd, my dad and I both do it…but, everyone I know says it’s weird!!

  22. You know we do weird food combos, but I think that is since we have kids in the house and we use it to get them involved in the food planning. I will be more aware of the magnesium since I do notice some sluggishness from time to time. That is interesting! I hope your knee feels better! I hate that you are going through this!

  23. I have been SO tired lately. I’m going to look into magnesium. Thanks!

  24. Yea I don’t see french fries going with ahi tuna and I AM pregnant. LOL Definitely an odd combo.

  25. I make sweet potato fries with my fish all the time 😉

  26. Haha, I love Keith’s pregnancy meal! I actually ate almost the exact same thing the other night, except my fish was tilapia!

    One of my favorite, slightly strange combos is stinky cheese (blue is best), onion and honey/agave. Ahh it’s so tasty! I like it mixed with eggs, with veggies or on toast!

  27. I can’t make fun of your odd sandwich choice because mine is weird too. My gramp used to make me cucumber and peanut butter sandwiches. Thought you might wanna try it given your post yesterday on cukes and all 😉

  28. Come on Kelly – fish and chips! That’s standard in England. (I think its weird too, but hey, to each his own!)

  29. For me, it’s iron. If I’ve been eating a ton of fish and chicken and no red meat, I get real weak and drained and have to have a big hunk of meat! It really helps!

  30. For some reason, that meal makes sense to me. It’s like fish and chips

  31. I love peanut butter and pickles sandwiches!

Leave a Reply

