Did You Know…

1. Cucumbers contain most of the vitamins you need every day, just one cucumber contains Vitamin B1, Vitamin B2, Vitamin B3, Vitamin B5, Vitamin B6, Folic Acid, Vitamin C, Calcium, Iron, Magnesium, Phosphorus, Potassium and Zinc.

2. Feeling tired in the afternoon, put down the caffeinated soda and pick up a cucumber. Cucumbers are a good source of B Vitamins and Carbohydrates that can provide that quick pick-me-up that can last for hours.

3. Tired of your bathroom mirror fogging up after a shower? Try rubbing a cucumber slice along the mirror, it will eliminate the fog and provide a soothing, spa-like fragrance.

4. Are grubs and slugs ruining your planting beds? Place a few slices in a small pie tin and your garden will be free of pests all season long. The chemicals in the cucumber react with the aluminum to give off a scent undetectable to humans but drive garden pests crazy and make them flee the area.

5 Looking for a fast and easy way to remove cellulite before going out or to the pool? Try rubbing a slice or two of cucumbers along your problem area for a few minutes, the phytochemicals in the cucumber cause the collagen in your skin to tighten, firming up the outer layer and reducing the visibility of cellulite. Works great on wrinkles too!!!

6.. Want to avoid a hangover or terrible headache? Eat a few cucumber slices before going to bed and wake up refreshed and headache free. Cucumbers contain enough sugar, B vitamins and electrolytes to replenish essential nutrients the body lost, keeping everything in equilibrium, avoiding both a hangover and headache!!

7. Looking to fight off that afternoon or evening snacking binge? Cucumbers have been used for centuries and often used by European trappers, traders and explores for quick meals to thwart off starvation.

8. Have an important meeting or job interview and you realize that you don’t have enough time to polish your shoes? Rub a freshly cut cucumber over the shoe, its chemicals will provide a quick and durable shine that not only looks great but also repels water.

9. Out of WD 40 and need to fix a squeaky hinge? Take a cucumber slice and rub it along the problematic hinge, and voila, the squeak is gone!

10. Stressed out and don’t have time for massage, facial or visit to the spa? Cut up an entire cucumber and place it in a boiling pot of water, the chemicals and nutrients from the cucumber with react with the boiling water and be released in the steam, creating a soothing, relaxing aroma that has been shown the reduce stress in new mothers and college students during final exams.

11. Just finish a business lunch and realize you don’t have gum or mints? Take a slice of cucumber and press it to the roof of your mouth with your tongue for 30 seconds to eliminate bad breath, the phytochemcials will kill the bacteria in your mouth responsible for causing bad breath.

12. Looking for a ‘green’ way to clean your faucets, sinks or stainless steel? Take a slice of cucumber and rub it on the surface you want to clean, not only will it remove years of tarnish and bring back the shine, but is won’t leave streaks and won’t harm you fingers or fingernails while you clean.

13. Using a pen and made a mistake? Take the outside of the cucumber and slowly use it to erase the pen writing, also works great on crayons and markers that the kids have used to decorate the walls!!

CUCUMBERS ROCK!

39 Responses

  1. Very interesting. I really can’t stand cucumbers LOL.

  2. I’m going to print this post for Jens. He LOVES cucumber and actually asked me the other day how good for him they really were. I just said, well, they’re green. Haha! I’m so full of knowledge,

  3. WOW I didn’t know all that!! I like cucumbers and this will definitely make me use them in a more varied way 🙂

  4. YAY! Cucumbers are like the HEALTHY version of Coke! Ha! 😀

  5. I like… pickles. Lol I bet they aren’t as good

  6. Wish I liked cucumbers 😉 They go right along with tomatoes- yech! Guess I’ll just use them as erasers & sink cleaners 😉

  7. What the… this is amazing!!! And I LOVE cucumbers! Thank you so much for this post!

  8. I had no idea!! Thanks for the great info!

  9. Cucumbers are one of my favorite things, especially in the summer! Who knew they were so special?! I love it!

  10. Wow, who knew cucumbers were so great!!! I mean, I knew they were nutritious but I did not know all of these other perks!! A cucumber a day…..

  11. I did not know any of this! I personally never liked cucumbers but I put them in the salad for tonight anyway, now I’m glad I did 🙂

  12. Who knew?!?!?! Cucumbers are amazing! 🙂

  13. I LOVE Cucumbers.. and now I love them even more! Thanks for the info!!

  14. LOL. I actually hate cucumbers!

  15. Ha! I definitely did NOT know all this about cucumbers!

  16. Girl, this is too weird. I JUST ate sliced cucumbers today, and I hardly ever eat them. Perfect (and crazy) timing! 🙂

  17. I knew there was a reason I love those suckers!

  18. Cucumbers give me gas!! LOL! Lightbulb….I had some pickles last night…no wonder I was miserable 😉

  19. Wow – I had no idea cucumbers could do so much!!!!!! I love this!!!

  20. I HATE cukes. The fact that they can shine, de-grease, de-gunk and all that other stuff is cool, but I still don’t want to eat them!

  21. wow, i did not know all of that 😉 i didn’t like them very much before, but now I’m coming around!

  22. I love all the cucumuber info! How neat!

  23. This is probably my favorite post of yours that I have read yet. I was shocked the whole time. hahaha. I love it! Cucumbers will be #1 on my next grocery trip.

    btw. I made your “man muffins” for my boyfriend and he loooooved them. We packed some for his work trip and he even called me to thank me the next day. haha.

  24. Wow I didn’t know cucumbers can do so much. Thanks for the great info!

  25. Huh..cucumbers good for a hangover…who knew? I could use that considering I barely have to drink a thing to have a headache the next day! Where do you find all of this great info? You always have something great to read every day 🙂

  26. That is so cool! I have to say I’m guilty of nighttime munching, and yes! Cucumbers seem to quench that need to snack. Kind of weird but it works.

  27. huh? i once had a friend tell me that cucumbers were nutritionally equivalent to water. i guess she was wrong!

  28. holy smokes, i had no idea cucumbers had so much aewsome stuff in them!! nice!

  29. whoops, sent my last comment too soon.

    cucumbers for a hangover!? that is awesome news. i’m giving up alcohol until the end of the month, but after that i will be noshing on those before bed!

    and they take off pen marks? that is so cool! cucumbers are a wonderfood! love it 🙂

  30. and i just bought a couple cucumbers!!! haha gonna put one of them to non-food related work! ❤ thanks!

  31. Wow! I love this! Thanks for all the cuc info!

  32. I had no idea about alot of this stuff…thanks for the cuke facts! and of course for your polar info 🙂
    xo

  33. I had NO idea cucumber was so amazing!! I’ll definitely be trying it on my wrinkles!

  34. Oh ym god, i had no idea cucumbers were this good!! lol! xx

  35. Amazing info! I honestly just thought that cucumbers were one of those blah products that’s nothing but water – and I’d have rather just had a glass of water. I’ve seen a recipe for a great cucumber salsa that I now have to try.

  36. That’s crazy!! I had no idea cucumbers were so “magical” !!

  37. And to think I thought cucumbers were for eating and masturbating. Learn something new every day!

  38. So I love this post and have kept it unread in my reader for a little bit because I feel like it justifies my love of cucumbers. I had no idea they were such little work horses, but that just makes them even more awesome. 🙂

Leave a Reply

