Happy Monday To YOU

Good Monday morning everyone! How did your weekend shape up? Mine was good but Yesterday was so awesome for multiple reasons! Where to start?!?

First, if you have been reading this blog for a while you know that one of the small pleasures in my life is the LA Times Sunday morning crossword. I swear my mood can sometimes hinge on how well I do. I have in fact completed it once. (One of Kelly’s top 10 days for sure) and yesterday I did pretty stinkin’ good! Check me out:

I didn't finish completely but I got about 99% done. HOLLER FOR ME!!

Second, Keith and I really had fun watching the World Cup Final. It was kind of cool to see 2 teams that had NEVER been to the finals before. (Keith even made me TIVO it for novelty purposes) One of our good friends (HI TINA) is from The Netherlands and so we were rooting for them all the way!

Did you watch the World Cup Finals?

Third, I made a new recipe! Now I should probably tell you that Keith and I are BIG granola lovers. We joke that we could easily polish off massive vats of granola in one sitting without thinking about it. The problem is that most granola is sugar laden and high in fat and calories for the serving size you actually get. So the solution? Keith said why don’t we make our own? Brilliant! I searched a bunch of recipes and mixed and match until I came up with this:

KELLY & KEITH’S “GOBBLE IT UP” GRANOLA

  • 4 cups oats
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 T. honey or molasses (I used molasses)
  • 1 T. cinnamon
  • 1 T. almond (or vanilla) extract (I used almond)
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds (or any nut of your choice)
  • 1/2 cup coconut flakes
  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees
  2. Put oats in a microwaveable bowl and cook for two minutes, stirring after one (this warms the oats helping to melt all the ingredients together)
  3. Add remaining ingredients and stir until very well blended
  4. Pour mixture into two large baking sheet and bake for 30-40 minutes, stirring 3 or 4 times
  5. DIG IN!

Today, has been good, albeit it is only 7:00a.m. but still! I rocked out 6 miles at 8:30 pace and then followed that up with some ab work and a few arm weight rotations that Keith wrote out for me. I feel pretty happy and am ready for some coffee and breakfast. Granola? Twist my arm! 😉

HAPPY MONDAY!!

Oh and if you missed it, I posted a great summer fruit salsa recipe yesterday! So good!!

30 Responses

  1. That granola sounds really yummy – love the coconut in it. I will have to give it a try!

  2. your posts always make me smile and pick me up when i’m bummed about going in to work 🙂

  3. I have been on a serious granola kick here too! I can’t keep the stuff in the house. I love making it at home because you can change the flavors to whatever you like! Yours looks delicious! Have a great day Kelly!

  4. I never eat granola because I find it too sweet, but I’ve been thinking I should make my own, healthier version. Yours looks so good!

    • This one is not overly sweet either. Keith doesn’t like his granola to be REALLY sweet so this one was perfect! I recommend it.

  5. Congrats on the crossword!!! I love, love, love homemade granola, but rarely think to make it. Y’all’s looks really good!

    Happy Monday!

  6. Homemade granola is soooo good! I’ve only made it once, but have plans to make it again soon when my cereal stockpile starts to get low and I need more mix-ins for my oatmeal…

  7. Yum I love homemade granola!

  8. The granola sounds like a hit to me!

  9. I love the granola recipe – I have never made my own. I usually stick to Bare Naked Fit – it’s lower in cals and sugar. I watched the very end (best part) of the World Cup game. I’m not really into soccer, but it was cool while it lasted!

  10. I’ve been looking for a granola recipe – thanks! 🙂

  11. I tackled the crossword in Sky Magazine and I screamed on the plane when I completed it. I looked certifiable but those damn things are so hard.

    GOOD for you!!

    I agree the World Cup was fantastic, especially knowing the teams had so much to play for.

    You have met your granola quota for the month, wow!

  12. Horray for starting your week on a great note!! We had a wonderful sun shiney day in san antonio yesterday. Thank goodness the rain is gone (for now!)

  13. I used to sleep at my gram’s a lot on weekends and we would always work on the Sunday crosswords together. I still love ’em!

    Granola looks delish – a must try!

  14. Way to go on the crossword. Now I want to know what the clues are to help out with the few missing letters . . .

    We did watch the final (BORING! Even Matt admitted it! I’m not a soccer fan, so you don’t have to convince me). At least the Spanish were happy.

  15. I am a huge granola lover! Send me some 😉

  16. Granola Lova! I make my own and love it. Less sweet which is perfect and I like mine a little over done (crispy and a bit burned. Crazy, I know), so doin myself works better. I’ll have to try this one.

  17. Mmm summer salsa looks amazing. And I have a MAJOR granola problem as well. I feel like I can NEVER have too much granola in my yogurt. I seriously load up the container until I can barely stir it in. soo good. But granola is always pretty expensive too – making your own is a great idea!

  18. I had to stop making my peanut butter granola because a batch wasn’t even lasting me a week! Eeek! Yours looks awesome!

  19. Love this granola recipe!! I rarely buy it because of the high sugar/fat content, but this looks like a fabulous alternative!

    I am TERRIBLE at crossword puzzles! haha…I don’t have enough patience!

    And yes, I definitely watched the World Cup yesterday! I was rooting for Spain because I know so many people from there! But I would have been happy if the Netherlands had won, since they’ve never been champions either.

    Happy Monday!

  20. I bet that granola would be great topped with your fruit salsa! That’s how I used to make my granola too – but I haven’t done that in a while.

  21. Happy Monday to you also! I was driving so I missed the game, I wouldn’t have minded either of those teams winning though.

  22. Way to go on the crossword puzzle!!

    I can’t wait to try your granola recipe! I love that you used applesauce in it 🙂

    Have a great Monday!

  23. I was just telling Lars in the car that I wanted to start making my own granola. Thanks for sharing!

  24. if Keith doesn’t eat all the granola, ask him to bring me a sample on Wednesday 🙂 I need a pick me up after the defeat of my team and Lance falling of his bike on Sunday! Way to go on the crossword, I can’t do them, my brain thinks words in Dutch and they don’t fit in the US crossword.

  25. I SUCK at crosswords! You rock!!!

    The granola looks awesome! I’m always looking for a new granola recipe!

  26. A happy monday to you too! 🙂 And your granola looks DEELISH! I love me some granola!

  27. “Gobble It Up Granola”…you’re a marketing genius! I want to try it for the name alone 😉

Leave a Reply

