Let There Be Rest “Sunday”

Happy Sunday! Sunday is my rest day! I take a rest day from exercise every single Sunday. I actually find that my body works best that way. I power through 6 days of hard exercise and then Sundays I sleep late (which usually doesn’t end up being past 8:00) and I just let my body rest and enjoyΒ a day off. So I do 6 days on/1 day off. Keith does more of a 10 day cycle. 9 days on/1 day off…etc.Β 

How do you incorporate rest days into your exercise routine? Β 

I also try to do most of my chores like laundry, grocery shopping, errands, etc. all on Saturday so that Sundays truly can be a day that I can do whatever I want. I like having that one day of no responsibility and no agenda. It makes for a busy Saturday but then Sunday comes and I love it! πŸ˜‰Β 

In the spirit of summer and freshness I made a fruit salsa yesterday that Keith has nicknamed “crack!” haha! It is so good guys that we both can easily eat our weight in this stuff!Β 

FRUIT SALSAΒ 

  • 4 kiwis
  • 2 apples (I use Pink Ladies)
  • 1 container raspberries
  • 1 container of strawberries
  • 2-4 Tbsp. of your favorite jam/jelly (any flavor)
  • Cinnamon, to taste

Dice all the fruit and mix together. Stir in jam and cinnamon. Chill for at least 4 hours and then GO TO TOWN!Β 

This makes a great topper for waffles, pancakes, cottage cheese, yogurt or eat it with cinnamon pita chips! We love this stuff!

Β 

What’s your favorite summer fruit? Β 

I hope everyone enjoys their Sunday and you get some good R&R before the work week starts back tomorrow! Love ya!

36 Responses

  1. Ooh, that fruit salsa looks so yummy and refreshing! Enjoy your Sunday, Kelly!

  2. I usually let the weather tell me when it’s time to rest in the Summer. If it’s too hot, or too rainy, I’m not going to push it. Then again, if the weather’s just right, how could I pass up?

  3. looks so yummy. My favorite summer fruit is cherry.. can’t get enough of them

  4. That looks wonderful! Fresh fruit is a big part of what makes summer so special! Enjoy your relaxing Sunday πŸ™‚

  5. I usually rest when I feel like it – at least 1 day a week. More often 2 days (or one of the days is just some walking). Nothing weakens me like working out too much!
    I’ve made a very similar fruit salsa and homemade cinnamon chips before and it is to die for! I need to make it more often and use the salsa for things like pancakes and with yogurt – great ideas, thanks!

  6. PINEAPPLE. Is that a summer fruit? So good.

    I should save my chores for Saturday as well. I usually do them on Sunday which leaves me utterly lazy knowing that I have to complete them, lol.

  7. Well, we were supposed to rest a little yesterday and today and sure enough we have worked on cleaning the house and garage the entire time. It is too hot though to work outside, so I think we are about done! Then it is laundry and hopefully some baking later. The salsa looks so good! I need some about right now! Enjoy your Sunday Kelly!

  8. I love fruit salsa. And yes, let there be rest today. I need a nap. And replenishment before the coming week πŸ™‚

  9. I am trying to incorporate an “every sunday off attitude”. Working so far today πŸ™‚ I still like to do a little yoga or something a bit active like a hike, but nothing intense. Since Sunday is usually the only day Jensen and i both have off, it works for Sundays to be sans gym.

  10. Mmm, I have had a major thing for jam lately. I love that your yummy recipe calls for some! I just had a ton of strawberries.

  11. Yum, that looks good. I am digging pineapple right now as a summer fruit. Could be because I am in Hawaii!!

  12. I’m with you on the 6 days on, 1 day off cycle. I used to push through longer without a rest day, but my body really needs that day off to recover and get ready for another week of workouts!

  13. I have 1.5 days off if that makes any sense? One is a complete rest day. The other is only yoga and maybe a long walk (slower than usual, too). Rest days are not my favorite because I love staying active, but I know they’re necessary…

  14. I used to never rest, but the last 6 months or so I take at least 1 day off a week. I think we have the same schedule – I jam pack my Sat with chores and then wake up sans alarm on Sundays, head to the farmers market and chill the rest of the day. It’s great.

    that fruit salad – I think I’d eat it straight from the bowl with a spoon. All. Day. Long. πŸ˜€

  15. Yumm! I’ve never made fruit salsa before. I will be saving this recipe to use very soon:)) Thanks Kelly!!

  16. Lol I like to do 1 month on/1 day off πŸ˜‰ Haha.

    Favorite summer fruit is MANGO!

  17. Sunday is always my rest day too. I think it is so important to have at least one rest day a week. I love having Sundays be that day and try not to have any other pressing things to do either. It’s nice to have at least one chill day a week.

  18. I honestly hate taking rest days, even though I know I have to take them to let my body recover. BUT today is definitely a rest day for me – after yesterday’s uber-long run, I’m still beat today, i swear!!

  19. Oh wow, that fruit salsa sounds heavenly. I typically do 6 days on 1 day off. But, if I feel that I need a rest day on say day 4 or 5, I rearrange and take it.

  20. Kelly, that fruit salad looks AWESOME! I have been eating my weight in fruit lately too- if it’s in the refridgerator it’s callin my name πŸ™‚ I have a big tub of watermelon that I have been plowing thru this weekend.

  21. ohhh that sounds wonderful. 9 days on one day off?? hard core.

  22. I love the fruit salsa idea. It sounds SO GOOD!!

    I always take rest days, I think theyre super important. I also really believe that if you dont take rest days, exercise turns into a chore, and thats not how it should be.

  23. I don’t plan my rest days, but it usually ends up that I work out 5-6 days a week and rest for 1 or 2. Last week I worked out EVERY day and boy I felt it. My hips were so tight, even though I stretched a lot and did yoga. Getting older is NOT fun :/

  24. that looks yummy! my favorite summer fruit is raspberries or blueberries.

    i usually rest on sundays too. today i took a walk with a friend but i don’t really count that as exercise, just being active.

  25. My favorite fruit ever is pineapple, so I guess that counts. It’s just that pineapple is good every time of year! So, my next one is cantaloupe. That fruit salsa sounds DYNAMITE btw. And, Sunday is my rest day too!!

  26. That salsa looks amazing! I can’t ever get on a perfect rest day schedule. At one point I worked out 4 days took off one. Now, I take off either due to my work schedule or when I can tell my body needs it.

  27. My favorite summer fruit? Peaches of course… or nectarines. I have to say its a tie between the two.

    I usually try to take a rest day on sundays. I still workout but I just do a little cardio and a little abs.

  28. Ah, rest days. I ❀ Fridays. They're my rest days. And these days, I NEED them. Speaking of, I need an ice bath…

  29. I have that same exact fruit salsa recipe that I got from a friend – it’s amazing! I think I need to make some of that tomorrow…hmmmm πŸ˜›

  30. Nothing says summer like watermelon.

    That salsa looks so good. But I’m not a cinnamon fan. Is it really cinnamon-y or does it just enhance the flavors within?

  31. That fruit salsa looks yummy! I’m going to have to try that!

Leave a Reply

