Tropical Thursday

Happy Thursday! This week is FLYING by….in fact I feel like I have skipped Wednesday all together…SWEET! πŸ™‚ This morning was a non-running day. Really? Why? UGH! The worst part about non-running days for meΒ is finding other things to do. I really struggle with it. Running is so natural to me that anything else just feels…uh…like work! haha! But in an effort to be a good little marathon schedule follower…I did not run. (Do I get a cookie?) And instead I did a 30 minute hill climbΒ on the bike trainer and 45 minutes on the elliptical. It was quite the workout! I am happy and I secretly think Keith is thanking the workout gods. Just sayin. πŸ˜‰

So in my 4 1/2 year marriage, I can honestly say that Keith hasΒ made one terrible mistake. HeΒ took me to Maui for 10 days for our honeymoon. Why was this so terrible? BecauseΒ now, given the chance, I would move there in a heartbeat! Literally…there would be no thinking about it, no questions, no fears…just pack me up and ship me out! (Oh don’t worry mom…I would take you and Jim too…this is my fantasy so somehow money doesn’t matter!) But back to reality, I obviously do not live in Maui, nor do I see that happening anytime soon. So I am bringing the tropics to me! πŸ™‚

Now first I need to admit thatΒ I am not the best plant mama. In fact I am convinced that plants see me coming at the nursery and start to shiver and wilt in an effort to not go home with me. I try. I do. But I am bad at watering. I just kind of forget. But Keith is a great plant Dad and he makes up for my paltry efforts. I am LOVING my backyard right now. If only it wasn’t 100 degrees by 8:00a.m. I might actually get to be outside and enjoy it. My hammock misses me! 😦

This is my most successful plant…A Mother-in-Law’s Tounge…I have kept it alive for a few years now and we just transplanted it to a bigger pot!
Our 2 newest members of the plant family. And look at my cute little turtle! It is made from recycled metal! Fun huh?
This is my favorite!
Our back fence! We planted Cannes a few years ago and they are so tropical! Plus check out our banana tree!
We also have a Mexican Hat Palm…this is about 3 years old! But when we planted it, it was just about a foot tall.
My planting He-Man! Aint he cute?
Backyard Bliss

Are you a good plant parent?

Are you a beach lover or a ski bunny?

59 Responses

  1. Beach lover!

    We do water our outdoor flowers everyday and they are looking great. But our indoor ones…I tend to forget about them!

  2. I have such a black thumb. I kill our plastic plants.

    I’m jealous of all your beautiful greenery!! πŸ™‚

  3. I don’t have any outdoor flowers since I live in an apartment but I have 2 plants on my windowsill and they are doing well. I’m a proud plant mama. And I am a beach lover all the way!

  4. Well right now, we live in an apartment, so we don’t have many plants. BUT I’m excited for the day to come when I can have a garden and also a porch full of plants and flowers!

    I’m totally a beach lover – not a big fan of the snowy mountains. Well, not a fan of being ON them…I would enjoy being in a cabin, sitting by the fire and drinking hot chocolate! πŸ™‚

  5. I’d move to Maui with you. Let’s get someone to sponsor us and then get over there asap.

    My husband and I always joke about moving to a tropical island. I think I’d handle it well.

    And I have no plants but if I did I’m sure I’d kill them. I am growing basil, which I guess is technically a plant though I eat it instead of admire its beauty. That is growing like a weed. Go me!

  6. Oooh, I love how your backyard looks!! I don’t have any backyard at all 😦 I wish I had one with a hammock 😦

    I love the mountains more than anything and prefer it to be in warm weather all the time. πŸ™‚

    I would move to my honeymoon destination right away too…

  7. I love them both the beach and the snow. I am just an outdoors kinda girl! I have luck with plants, but I can’t grow a garden because we can’t fence in our yard and the critters eat all our goodies!

    I am the same way with Paris…we went on a trip there and I would pack up today and move there!

  8. I want to go to hawaii SO badly!! My cousin went to college there and her pictures have always amazed me!

  9. Beach all the way! I kill every plant that I come in contact with. It’s awful, they just die.
    Oh Hawaii is the best. My favorite island is Kauai, lots of biking and hiking, less commercialization than Maui, just gorgeous! I want to go back.

  10. So glad Wednesday didn’t bring you down this week! Sounds like a good workout today. I am most definitely a beach bum!!! 100% I am pretty good about keeping plants alive so long as the heat doesn’t burn them up. Your yard looks so nice and relaxing.

  11. i try to be a good plant parent, but i don’t think i have good plant children πŸ˜‰ and beach lover all the way! which is weird since i live in colorado, but still…i love water!

  12. Your backyard is so cute!! I’m not super good at keeping up with plants, however, I did just come in from watering some, so I guess that’s making progress, right?
    I am a beach lover ALL.THE.WAY. Give me sand between my toes any day, and I’m a happy girl. 😎

  13. I think I’m okay with plants. This is my first year with a semi-successful garden, so I’m pretty happy πŸ™‚

  14. This post cracked me up! Your plants look great πŸ™‚

    I am definitely a beach girl!

  15. I’m on a rest day today as well… I think cookies will be necessary… lol

  16. Sweet jeebus at a great workout, see you can keep it interesting!

    My green thumb is more brown, ask the fern I fried last month. Woops.

    If you want a little Maui in your home I suggest getting some coconut scented candles and a CD that plays the ocean, see who needs Maui? πŸ˜‰

    • Haha…agreed! That definitely sounds cheaper! Keith and I usually play music at night while we are cooking/eating dinner and lately we have been listening to tropical tunes…it has been nice! πŸ™‚

  17. I like the beach and the snow equally. It’s about this time of year that I start to crave cool weather and around January/February, I’m hurtin for the beach. Grass is always greener, right? πŸ™‚

    I’m a terrible plant parent!

  18. Love your comment about you walking into a nursury- lol! The plants just shiver!! πŸ˜€
    I’m not much of a good plant mom either..that’s why we don’t have any. Craig just laughs, but I seriously kill any plant. I do the same- just forget to water it.

  19. I even manage to kill plants that don’t need much water!

  20. I love summer, and so the beach is my favorite place. However, I think the snow is so beautiful and I love that too (provided I don’t have to drive in it).

    I’m trying to be a good plant parent. I killed my poor herbs – apple cider vinegar is bad for them btw – but I’m trying again and so far so good.

  21. Love the landscape! The cannas are beautiful! I

  22. What a beautiful backyard!! I am most definitely a warm weather person!! I suck at skiing!!

    • Truth…I haven’t actually seen snow! We were always a beach family growing up so I just never had the opportunity. But it seems TOO cold!

  23. Lol I have no idea what I would do if there was a non running day on my marathon schedule! Haha.

  24. I’m glad I’m not the only one with a strong dislike for non-running days – ugh!

    Your yard and so pretty! Keith knows what’s up! I love pretty yards, but I’m relatively lazy about upkeep – you should see the weeds overtaking my garden – so I need someone to help me out with that.

    I love a little beach and a little mountain in my life. It’s one of the reasons I’d have a hard time leaving New England…but if money weren’t an issue, I’d join you in Hawaii and fly to Aspen when I needed a dose of winter!

  25. i am not the greatest plant parent although i think i’m getting better. my seven year complimented me the other day as i was watering one pot, “gosh mom, you’re doing a really great job watering these plants this year.” hmmm? apparently, my bad plant parenting did not go unnoticed in the past.

    looking forward to following your training for NY. how cool!! admittedly, glad it’s not me πŸ™‚ … i need some time to get myself back “there” mentally. happy running kelly!

    oh and, p.s. my favorite sandwich is natural pb with honey and sliced banana’s on my homemade wheat bread. yum!

  26. I’ve actually never been a plant mommy! I’m a good dog mommy, hope Id be good to my plants!

    Can I be both?! I LOOOOOVE the beach, but I love all the actitivies you can do on a mountain.

  27. I don’t travel anywhere exciting…but I guess I’d be a beach lover…but I’d like to do something where I can explore and see cultural things I think…or maybe the Las Vegas strip and Rodeo Drive πŸ˜‰

  28. It’s so cool that you have a banana tree in your yard! πŸ™‚

    But uhm I kill plants pretty much. :S Don’t tell anyone but I managed to kill two mint plants not too long ago. Which if you know how mint gets, is usually impossible. πŸ˜‰

  29. We moved into our house 1.5 years ago and still have nothing planted in the backyard. One of these days when Dan is gone, I am going to go to town and battle the rock in the yard and plant things!

    Our patio is really small and gets sun 99% of the time. Even though I am mostly good with my plants, the heat is pretty bad.

    I am a beach person for sure. I’ve only seen snow twice in my life, once earlier this year and growing up in SA in 1984!

  30. I love the beach. I don’t ski but I snowshoe and love that too.

  31. I’m a plant killa! I forget them too. Some how I’ve managed to grow a large basil plant..yes I’m so proud. Since I live minutes from the beach, I’d gladly become a snow bunny. I can’t stand the heat.

  32. Beach lover!!!

    Thank for reminding me to water my plants. I’m a bad plant momma….I always forget to water them. I usually hope that it rains so they will stay alive. Isn’t that horrible!?!?

  33. Your backyard makes me want to play. It looks like it’d be a great place for slip n slide…remember those?

    I’m a beach girl. I’d take heat and water over cold and ice everyday.

  34. I am a beach lover! I also went to Hawaii for my honeymoon and I absolutely LOVED it!

  35. I’ve killed many a plant πŸ™‚ Sad to say, but at least I am aware of my lack of a green thumb! Congrats to you sustaining so many!

    How many marathons have you run?? I am finally getting my hubby to run a half with me and hope to do a full next summer. I’m very nervous about committing to a full though! I’m deathly afraid of getting hurt!! Advice?

    ~Alyssa

    • YES! Definitely find a schedule and stick to it. Don’t do more than what is on the schedule. That is key to avoiding injuries. Overtraining is a really easy slope to slide down (I definitely know) but it really serves no purpose. So stick to the schedule and make sure your diet is in check! Maybe increase your iron and calcium intake and stay really hyrdrated. All of those things will help with injuries! Stretch a lot and number one: LISTEN TO YOUR BODY! You can do it!!

  36. P.s. I had the exact same Mizunos and just got a new pair of shoes…Nike Pegasus…I miss my pink Mizunos 😦

  37. I would definitely pick the beach over skiing any day! I tried skiing ONCE and pretty much broke every bone!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  38. I just saw your marathon training schedule (sorry i’m a bit behind with vacation). I used that exact training for my first marathon and really liked it. My only thoughts are it didn’t specify speed workouts or tempo runs. But depending what your goals are, it really rocked for my first training experience.

    I’m definitely a beach bum but I can’t stand heat when I’m not on the beach. I’d much rather have to work to warm up than feel overheated in day to day life.

  39. I am AWFUL with plants, but I’ve somehow managed to keep a small potted bamboo alive for nearly 2 years. Fingers crossed….

    Hooray for following your marathon plan! Keep on truckin’.

  40. Look at you with your plants! If it weren’t for my husband… we wouldn’t have any. I’m AWFUL.

    Which is maybe why I’m more of a snow bunny… πŸ˜‰

  41. I kill anything indoors, but the outdoors and I get along I guess! I didn’t think I had a green thumb, but this year has proved me wrong! Herbs, however…ugh!!! πŸ™‚

  42. yea!! Glad you enjoyed the trainer. Its so much harder than it looks. Nice work girl!

  43. i love your backyard! it definitely has a tropical feel! πŸ™‚ I’m also a notoriously bad plant parent, but i’ve improved over the years. if there’s hope for me, there’s hope for anyone.

  44. Your plants are so cute! I don’t have any, but I can only guess that I would fail miserably as a plant parent. And it’s weird, I’m not really a beach OR ski person. I like the pool. Does that make me lame?

  45. You making me anxious for my Hawaiian honeymoon! We’re spending 6 days of it in Maui, woot woot! I’m good about watering my plants…until it’s about 105-110 degrees outsides…then, I forget and they get neglected. Oops!

Leave a Reply

