Marathon Monday

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a great 4th! We had a blast! It ended up just being Keith and me for the whole day! Which was great because July 4th holds such special places in both of our hearts. 🙂 For those of you who missed it, Keith and I started dating on July 4, 2004 and then Keith proposed on July 3, 2005. So July 4th weekend always makes us happy! 🙂 We did some yard work and just had some good one on one time. Then we headed to the lake around 8:00p.m. for some awesome fireworks!!

Did you get to see fireworks this July 4th?

This morning we both took the day off from work! YAY! And we slept in! It felt so nice so to not be waking up at 4:30! Believe me…as much as I love my job I also don’t mind a day to sleep in. It makes me feel so rebellious! haha! Well today is a BIG day for me because today marks day 1 of marathon training for the NYC Marathon! Woot! Woot! I am going to be using the following schedule. Modified slightly. I always take Sunday as my rest day so I bump everything back 1 day in order to do my long runs on Saturday mornings and have my rest day be Sunday. Make sense?

Marathon Training Schedule

Week# Sun. Mon. Tue. Wed. Thu. Fri. Sat. Total
1 10 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 4 34
2 12 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 4 36
3 6 Rest 4 Rest 4 Rest 4 18
4 14 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 4 38
5 16 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 5 41
6 18 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 5 43
7 6 Rest 5 Rest 5 Rest 4 20
8 20 Rest 5 7 6 Rest 4 42
9 14 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 4 38
10 7 Rest 5 Rest 6 Rest 4 22
11 21 Rest 5 7 6 Rest 4 43
12 14 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 4 38
13 8 Rest 6 Rest 6 Rest 4 24
14 22-23 Rest 5 7 6 Rest 5 45-46
15 12 Rest 6 8 6 Rest 4 36
16 14 Rest 7 Rest 5 Rest 4 30
17 10 Rest 6 Rest 4 Rest 1-2 Opt. 20-22
18 26.2
Marathon
Rest Rest Rest Rest Rest Rest 26.2

I love this schedule. It works really well for me and since I have done it before and have had success I don’t see a need to change. So…I will keep everyone posted but I am very excited. The hard part for my is going to be cutting back on my mileage. I mean last week I ran 54 miles and as you can see the longest mileage week is week 14 at 46 miles. So it will be a HUGE challenge for me to not overtrain (which seems to be a major problem for me). But hopefully having a schedule in front of me and focusing on the bigger goal (NYC) will keep me on track from going overboard. I know injuries occur (as evidenced by this last 6 weeks) by overtraining and I need to remember that!

Are you an overtrainer?

Alright…I am out. I gotta go run my 6 miles for day 1 of MARATHON TRAINING! I feel so backwards right now…blogging before I run…what a strange feeling. I hope everyone enjoys their day as I know most of you are still on vacation! NICE!

45 Responses

  1. So exciting starting your training! My hubby ran NYC and it was so much fun, even as just a spectator!

  2. I wish I could’ve slept in! Sounds like you had a great weekend.

    Your schedule looks great. No need to overtrain girl, stick with it!

  3. Lol you know I am an overtrainer. Haha. I do way more than I need to, but I wouldn’t have it any other way 😉

    • That is what I thought until I got injured and couldn’t run. My PT told me that unless I stop over training I won’t be running when I am 40+ and that REALLY scared me!

  4. That’s so sweet about the Fourth Weekend for you guys! Congrats on Day 1 of training and that you got to sleep in on a Monday! Gotta love that special treat. I definitely have to watch myself when it comes to overtraining.

  5. Awww, the Fourth is definitely a big day for y’all! Glad you had a good one! Good luck with your training– woo hoo! Full speed ahead, right?!? 🙂

  6. So glad you guys had the day to enjoy each other! I am so with you on taking a day and knowing you can sleep in. Can’t say that we sleep in all that much, but just knowing that the alarm is not going off is good enough for me! Good luck on the training…although I know you will do well with it! Enjoy your day today!

  7. Do you do any speed work or do you just run the miles on the list a quck pace?

  8. o, and do you crosstrain on rest days?

    • Yes I do crosstrain on the rest days…either the elliptical, bike or the pool. The only true rest day I take is Sunday after the long run. I usually ice and foam roll really well that day. As for speed intervals. I do them myself with the miles. So on the shorter mileage days I usually start at a certain speed and every mile I will increase until usually the last mile is running about a minute faster than when I started. Make sense?

  9. I did get to see fireworks yesterday and they were great! I love fireworks – totally bring me back to my childhood. 🙂
    Your schedule is totally impressive! Props to you, Kelly!!

  10. Enjoy your day off and hope you had a great run! You sound really pumped for your training. 🙂

  11. I was an overtrainer when I trained for my marathon, but not anymore. I’m in this for the long haul and don’t want to be out of commision mid-life

  12. Happy dating and engagement anniversary 🙂

    I can’t believe you’re marathon training already! Wow! You’ve been so diligent and patient with your recovery!! Best of luck in training!!

  13. Yay for marathon training! Just did my 14 mile long run this morning!

  14. Congrats on sleeping in (we so need a little extra sleep every once in a while) and starting your marathon training! I am definitely an over-trainer but I can’t help it. I started training for the NYC marathon in June last year (I ran it last Nov) and I workout 6 days a week. Any less than that and I feel like a slacker. It’s a bad habit!

    Have fun training. I can’t wait to read about your journey! I’ll be out there to cheer for you on November 7th!

  15. Yes I am an overtrainer…and I recently learned what happens when I overtrain! 😦

  16. Congrats on getting back into training mode! I wish I had good knees so I could run long races, but it’s just not in the cards for me.

    No overtraining please!!!

  17. Yay! Congrats on starting!
    I think I’m an overtrainer who’s not training for a damn thing, but that works for me.

  18. OVER TRAIN? No. Wish I had that “problem.” 😉

  19. Your plan looks great! I can only hope to get to run that kind of mileage someday – sooner rather than later, I hope! I love training plans. I think they are the only thing that prevent me from over training. I’m an overachiever/perfectionist, so I tend to feel like I always need to do more. Can’t wait to follow you as you train! I’m saving your plan…maybe I can use it someday?!

  20. Great training plan! You’re going to rock the NYC marathon! I’ve been having trouble getting into my training because I’ve been so busy and distracted having summer fun! 🙂

  21. As I was looking at the training plan, I was thinking….Is Kelly going to have to cut back on her mileage to train for a marathon?!?! Hahaha, only you!

    I am an overtrainer, which I think you probably could figure out. Like you, I need a program set out for me in order to not overtrain. And I still need to remind myself that I shouldn’t do more than what is on the plan….as I sit here contemplating an upper body workout after doing Insanity this am. Sheesh…chill out, Katie!

  22. Congrats on starting your training plan! Very exciting!

    Hope you enjoyed your day off!

  23. No overtraining, lady!! SO HAPPY for you that you get to start training!!! You must be totally stoked 🙂

  24. I’m so excited to see you get into your training! Hooray!

  25. Great training schedule! You will have no problem, as long as the injury keeps healing. Good luck – that’s a big commitment!

  26. Happy Belated Fourth girlie! I’m off today too and was so happy to not have to pop out of bed before the sun came up. Good luck getting your train on for NYC. That’s exciting.

  27. Wow that is such a sweet weekend memory!!Good luck on your training!!

  28. aw! what a nice weekend for you guys! hope you enjoyed it.

  29. Sounds nice! When you get up for work that early – what time do you finish?!!

  30. I’m with ya on the training! Except I’m training for my 1st half. And yes I’ve overtrained before. The first time I trained for a half I did too much too soon and that is why I’m having to start over. 😦 Oh well, lesson learned. That’s so sweet about how the 4th of July weekend is special to you both.

  31. I love sleeping in. Its my favorite part of the weekends! I honestly dont know how you get up at 4:30 every morning and still function. I whine and complain about getting up at 6:05 🙂

  32. […] Tuesday everyone! How is it going? I started this morning off with an 8 mile run (keeping with the schedule) and I feel happy and ready to conquer PT at noon. Funny how I have to psych myself up more for PT […]

  33. YAY congrats on the start of marathon training!!! Yippee!! Yes, be sure to follow the plan and not overtrain. I think I could be a serious overtrainer, but I really force myself to stick to my plan, which was very similar to yours. I think it helped keep my injuries in check. Way to go girl!! I’m so excited for you and a bit jealous. Starting training is always so awesome. 🙂

  34. Kelly,
    First off, I love your blog… you definitely have such a positive outlook on life and I love reading your fun facts!!
    Second… I definitely have overtrained in the past, but have used it to learn what my body can and can’t take… unfortunately this happened recently with a marathon and I had to pull out before the race started since I injured (and still am recovering) my knee. I qualified for Boston last fall though and slightly undertrained for that marathon… if anything I can advise you to make sure you have a little left in your tank at the end of your workouts… then give it everything you got on race day!

    • Thanks Julie! I appreciate all the advice. I am so sorry you weren’t able to run Boston. Are you going to try to qualify again? How is your knee now??

  35. YAY! I’m counting on you to BQ so we can run together in 2011. I’m going to make you hold hands the WHOLE WAY. You are going to wish you never met me. But it will be glorious while it lasts.

    And, yes, I’m an overtrainer. Or used to be. Until I started training for triathlons. Now, I train a shit ton, but the crosstraining keeps me healthy. I run, MAX 3 days a week. I’ve stayed healthy for the last two years. I don’t think I could say that about any other two year perioud of my life.

    Can’t wait to hear more about your training! ANd you are TOTALLY going to rock this marathon. You are going to smash the BQ. SMASH! I predict under 3:30…comfortably.

  36. […] that anything else just feels…uh…like work! haha! But in an effort to be a good little marathon schedule follower…I did not run. (Do I get a cookie?) And instead I did a 30 minute hill climb on the bike […]

  37. I have a huge over training problem. I just completed a half- marathon last weekend as a training tempo run for my marathon in 2 weeks. I had been running 6 days a week, 40-50 miles and now my foot hurts. It is the most depressing awful feeling in the world. I am taking three days off from pounding and hoping to complete my last long run, 20 before the Marathon and then taper from there. Want a miracle for my foot.

    • OH NO!!!! I am so sorry! Just keep some faith…get in the pool and swim. Do some non-pounding exercises for a few days and then see how you feel. Where exactly does it hurt? What does the pain feel like?

  38. Oh Kelly…I tend to overtrain as well. As a matter fact I was instructed by my PT to take two weeks off before I get an injury. It was tough but I obeyed, and now I’m back in action getting ready for the San Antonio RR. I’m also running the Chupacabra 10k in two in San Antonio. That should be fun, in the mean I’m looking for a running group, any suggestions???

    • I don’t know of any girl…but call Runtex because they always have run groups or look at their website. I just never am motivated to drive all the way downtown! Or there is a website called http://www.exercisefriends.com/home.aspx and it lets you upload a profile and try to find people to exercise with in your area with the same interests. Does this help??

      • It helps a lot!!! I drive to Town lake three days and week and the others I treadmill it. I must say Town Lake is my happy place…goofy but it works on those really bad days. Yet it works for me I’m on the trail by 6:30am and home by 8am and get my boys and head to the gym for the rest. BTW, we still need to find time to do lunch,coffee, or whatever!!! Miss ya!!!

Leave a Reply

