Is soda really THAT bad?

According to the NY Times, the most recent national nutrition survey found that sugar-sweetened sodas are the single largest source of calories in the American diet: 7.1%. Yet they supply nothing but water that is of value to the body. And their sugar content actually increases the body’s water needs. The average American now consumes about a gallon of soda a week, and most of it is not the sugar-free diet variety.

And it gets better:

  • In many states the Highway Patrol carries two gallons of Coke in the trunk to remove blood from the highway after a car accident.
  • You can put a T-bone steak in a bowl of Coke and it will be gone in two days.
  • To clean a toilet: Pour a can of Coca-Cola into the toilet bowl and let the ‘real thing’ sit for one hour, then flush clean. The citric acid in Coke removes stains from vitreous china.
  • To remove rust spots from chrome car bumpers: Rub the bumper with a rumpled-up piece of Reynolds Wrap aluminum foil dipped in Coca-Cola.
  • To clean corrosion from car battery terminals: Pour a can of Coca-Cola over the terminals to bubble away the corrosion.
  • To loosen a rusted bolt: Apply a cloth soaked in Coca-Cola to the rusted bolt for several minutes
  • To remove grease from clothes: Empty a can of Coke into the load of greasy clothes, add detergent, and run through a regular cycle. The Coca-Cola will help loosen grease stains. It will also clean road haze from your windshield.
  • The active ingredient in Coke is phosphoric acid. It will dissolve a nail in about four days. Phosphoric acid also leaches calcium from bones and is a major contributor to the rising increase of osteoporosis.
  • To carry Coca-Cola syrup (the concentrate) the commercial trucks must use a Hazardous Material place cards reserved for highly corrosive materials.
  • The distributors of Coke have been using it to clean engines of their trucks for about 20 years!

Hum? Please pass the WATER! Thanks!

50 Responses

  1. I am so glad I stopped drinking soda. And this was before I knew all this troubling information!
    Water rocks. ❤

  2. Definitely eye opening facts!! Yikes!! I avoid sodas at all cost! Haven’t had one in ages. However hubby is a diet coke addict. He doesn’t drink coffee so that is how he gets his caffiene fix! I cringe each time he drinks one and absolutely hate when he asks me to pick some up for him at the store. I will definitely be sitting him down to read these facts!

  3. pass the water!!!

    gross.

  4. Haha, wow. Those are disturbing facts. Though I have to say, while I might not have M&M’s in moderation, I slip a good microwbrewed cola onto the table now and then.

  5. I almost never drink sodas anymore. We don’t buy them and don’t miss them.

  6. Scary! I’m a pretty healthy eater but I cannot quit diet soda. I have at least one day, though usually caffeine free. And I just had a “real thing” for lunch. Like most things, I think once in a while is fine but I drink it way too much.

  7. Gross gross gross!! My dentist told us as kids about these facts and said to stay away from soda! I ignored it, of course, because soda is so goooood!

    A few years ago I switched to sparkling water and feel much better.

  8. Drinking a gallon of soda per week is totally digusting. Sadly, I used to drink more than that. I haven’t had a soda in three years though 🙂

  9. Yuck! Imagine what soda can do to your insides?! I used to be addicted to Diet Coke. I occasionally enjoy a can now, but very rarely. I don’t even like how I feel after drinking it anymore. If I need bubbles, I stick to sparkling water with lemon or lime.

  10. I like to save diet coke for random “special treats”. But I haven’t had a good enough reason in a while to indulge. I think this just made me want to wait another week or two… lol

  11. Ughhhh, I cringe when I see people drink this crap!

  12. is coke that bad? YES

  13. OMG. So many (ok, ALL!) of those facts are so disturbing! Ew.

  14. Um, yeah, that is pretty gross! I will admit to having one every once in a while. I will typically drink it when we are at a party and everyone else is drinking alcohol since I am the designated driver. I may rethink that decision now though.

  15. Oh wow- I’m ALL about the water too 😀
    I’m NOT into soda @ all anymore…actually I think it’s kind of gross- so odd because I would go thru nearly a 2 liter a DAY of diet mountain dew. EW! That grosses me out now just thinkin’ about it.

  16. That’s crazy! I drink Diet on occasion – you know, sometimes you just need some carbonation. It’s pretty rare though!

  17. I used to be a diet root beer fiend! I’m talking 3-4 per day. Yuck! I don’t want to know what toll it took on my body! Scary!

  18. Wow, that is gross:( but really interesting:)) Thanks for sharing!
    I mostly drink lime/lemon water, coffee, and sometimes a Zevia, but not often.
    Yep, still grossed out!!!

  19. That is so gross! I think that I have read those before but it’s always good to re-read stuff like that.

    Just pouring Diet Cokes on the airplane all day (the slowest drink to pour, all fizz) pisses me off enough each day that I don’t even want to see another can of that crap. 😉

    Much prefer water and coffee!

  20. Um, ew.

    I drop this stat all the time: 12 ounces of soda a day increases a person’s risk of diabetes by 83%.

    I’ll pass!

  21. I was just thinking of this the other day when I heard a kid say he wanted a soda to his dad…it kind of irked me…Lord knows I eat junk…but people guzzle soda like there’s no tommorow…I never really got the appeal…except sometimes when it’s really hot…well, then yeah – i GET the appeal :)…and I have fond memories of walking to the corner store as a kid for a Creme Soda, Root Beer, Orange Crush or Pineapple Crush…and to hear the “psst” sound it make when you unscrewed the top…

    oops – this got away from me 😉

  22. Soda isn’t the only problem. So many “fruit juices” contain just as much sugar. The elementary schools near me have replaced sodas with the juices. It’s a step in the right direction, but its really the same thing. Only one thing may help people stop drinking the soda, Soda Tax.

    • I agree! Totally…fruit juices are sometimes the real equivalent of liquid sugar! Seriously. While I think it is probably a step in the right direction I wish we could go back to what it was like in my school: 2% milk (white or chocolate) or water. Those were our choices. Seriously…that was it.

      • I have never had soda or juice at home or at school. Culture here is different and as children we always drink Milk (1,5%) and now it’s still milk or water.

  23. I read today in Women’s Health that cola is responsible for 6,000 deaths over the last decade. Now, I realize that’s 10 years, but still 6,000 due to SODA?!!!! I’m a water, coffee, and occasional vitamin water 10 or Zero only girl. I can’t remember the last time I had even a diet soda.

  24. yuck! i have NEVER been into soda…..discusting!

  25. Yeah, the whole soda as toilet cleaner thing really freaks me out. I imagine my insides getting that treatment. That’s why I generally stick to water or iced tea.

    • I just wanted to tell you THANK YOU for the sweet comment you left me on Andrea’s blog when she ran my “feature” post…you made me smile so big! 🙂

  26. Ack…I still drink quite a bit of diet soda. Is that okay though?

  27. Yuck – thats so scary. Glad I prefer water!

  28. ughhhh that’s just sickening.

  29. Wow! So glad I finally got my son to realize that drinking soda is not healthy! He mostly drinks water now thank goodness!

  30. I actually new some of those things but definitely not all. Wow. I will never drink that again. Umm…well, I will definitely think twice when I reach for a can! 😀

  31. OMG those are gross facts but thanks for posting them. I also will have a coke one a month as a treat 😉

  32. wait, does any of this hold true for diet. please say no!

  33. holy crap!!!!! i think this should be required reading for everyone. we can all make our own choices, but there is nothing like an informed choice!

  34. When I drank soda reading these facts actually didn’t bother me! It’s only after giving it up and seeing how much better I feel do I realize how bad the stuff really is. Not to be dramatic, but I consider it poison.
    Great post!

  35. SO SICK!!!!! LOVED READING IT!!!

  36. Oh boy, the fact that just blew me over (well they all did) was that you can clean a bumper with foil and coke. that is so gross!!

  37. Didn’t like my Snopes link?

  38. EW. I’d say that’s one of the more convincing soda posts I’ve seen.

  39. This is precisely the reason why I no longer drink pop!!

  40. Check this out in today’s news! CA government banned soda in their offices! http://ow.ly/28ebe

  41. 7.1%? Are you serious!? That’s ridonkulous. I really don’t drink soda, though in college I nursed a MAJOR diet soda addiction. Sometimes when I think about all the shitty chemicals that I used to consume, it makes me a little sick to my stomach!

Leave a Reply

