It’s a USA Saturday!

Happy Saturday everyone! I hope everyone had a great night last night! We did a whole lot of NOTHING and that was exactly what I wanted! I needed a night to chill? Why because yesterday was awesome! Starting with my fantastic run and then my catering gig…I needed a night off! ๐Ÿ™‚

This morning I was up and happy. I am very sore from PT yesterday and I didn’t want to push my luck today so I opted for a shorter run (5 miles @ 8:30/pace) followed byย 30 minutes on the elliptical. I feel pretty sweaty and oh so happy! Now I have a date with multiple ice bags! Ah…the life of a runner! ๐Ÿ™‚

Then for the most exciting part of my day today….USA! USA!ย USA! We are playing Ghana today in the World Cup and I so excited to watch! I am so proud of our boys and I hope they kick butt today!

Are you going to watch the World Cup game?

Saturday thought: It is no secret that new health-care legislation includes a law requiring restaurant chains more than 200,000 of them nationwide to print calorie counts next to every item on their menu boards. .Do you think it will work? Only time will tell, but similar legislation already exists in New York, and studies have shown that it does lead diners to choose slightly less-fattening menu options.

Do you think that posting calorie information next to menu items will “guilt” people into making healthier choices?

Personally, I do. I think that it is easy to have that “out of sight, out of mind” mentality when eating out. But if you are forced to see it right in front of you…I think it will be a lot harder for some people to justify slurping down a 750 calorie milk shake.

32 Responses

  1. I’m glad to hear you’re continuing to heal and the return to running is going well!! Unfortunately, I’ll be making several pool-run dates myself in these next couple weeks. There goes karma biting me in the butt… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  2. I think it’s great that the restaurants post the calories, definitely many people don’t have a clue how many calories they intake in one sitting.

  3. I don’t think it will guilt people into making healthier choices because some people don’t care. I do think it is important to be aware of it though. I like knowing though!

  4. Gosh…I love milk shakes…why do they have to be so horrible? Haha. Anyway, I’m also excited for USA!!

  5. Hey girl – glad you enjoyed the catering. I think that’s so cool. I have never really thought about the calories possibly guilting people…interesting. I imagine some people could care less. I’d love to have cals posted all the time just to know and just for people to see what they are really consuming. I think some people totally underestimate the calories in foods.

  6. GO USA!!!

    I like the calorie idea on menus. People need to be more aware of what they are eating. Some people think they are making healthy choices, when in reality, they are horrible!! They started doing it in Philly, I am yet to see it b/ I never go to fast food chains..but I think it was a great move!! We are one fat city!

  7. Go USA! We will be watching the game too. I am ambivalent about the calorie count on a menu – I want to know but I don’t want to know at the same time!

  8. Glad you got a night off last night– you deserve it!

    Enjoy the game today!

  9. I very very rarely eat out, but I think that posting the calorie counts will be helpful because most people live on eating out. I prefer to cook my own meals because I know exactly what is going in it and that is really important to me. I am more concerned with the ingredients than the nutritional information.

  10. GO USA! I think posted nutritional information will change people’s choices. I know it will definitely affect what I order at a restaurant, plus it would make it easier to monitor my intake, generally speaking!

  11. I think posting nutritional info will help. I know its helped me change my mind on foods before. I had a favorite breakfast at a local restaurant, then I read the nutritional info, haven’t had it since. It wasn’t so much the calories though, it was the sodium that freaked me out.

  12. I don’t think the nutritional info will “guilt” people into making better choices, but I do think it will help people make informed decisions. I know to those of us that are interested in health and nutrition it seems common sense that a milkshake can cotnain half a days worth of calories and insane amoutns of fat, but not everybody does realize that. They also fall for the “healthy” salads that are covered in cheese and creamy dressing.

  13. You know, I think it will guilt the people who are already concerned into eating something better. The people who really need to watch what they eat bprobably won’t look at it. I mean, they have the nutrition facts on food at the store, and they don’t look at it….

  14. I LOVE the calories being posted in NYC. It helps me a ton (now if only we could see the sodium too)
    I was at LGA airport and wanted a slice of veggie pizza. I looked up and it said 725 (or a # similar). $7? I was astounded… then I realized that wasn’t the price it was the calorie count… for 1 slice!!! I didn’t feel like that slice of pizza anymore. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  15. I think it will depend on the person. Someone who is even somewhat aware and health conscious might think twice when they see calorie counts. But someone who is very far removed from that world might just ignore them before he/she has no frame of reference. For example, my husband – who is always been a healthy weight and has always followed a healthy diet in terms of eating whole, unprocessed foods – didn’t know the first thing about calories until he met me. If you had asked him how many calories the average person should eat in a day, he wouldn’t know if it was closer to 2,000 or 10,000! (Ok, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but you see what I mean.)

    My other question is this: are they posting nutrition information or just calorie counts? I’ll be disappointed if it’s just calorie counts b/c it implies that calories are all that health is about. However, I’ll often pick a higher calorie choice if it has more fiber or healthy fat or something like that.

    • That is an excellent point! I too don’t consider calories to be the only measure of health. I usually go based on ingredients. I personally like to be able to pronounce all the ingredients on the label!

  16. In New York a lot of chain restaurants have the calories on the menu and I know I’ve chosen to get different things at Starbucks there because of it!

  17. i dont think it’s guilt as much as it will actually make people realize how much calories are in the meal they are eating. i think a lot of people are actually oblivious to the number of calories is in their meal, they underestimate so by posting calories, maybe people will open their eyes and CONSCIOUSLY choose a healthier option.

    i think ti’s a good idea though. i think it’s really irresponsible for restaurants to even have such high calorie/fat meals to begin with.

    • I agree…I mean I think that resturaunts can create meals that don’t have 100+ grams of fat or 2000+ calories. I think that in an effort to help the obesity crisis those things are just unnecessary!

  18. I love having calorie counts on menus. In fact when I travel out of state I forget that it isn’t a law outside of NYC. I’ve also witnessed people making better decisions after seeing how many calories are in something.

  19. Interesting topic. Time will tell…sometimes though if I want something that I know is not healthy…uh, I don’t want the stats staring me in the face please!! haha. Moderation?

  20. Calorie counts on menus are DEFINITELY a good thing. Even when I want to cheat a little, I usually pick the lesser of the evils if the calories are staring me in the face! And oh my gosh, how sad was the game today?! Totally bummed…now I’m rooting for England!

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

  21. I read your posts from yesterday- you totally deserved that night off!

    And my friend Mon and I discussed the calorie/menu thing. I think it’ll help people become more aware of what they’re eating. Will it change their habits? Hard to say…

  22. i think it will guilt people into healthier choices for a while, but i would be willing to bet that once people get used to seeing it they won’t pay attention anymore. if someone’s going out to eat, they’ll probably just get what they went out to eat for…

  23. i agree on the calorie counting ๐Ÿ™‚

  24. A) We did watch the World Cup. I think you know how that turned out! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ
    B) I think that the calorie count would definitely help me! And maybe it’ll help people realize that one dish might have 2+ servings in it. Take it home and have it for lunch the next day! (I did that twice last weekend.)

  25. I have read that it has been helping to a small degree in places where they already have it

    frankly, i dont care what they post. i would never eat 95% of stuff that’s on the menu’s of most mainstream restaurants ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL If it’s not vegan, high raw, all fresh, I just will wait til i can eat my own lil path and choices ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It’s true actually that even what they post is way off in many cases. Usually because of restaurant staff giving you way more than the suggested serving…i’m afraid to know what goes on behind those closed doors in restaurants really…

  26. I think it works! My mom went to the Cheesecake Factory a few weeks ago and they post all their calories now. She said she completely changed what she was going to order because of it. And she was shocked by how many calories were in what she used to order all the time. That is personal proof to me!

Leave a Reply

