Jaw On The Floor

Okay…I have officially heard it all! I have! I have officially heard of the weirdest diet ever! It is called…wait for it…the Placenta Diet. I did not mistype; you don’t read that wrong; I actually wrote Placenta Diet. Here’s how it went down:

There is a lady (not to be named for the sake of my blog), 5’7 around 170 pounds. In the matter of a few months she drops 20 pounds and everyone is commenting on her new body. What’s her secret? She went on the Placenta Diet that is doctor approved. She gets daily placenta injections and then consumes a 500 calorie diet. She is apparently never hungry because she is getting all the vital nutrients that the placenta provides. Once she has obtained her goal weight she movies to bi-weekly maintenance injections (a mixture of b12 and placenta) and starts to consume more calories as needed.  Apparently, it is very expensive but it is all the rage in (place not to be named) and so “in!”

I AM NOT JOKING!

Is this not the craziest thing you have ever heard? I have so many problems with this on so many levels. First, the placenta part! Seriously….you mean to tell me she is actually injecting someone’s delivered placenta into her?! Holy crap, that MIGHT be the most disgusting thing I have ever heard! Second, um, 500 calories and she isn’t hungry? Really?! And then what happens when she stops getting the placenta injections…um hello rebound effect?!

On a serious level, it does make me sad to see (firsthand) what people will do to lose weight and try to obtain an ideal body image. It is so unhealthy and so damaging to the body and also to the self-esteem. Here is this lady getting praised for her new body and yet what she is going through to get it is lost on everyone because all they see is the result. It doesn’t matter that the end result is A) not lasting and B) unhealthy. She is losing weight and that is all anyone sees.

Have you ever heard of anything so insane?

54 Responses

  1. Wow – just getting over the initial shock on this one is hard enough then trying to find words….wow.

  2. gross, gross, gross.

  3. Hmmm, and I thought peanut butter and bacon was wacky.
    In the immortal words of country music: God is great, beer is good, and people are crazy

  4. So stupid. I hear all the crazy diet fads and just think those people are sad. Losing weight is simple: watch your food intake and exercise. Period. Fads do nothing.

  5. NASTY!!!

  6. Ew. Gross.

  7. Ugh, this is totally disgusting! I like food too much to only eat 500 calories. Why can’t you just put down the cheeseburger every once in a while and eat a sexy salad! Food gets a bad rap! I do think that there is a mental issue with a person that would even create a diet like that!

  8. I heard about that! Not that woman specifically, but a similar situation. True story – I PROMISE! I can’t even believe that I am about to write out something SO DISGUSTING…BUT – My BFF is in a “mom’s group” and a mom in the group just had a baby. She actually asked the gyno to FREEZE HER PLACENTA and she eats some of it everyday. I am so not kidding. I threw up when my friend told me this. And I am throwing up again as I type this comment. And I’ll throw up a third time after I submit the comment. It’s awful, disgusting, gross, unhealthy ad dog-like. I say “dog-like” because dogs actually do that. DOGS. OMG, I can’t believe I just admitted that I know someone who knows someone who is so gross. Sorry Kelly for grossing up your comment section! But it’s just so sad the effort some people go to… 😦

  9. ewww that is SO gross!!!!! omg! who does that!? and how the hell is she not hungry? i could NOT go w/o eating!

  10. Vomit. That made me shudder so bad.

  11. I remember my mom talking about women who used to get injected with pregnant women’s urine because the HCG in the urine was supposed to make you lose weight.

    I’m not sure which is grosser, placenta or pee. Blah.

  12. Disturbed! Nothing else to say

  13. I’ve heard of this and it’s insane. Let’s just be glad it doesn’t involve eating placenta. I’ve seen placenta pills (gag) and I don’t want to know.

  14. Omg, that is gross. Do you know that some people save the placenta and take it home, put it in the freezer, and then cook it up and eat it??!!??!! Blech… no thanks.

  15. Women eat the placenta in certain parts of China and the Czech Republic. They believe it guards future fertility.

    • Hum…I guess my question is whose placenta are they eating? I am sorry but that just really grosses me out. I try to be culturally mature but I can’t get there…I just can’t.

      • Their own after they give birth. They believe it protects the health and fertility of the mother. In Cambodia, they bury it. I did a research study on this in college. If you think about it, it makes sense since the placenta is there to keep harmful substances from the baby and to protect it in the womb. There are actually quite a few American women who eat it after they give birth believing the same thing as the Chinese and Czech do.

        p.s. I don’t think you’re being culturally insensitve at all. Eating it for weight loss is a completely different story.

    • Oh okay…well that makes me feel a little better! And thanks for not thinking I am insensitive! 🙂

    • Oh yeah, I’ve heard that! I had a teacher in high school who did it apparently. I never asked how she ‘prepared it’ though

  16. Oh gosh that’s just gross…

  17. I honestly don’t think I’ve heard of anything so crazy in my life. That is certainly something new. and I can’t imagine only eating 500 calories a day… It grosses me out too!

  18. i dont think anything surprises me anymore these days kelly. but ya, that is seriously gross!!

  19. INSANE!!! how about just using a little portion control.

  20. ICK!
    There are so many things I want to say that I dont even know where to start.
    Does that mean shes getting placentas from multiple people? Because ew. Also, do these women know that their placenta is being injected into a stranger? I so would not be ok with that.
    What do they do? Donate their placenta just like a kidney? Because I think its kind of different. Just yuck. Ew.
    If it came down to having the choice between being overweight and having placenta injections, I think I’d rather be overweight.

  21. Okay, is it horrible that my little immature teenager brain found that kind of funny? Just because of the bizzareness of the situation. It kind of sounds like something you’d read in the The Onion (<3) making fun of diet pills…

    But are you sure this is true? I tried googling it and got this: http://www.amateurgourmet.com/2006/04/tom_cruises_pla.html

    Which, again, my immature teenage brain found funny… *shifty eyes*

  22. Ahhhh people will do anything to lose weight! Hmm, maybe you’re losing weight because you’re only eating 500 calories and it has nothing to do with the placenta? Going along with a previous comment – I’m reading a book called “Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers” (very interesting, by the way) and it says that “placenta is occasionally consumed by European and American women to stave off postpartum depression” and apparently there are a bunch of recipes on pregnancy websites. Definitely not my thing, but if you want to add that to your already healthy diet, go right ahead…

    By the way, thanks so much for your sweet comment on my “Right Size” post. It made my day that you liked it!

  23. I know that many ppl will be skeeved by the thought of eating their own placenta (not someone else’s..that’s super skeevy!) but think of cats and dogs, they do it. Mammals. It’s what we do.

    Anyway, it has been shown over millenia that ingesting one’s own placenta is giving the mother her own nutrients, back. After growing a human and growing a placenta and then birthing the baby, the body goes thru a HUGE toll and by consuming the placenta, it will allow iron levels to rise back up and it’s proven to ward off PPD (post partum depression)

    Google placenta encapsulation and there are services who dehydrate and grind and encapsulate it. Or, do it yourself in a vitamix. Asian cultures make soup with it for the new mother.

    Western cultures freak, but this is a 1000s’ years old practice for new mothers.

    For weight loss…though. NO WAY! Whole other twisted topic.. Sigh.

    • Even for the benefits of my own health (post baby) I just don’t think I could do it. Even my own. There is something about it that seems so icky. I am sure I am jaded by my “western” opinions but I am okay with that. If people of other cultures do this for the healthy aspect then I DO respect that but for weight loss…no way. no freaking way! Thanks for the information Averie!

  24. Umm this grosses me out so much. My Husband say the only thing that grossed him out about child birth was looking at the placenta after, lol.

  25. Yes, absolutely the grossest thing ever. And no, I have ever heard of anything so insane. Blech.

  26. Insane indeed! Actually disgusting, indeed!

  27. Nope. That pretty much takes the cake on the most ridiculous diet that I’ve ever heard of. And it is definitely one of the most disgusting (although I have heard of someone drinking animal urine…so that is really the nastiest one).

    Besides, if getting healthier (which I think should be the goal, not just dropping poundage) costs you more than a gym membership and a bit of a hike in produce purchases, then you’re wasting your money (IMO).

    You’re right, when she’s off of this “diet”, it’d be interesting to see how long the weight loss lasts.

  28. Didn’t Matthew McConaughey plant his wife’s placenta? That’s all I could think about when I read this. Placenta tree.

  29. Ewww! So scary! Who donates their placentas for this?! Yuck!

  30. OMG that is disgusting!

  31. Oh my Lord that is the weirdest one yet…and there are some stupid crazy diets out there…I guess there’ll be a best-selling book on this one soon 😦 Oof.

  32. My jaw is also on the floor…that is the craziest thing I’ve heard yet!

  33. Isn’t the rumor that Tom Cruise ate the placenta after Katie Holmes gave birth to Suri?

    I’ll just eat well and exercise, thanks! 🙂

  34. ewwww that sounds TOTALLY disgusting. I definitely had to read over that twice.
    GROSS!!

  35. Oh for god sakeeeeeee people are weird! Besides the fact that that’s *nasty*…wouldn’t it mess up your body chemistry in some way? Can you become chemically addicted to placenta??!

    ew

  36. I think I am going to puke. Eat right and exercise—whatever happened to that?

  37. Um, ew. I have heard of mothers eating their placenta which is also ew.

  38. Ooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    Ggggggggggggggggggggggggggg

  39. O know a lot of people that have done this diet. No joke. I actually read about it several years ago, but thought it wasn’t availabl ein the US. It actually has become pretty popular now tho. Totally gross, but I know (very very good friends of mine) that have done it.
    But duh…if we ate 500 calories a day, we’d all be droppin the lb’s quick!

  40. The one my friends do is the HCG injections (somethin gin preggo womens pee, groos, i know)…but they do it.

  41. It’s probably not people placenta but animal. Not that that is any better but you know, there’s no way they could get away with using human placenta. Gross? Yes. Also? How much of a lazy ass do you have to be to resort to placenta injections instead of just taking a flipping walk?

  42. so weird for sure!

  43. That is so WEIRD! There are no words…

Leave a Reply

