Saturday Of Smiles

Happy Saturday everyone! I hope you had a fun Friday night! We were very laid back (as usual) and we kept it simple. Although we don’t get up quite so early on Saturday mornings (usually around 6:30am) we still don’t really ever go out on Friday nights.  So in true “Friday” fashion we fired up the grill! Keith grilled chicken breasts and I made sweet potato fries. We also roasted some broccoli and enjoyed quite the feast!

Keith's monster plate of yumminess!

This morning I was up and at em with a short 4 mile run at about 8:00/minute pace. Followed by 45 minutes on the elliptical! PT from yesterday has me a little sore in the groin so that was  about all the legs could handle. But considering I was not allowed to run AT ALL last week and this week managed to get in 26 miles I can’t really complain. I also got in about 25 elliptical miles and 4 miles in the pool. Not too shabby, huh? I am trying to look on the positive!

Today Keith and I have a date with our upstairs “office.” When Keith and I moved into to our house almost 4 years ago we were meticulous about every room, except the office. It has kind of become the catch-all room for all the stuff we didn’t quite know what to do with. Well we are both sick of it and have agreed to spend the ENTIRE afternoon cleaning and throwing stuff out and making it a functional room. Although I am NOT excited about the chore ahead of us, I am extremely excited for the outcome! Since I tend to be a result oriented person…that is all the motivation I need! Wish us luck! 😉

Then tonight we are taking my mom and step-dad, Jim,  out for Father’s Day at the Steiner Ranch Steakhouse. We will be spending tomorrow (actual Father’s Day) with my dad but I still wanted to honor Jim too. He is an awesome guy and has really been good to my mom and to us! I am not a red meat-eater but they have a fabulous salad with grilled shrimp that I literally crave so I am very excited for the night ahead. But first…the office. Gloves on…HERE I COME! AAAHH!

What are you doing today?

30 Responses

  1. That dinner of yours looks yummy!! I have decided to do some serious closet cleaning also but not today, haha, later!! Sice it’s already 5pm here I have been to work and now I am watching the royal wedding from Sweden, so romantic. Later on tonight a little party with my workmates.
    Have a great day girl 🙂

    • Have fun tonight with your girls! Question for you…where in Europe are you? (You can email me if you don’t want to publically answer!) 🙂

      • Dear Kelly, I live in Finland and I am half Finnish half Spanish. Have lived in both countries and in some others. 🙂

  2. Our office was the SAME way for over a year. Finally last spring break I went in there and completely cleaned and organized it all. by. myself. Actually, I was glad Andrew didn’t help b/c that way I could throw out some of his junk and he’ll never know. Haha, shhh! It’s our secret! 😉

  3. Ugh, I don’t know what to do today. My husband has work to do, but we all have cabin fever! I hate it when you want to do something and just don’t know what to do! Good luck with the office and have fun at dinner!

    • Ugh…I hate having cabin fever! That was me last weekend for sure! I am sure you will find something to do…you are definitely a very creative person!

  4. Today I need to get a haircut, clean my apartment, work on some homework, and go to Whole Foods. Fun huh?

  5. Hey! I just talked about you and your lovely running tips on my blog.

    26 miles this week? WOW! Even when you couldn’t run, your workouts were still beastly. You kick butt, Kelly.

    I bet the office will look great!

  6. oh oh, please do a before and after for the office! that’s our problem room too, and i can’t get Nate to help clean it for the life of me! i’m starting on a garden overhaul today…wish me luck!

  7. You are recovering – YAY! I’m so happy for you! I hate huge cleaning tasks because I get overwhelmed and don’t know where to begin. I always feel like I make the mess even bigger before I get it straight…packing up my classroom is setting me straight! Have a delicious night with the fam!

  8. I am doing nothing today and quite looking forward to it! This is the first Saturday in like a month where I haven’t had a jam packed day. I think I’ll walk the dog, go to the gym and watch a DVD. Yay.

  9. My closet is definitely the messiest spot in my apartment. I just kind of toss things in there and shut the door…

  10. It’s 2 am on a Sunday here, so I guess in about 8 hours I’ll be heading to church. Why am I still awake? Hmm…because I’m eating. Heh.

    Best of luck with the summer cleaning!

  11. We have a backup office that is the exact same way! It holds all our junk and just really needs to be dealt with!

  12. Mmmm…steak…

  13. Your dinner looks so yummy, balanced and simple. Perfecto! Unfortunately I am INDOORS working while it’s absolutely beautiful here in NYC :/

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

  14. good job with your run even if it was a shorter one. At least you’re still able to run again. That’s great. My day is consisting of the typical workouts plus some pool time. Have a good one.

  15. GRILL!!!!

  16. Nice grill work. I hope this left you plenty of time to catch “Say Yes to the Dress” last night…. 🙂

  17. At least you are acting now before we have to call TLC Hoarders:)

    Have a lovely dinner, sounds fabu!

  18. Good luck with the office. It will feel great when you are finished!

  19. Enjoy your shrimp salad tonight, sounds yummy!

    Today was my daughters dance all morning and this afternoon was her gymnastics competition. We are finally home and off to make a yummy crab dinner!

  20. Your dinner looks fantastic! We grilled chicken and veggies last week while we were on vacation.

    Hope all goes well with the cleaning today! I’m sure you’ll both be so happy when it’s done and you can really enjoy the room!

  21. I had a great day at the gym and tonight is one of my best friend’s wedding!!

  22. About to head out for a run with the hubby. Tomorrow we are grilling for Fathers Day and then plan to spend some time at the pool.

  23. I spent the day buying a new car. So happy..but beat! You’re making amazing progress Kelly! I’m so happy for your! Enjoy your shrimpies!

  24. Yay for the 4 mile run! You are doing so great. I still can’t believe how early you guys get up on a normal basis. I don;t think I could do it. I had a good weekend – tough race today because I’m out of shape and the humidity was killer. Hope you enjoy your relaxing Sunday!

  25. Aw! I wish you guys lived closer, not only so I could train with you, but so I could hang out with you guys! We have VERY similar social schedules. Mellow early fridays for early Saturday mornings. I was up for workouts at 6am both days this weekend!

Leave a Reply

