Feel Good Friday

Happy Friday everyone! Can you believe it is Friday…I swear this week flew by for me! In a good way! Since Jeff allowed me to run both yesterday and Wednesday today was a no impact day! I did a 2 mile swim in 64 minutes and then came home and did 30 minutes on the elliptical. Lot of stretchingย ensued because I am little tight in the groin area from yesterday’s run. (which I am still super pumped about…thank you Dr. Jeff!) I have PT today at 12:00 and I am sure I will be in an even better mood after that (if possible!) Sorry to be so happy and annoying but just being able to see my progress from PT is amazing and is allowing me to be cautiously excited! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also got my Aquajogger in the mail yesterday and I am going to take that to my dad’s pool later today and try that out!! YAY!

I want to tell all you THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for all the amazing comments, emails and tweets you send my way regarding this injury. While I know I am not out of the woods yet, I feel better and like I am on the road to recovery and to NYC! Here’s what I learned:

  • Listening to my body IS important! I need to be able to distinguish between soreness and pain. Typically I just ignore any pain but that can’t happen anymore!
  • Cross training is IMPORTANT and even better it is actually FUN!
  • Continuing to see Dr. Jeff for regular PT sessions is a must!!!
  • Yoga is a GOOD thing for me!
  • STOP OVERTRAINING! There is no need for me to run 60+ miles a week! 40 is more than plenty with some fun cross training activities to spice it up!
  • Remember to build back slowly and listen to Dr. Jeff. I will get back to where I was with patience. Patience is important!
  • I need to honor my body and respect my injury and remember to be humble!

What lessons have you had to learn the hard way?

I wish I could say that dinner was uberย fabulous last night but would you settle for uber simple instead? I baked us fillets of seabass…simple and clean with some roasted asparagus on the side. It was nice and light and the flavors did taste really nice on the HOT summer night!

I had a request to bring back “Ask Me Fridays” so if there is anything you want to know ask away. Email me, tweet me, leave me a comment and I will answer any and all questions that you guys have! I’m not shy! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Is there anything you want to know about me?

Another question: What was your favorite book at a child?

I loved Shel Silverstein’s Where the Side Walk Ends. Did you ever read that? It was one of my absolute favorites! I could even recite some of the poem’s from reading them so much! I will leave you with a GREAT Shel Silverstein poem:

Hug O’War

from the book “Where the Sidewalk Ends” (1974)

I will not play at tug o’ war.

I’d rather play at hug o’ war,

Where everyone hugs

Instead of tugs,

Where everyone giggles

And rolls on the rug,

Where everyone kisses,

And everyone grins,

And everyone cuddles,

And everyone wins.

HAPPY FRIDAY EVERYONE!

44 Responses

  1. It’s so inspiring the way you dealt with your injury! My hip has been bothering me and I’m trying to listen to my body as well…..not as easy as it seems!

  2. I’m so glad this is teaching you to better listen to your body. It’s such an important lesson most of us don’t learn until we’re hurt. Like me: I had to learn the hard way that PT shouldn’t end when you feel better–those exercises can prevent, too.

    I LOVED Where the Sidewalk Ends. And A Light in the Attic. Shel Silverstein’s books are brilliant. My favorite children’s book was The Giving Tree.

    Funny, I did Q&A today, too. We’re on the same page lady. Question: If you could live in any country but the US, where would it be?

    • Oh I am definitely not stopping PT! Now way…Jeff wouldn’t let me anyway! haha!

      I will answer the questions in this afternoon’s post!

  3. From my last 7 or 8 months, I’ve learned to not add on mileage too quickly and to crosstrain! Especially crosstrain- I cannot stress that enough! lol…

  4. I have learned the hard way that my body cannot handle artificial sweeteners. Ugh.

    I used to love the Babysitter’s Club books.

  5. I love me some Shel Silverstein! My favorite books were pretty much anything by Little Golden, just seeing the spine on those books you knew it was going to be good.

    I think the lesson I learned the hard way is that you are not going to be great at everything. Training is called training for a reason.

    I have a question for ya – you said anything:) If you could travel to any race in the US, what would it be?!

  6. Sounds like you’re learning some good lessons! It’s always good to be able to gain something out of a tough situation.

    I LOVE Shel Silverstein’s books! You’ve read The Giving Tree, right? That is one of my favorite books ever!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Happy Friday!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. You have every right to be super happy with the run and your progress. I’m happy for you! I learned the hard way that going balls out with workouts all the time will tear you down!

  8. I loved reading those lessons you learned – such important ones!

    I definitely learned the hard way that restrictive diets DO NOT WORK.

  9. So glad you are listening to your body and starting to get back on the running train. That is definitely I need to be very good at over the next 4 months – I have a crazy training plan for my next marathon (trying to become wicked fast) so paying attention to my body is key. Great point to not overlook pain as something that may pass. I’m horrible at that.

  10. I am so happy you are feeling happy ๐Ÿ™‚ I have learned many things from my injury too, the most important one is that even if I am not 100% injury-free I can enjoy life and exercise. It’s so important to keep positive attitude and appreciate what you have, not think about what you have lost.

    Then questions!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    How is it to be married to someone 11 years older than you??

    Where have you travelled? Where would you like to go?

    What are your dreams/hopes/plans for the future?

  11. My favorite books as a kid was The Face on the Milk Carton and A Dog Named Kitty.

    I love seabass – it’s my favorite type of seafood!

    Happy Friday!

  12. I need to start incorporating cross-training into my running routine again. But, I play soccer. That’s somewhat cross-training I think! ๐Ÿ™‚ hehe.

  13. Love the poem! I love that book too. I really like how much my kids love it! They read that one all the time and it just makes me so happy.

    Ugh, lessons have definitely been learned! I don’t know if I ever mentioned it before, but I had a tumor removed from my abdominal muscles (all the way through) 8 years ago. Unfortunately, because I had a 1 year old, I picked him up even though I shouldn’t (but he is my baby) and I decided I wanted to work on my stomach muscles that were left, I did crunches. Well, I ended up with a massive blowout with the mesh they put there in place of the muscle. So, now I have gortex in there and the old mesh was repaired. So, I no longer do ANYTHING that has to do with my stomach, but my arms, legs and back are well worked! Being physically restrained is enough to drive a physical person crazy! You are doing a great job and you have a great attitude! Have a great day Kelly!

    • Oh Sarena I didn’t know that! I am so glad you are okay!!! But I can only imagine how frusterating that was and still must be!

  14. I love seabass but never cook it at home. I’m so glad you are back with a positive attitude (not that you haven’t been positive this whole time) and I’m glad you are trying some other x-training activities! Someone once told me “there is more to fitness than running” – SO TRUE!
    I can’t wait to hear the AquaJogger review. My mom cannot swim, so this would be perfect for her…if she had a pool!

  15. My favorite was “The Farthest Away Mountain”. Hands down. ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. So glad you’re feeling better able to listen to your body…..and that you now see cross training as something fun!! When I was doing xc/track, I actually hated cross training. I found it so boring. But now I try to work it in at least once a week (most weeks) and I really love it. It’s fun to push yourself in different ways.

    Hope you continue to feel better!!

  17. Lesson learned the hard way – jealousy is an evil thing. Thankfully, I also learned that forgiveness is a blessing, which luckily brought my hubby and I back together ๐Ÿ™‚
    My favorite book series growing up was probably Nancy Drew!

  18. I have to learn everything the hard way. Its a little ridiculous!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m so glad to see that you’re doing better! Injuries suck.

  19. Ohhh I definitely remember that book. Do you know the one with the girl who “Would Not Take the Garbage Out” ??

    I have so many childhood favorites… The Lorax, the Lupine Lady, The Giving Tree (another Shell Silverstein!!)… I could go on forever.

    Glad to hear the jogger came! Make sure to let me know how it goes!

  20. I am just starting to learn how to listen to my body. Harder than you would think! ๐Ÿ˜‰ The hardest lessons are always the most rewarding..

    Dana โค
    http://happinessiswithin.wordpress.com/

  21. i looooved A Little Princess and The Secret Garden

  22. Oh my gosh, I don’t know if I could pick a favorite! I did LOVE the Ramona books! I’m so glad to “see” such a happy upbeat Kelly again! I know how rough injuries can be, and it sounds like you are definitely on the mental and physical mend!

  23. Woohoo! I am glad to hear things are going so well. You sound so excited. ๐Ÿ™‚ That aquajogger thing looks pretty sweet. I can’t wait to hear what you think of it! It looks like this injury has taught you a lot. I know this has been so tough for you. Sometimes it’s tough to take the lesson(s), but you seem to have done that! Keep it up, girlfriend!

  24. Hey lady! All this time I have really been wondering what time you are in bed every night?! I know you must get up very early (4ish?) to have already finished your fitness routines and to have coffee/breakfast/blogging done by 8am. I have 2 kids and a hubby plus work…lots to take care of! Seems like I am always struggling with my ‘me-time’ schedule and am wondering about yours. Thanks.

  25. Ahh! I LOVE Shel Silverstein! When I was in 3rd grade I memorized “Boa Constrictor” and acted out the entire thing in front of my class!

    One of my favorite childhood books is The Little Engine That Could! “I think I can, I think I can, I think I can…” Haha…I still try to live by that mantra!

    I’m glad you’re making progress in PT!

    Oh, and btw, your chicken enchilada casserole was SOOOO tasty!

  26. So glad you are on the mend! Quicker than most! …I’m right in the middle of a hard lesson…moved somewhere, huge mistake, feel like turning it around , but it’s too late…so i have to stick it out for a little while at least…what can i do or say anymore…?…

    I used to love alot of the War books when I was younger like Diary of Anne Frank and stuff…history…now I’m just into chick lit ;)…

  27. My favorite book was anything in the Babysitters Club series. I read them like crazy!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  28. Girl! Don’t apologize for being happy about your progress. You are so not annoying! You’ve been such an inspiration on how to stay positive during an injury! I’m so happy for you! Good luck at PT!

  29. so happy for you kelly! questions………what do you do for a living? do you have any pets? are you gonna have children? happy friday girl!

  30. its amazing how your body can respond when you acutally listen to it!!! good for you! sounds like yuo are recovering amazingly!!!!

    the aqua jogger looks awesome!

  31. I definitely had to learn the hard way about over training for a half marathon. I upped my mileage too quickly and got up to running 10 miles like it was nothing. Then the day after I could barely walk. I had to realize that my body needed to take time in order to get up to that level. So now I am taking it more slowly and hope to run my first half in November.

  32. I’m glad you are feeling positive about the injury! Not training through injuries was something I had to learn the hard way…after way too many stress fractures that put me out of entire track and XC seasons in HS, I finally learned that a day or two off at the beginning of pain is better than an entire season off after running through pain…

    Keep up the hard PT work…you be beating down those NYC streets on your way to a BQ in no time.

  33. You deserve to be happy and annoying after how far you’ve come…own it, girl!

    Learning the hard way….hm, where to begin? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I LOVED Shel Silverstein too! I dont’ think I had any real favorites though. I read anything and everything I could get my hands on. Once a reader, always a reader, I guess!

  34. When I was younger younger, Babysitters club, Nancy Drew, Fear Street were fun. Glad you feel well.

  35. I am still learning to not over train, and I am really paying the price. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Leave a Reply

