Wednesday Running Take 2

Happy Wednesday everyone! On Monday, Dr. Jeff, wanted me to run again today! Woot! So I pounded out 6 miles at 8:40/pace and today I felt awesome! I had no knee pain and I felt light and really good. I did have some tightness in my groin. Not exactly pain but not exactly comfortable, if that makes sense. But whatever…I am definitely feeling better. And while 6 miles isn’t exactly a world record distance it is something better than nothing, right? I then finished with 30 minutes on the elliptical. I have PT again today at 1:00p.m so I am looking forward to that. Even though I am sure there is going to be a lot of pain involved around the groin area. I have got to get those muscles loose! UGH! I feel like I am stretching and icing like crazy!!! C’mon muscles…work with me here!  PT days are my favorite days lately. I know it is mental but I always feel like every PT session is healing me! I swear I always feel stronger on my PT days.

Do you have things/activities that mentally just make you feel better?

Last night for dinner I tried something I have never had before. I had gnocchi. I have been eying this at the grocery store lately and this time I went ahead and bought it! It was sweet potato gnocchi. I topped it with pasta sauce and some Parmesan cheese. Served with a side salad…I was good to go!

New find for me!

The verdict on my first gnocchi experience. I thought it was just okay. It was definitely good but I don’t think it will be a regular pasta substitute for me (and it wasn’t gluten-free! 😦 )I would much rather have my gluten-free pasta or ravioli. But I will try some other flavors…I am definitely not ruling gnocchi out just yet! 🙂

Happy Bowl of Goodness!

Give me some gnocchi tips..how do you eat it?

I also want to recap my second hot yoga experience from yesterday. Last Saturday I did a 90-minute class and yesterday I did a 60-minute class. The difference was that in the 90 minute class we repeated each exercise twice and held them for 30 seconds each. In the 60 minute class we only did the exercises once but held them for 45-60 seconds each. HOLY COW…the 60 minute class was substantially harder even thought it was shorter. Holding those poses for longer really made a difference. I think it is safe to say that I am really liking my yoga experiences thus far. 🙂 Thank you Hilary for introducing me!

If you do Yoga, tell me the pose that you find to be the most challenging?

For me, right now I am going with Triangle…wowzers!

51 Responses

  1. So glad you felt good on your run!! I love gnocchi but we make it from scratch and it is mug lighter than the store bought kind 😉

  2. Sounds like you are on the road to recovery- awesome!
    I love gnocchi and used to make it gluten free but havent in a while… need to find my recipe & make again. Love it tossed with fresh pesto.
    So happy you’re getting into yoga. I’m currently working on inversions – freaks me out a bit to be upside down but slowly getting there!

  3. I did hot yoga once and loved it. I wish classes weren’t so darn expensive! And hooray for a pain-free run! Talk about progress!

  4. Yea for the run! Six miles is still a big deal when you’ve been down and out! Nice work.

    And you weren’t kidding about the gnocchi! lol. I didn’t realize it was the same brand and everything! ha ha.

    Don’t worry- when I find a better one, I’ll make sure you know about it- I really do think it’s just that brand. I would order it at a restaurant sometime if I were you to get an idea of what it SHOULD taste like… it’s sooooo good!

  5. Yay for no knee pain! I’ve only eaten gnocci a few times and I did what you did – topped it with marinara.

  6. Haven’t done yoga forever. But pretty much any balance or hip exercise haha as I can barely cross my legs 😉

  7. Congrats on the run. That’s great! I have been wanting to try sweet potato gnocci. It’s been ages since I’ve had gnocci at all to be honest. I can’t even remember how we made it the last time.

  8. I do do yoga but I’m not sure what the most challenging pose I have encountered is called! I actually hyper extended my wrists from it and have been trying to heal for about 3 months now. It’s painful.

  9. A Wednesday being one of your favorite days? Perish the thought! Thank goodness for PT then, right? 😉

    I’ve never had store-bought gnocchi, or even restaurant gnocchi. I’ve only had poorly made versions by yours truly. 😛 But I make mine with canned pumpkin and whole wheat flour, so it’s yummy and healthy. I just know an Italian would scoff at my calling it gnocchi. 😛

  10. Congratulations on the run!!! You should be really proud of 6 miles! 🙂 When I’ve had to take time off from a serious injury, I’ve usually only been allowed to run a couple miles at the beginning…so that’s a great start!! Glad you’ve been able to run twice this week. Hopefully the PT appointment today gets you all stretched out and you’ll be back to regular running soon.

    Sorry you didn’t love gnocchi so much. It’s actually one of my favorite pastas. I like to eat it with marinara sauce as well (especially when the dish also has fresh mozz, eggplant and lots of basil!). It’s also good with vodka sauce and pesto sauce.

  11. Whole foods sells gluten free gnocchi made by Vigo. It is amazing stuff! Trust me on that!

  12. I am not a gnocchi eater, tried them and that’s it 🙂

    How great that you can run a little and do yoga. Wonderful!

  13. I’ve loved the gnocchi I’ve had several times at restaurants (probably my favorite pasta other than tortellini), but I haven’t found a home version yet that is even close.

  14. I am trying “yoga for runners” and pretty much every position right now makes me go “oy, gavolt.” Pilates is something that sharpens my mind and body, it’s my current trend.

    I have never had gnocchi. I never totally feel in love with pasta, but glad to hear I am not really missing out.

    So glad you running well, that’s amazing to hear!

  15. I really want to try a hot yoga class…I need to find one! I know what you mean about the frustrations with working out. I feel for ya. I have definitely had my own physical set backs and it is baby steps. With people like us that love to workout…baby steps are painful mentally! I learned the hard way that you can only go so far. I walked A LOT and just made the best of it. You are getting there though and that has to feel better!

  16. Congrats on the 6 miles! I’ve never made gnocchi at home but I do love it in restaurants! I think crow pose is pretty card, I can only hold it for like 3 seconds before I go falling forward on my face.

  17. Most challenging Yoga pose for me is attempting a head stand!

    Glad you got a run in! Yay! 🙂

  18. Good job on the run! 6 miles is still a lot for me, especially on a treadmill!
    Oh how I love yoga. Holding poses is what makes it so beneficial. These days my most challenging pose is Warrior 1, seriously. My hips are so tight I have trouble squaring them to the front. Each class gets better and better!

  19. Thanks for explaining the difference between the 90 min and 60 min classes. I have always wondered!

  20. I love gnocchi!! I usually just serve mine with marinara sauce or sometimes if I’m feeling indulgent, a creamy pesto sauce! So gooooooood!! 🙂

  21. I’ve been eyeing some gnocchi at my grocery store, too! I’ve never tried it but it sure looks yummy…sorry I don’t have any tips for you!
    I really need to get myself back into some yoga…my muscles are so tight!!!

  22. Yay! Congrats on the run! That is so exciting, and such a relief eh?

    Gnocchi is my favorite type of pasta. Its awesome with pesto. I’ve never tried sweet potato gnocchi though.

  23. Yea on the run this morning. 6 miles at 8.40 isn’t anything to scoff at – it’s a pretty awesome time!

    I’m heading to a hot yoga 60 minute class this afternoon. You have me a little worried now. I’m used to 90 min classes so we’ll see how it goes. Hoping it helps loosen up my leg muscles.

  24. I love gnocchi! I think it’s the texture that gets me. My favorite so far is this spinach gnocchi I tried, but haven’t been able to find it again. It was so good. I make it with just regular tomato sauce. I feel like people either love or hate gnocchi.

    And wow – you’re running again!! YAY! I’ve been mia for a bit. I’m so happy to see how much progress you’re making so quickly!

  25. I LOVE gnocchi, but I make my own. I don’t buy in in the pre-packaged containers because you are right, they do not taste like anything special. It takes me a couple of hours to make, but SO worth it. I usually just make it with a simple marinara sauce & some parmesan..yummmm!
    CONGRATS on your run- that’s great 😀 Hope it continues to only get better!!

  26. anything where i have to arch my back is so hard…not painful, but my back has lost a lot of flexibility! way to go on that run…feels good to get back doesn’t it?!

  27. I’ve been dying to try the hot yoga. I’ve just got to get myself more motivated. great blog you’ve got here.

  28. I’m so glad to hear your run this morning was so encouraging! Huzzah for progress!

  29. I actually LOVE gnocci! My husband and I usually boil it up and then saute it (yes, saute) it in our favorite homemade pasta sauce that we mix with parmesan cheese to thicken the sauce a bit and it comes out SO SO SO GOOD that way! I recommend it highly 🙂

  30. I’m not a huge gnocci fan either…However, a few years ago, Costco sold gnocci filled with cheese! I LOVED it!

    Congrats on your pain-free run yesterday!!!

  31. I ❤ ❤ ❤ Gnocchi!! I think it's my italian heritage and the fact I've eaten it every sunday for my entire 23 years of living haha

    The best way to eat it is to make a really good maranara sauce and then top it with that, give it a little spice with some crushed red pepper or something. I've also made gnocchi salad where i've put it over a bed of cold lettuce with a little pasta sauce and some fresh veggies. YUM!

  32. Balancing for me is still tough.

    I am so glad that you are enjoying Yoga.

    If you go to http://yogajournal.com, you can search poses by anatomical focus and you will find a ton of exercises for that.

    Also, any hip opener (which I LOVE) – http://www.prettyinorange.com/2010/06/13/are-you-hip/

    Love ya chickie!! I’m so glad that the run was pain-free!

  33. 6 miles at that pace is AWESOME!! I’m glad you are starting to feel stronger!

    The hardest pose for me is without a doubt CHAIR pose…I am always shaking and sweating like MAD when I have to hold that for more than 20 seconds.

  34. i missed the injury, but i’m glad PT is helping! i am in the midst of it as well as i’ve got weak hip flexors that have probably been what’s prevented me from increasing my training the past few years. hopefully it will help, eventually…

  35. You’re healing! I’m so glad for you! It’s great that you discovered yoga. I don’t know where I’d be without it. I find back bending poses to be tough for me, but I love balance poses! They are challenging and fun!

  36. I love it with pesto! So tasty!

  37. crow pose is the hardest for me!
    so glad you are running…..really any exercise make me peaceful 🙂

  38. I like gnocchi, but don’t let people fool you…it’s not “OMG, the best thing EVER!” 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better, girl! 🙂

  39. I’ve never had gnocchi, so I’m no help. But I’ve enjoyed hearing everyone else’s tips 🙂

  40. Looove yoga! I’m great both with flexibility and strength (I can do a side plank while holding my big toe up in the air. Yep, pretty proud of that one 😉 But I can’t for the LIFE of me do crow. I just can’t do it. Yogis, is it more of a strength or balancing thing? Something just isn’t right, I can’t do it to save my life!

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

  41. Nothing makes me feel mentally better than running.

    You are a workout animal. Amazing.

  42. 6 miles is pretty great in my world! Congrats!!!

    I’m not a huge pasta fan to begin with, but I made my own pumpkin gnocci a while back – WAY better than store bought.

    Triangle is a challenging pose for me too. Sometimes i think it is great, other times it just hurts!

  43. I love yoga. I’m trying to get the crow pose but I find it super hard!

  44. I’m not the hugest fan of gnocci, but when i eat it, I like it in some tart tomato sauce to cut in to the richness. 😛

  45. Congrats on the light and speedy 6 miles! It looks like your patience and hard work (and help from Dr. Jeff) are really paying off! 6 miles may not be your normal 10 or so miles, but you’ll be back at that soon enough…just in time for NYCM.

Leave a Reply

