Swim With Me Tuesday!

Happy Tuesday guys! Today I woke up and actually REFUSED yes refused to let anything bring my day down! I am thankful for what I can do and thankful to have such amazing people in my life taking care of me. Keith loves me unconditionally and heals my soul while Jeff (my PT) is a great doctor and it physically putting me back together. I have a great team and there is no reason for me to doubt the advice and encouragement they both give me! So take that…you stupid knee…I am going to win. Me. Not You.

This morning has started with a 2 miles swim! I rocked that in 67 minutes….thank you very much. I kicked the heck out of that water and it felt great! I came home and did a quick 30 minutes on the elliptical and then jumped in the shower! I am heading to hot yoga this morning at 11:00 and I am already excited just thinking about it. Except I do see a second shower in my future!

So for Christmas this year my mom got me this amazing cookbook!

It is broken down by the seasons and all the recipes are healthy and super fresh! I mixed and matched a bunch of recipes in here based on what I had on hand in my pantry and came up with a fabulous summer couscous dish that totally hit the spot last night for dinner!

SUMMER COUSCOUS SALAD

  • 1 box mango flavored couscous
  • 1 cup black beans (drained and rinsed if you are using canned)
  • 1 cup sweet corn (drained and rinsed if you are using canned)
  • 1 (4 oz) can green chilis
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro

Cook couscous according to package directions. Allow to cool. Mix all remaining ingredients. Serve!

SO good!!!

This totally reminded me of mango salsa, which I love. This was a yummy keeper and very filling! If I had had a fresh mango on hand I would have definitely added that in as well!

Do you like playing around with grains & getting creative with what you add to it?

39 Responses

  1. I have the cookbook and love it! Glad you enjoyed it too!

  2. I looked through that book in the bookstore and am not sure if I liked it…it was kinda all about veggies. 🙂

  3. Yay, I’m so glad that you are loving Yoga!!

  4. I’ve never read through the cookbook, but this sounds good. I love playing with different grains. I get so bored if I eat the same one over and over.

  5. Look at you rocking out the yoga now! I guess it is a little addicting, huh? :p

  6. That couscous looks great. I do like to play around with grains especially quinoa. So versatile. Have a great day!

  7. I need to get more creative. I don’t have much time or I just fall back on old favorites. As long as cheese and sauce is involved it works…
    What a +ve attitude. Send that my way! Second-guessing all around here…

  8. i do! grains are so versatile and FUN to play with…plus you can make them to go with just about anything you have 🙂 YUM!

  9. You’re making me want to swim! I wish my apartment complex’s pool was a little longer so I could do “real” laps in it

  10. Totally read that book! I thought it had some good information but most I already knew. I’ll have to try some recipes!

  11. I love adding things to grains, the possibilities are endless!

    I love adding walnuts, beans, and dried cranberries to cous cous…I love a lil’ sweetness! 🙂

    Nice swim, your workouts always amaze me! 🙂

  12. That summer couscous salad looks great!!!!!! I love summer salads like that!! 🙂

  13. That’s an awesome swim! I should really get back in the pool soon.

  14. Oooh, I want that cookbook. 😛 The couscous looks fabulous!

  15. I think trying new things like yoga, elliptical, etc…is really working for you!

  16. i love the look of that book — of course — because lime green is my favorite color. i think it’s a sign that i need to hurry up and buy it. good job on your swim!

  17. I have been looking at that cookbook everytime I go to the bookstore. It looks pretty awesome!

  18. Oh how yummy is couscous. Quinoa is another fun one to mix with.

    I seriously am so envious of your pool longevity:) Enjoy yoga, do some deep breathing for me today, I need it!

  19. Great attitude and great job on the swim! Enjoy HOT yoga – it’s so awesome. Have a great day!

  20. I’ve heard of this book and have been wanting to try it. Can’t wait to see the recipes it produces

  21. mango couscous..never heard of it, didnt even realized they made flavored couscous. thanks for sharing though.

    i like your attitude…nothing will spoil my day either.

  22. Ohhh my heavens this looks delicious! I love grains mixed with things like this!

    I love quinoa for dinners like this 🙂

    Way to go on your run!
    XXOO

  23. Yeah! Take that stupid knee! Kelly is going to own you..OWN you! Hahaha! Love your positivity girl! Yesterday I wasn’t feeling the gym, but knew if I got there I’d be happy. As I was rockin on the elliptical I wanted to quit..I thought Kelly wouldn’t quit. How funny right?

    • Okay seriously girl that made my day!!! Thank you! I love it when people find inspiration in me because I draw so much inspiration from so many blogs! 🙂 Thank you…I am smiling SO big right now!

  24. I love your positivity! 🙂
    And that Clean Food books looks wonderful. What a delicious couscous recipe!

  25. ahhh, the knee. SUCH a fickle body part!! you’ll be back in no time for the marathon training.

    i’ve only mixed things in quinoa before and i loved it. i did peas and corn i think. it was really good!

  26. yyou go girl!! Good for you for keeping your spirits up! I totally believe in mind over matter!!
    Also, that couscous salad looks wonderful!

  27. yes i love your positive outlook! you will be better kelly i am sure……plus you are getting good at something else-swimming-how wonderful is that? love grains….been playing around with bulgur lately!

  28. Your positive attitude is off-the-charts AWESOME! Infectious too 🙂 And sorry, girl, I have yet to get creative in the kitchen, but when I do, you’ll be the first person to know!

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

  29. I always have to tell you this, but you have THE BEST attitude about things!! From awful ‘Mondays’ to injuries you are just so positive!! LOVE IT!! 😀
    Thanks for always reminding me what’s important in life & that I have so much to be thankful for.

  30. cookbook looks great! couscous looks awesome – so colorful, too!

  31. I always see that cookbook and want to pick it up! I should–looks delicious!

  32. I love grain salads like that. Think I’m going to make a cranberry walnut quinoa salad this weekend actually 🙂

  33. I love your positivity, Kelly!

    I got that book from the library and never got around to looing through it before having to return it. I’ll have to check it out again, I guess!

  34. Dang! 2 miles in 67 minutes? I think you have a future as a triathlete…now, just go hop on a bike. 🙂

  35. and ps. can you teach me how to culitvate your lovely wonderful positive ebullient spirit? you continue to amaze me, kelly!

Leave a Reply

