Monday Experiment

Happy Monday everyone! I hope everyone had a great weekend! This morning has started off a little weird for me. Let me explain. Dr. Jeff  (my PT) wanted me to try an experiment today. He wanted me to run 5 “test” miles. I was supposed to run at a relaxed pace and walk if I needed to. If anyone had told me that I would be excited to do a run/walk 5 miles 3 weeks ago I would have laughed…ah perspective gets you every time. The verdict? It went okay. I ran 5 miles at 8:40 pace and by the end I could start to feel some pull in the groin area. My knee felt unstable the entire time. It never hurt it just never felt strong. Does that make sense? I don’t know. I would be lying if I said I didn’t maybe cry a little out of frustration. But I picked myself up and hopped on the elliptical for another 45 minutes to finish up. I have PT today at noon so that should feel GOOD! I am very interested to see what he thinks after that run this morning! Cross your fingers…PLEASE! 🙂

Me post-workout! Smiling and ready for breakfast!

Yesterday I made a new recipe that I got from Heather of Hungry Pants. It was her Not Really Mac & Cheese. The verdict: FABULOUS!!!! The only thing I did differently was I substituted Gluten-Free penne pasta noodles.

Not Really Macaroni & Cheese

  • 1 cup fat-free cottage cheese
  • 1/3 cup shredded mild cheddar cheese
  • 1/ cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3 T water
  • 1 T ground flax
  • 2 t Dijon mustard
  • dash of salt
  • dash of pepper
  • 1 garlic clove – diced
  • 1/2 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 red pepper – chopped
  • 2 carrots – chopped (I actually used shredded carrots)
  • 1 Cup Frozen Spinach (thawed and drained)
  • 1 Cup Whole Wheat Penne (I used Gluten-Free)

(1) Add flax to water, stir and let sit for about 5 minutes.

(2) Combine cheeses, mustard, flax mixture, salt and pepper in a bowl and cook on low heat. Stirring frequently to prevent the cottage cheese from sticking to the pan. When the cheddar cheese is melted, turn heat off.

(3) Heat garlic and olive in pan, then add peppers and carrots and cook for about 10 minutes. I kept them a little crispy intentionally. Then add spinach and cook for another minute or two.

(4) Prepare wheat penne.

(5) Add wheat penne to cottage cheese mix, then add vegetable mix.

(6) Bake at 350* until macaroni starts to brown and cheese sauce thickens (10-15 minutes)

Do yourself a favor…make this ASAP!

What was the best part about your weekend?

59 Responses

  1. I can’t imagine how frustrated you must be. I hope it starts getting better for you soon, girl!

  2. SOOOO good! I love mac & cheese. I’m glad you could at least try running. Injuries take time to heal, so it sounds like you are already making some progress.

  3. I know it’s hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel right now, but you WILL be running again!! And feeling strong!! I just know it!! 🙂 It just takes time and patience and it is hard. Hang in there!! 🙂

    Not Really Mac & Cheese……mmmmmmmmm!! Looks so great!! 🙂

  4. Wow! This recipe looks awesome! I am saving this one! Glad running went well today! Have a great day!

  5. You know, at least you tried and at least you have a better gauge on how you’re healing. Maybe the new pain you felt will help him give you exercises to strengthen that area.

    That mac n cheese looks awesome. I’m totally making this.

  6. I’m crossing my fingers for you!

  7. Hope you get some good news Kelly. Hang in there!

    The best part of my weekend was seeing Midget C. take his first steps.

  8. You look so pretty in the pic!!

  9. I am sorry you are going through this! It is so frustrating when your body can’t do what you want it to! I hope it gets better soon! Baby steps are the hardest for me. The best thing I did was cook with my cousin who is suffering from food intolerances. I was teaching her some new stuff because she never learned to cook at all. It was so much fun! I hope you have a great day!

  10. Okay, first of all, you are gorgeous in that photo!!

    Second of all – I’m so sorry that it wasn’t what you wanted to be this morning. It sucks. Big time.

    BUT – let’s also focus on the fact that it take time to heal. Has your PT said whether or not your elliptical workouts are helping or hurting? I am just curious as to whether or not you need to give up weight-bearing exercises in order to heal.

    Love you!

    • Thanks A! I did ask my PT about weight bearing activities and he said it was actually important to do them. He said removing all weight bearing activity would weaken the muscle. So I am been balancing the elliptical with swimming. Tomorrow is a swim day and I am doing yoga 3 times this week!!! hehe…yay!

  11. Horrible weekend so no comment. But the meal looks great! And I would still caution on the extra exercise your doing with the injury. I know your PT says it’s fine…but it is very individual and sometimes your body just needs the rest and time to repair the injury. Especially since you were logging some heavy mileage and crazy workouts beforehand! Good luck and remember it can only get better…right?

  12. Mmmmm…the mac & cheese looks DELISH!!! 😀
    I had LOTS of fun stuff this weekend…would either have to be getting my new blender, or enjoying my massive ice cream cone for dinner last night 😉
    Happy Monday!!

  13. ohhh i remember being “cleared” to run. i wasn’t excited. i was SCARED. i’m not saying this to scare *you* off or anything… but it was just nerve wracking knowing i put in all that time at PT, and what if it wasn’t even healed yet? the most you can do is just put your faith in the team you’re working with, and trust that things will all work out in the end. which it sounds like you’re already doing!!

    hope PT goes well today. are you getting stim? haha that was my favorite part. that, and the heated/weighted towels they’d drape on you before massage. 🙂 let me know how it goes when you get the belt and try it out!!

  14. That looks delicious!

    I’m glad you got to at least run, but I know that it is frustrating. I’m right there with ya, I’ve dealt with the same injury for years and it can be quite challenging. I actually really appreciate just walking because of it!

  15. Hoping for good news at PT today!

  16. Hey girl, sorry the test run wasn’t exactly perfect. It’s a start though. That recipe looks soooo good. Yum!

  17. Sometimes I think the frustration of not knowing is worse than actually knowing! At least you know where you stand and now your PT knows what to do moving forward! Injuries are a funny bird…

  18. Hey 5 miles is 5 miles! I totally understand your frustration though. Hmm my fav part of the weekend was gettign to hang out with the puppies and my girlfriends.

  19. I’m interested to see what Dr. Jeff has to say about your run. But I mean – oh my lord, I can’t even run 5 miles yet. 3 miles and I’m done. Maybe after my race on Sunday, I’ll be ready to up my mileage.

    Mac’n’ cheese – so many different ingredients. I don’t have a lot of that on hand, but I definitely feel like making it tonight.

  20. GAH..I’m in recovery right now too…been a month since I ran and I’m still breaking in the new orthotics so even walking feels heavy and lopsided. Good luck – keep doing your exercises! =D

  21. I love the Mac N Cheese recipe…looks delicious. And it’s 7am here so you know I really mean it!

    I am crossing my fingers!!

  22. i am so sorry about this!!! I hope your foot heels in no time!

    on another note that pasta dish looks FABULOUS!!! i love healthy spins on mac and sneeze (as I used to call it! haha)

  23. I got the same feeling with my ankle too. No pain, but you can tell its not strong enough. It still does it sometimes, but I’m not fully healed yet. It will get better though!

  24. Congrats on the run girl! It’ll get better/easier! 🙂

    That Mac & Cheese sounds delish!

  25. I get chronic knee and hip pain, so I can kind of relate, though I was never the running lovah you are! I love the eliiptical because you really can get in a good workout without killing your joints. I haven’t been to the gym in a month or so, and I have to say, I am missing the ET!

    I spent all day outside playing in the garden and working on my yard – it was the perfect Sunday in my opinion!

  26. the best part of the weekend was spending a great date night with my hubby…it’s not all that often we get to do that and not bring work or other friends into the mix!

  27. This must be very frustrating. I’ll be hoping for good news from the PT.

    I got a new road bike! Very excited about mixing up my cross-training with it.

  28. Aww Kelly! Trying to run after an injury is so frustrating when you know you’re not up to your normal level. Just keep taking care of yourself so you can be back out there kicking butt in no time! Hope PT goes well 🙂

  29. Sorry about the disappointing run! Hang in there – I know injuries are SO frustrating. Just keep taking it slowly, you’ll be back in no time!

    That (not really) mac and cheese looks so yummy!

    The best part of my weekend was having my nieces and nephew’s stay at my house. 🙂

  30. ooo this is a similar recipe that I use for mac n cheese! Looks awesome!

  31. There’s that big smile!! Yea, so glad to hear, look at you go.

    I am a nut for mac n cheese, loving the recipe, and it’s always a lovely surprise when everything cooks as planned!

  32. I hope your PT visit goes well. Sorry you are still dealing with it all. At least you got to experience some running today.

  33. I hope you continue getting better…and I must tell ya, 8:40 pace is AWESOME!! You were rockin’ it.
    I would be frustrated as well, but @ least you can still do some kind of workout- ya know like on the elliptical. I’m SURE it’s not the same as a run- since I know how much of an avid runner you are 🙂 – but it’s something.

    Have a GREAT Monday 😀 I always think of you & remember to make my Monday a good day..not a case of the Monday’s kind of day. Love your positive attitude.

    • Thanks Holly…sorry that I am downer today! But you have inspired me to change that! I AM running and that is always better than NOT running! 🙂

  34. Umm why do you look so pretty after working out?! I’m sorry about the running frustrations, good luck at your next PT appointment 🙂

  35. Hopefully you’ll get some good news at PT today. You’re still super speedy even though you’re injured! Have a great day!

  36. Ah I know that feeling all too well. It’s not painful, but you’re aware something is “off” and “just not right”. So frustrating. Especially because you can run… you just shouldn’t.

    But keep up the good work on the elliptical! Gotta keep the endurance ready for your triumphant return! 🙂

  37. Yum, yum, yum!! That looks great.

    I can’t imagine how happy you were to run this morning. 🙂 🙂 🙂 That’s great it didn’t hurt. Thea healing process must be doing its thing.

    My fingers are crossed for you. 🙂

  38. That looks delicious! I’ve never heard of adding cottage cheese into a mac n cheese

  39. Btw, is there a particular reason you use gluten-free?

    • I have a gluten intolerance. I always had a slight lower tummy bloat, horrible digestion, I had ridges on my finger and toenails and on my teeth, and I got a lot of canker sores. A fellow nutritionist friend suggested I try gluten-free. I removed gluten from my diet and everything INSTANTLY (and I mean within a few weeks) went away. Now I am probably only about 80-90% gluten-free abut whenever I go on a gluten-fest I will immediately get a canker sore the next day! Crazy, huh? My husband and I have been this way for about 2 years now and we really love it and feel better!

  40. Best part of my weekend was the QT I got to spend with my little sis yesterday. So happy to have her in the same city!

    Have a great Monday Kelly 🙂

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  41. AW! I’ll send you good vibes today that your PT appt goes well! I know how frustrating that must feel! As for my favorite part of the weekend? I got to spend the entire thing with my sisters 🙂

  42. the mac and cheese looks fab…..so does your smiling post workout face! you will get through this…..at least you are running!

  43. that looks awesome and i love how there’s flax in it!!

  44. Glad to hear you got to “run” a bit. Hope PT goes well. I’m sure you’ll tell us all about it.

  45. Hi Kelly

    Nice recipe. I have never been into cottage cheese, maybe I will try it some time more if I try that recipe especially.
    Good luck. You are pretty outstanding you know. I barely do a walk – and you do so so much. Runner…and with all the swimming, the next female Michael Phelps perhaps.

  46. I’m saying a prayer for you at your PT appointment today! I know how frustrating the recovery process is…But you are staying so strong and making the most of the situation!

    That mac n’ cheese recipe sounds fabulous!

    I didn’t realize you had a gluten intolerance…I recently started cutting out wheat in my diet (due to major digestion problems) and it’s made a huge difference! It’s in so many of my favorite foods though, so I’m trying to find good substitutes…Any suggestions for pizza? 🙂

    • Oh believe me I have tried and tested EVERY gluten-free product on the market! After 2 years of being basically gluten-free I have it down! haha!

      Pizza Crust: Udi’s crust is AWESOME (It is already made and you just add your toppers and bake) but if you want to roll your own out then I like a brand called Gillians. It comes in a dough ball and you have to flour your surface and roll it out! It is fun! Both are FANTASTIC! I find them both at natural stores (I am not sure what is in your area….but Sprouts, Whole Foods, and the Natural Grocer all carry it in my area!) If you have any other questions or any other products reccomendations email me and I will hook you up! haha!

  47. Aw, I’m so sorry that you are facing such frustration over the groin and knee injuries. But, keep up the hard work in your therapy, and you will be back at it in no time!

    And, you are still running sub 9minute miles, so, you are still smokin’ it, even when you are injured 🙂 So feel good about that! 😉

Leave a Reply

