Sunday = HAPPY Day!

Happy Sunday everyone! So let’s start with yesterday! I am happy to report that I am not longer a yoga virgin! I did a 90-minute hot yoga class yesterday with Hilary and it was awesome! I loved it. It was much much harder than I gave it credit for! Definitely some of those poses were off the hook! I was sweaty and happy when I left. Hilary has 10 free passes that she has graciously agreed to give me so I am gonna stick with it for 5 weeks (twice a week) and then go from there! But I am really excited about it and can’t wait to get more flexible! This can only HELP my running!

Then last night Keith and I met up again with Hilary and her husband, Jensen for a fabulous dinner at Gloria’s! It is one of our favorite restaurants! I usually always get the shrimp fajitasΒ but last night I, on impulse, switched it up and got the Grilled Shrimp Salad. It had grilled shrimp, romaine lettuce, iceberg lettuce, jicama, cucumbers, cherry tomatoes and red onions. How summeryΒ and refreshing does that sound? And believe me…it was FAB!!! Sorry no pictures, but I am just not about taking pictures of my food in restaurants.

What’s you favorite meal to eat out?

After dinner, I talked Keith into renting Dear John. I have heard a lot of good things about this movie so I was excited and honestly I HATED it. I thought it was awful! Just my two cents…but blech!

Someone, please give me a good movie recommendation!!

Have a great Sunday everyone and I will be back tomorrow with some new recipe reviews!! Woot! Woot!

45 Responses

  1. Yes, I think yoga will REALLY help your running!! It is what I truly believe helped me after my IT band issues. Keep up that yoga girl!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Shrimp salads are wonderful!!

    That is too bad about Dear John… I was really wanting to see it… was it just too cheesy?

    Happy Sunday!! πŸ™‚

  2. Yay!! I’m so glad that you enjoyed Yoga. Keep in mind that there are quite a few different kinds of Yoga. What you did yesterday is basically Bikram, I’m guessing, though they can’t call it that unless they have been certified by Bikram’s group. Which goes against anything that Yoga stands for, as it’s meant to be humbling, not make you into an ass who only wants money.

    But anyway – I hope you’ll test out some others as well. πŸ˜€

    • No…I loved it! The heat was actually nice!! I felt like I needed it to be able to get my body into some of the poses. The poses were hard but I liked the challenge and I felt completely at ease and non-judged! I can’t believe I waited so long! What was I thinking?! haha!

  3. Have you watched Sherlock Holmes yet? I kinda liked it. And Princess and The Frog. πŸ™‚

    I love eating Asian dumplings out! Esp dim sum…you just can’t make it as good at home!

  4. Yeah, my bf gets a little embarrassed when I whip out the cam at restaurants. ESPECIALLY when I don’t get a good ont the first shot the first, or um, second try. I know it’s rude, but I can’t help myself!

    Yeah, I LOVE Channing Tatum (hello hottie!), but Dear John was a bit cheesy. I recently rented Whip It and it was good! Kinda quirky and fun…I think you’d like it πŸ™‚

    http://www.firednfabulous.com/

  5. John and I just went to see Robin Hood and we both enjoyed it!

  6. I love going out to breakfast! I’m such a morning person that everything is sweeter and I love the experience 10x more than if I’m going out for dinner.

    I haven’t seen a movie in the theater’s forever – but today is rainy and I would love to escape 2 hours with a trip to the movie theater. Last night I watched “Amytiville Horror” (on DVD) and I had already seen it, but I had forgotten a lot of it and I LOVED it all over again. Ryan Reynolds is dreamy.

  7. No recommendations here, since I liked Dear John πŸ™‚

  8. Glad you enjoyed the yoga. Have a great Sunday!!!

  9. I love going out for Mexican as well! The atmosphere is always so *festive*! I also really enjoy ordering fresh grilled fish at seafood restaurants.

    So glad you liked yoga!

  10. It was still shrimp though LOL!! Haha – I thought it would be something the opposite of shrimp πŸ™‚
    Fave meal to eat out? Uh anything. …and I’m certain I ate an entire carrot cake and ice cream last night…

    Free passes – wow, you can’t lose really !

  11. My favorite meal to eat out has to be breakfast because of PANCAKES!

  12. I’m glad to hear you like yoga! I’ve never taken a class, but I have a few videos. Yoga is a real treat for your body.

    My favorite meal out is the potato-crusted flounder at Bob Evans. YUM.

    Bummer about the movie!!

  13. I am really wanting to try out some hot yoga! I think I could really use it today!!! The salad sounds so good! I love a good salad out…those are few and far between! I agree on the movie. Not good. Have you seen “The Fountain”? That is a favorite here! You have to watch it a couple of times, but between the visuals, the music and the story…it is perfect! Enjoy your Sunday!

  14. Can’t say I’m not surprised about Dear John. Did you get bored? Or just annoyed? I was mostly bored by the end…

  15. Oh – and good movie recommendations – depends on what you’ve seen – but Ratatouille, The Hangover, Up In The Air, …
    I recently watched The Princess and the Frog and it was great for the feel of New Orleans – I was impressed! – but it wasn’t as good as I’d hoped – there were too many songs in it LOL !

  16. Happy to hear you liked Yoga πŸ™‚ Me 2! A good movie, hmm, Somthing’s gotta give, seen it??

  17. I’ve only done yoga once, and I can’t sit still for that long. I’d rather do jazzercise or whatever than yoga. I know it’s hard, but I get restless. πŸ˜›

    You heard good things about Dear John? o.O All I heard was crap haha.

    Hmm… have you seen Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind? Now THERE’S a great love story.

  18. I love going out and eating greek salads YUM! That salad you described sounds right up my alley!

    We saw Shutter Island this weekend. We both liked it…it’s weird but it’s fun just to watch Leo in action.

    Don’t get The Box whatever you do. Saw that a few weeks ago and its was DUMB!

  19. Good for you for trying out Yoga! I wish I could get into it more.

    When I’m out – I love to order complicated-sounding dishes I know I’d never attempt. πŸ™‚ Or something totally new that I’ve never tried before.

    I don’t have any good movie recommendations to give you – sorry!

  20. I didnt like Dear John either. I had such high hopes for it. It just wasnt good, I never cared about them.

    • Maybe that was the problem! I felt like the character development was bad so I never really felt a connection with either of them!

  21. I just saw Temple Grandin and it is now one of may favorites of all time. SO so good. It’s with Claire Danes and is based on a true story of an autistic woman who revolutionizes the stock yard industry and the way animals are slaughtered. I know that may not sound like a great description but it was really wonderful!

  22. Dear John was a fabulous book! The movies are never the same. I enjoyed the movie because of hottie Channing Tatum πŸ™‚

    I’m so glad you enjoyed yoga! You will definitely be hooked after 5 weeks. A feeling of greatness when it’s over…but in a completely different way than after running 10 miles!

  23. I’ve heard of jicama, but never tried it. What is it similar…if anything?? Because that salad sounds delicious.
    I have not seen the movie yet, but considered renting it…might RE-consider NOT renting it- lol!

    • Jicama is really good but honestly it doesn’t have much of a taste. It is a watery veggie but it is really good. Help me out people…what does jicama taste like?

      • It’s like a cross between an apple and a raw potato! without the nasty raw potato starchy flavor…

  24. You are the second person to say that Dear John stunk. I think I’ll take that off my list πŸ™‚ And, there’s no way I can pick a favorite meal out. I love going out too much!

  25. That salad sounds perfect. I love jicama in salads. It’s great dipped in guac too…but what isn’t?

    It tastes like a really watery, refreshing apple, I think.

    I thought that movie looked awful, thanks for being my guniea pig. Have you seen When in Rome? I watched it on the plane – kind of cutesy, but good for a light romantic comedy.

  26. Grilled shrimp salad?! yum! I love to eat out meals I don’t make at home, usually fish, like halibut or trout!!

    I wasn’t a Dear John fan either…. 😦 Liked the book!

  27. glad you liked the yoga! a good yoga sweat always feels really cleansing and cathartic in ways that a normal workout sweat doesn’t.

    we rented i love you man last weekend and i enjoyed. it was goofy boy humor which is right up my alley πŸ˜‰

  28. I love to get great mexican food when I eat out, especially tamales.

  29. oh i am so glad you tried and loved bikram…..still on my summer list of to dos! and how lucky to have 10 free passes-what a great friend πŸ™‚

  30. so glad that you got a good yoga sesh in! yay for that!

  31. dear john was ONLY good bc channing tatum IS SO SEXY!!!
    i LOVE going to dinner πŸ™‚

  32. I love going out for seafood. I don’t feel confident cooking it, so it’s nice to go to a great place and have some fresh fish prepared for me! I live in the Ocean State after all!

  33. I’m glad that you loved hot yoga! I am so excited because after reading your post about going to the class, I did some research and finally found a good hot yoga class to go to! It’s called 100 minutes in 100 degrees. So I’m excited about it. I’m a little nervous though because I don’t know what to expect, but I took 15 years of ballet training so hopefully that can help me out with all the poses that I have to do.

  34. I love eating dinner out. There are so many good options!

  35. So glad you loved your first yoga experience! It really is such a great workout and it totally helped me with my running when I was practicing 3 or more times a week in law school…which reminds me, I need to get back into that! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

