New Things Saturday

Happy Saturday! So far I have had a good morning. I am a little tired from the hockey game last night but it was so much fun! Keith and I originally had standing room only tickets but we had a friend who was there and he was friends with the owners! YES…the owners…so we got upgraded to the owner’s suite! It was NICE!!!! Texas, unfortunately, didn’t win (they lost 3-2) but it went to overtime so all in all it was an exciting game.

So back to THIS morning! I did 60 minutes on the elliptical (7 miles) followed by some core work! (I know some of you were concerned about the amount of time I was spending on the elliptical and so I checked with Dr. Jeff and he said I could go as long as 60 minutes..yay) I took just a quickie shower because I am trying something brand new today! YOGA! I am doing a 90 minute fire yoga class with my bestie, Hilary. Hilary has been begging me to do Yoga with her for months and I have been dragging my heals. Well now my PT has said I NEED to go to help loosen my hips and balance me out. So okay…message taken…I am going to Yoga! I hope I make it…90 minutes in a hot yoga class…I am afraid…very afraid! haha! πŸ™‚ Keith teased me and said I am going to pop my yoga cherry today! Um..boy! I will definitely be reporting back how this goes!

Do you remember your first Yoga class?

Then later tonight Keith and I are meeting up with Hilary (again) and her hubby for dinner at our favorite Mexican food restaurant, Gloria’s! The shrimp fajitas are amazing here…I can already taste them!!! YAY! So it should be a good day and I am really looking forward to Yoga and then dinner later tonight. I am getting a double dose of Hilary today and I couldn’t be happier! haha! She is a great influence on me and she grounds me when I start freaking out. So spending the day and night with her should help with all the nervous non-running energy I have!

What are you doing today?

28 Responses

  1. Omg, my first yoga class was ridiculous. I went with my friend Mike who was really into it at the time… and I was so awful! It definitely scared me away for a few years, but I’m slowly coming around!

  2. My first yoga class I was falling over because I had no balance! A year later, how different I feel! You will love it. And def try more than once, it gets easier and you feel the effects more as time goes on.

  3. My first yoga class was hot yoga which may have been a bad idea. I am not flexible whatsoever and the heat really got to me. I have certainly improved upon my yoga skills but still need to get better. Hope you have a great Saturday. My dad had knee surgery yesterday so I will be in a hospital visiting him all day…bummer.

  4. I have never been to a yoga class but I am liking doing it so much at home I’m thinking of going to a studio. Let us know how it goes!

  5. so glad you tried yoga! at first i hated it….now i love it. not sure of the difference. i still would like to try bikram though. that is on my summer to do list!
    just had a shake and gonna go ride!

  6. I can’t remember my first yoga class, but I am sure it was hysterical. I probably fell over all the time and giggled like a big dork. πŸ˜€

    I was planning on working outside in my garden and yard, but it is supposed to be cold, windy, and rainy. Looks like I’ll be inside watching movies and reading….perfect Saturday, in my opinion! Have fun with Hilary – my two fave girls; I wish I were there with you guys!

  7. I didn’t know you were from the Dallas area! I love Gloria’s too! We had one right by my house and we used to go there all the time when I was in high school!

    • I’m not! My husband is from Dallas and we LOVED Gloria’s in Dallas and they just recently explanded to Austin…we were thrilled!!

  8. Not gonna lie… my first yoga class, I was bored as #!@&. And my second, and third yoga class, I was bored as #!@&. It’s just not my thing…

  9. That’s good you can do up to 60 minutes, I know how much you are missing running, so at least you can get some form of cardio in! πŸ™‚

    Have fun at Yoga and I hope you ejoy it!

    Eat lots of mexican food for me! πŸ˜‰

  10. WOW that menu looks glorious!!!

    Good luck at yoga, don’t be afraid!

  11. My first yoga class was a lot of fun! I went with a few inexperienced friends and we spent the entire time giggling at our inability to do the moves. Even though I loved the class, I didn’t have enough money to keep going, so I bought a Denise Austin yoga dvd. She whipped me into shape in no time! Love her! haha

    Have a great time with your friends at dinner tonight! Fajitas are delicious!

  12. I have wanted to try hot yoga for a while but I haven’t found any classes around my area. Have fun and I can’t wait to hear how it goes! Oh and also enjoy those shrimp fajitas. Shrimp Quesadillas are absolute favorite at Mexican restaurants!

  13. I’ve never been to a yoga class. I’ve done lots of yoga dvds but I’m so uncoordinated, that I’ve always been too nervous to go to a class where people could actually see me.

  14. Let us know how it goes. Hockey games – or any sporting events for that matter – are fun. Hmm…they always seem to revolve around food for me…hot dogs and beer LOL. Today? More stress, more packing, more eating everyhing in the fridge so I don’t have to throw it out πŸ˜‰

  15. Have fun at yoga! I took my first yoga class in high school and I fell asleep during the breathing exercises!

  16. I was very nervous in my first Yoga class, but that moment passed after 25 minutes. It was relaxing and fun. I was worried that I would look a fool or ppl woul;d be watching…no clue why.

  17. I was really nervous in my first yoga class. I am not sure why though. ONce I got there and it started, all the nerves went away. I think I was more nervous of not knowing where to stand or if we needed any props or things like that than of the actual class.

  18. You will love yoga though give it three months. It’s kind of an acquired taste

  19. Umm, you can’t announce that you’re going to try Yoga and then never come back and talk about it. You know how I want to know if you liked it or not!!

  20. I had trouble enjoying my first yoga class, it is so hard for me to relax! I have heard really great things about hot yoga.

  21. I haven’t tried yoga before, really. I tried a DVD once and it was boring. However, I just got a new gym buddy who has been wanting to try it. Here goes!

    Today, I rode my dirt bike, made snickerdoodles and mowed my lawn and weeded for two hours. Not your traditional exercise, but whatev. πŸ™‚

  22. My first yoga class was Kundalini Kript Style… very interesting

  23. Can’t wait to hear how your class was!

  24. Hot yoga is so much fun—hope you enjoyed!

    My first class was lame, it was 7 yrs ago and not challenging at all. I was kinda put off by it but glad I went back recently. Which reminds me, I need to go to a class soon!

  25. I’m glad you liked it. Yoga is the perfect antedote for running

Leave a Reply

