Thursday…Finally?

Happy Thursday everyone! It is FINALLY Thursday! I swear this has been the slowest week ever!!! Today was a good crosstrain workout day for me. I headed to the gym and did 40 minutes on the spin bike, 15 minutes on the row machine and 30 minutes on the elliptical. I feel pretty good. Then I did some upper body arm work…nothing major. Just some bicep and tricep work. Gotta keep those guns looking good! πŸ˜‰

Dinner last night was SO good! I roasted butternut squash and had tilapia with green beans and onions. It was all delicious! Butternut squash is my favorite squash variety!

Loved this dinner!!!

Do you like squash? What is your favorite variety?

So the next thing I want to talk about it something I have seen come up a lot lately, both in the blogworld and in my real world! That is the idea of “bad foods.” I think summer time makes people think about food more because the clothing gets skimpier. We are no longer wearing jeans and sweaters but have moved into shorts and tank tops. This is when I hear more and more of my clients start associating certain foods with the label of “bad.” So here is what I want you to remember: There are no bad foods! Just bad choices! What I mean by that isΒ pizzaΒ (or insertΒ ANY food here) is not a bad food but eating it every night would be a bad choice! So there are no bad foods! One should not deprive themself of the indulgences that will pop up! But making wise choices allows you to have your cake and eat it too!

What is you opinion on the idea of labeling foods as “good or bad?”

50 Responses

  1. I NEVER label foods as good or bad. They aren’t good or bad! They are just food! Totally agree with your outlook!

  2. I dislike the labels “bad” and “good”….it doesn’t exist.

    Buterrnut squash is the best…but I honestly haven’t tried that many. Butternut is great in salads, snacks, spread on wraps and sandwiches too.

  3. I dislike using the terms “bad” or “good” when discussing food or eating at all. I have so many friends that call me to tell me how “bad” they were that day and they feel so guilty eating “bad” foods. Its a huge focus for them and takes the pleasure out of eating, even when what you’re eating is healthy. I think we need to stop judging ourselves and just aim for health & happiness.

    Oh… and I love all squash. Butternut & acorn are my two favorites πŸ™‚

  4. I don’t label foods good or bad. Well, except for onions. Those are very bad. πŸ™‚

    I think everything thing works in moderation. I need to be able to eat cake or else life might crumble. (I’m sure of it.) I don’t overdo it but I don’t label cake as some huge evil.

  5. I could go on all day on this topic bit I will keep in short. I believe all foods in moderation, I love burgers πŸ˜‰ it all depends on the good though… There are some things I just will not eat like non organic meat, HFCs, trans fat, ect… I am all about the pizza burgers and ice cream though πŸ˜‰

  6. First, butternut squash is amazing!

    Second, I love the statement “There are no bad foods. Just bad choices.” I completely agree. For me, sugar really does a number on my body, I end up feeling like crap, that doesn’t mean that cupcakes are going to kill me, but eating 4 of them would be a bad decision.

  7. I love butternut squash, but ever since I tried kabocha I am head over heels in LOVE!! πŸ™‚

    I definitely think labeling food as good or bad will only backfire. People will only want the “bad” food more but will feel guilty for eating it and it just creates a terrible cycle of restricting and binging. Everything in moderation!

  8. Totally tracking with you. Bad choices, no foods! Staying focused on trying to put nutrition in your body versus just mindlessly snacking helps me understand what my body wants, or what it thinks it wants.

    I love classic yellow squash…fried.haaa, well at least when my nanny makes it. Otherwise ovenbaked with other veggies is tasty.

  9. I agree – no foods are bad!!! As soon as I start thinking a food is bad or totally off-limits, I binge on it. THAT is bad!

  10. I love zuchinni… it’s my favorite! Especially when i get the chance to grill it!

    I really try to keep myself out of the good/bad food mentality. I more work on my “moderation” skills…

  11. I love squash so much! I really like acorn, but I haven’t tried a lot of different kinds yet. I like cooking up acorn and mashing it with cooked apple, raisins, and cinnamon – perfect dessert-y snack!

    I don’t label foods good or bad. I can see how it would be easy to do though with so much sketchy nutrition-related info flying around. I really like how you stated it that there are no bad foods, only bad choices, it sounds like a great mantra for those stuck in the “bad foods” mindset. And hey, even a bad choice every now and then won’t kill you (or completely ruin your healthy lifestyle, exercise plan, etc.)!

  12. I wish I liked squash, I really do, but I don’t. :S Except pumpkin, for some reason. But only purΓ©ed haha.

    My idea of bad foods is anything that is unnatural. I don’t think pizza made with all-natural ingredients is bad, or french fries just made with potatoes, non-hydrogenated grease and salt, and real butter certainly isn’t bad (a stick of it is but a tablespoon, nuh-uh). But I think it starts getting iffy when you can’t understand the ingredient list. Not knowing what you’re putting into your body is always bad, I think. Unless you eat poorly and someone’s sneaking flax into your muffins. πŸ˜‰

  13. LOVE Butternut…and acorn – but it’s really sweet – but I love eating the flesh of it actually πŸ˜‰

  14. I totally agree with you Kelly! I hate when people say they were bad and ate a cookie. That attitude is the problem, not the food. I’m all about eating whatever you want. Its important not to deprive yourself, deprivation will make you crazy!

  15. I totally agree with you. Sometimes I lose track of that and call certain foods “off limits.” But my recent trip to NY and my indulgences there proved that it’s OK to eat them every once in a while or in moderation! I ate amaaaaazing food, balanced it out with some healthier choices and came back feeling really good!

  16. I agree, this week WAS pretty slow crawlin’. I always say I can’t wait for the weekend because I’ll do this, and this… except “this and this” never gets done. I’m always so worn out! LOL

    • Oh I know that feeling well. I always have the big plans for the weekends and then once the weekend comes all I want to do is CHILL!

  17. I used to eat spaghetti squash with some salt and Molly McButter. Haven’t had it in a while though.

    I think that the whole “bad” concept is a very slippery slope. I got caught for a few years with deprivation and then bingeing. It really messed me up. My mom does the same thing, and is currently proud of herself for “being good”. That means that she’s eating oatmeal/blueberries for breakfast, a yogurt or two for lunch (with carrots), and then dinner. I’m not sure how comfortable I am with it. But I don’t know what to say.

  18. I love squash! I Iook forward to fall because it’s always so abundant – butternut, acorn, spaghetti…all yummy.

    A few years ago I had a whole list of “good foods” and “bad foods” – it was very skewed, and I was kind of miserable. Now I try to focus on moderation and have slowly started getting rid f the bad food/good food list. πŸ™‚

  19. Butternut squash is my fave. I go through a ton of it in the fall. P can’t stand it..which is okay by me. I don’t have to share! πŸ™‚

    I don’t like the whole bad foods thing. I’m a big believer in everything in moderation and if I want a slice of pizza..I”m going to have it.

    How’s your knee girlie?

    • The knee is hanging in there…still hurts but I am making HUGE progress with PT so I am thankful. I am learning to respect my injury. I know that sounds weird but I am trying to do the right things….trying! πŸ˜‰ Thanks for checking on me!

  20. I ike the distinction b/w bad foods and bad choices–so true. I never looked at it that way. I’m slowly learning to do away with those labels that we put on certain foods!

  21. I like the way you put it and I believe it’s true. I am quite skinny but I have quite a lot fat in my body, I don’t know what I should do? Is it more about finding right exercise or right diet, what do you think expert??

    • Weight training…definitely. The way to tone out and lose body fat is a combination of cardio and weights! Do you life weights?

      • Well…not that much…I am a bit like you, love all cardio but really have to force myself to touch the weights. I guess that’s why I haven’t got ride of the extra fat. Thanks honey!

      • I know…weight training is not my favorite either. But it is really important. I try to do it at least twice a week! Even little things…I mean if you are watching TV..grab some dumbells and do bicep curls and tricep extensions…you know? Every little bit helps…especially for weight lifting haters like us! haha!

  22. The package of cherry licorice I just ate may be “bad”! You are right, only bad choices. Pizza can be healthy πŸ™‚

  23. totally agree- there are just bad choices. And no bad choice is going to ruin a diet or make you gain 5 lbs.

  24. I TOTALLY agree with this- there aren’t bad foods, just bad food choices. I used to totally go by my list of “bad foods” as do-not-eat-these-ever for fear of ‘getting fat’ or something but the more deprivation, the more you just feel so unhappy and, honestly, indulging now and then is NOT the worst thing in the world. Just indulging ALL the time isn’t quite that healthy. πŸ˜‰

  25. I don’t do labels. I eat whatever I want when I want, but I DO keep nutrition in mind to ensure I get nutrients that make me feel good πŸ™‚

  26. Can I just say, I love you! You think just like I do and that makes me so happy! I could not agree more on the “bad” choices! EVERYTHING in moderation. We have been focusing on high fructose corn syrup around here lately. We make most things from scratch, but there are a few things that you get just for fun. My kids have been reading labels lately and they have been noticing HFCS and they know it is not good for you. They went to grandma’s house for a week and ate all things HFCS! The kids were worried about it and I told them that is was ok but that normally, you should moderate it. Educating kids is the way to go!!!

    • TOTALLY AGREE that educating our youth is the way to go! And I think it is cute that your kiddos were worried about too many HCF’s at their grandparents house! hehe! πŸ™‚ But good for you for explaining that even HCF’s are okay in moderation.

  27. I have to agree with you. Sometimes a girl just needs a Dairy Queen Blizzard!

  28. I love, love, love me some butternut squash!! It’s my fav too! My second fav is yellow squash, however I haven’t met a squash I didn’t like yet! And I totally agree with you on your outlook on food. No food is bad…well, unless you decide to eat a triple whopper with bacon and cheese…there are only bad choices. There are items on that burger that aren’t bad in moderation. But, moderation is key!

  29. lurve squash. butternut is probabaly my fave. i made a vanilla bean and butternut squash risotto this fall and it was pure heaven!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  30. i’ve had to work really hard to stop labeling foods that way…i feel like in my life with my background it was really leading to guilt with eating anything not labeled “good”. I really hate it when i hear that people are using good and bad to label foods now…they don’t know it, but they’re triggering people with eating issues every time they say it!

    just my 2 cents πŸ™‚

  31. I love squash! my fav is just yellow squash.

    I don’t label foods good or bad. I do however think of them in terms of how they make me feel and the reaction my body has to them. That serves me pretty well, but I don’t do the whole feeling guilty because of food. That’s just silly.

  32. Totally agree on the “bad foods” thing…I was kidding when I mentioned having a carb-fest on my blog. Sorry, my sarcasm gets the better of me sometimes!

    I love squash, especially butternut. I think it is fabulous roasted with some EVOO.

  33. I think sometimes I’ll label things as bad but usually in the sense that “I feel like eating bad food today” haha like yummy junk food.

  34. I used to hate squash but now I LOVE it. Spaghetti squash instead of pasta is a great thing,too!

  35. Yes, you are totally right. No bad foods! Even food that are labeled “bad” like chocolate, have some healthy qualities to them.

  36. i think bad is anything unnatural but then i think “good or bad” deals with an individual’s decision as how it fits with their lifestyle. Dairy is also bad, but for me, not necessarily for others. And squash—spaghetti squash hands down. Though I eat zucchini almost daily.

  37. My favorite squash is spaghetti squash, although I pretty much love all squash. I have a great recipe with tomatoes, kalmata olives and feta for spaghetti squash.

    I agree with you “no bad food” statement and I also disagree. I believe you should be able to enjoy all food in moderation, but there are definitely so foods that are straight up bad for you. Like cheese fries smoothered in bacon and ranch – there really not a lot of nutrients in the fat ladden food. Doen’t mean I won’t eat it every now and then, but definitely wouldn’t consider it a “good for you” food.

  38. I think all food need not be good or bad, so long as they are taken in moderate and sensible portions. I don’t care if HFCS is “bad”….it’s not like I eat it everyday, so the once in a blue moon soda is okay!

    I LOVE kabocha squash!! The best ever!

  39. I eat squash every day, no joke. Some kind of winter squash and either zucchini or yellow squash. Luckily they are inexpensive, but I can’t wait for them all to start fruiting in my garden!!!

    I don’t think of any foods as bad, unless we’re talking taste. I love my sweets, and won’t be giving them up!

  40. I would say that 95% of the time, you’re right – there are no bad foods, just bad choices. I do think that there are some foods that no one should eat any time…and my brain is fried and I can’t think of what they are this second. LOL

Leave a Reply

