Wednesday Blues

Hey guys! I am not gonna lie to you…being that Wednesday is not my favorite day and being that I am injured and not running: today = not the best day! But I am trying. I swam again today…2 miles followed by 15 minutes in the steam room. I am home and sweaty! I actually think I may have swam a tad over 2 miles because I always seem to lose count. Does anyone have any tips for that? But I felt strong today and really focused on kicking. What a difference! So…I am working a half smile…that’s good right?! πŸ˜‰

Do you ever have those grocery shopping moments when you swear you are out of something but then realize you aren’t? Case in point IΒ think the last 10 times I went to the grocery store I bought ground chicken. I kept thinking we were out…now we have about 10 tubes of this stuff sitting inΒ our freezer!

Hello Chicken!

So what to do? Well while shopping yesterday (No I did NOT buy more chicken) I found a gluten-free dry bean chili mix and I thought…okay this would be good AND easy!

Gluten-free, 100% all natural, just add water....SIGN ME UP!

So how easy? Just add water and bring the chili mix to a boil and then simmer for 20 minutes. In the meantime I browned the ground chicken:

A 2 pot dinner...this just keeps getting better and better!

The chili mixture gets really thick and then after draining the browned chicken I mixed it together:

Add the chicken into the thickened mixture

And then…I ATE IT! It was really good. Albeit chili in 110 degree weather may not have been the most appealing summertime meal but whatever! πŸ™‚ It was good and now I only haveΒ 8 packs of chicken left to use! haha!

And EAT!!! It was so good!!!

Do yo ever buy things over and over that you forget you have?

48 Responses

  1. I have never seen ground chicken come like that! I always forget about things in the freezer – always!

  2. I always forget what I am supposed to buy and always come home forgetting something important..hehe.
    I send a lot of smiles your way, hope your Wednesday passes by smoothly!

  3. I always end up buying milk when I’m not sure if I have any–and then end up with two.

    The chili looks good, though I’ve never seen ground chicken in a tube like that. So strange!

  4. Wednesday will be over before you know it! Hang in there πŸ™‚ And congrats on a 2 mile swim! Youre going to give Michael Phelps a SWIM for his money.

  5. I buy a big container of Greek yogurt every week. Most weeks I have no trouble going through it, but every now and then I end up with a backlog. Last week I was putting away the new container and saw that the last one wasn’t even opened! Oops! It’s only an issue because it’s a perishable item!

    p.s. I am very impressed with your swimming…it’s a killer workout!

  6. Sometimes I get the weirdest cravings for “winter foods” in the summer months. I think it’s a comfort thing. And don’t be surprised if I also mix up a batch of it in the next month or two. I have an excessive amount of ground beef that I should probably get to work on…

  7. Sorry you are injured…boy I missed quite a bit! That is horrible! Glad you got a good swim in though! The chili sounds yummy! I buy apples every time I go to the store, but I eat those so fast…you can’t really forget about those. I hope you heal quickly! We will get through Wednesday…

  8. You did swim TWO MILES?!!??! That’s something that you can top. Be proud:)

    It’s humpday…almost to the weekend!!

  9. I ALWAYS forget I have stuff– probably why my pantry is exploding yet I say I have nothing to eat…. πŸ˜‰

  10. That’s funny, but the chili looks great! I don’t buy ground chicken ever, but maybe I should! I buy tomato/marinara sauce all the time! I just have 10 jars, barely ever use it. I have a grocery shopping addiction though. I have enough food in my 2 refrigerators and pantry to feed a household of 6. I live alone!

  11. No – I’m a constant forgetter at the store and do the opposite – forget to buy stuff we need. I ALWAYS have to have a list with me now. I swear, something is wrong with my short-term memory.

  12. I have a cupboard full of stuff I thought I was out of! Its usually little things like peanut butter, cinnamon, I have like 4 things of sea salt. Its crazy!

    That chili looks great! For some reason I was in the mood for winter food last night too. I made a giant pot of soup and thought I might die of heat stroke by the time I finished!

  13. A friend of mine would swim with a bracelet with these little counter beads on it when she was training for her half ironman to keep track of her laps!

  14. I love hot soup in the summer, I can eat it anytime!

  15. Omg I know the feeling about buying things you have, I currently have three bottles of garlic powder, haha.

    And if it makes u feel better I’m REALLY jealous you get to swim!! I wish I had a lap pool at my gym! And I know you’ll be better soon πŸ™‚

  16. Looks like some delicious chili!
    I bet it would taste fantastic with some hearty oat loaf! (I saw you commented over on Holly’s blog!) πŸ˜‰

  17. i typically know what i have and try to eat that…i LOVE ground chicken though! it’s definitely my favorite ground meat…so much great flavah! πŸ™‚

  18. Ooh yummy chili mix! Store? please πŸ™‚

    I always buy chicken breast. I have 3 or 4 packs in the freezer right now.

  19. I always think that I’m lower on milk and veggie burgers than I actually am πŸ™‚

    Hope your Wednesday is a good one, even though it’s your least favorite day!!

  20. This made me laugh, because I TOTALLY do that all of the time- especially with eggs & milk. One time I swear we had like 3 cartons of milk in the fridge πŸ˜€

  21. Awesome swim. A 2 mile swim is very impressive! I smiled for you!! You should be totally pumped lady.

  22. happens to me all the time! I make grocery lists but still forget sometimes lol

  23. I’m like that with mayo and ketchup. I always end up with like a million bottles of each.

  24. I’ve never seen that brand of organic chicken but I’d love to try it! Is it expensive?

    But yeahh I do that a lot with staples. Especially canned foods like beans and tomatoes. I stock up maybe 1-2 times a month because I figure you never know when you’re gonna need a can of beans or tomato paste, right? πŸ˜› Especially for things like impromptu chili!

    I’d DIE if I ate chili right now though. I get my fair share of southern heat but I know it’s nothing like Texas so I can only conclude that you’re a bit off your rocker. πŸ˜‰

  25. cheer up, lil pup, weekend is close! πŸ™‚ sorry you are blue, I was out of sorts yesterday.

    I always think I’m out of almond milk (a fear of being out???) and luckily I buy the kind that isn’t refrigerated until opening so I have um, A Pantry Full ! πŸ™‚

    there’s all kinds of things in my freezer I forget about. I wish there was a better way to design a fridge, freezer?

    • YES! I am always buying Almond milk too! But my husband goes through that stuff like crazy! He makes a power protein shake everday and he uses about 10 oz of milk each time…so he can easily go through one carton in 2 days!

  26. you can get through this day! i know it is one of your tough ones……so sorry about the running-be patient it will get better πŸ™‚

  27. God, I am so bad for that…milk for sure – I’m always paranoid I’m out …and jars of jam…jars and jars of jam…and a cupboard of chocolate – but that’s not because I “forget” i have it πŸ˜‰ – yeah, there’s a stash…

  28. Oh and WTG on the miles!

  29. Aww hang in there, I know you’re bummed about not being able to run – it’ll be over soon enough!!

  30. It is like my pet peeve when my dad buys things we already have or opens something that we already have open or does not use leftovers and just makes a new batch. AH! so I guess I’m odc/type-a personality and always know what’s in the kitchen haha
    Katherine

  31. I live with 3 other roommates so we only have one cabinet and one fridge shelf each! Therefore I CANNOT overbuy. My cabinet is already exploding as it is!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  32. I always end up buying boxes of Kashi Go Lean. I eat it every day…but I have a huge back up supply in my pantry. I’m glad I found your blog!

  33. i always forget about some things in my freezer! the other day I found a whole bag of vita tops!! i had no idea I had them in there SWEET! (not that I love them) but I love finding things in my fridge freezer or cuppord!

    never seen chicken in a bag like that! it reminds me of polenta πŸ™‚

  34. The husband buys ketchup over and over and over again! Maybe he has some kind of premonition of a shortage of tomatoes????

  35. That chili does look good! I don’t necessarily buy things over and over, forgetting I have them–but I DO buy “extras, just in case.” LOL

  36. I am always buying baking ingredients over and over again (baking soda, flour, vanilla extract, etc)!

    Your chili looks wonderful – today is a very gloomy day in nyc – I think I need something warm and comforting!

  37. We currently have 3 jars of peanut butter and about 4 jars of BBQ sauce…go figure…

  38. Chili is great anytime! I was just thinking that I should get some ground chicken or turkey. I’ll have to consult the Kelly cookbook for some inspiration!

  39. I have a million boxes of whole wheat pasta and a million bottles of lemon juice.

Leave a Reply

