Wednesday Words

Happy Wednesday everyone! So the week is half over…excellent! My monster workout is over. I tried something new today (so unlike me!! haha) and I did a 30 minutes on the elliptical and then swam 1.5 miles. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot but believe me I was tired after it was all over. Is 1.5 miles a lot in a pool…truthfully I have no idea? I like swimming and I have always been a good swimmer so I thought I would spice it up today and try it out. I feel like I used some new and different muscles and that is always a good thing! Aside from my attractive goggle lines and my fabulous purple swim cap…I am a little hottie! I definitely kid!

Now I am drinking coffee and remembering the delicious dinner I made last night. I definitely don’t wish that was over! I got creative again and put a new spin on meatloaf! I like to make meatloaf because I think it is fun to experiment with different flavors. In case you missed my previous meatloaf creations they are:

And now I give you: Mustard Apple Meatloaf!

MUSTARD APPLE MEATLOAF

  • 2 pounds lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I actually used steel cut oats as  my binder)
  • 1 envelope dry onion soup mix
  • 2 Tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • Turkey bacon, optional

Mix all ingredients together. (If using bacon…layer the peices over the top of the meatloaf and secure with toothpicks)Bake in a loaf pan at 375 degrees for 60-75 minutes, or until meat is no longer pink in the center. Dig in!

Do you like meatloaf? Do you have a creative recipe for me to try?

I end on a fun note! A few days ago on Nancy’s blog she had a fun little survey posted. I thought why not add it on my blog too! Please feel free to fill in your own answers in the comments. I think it would be fun read and learn more about you all!

Rules: you can only use ONE WORD to answer the questions!! Have fun!

Where’s your cell phone: charging
Your hair: ponytail
Your mother: pretty
Your father: dependable
Favorite food: fish
Dream last night: highschool
Favorite drink: coffee
What room are you in: living
Hobby: running
Fear: crippled
Where were you last night: home
Something that you aren’t: confident
Muffins: lemon
Wish list item: lululemon
Where did you grow up: Austin
What are you wearing: shorts
Your pets: old
Friends: awesome
Something you’re not wearing: shoes
Favorite store: Gap
Favorite color: red
Last time you laughed: today
Your best friend: Hilary
Best place you go to over and over: beach
Person who emails you regularly: mom
Favorite place to eat: Gloria’s

Your Turn!

50 Responses

  1. Bacon! Yes, yes, yes. 🙂 I think I’ve mentioned that I have only tried meatloaf once before and it was terrible. So I must try one of your recipes. My husband has been dying for some.

  2. Swimming is no joke! It looks so easy but it’s a great workout.

    I like the meatloaf recipe from the Eating for Life cookbook. It’s pretty standard but you add a pkt of Knorr’s seasoning…mmm….

  3. Swimming is really hard! 1.5 miles sounds like a lot to me!!

    Have a great Wednesday, Kelly!

  4. 1.5 miles is a LOT! Nice work!!

  5. I kind of miss having access to a lap pool! I am no swimmer, but it was a fun way to work it out a little from time to time…

  6. You go girl!! So glad that you went outside of your usual workout and went swimming. 😀

    • Thanks A! You know how routine I am…so I was proud of myself for actually stepping out of my exercise box. It was fun! Although I think it is funny that today is National Running Day and I didn’t run! haha…what are the odds?

  7. OK I’ll go first:

    Where’s your cell phone: here
    Your hair: ugh
    Your mother: caring
    Your father: dependable
    Favorite food: dessert
    Dream last night: zilch
    Favorite drink: tea
    What room are you in: office
    Hobby: reading
    Fear: cockroaches
    Where were you last night: home
    Something that you aren’t: trusting
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: house
    Where did you grow up: Mass.
    What are you wearing: scarf
    Your pets: none
    Friends: supportive
    Something you’re not wearing: hat
    Favorite store: JCrew
    Favorite color: black
    Last time you laughed: yesterday
    Your best friend: husband
    Best place you go to over and over: beach
    Person who emails you regularly: sister
    Favorite place to eat: rustico

  8. 1.5 miles sounds like a lot to me!!! Good job.

    Your pets: crazy
    Something you’re not wearing: earrings
    Favorite store: The Limited

  9. Swimming is such a fun switcheroo. I love meatloaf, but I don’t have any fun recipes. I usually just throw a bunch of ingredients together and it always turns out great. I love your idea of pineapple meatloaf!

  10. Oh, that meatloaf sounds great Kelly! My husband would be sold on it because of the bacon. The combination of the apple sauce and the saltier flavors must be really good!!

  11. Ok, gotta try Glorias. You said it was good but to be the answer to favorite skyrockets it to the top of the try list. And your my bestie, too 🙂

  12. And I’m stealing this for my blog 🙂

  13. Kelly – you’re seriously Ironman ready. You should look into doing a triathlon at least. I bet you’d kick some serious butt.

  14. Heyy!! I totally have a purple Speedo swim cap and goggle lines after i swim too!!! No kidding. 🙂 I think those goggle lines (and sometimes the swim cap line) makes me proud…it’s the only remaining souvenir of a lovely long swim right? hehe

    Thats a gorgeous meatloaf!!!

  15. That meatloaf sounds fantastic. I’ve only ever tried meatloaf once in my life. I should be a good girlfriend and make some over the weekend.

  16. I just found out it was national running day today too, but today was supposed to be a cross training day… I think if I celebrate it one day late running won’t mind too much! 🙂

  17. Love your list! I always forget about meatloaf – it seems like such the dinner my mom would make. But your recipes sounds so different and delish I might need to give one a try. Hubby despises pineapple so that one is out (and it’s the one I wanted to try the most!). Thanks for sharing.

  18. Woo 1.5 miles in the pool is awesome! Nice work.

  19. i love learning more about bloggers…ill have to do this for a post later 🙂 as for meatloaves, i always manage to ruin the recipe even though it would probably be the easiest thing to make, i can still ruin it. story of my life.

  20. Horray for 1.5 miles in the pool! I tend to get stuck in a workout rut too…But when I do mix it up, I always feel so good!

    Your meatloaf recipes sound yummy!

  21. YOU aren’t confident?! Seriously shocking—you should be, girl! Ok, here I go:

    Where’s your cell phone: bathroom
    Your hair: knot
    Your mother: selfless
    Your father: loving
    Favorite food: ice cream (two words, oops!)
    Dream last night: ring!
    Favorite drink: coffee
    What room are you in: living
    Hobby: yoga
    Fear: death
    Where were you last night: bf’s
    Something that you aren’t: adventurous
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: wedges
    Where did you grow up: Kentucky
    What are you wearing: PJs!
    Your pets: Trippy
    Friends: awesome
    Something you’re not wearing: bra
    Favorite store: Zara
    Favorite color: purple
    Last time you laughed: yesterday
    Your best friend: Courtenay
    Best place you go to over and over: home
    Person who emails you regularly: sister
    Favorite place to eat: Supper

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

    • I am totally jealous that you can get your hair into one of those cute knots! And thanks for the words about confidence. I struggle with it BIG TIME! Ask my husband I have the confidence of a gnat! I am working on it….

      • Haha, I didn’t say ANYTHING about it being a CUTE knot. Greasy is more like it! I’m always waaaay jealous of girls who can just throw their hair up in a messy, yet perfect knot!

  22. Where’s your cell phone: desk
    Your hair: out
    Your mother: generous
    Your father: in-heaven
    Favorite food: pizza
    Dream last night: dunno
    Favorite drink: water
    What room are you in: office
    Hobby: grump (LOL! I thought that said “Hubby”)
    Fear: squashed
    Where were you last night: home
    Something that you aren’t: argumentative
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: garmin
    Where did you grow up: jersey
    What are you wearing: pants
    Your pets: smokey
    Friends: busy
    Something you’re not wearing: helmet
    Favorite store: jcpenny
    Favorite color: blue
    Last time you laughed: today
    Your best friend: God
    Best place you go to over and over: refrigerator
    Person who emails you regularly: erin
    Favorite place to eat: steakhouse

  23. Hooray for swimming! I need to get back in the pool soon! I love meatloaf, such a comfort food for me.

  24. Hey beautiful! Love meatloaf, but T is not a fan so I never make it. 😦 Boo. 1.5 miles in a pool is a lot, good job!! Makes your body feel nice and tired…languid, that’s the word.

  25. Where’s your cell phone: desk
    Your hair: up
    Your mother: beautiful
    Your father: strong
    Favorite food: pizza
    Dream last night: yoga
    Favorite drink: water
    What room are you in: office
    Hobby: food
    Fear: drown
    Where were you last night: friend’s
    Something that you aren’t: stick-thin (sorry, I know that’s 2 words)
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: Vitamix
    Where did you grow up: Texas
    What are you wearing: jeans
    Your pets: awesome
    Friends: hilarious
    Something you’re not wearing: socks
    Favorite store: GAP
    Favorite color: green
    Last time you laughed: this morning
    Your best friend: God
    Best place you go to over and over: kitchen
    Person who emails you regularly: Nate
    Favorite place to eat: Italian

  26. I love meatloaf!! And I love quizzies 🙂 So happy 🙂

    Where’s your cell phone: on the table
    Your hair: open (bad hairday, very bad)
    Your mother: enthusiastic
    Your father: photographer
    Favorite food: guacamole
    Dream last night: old friend
    Favorite drink: champagne
    What room are you in: kitchen
    Hobby: dancing
    Fear: sickness
    Where were you last night: in my bed
    Something that you aren’t: rich
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: travel abroad
    Where did you grow up: in a small town
    What are you wearing: pants
    Your pets: 😦 gone, new one hopefully soon
    Friends: true
    Something you’re not wearing: bra
    Favorite store: benetton
    Favorite color: yellow
    Last time you laughed: just an hour ago when I noticed I had made a funny misstake
    Your best friend: Mu hubs
    Best place you go to over and over: sauna
    Person who emails you regularly: paulina
    Favorite place to eat: Demo

  27. I’m so glad you commented on my blog, so that I could find yours! 🙂

    Where’s your cell phone: bedroom
    Your hair: messy
    Your mother: short
    Your father: tall
    Favorite food: pizza
    Dream last night: aerobics
    Favorite drink: water
    What room are you in: office
    Hobby: shopping
    Fear: people-(weird people)
    Where were you last night: home
    Something that you aren’t: brunette
    Muffins: chocolate
    Wish list item: garmin
    Where did you grow up: Florida
    What are you wearing: robe
    Your pets: awesome
    Friends: great
    Something you’re not wearing: shirt-haha
    Favorite store: Forever (21)
    Favorite color: all
    Last time you laughed: today
    Your best friend: Cori (husband)
    Best place you go to over and over: church
    Person who emails you regularly: no one
    Favorite place to eat: Sonic

  28. I’m supposed to be working right now, otherwise I’d fill all of these in, but I’ll just go with the last one: Favorite place to eat – My mom’s house!

  29. LOVE that meatloaf recipe!!! so easy to make! O think I would do without the bacon since I hate it BUT the rest sounds amazing!!!

  30. oh i love meatloaf variations but my hubs does not sadly……i think he may if i put bacon on top-good idea! and yes that is a tough workout!

  31. you are the meatloaf queen!

  32. Where’s your cell phone: purse
    Your hair: wavy
    Your mother: dependable
    Your father: frustrating
    Favorite food: mexican
    Dream last night: babies
    Favorite drink: water
    What room are you in: office
    Hobby: reading
    Fear: crippled
    Where were you last night: home
    Something that you aren’t: loud
    Muffins: blueberrry
    Wish list item: camera
    Where did you grow up: Oklahoma
    What are you wearing: dress
    Your pets: two
    Friends: awesome
    Something you’re not wearing: necklace

  33. Damn, I think 1.5 miles in the pools is very long!! You are quite the athlete!! 🙂

  34. Where’s your cell phone: purse
    Your hair: ponytail
    Your mother: librarian
    Your father: geologist
    Favorite food: chocolate
    Dream last night: none
    Favorite drink: coffee
    What room are you in: kitchen
    Hobby: gardening
    Fear: homeless
    Where were you last night: PTA
    Something that you aren’t: neat
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: hammock
    Where did you grow up: Midland
    What are you wearing: capris
    Your pets: dog
    Friends: wonderul
    Something you’re not wearing: mascara
    Favorite store: nursery
    Favorite color: periwinkle
    Last time you laughed: today
    Your best friend: Chesney
    Best place you go to over and over: beach
    Person who emails you regularly: Melissa
    Favorite place to eat: Oasis

  35. Fun game! I’ll play!

    Where’s your cell phone: nightstand
    Your hair: big
    Your mother: selfless
    Your father: comical
    Favorite food: fruit
    Dream last night: ?
    Favorite drink: water
    What room are you in: bedroom
    Hobby: running
    Fear: childless
    Where were you last night: home
    Something that you aren’t: spontaneous
    Muffins: corn
    Wish list item: iphone
    Where did you grow up: Rhody
    What are you wearing: pajamas
    Your pets: hysterical
    Friends: loyal
    Something you’re not wearing: shoes
    Favorite store: Gap
    Favorite color: blue
    Last time you laughed: today
    Your best friend: Meaghan
    Best place you go to over and over: beach
    Person who emails you regularly: cousin
    Favorite place to eat: Joe’s

  36. Hi! Just love your blog! Your recipes are always healthy and easy:

    Where’s your cell phone: Charging
    Your hair:Straight
    Your mother: Generous
    Your father: ???
    Favorite food: Everything!
    Dream last night: Forgotten
    Favorite drink: Monster
    What room are you in: Sales
    Hobby: Working Out
    Fear: Death
    Where were you last night: Park
    Something that you aren’t: Confident
    Muffins: Blueberry
    Wish list item: Louis Purse
    Where did you grow up: Houston
    What are you wearing: Jeans
    Your pets: None
    Friends: Giving
    Something you’re not wearing: Watch
    Favorite store: Target
    Favorite color: Purple
    Last time you laughed: Recently
    Your best friend: Sister
    Best place you go to over and over: Sleep
    Person who emails you regularly: Lizet
    Favorite place to eat: Las Haciendas

  37. 1.5 miles? You are totally a badass!!!! Does your gym have a pool? Lucky girl!!

  38. Where’s your cell phone: next to me
    Your hair: highlighted
    Your mother: young
    Your father: nothing
    Favorite food: ice cream
    Dream last night: don’t remember
    Favorite drink: coffee
    What room are you in: kitchen
    Hobby: fitness
    Fear: nothing
    Where were you last night: home
    Something that you aren’t: mean
    Muffins: blueberry
    Wish list item: bigger
    Where did you grow up: Millville
    What are you wearing: shorts
    Your pets: old
    Friends: lots
    Something you’re not wearing: earrings
    Favorite store: Loft
    Favorite color: red
    Last time you laughed: today
    Your best friend: Kristie
    Best place you go to over and over: beach
    Person who emails you regularly: MOPS
    Favorite place to eat: Mexican

Leave a Reply

