Tuesday Happiness!

Happy Tuesday everyone! I hope everyone is having a great day so far! I definitely am! I have finished my workout:  10 miles at 8:05/pace. Feeling Good!!

Feeling happy and craving my coffee…I am so predictable. But not so predictable because I made a new recipe for dinner last night. And it was really good!

CHICKEN AND APRICOTS

  • 8 chicken pieces (I did a mixture of thighs and breasts)
  • 1 jar apricots in light syrup
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 package onion soup mix or mushroom soup mix

Place the chicken in a casserole dish. Sprinkle the soup mix and then the onion over the chicken. Pour the apricots with the juice over chicken and onions. Cover with tin foil and roast at 350 for about 45 minutes or until cooked through. Serve with  brown rice.

YUM! YUM! It was a perfect summer chicken dish! Keith and I both agreed that it would be a re-make! I always like making my husband happy with yummy food! 🙂

Do you like adding fruit to your proteins in the summer? It seems like such a summery thing to do! I love it!

Okay I have a GREAT product find to share: Fruition Probars! These may not be new to you but I have just recently tried them and I am totally 100% in love! This is a fruit-based, superfood snack bar designed to be satisfying on-the-go without the extra fat and calories. According to their website, ” fruition is the marriage of dates, oats, chia seeds and cashews in 4 mouth-watering real fruit flavors. (Blueberry, Strawberry, Peach and Cran-Raspberry) With superb fruit flavors, robust texture and blend of organic ingredients, fruition is Simply Real.”

  • Two servings of fruit in every bar
  • Snack Size: 160 calories per bar
  • 4 grams of fiber, 2 grams of fat
  • Certified Organic by QAI
  • Dense with antioxidants and Omegas from Chia Seeds

My new favorite bar!! YUM!

YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY THESE!!!

I am always on the lookout for new products…tell me your latest finds!!!

I also have a guest post up over on Katie’s blog…she is off traveling London! (Oh to be her…haha!) Go check me out here!

40 Responses

  1. I love fruit with chicken! It is delicious.

  2. I love fruit with chicken. I make a chicken that’s stuffed with sliced apricots and goat cheese. So good!

  3. I have seen these little suckers around, but havent tried them before, you may have just talked me into it 🙂

    Also growing up one of my favorite dishes my mama made was apricot chicken, it’s SUCH a delicious combo!!

  4. Thanks for sharing the review. I’ve not seen those bars yet.

  5. I’ve been seeing a lot about Fruition bars in blogland lately…I’ll have to give them a try!

    Have a great Tuesday, Kelly!

  6. I love adding fruit to poultry! Your recipe looks delicious!!

  7. I love fruit salsa with fish…and this looks like a delicoius combo too!

    Happy Tuesday!

  8. How do you come up with these new recipes? Do you see them from somewhere?! Love dried apricots.
    Fruit goes great with anything! Pineapples, salsas (! my fave)…with cheese like Tracey said 🙂

    • I see recipes around and then always just add my own spin on them. Like this one I found minus the onion soup mix and I saw it in my pantry and thought that it would probably compliment the dish nicely so I threw it in there!

  9. YUM! That recipe looks so good! I love adding fruits to my proteins in the summer – blueberry salsa, watermelon salsa, grilled peaches, pork & apples…they’re all so good! 🙂

  10. I have never heard of fruition before. It looks great. Thanks for the review! Great run today. I need to go to the gym like 3 times today after all the eating I did this weekend! Hope you had a great holiday!

  11. Omg, this chicken and apricot recipe sounds wonderful!! So creative!! I really need to try this out for Andrew and me sometime soon! Seems simple enough that I wouldn’t be able to mess it up, haha!! Thanks for sharing!! 🙂

  12. That chicken and apricot dish looks so simple and delicious! I love the savory onions with the sweetness of the fruit! Must make!!

  13. That chicken sounds great! I love adding fruit to almost everything in the summer.

  14. I’m a fan of fruit with protein but the husband is not so much. Neither is my brother. He used to say “no sweet with my meat” Haha! Jensen does like the bbq shrimp tacos I make that are topped with a mango slaw. We are having that tonight and it is very summery.

  15. great idea with that chicken! i love apricot chicken!!! and yes fruit to chicken–heaven!!

  16. Oooh I’m going to have to try that!! I’m looking for good chicken recipes, since my “recipes” involve plain chicken dipped in ketchup. 😀 Hey.. that’s what you get when you haven’t eaten meat in 8 years!! Thanks for the idea!

  17. The chicken and apricots dish sounds very different and delish – I wish my husband liked apricots! He doesn’t seem to like very many fruits, which makes it hard for me to incorporate them into dinner dishes. I tried to sneak a hintk of pineapple in a stir-fry once and he knew immediately and pushed it far away.

  18. I have never tried Fruition bars but I LOVE the sound of them!! Where did you find them?? I’ll have to be on the look-out.

  19. i think i may have tried fruits with my protein once and failed, so yeah never repeated that….my newest find is an 18 rabbits granola…havent tried it yet but I have it waiting in my kitchen!

  20. I’m not generally a bar fan, but those Fruition bars look pretty darn tasty!

  21. I’m not an apritcot fan, but I love adding grilled peaches to chicken. YUM!

  22. apricot chicken sounds amazing…i love how all of your recipes are with things that are easy to find or that i already have on hand! YUM 🙂

  23. what a fabulous idea! Sounds absolutely delish!

    xo

  24. I am weird and don’t like sweet stuff mixed with non-sweet stuff.

  25. yum those bars look great! i will be on the lookout for them. glad you had a great run-i think you were fueled by your great meal last night-love the chicken combo with apricots!

  26. i love you & a good simple recipe – thanks for posting this! it’s on my “to make” list!

  27. I love fruit in everything! Yum!

  28. I had bought pineapple to make chicken kabobs and completely forgot until now, need to get on that!

  29. always such a good workout for you! good work kelly. i know fruit and pork is good, never had chicken with fruit. sounds good!

  30. I saw a Rachel Ray recipe similar to this…chicken and apricots sounds like such a yummy combo!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  31. Happy tuesday Kelly! I finally got that photo up from my surprise bday party! I think you’ll enjoy it lol! I LOVE summer dishes like this apricot one! Thanks for sharing!

  32. Ohh sounds yummy! I actually switched out jelly for apricot jam on my PB sandwich this weekend at the beach and I loved it. Little changes are good every now and then 🙂

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  33. […] Chicken and Apricots- Healthy Living with Kelly […]

  34. i have a bunch of these bars — i still need to eat them!!

Leave a Reply

