Mighty Milers

Have you ever heard of a program called Mighty Milers? New York Roadrunners (NYRR) provides incentives and instruction to make Mighty Milers easy to integrate into daily school life. Kids of all fitness levels and abilities learn to walk or run a half-mile, two to five times a week. Students set goals and the online database makes it easy to record and tally the total distance each student accumulates. When students reach milestones, they earn incentives provided by our programs. But this isn’t just for kids in New York! Schools across the country can participate in this awesome program too!

Teachers, principals, and administrators can complete a short online application and learn immediately if they qualify for a free Mighty Milers program. Schools that don’t qualify for the free program can still apply, but would be required to pay a fee if they were accepted. All schools that are accepted will receive everything they need to implement a program, including access to the Mighty Milers online database. So if you are a teacher sign your school up here or if you aren’t affiliated with a school maybe you know someone who is! Let’s see if we can spread the word to get kids RUNNING!

This is just one more way to help fight Childhood Obesity and bring back the fun of being outdoors! This also helps kids to set goals and then feeling the joy of completing their “mighty miles!” We had something similar to this when I was a kid I loved writing down on a chart the miles I ran. We got gold stars after every mile we completed! It was so much fun and so rewarding!

Question: Did you have any health programs at your school as a kid?

Challenge: Send this application link to as many people you know in the education world. I know school is almost out but this could be a GREAT thing to start once the school year starts up again in the fall! The more schools that have programs like this the better! And the more underprivileged schools can qualify for FREE!

 

23 Responses

  1. Very cool! We had PE and that’s about it.

  2. This program sounds amazing!! I’ve never heard of it before, but I support it 100%! I love that it gets kids outside and running for fun. Especially since so many schools are cutting back on PE because of budget problems. I think the more programs there are like this, the better!

    And, no…we definitely didn’t have anything like this when I was a kid. Just gym class.

  3. oh i love this! thanks for the heads up!

  4. I’ve never heard of Mighty Milers but it sounds amazing. We need more programs like this! To my knowledge my school didn’t have anything of this nature, although I did participate in Girls on the Run 🙂

  5. I know I’m not alone in this but I was an awkward kid and teen. I never felt comfortable in my body. I *thought* I was fat my whole childhood. Of course, looking at pictures now I think “What was I thinking? I was NEVER a fat kid!” As a result, I hated gym, PE, recess…all of those things were torture.

  6. I’m so looking into this right now! This looks awesome and I would love to try this at my school. Thanks Kelly!

    • Awesome Nicole! Thanks for the support! I can always count on you to share my passion for helping kids win the battle over childhood obesity! Love it girl! 🙂

  7. This is awesome! I Think my cross country team uses a program very similar to this!

    And we had presidential fitness awards and stuff in gym class which were always pretty cool 🙂

  8. What a great program! I can’t remember any in MY schools growing up but in grad school we interned at several – STARS and WeCan! were 2 huge ones in Chicago.

  9. You always have interesting posts I’d never hear about! Definitely no special programs as a kid, but whatev…that’s in the past now I guess ;)…should be part of curriculum now though…

  10. very cool! i really want to work for an organization like this. thanks for sharing all this great info. it is good to know that they do exist!

  11. This is so cool! How do you find out about all of these things? I feel as though you are such a fountain of knowledge!!

    • I am running for NYRR for the NYC Marathon and their primary mission is to get kids active! Especially kids in lower economic areas! Plus I research this stuff like crazy….childhood obesity seriously breaks my heart!!

  12. What a great organization! I want to apply for my school. Thank you so much for passing this very valuable information along.

  13. great organization, we have something similar at the girls school called sprinting stars.

  14. Sounds like a great program! Thanks for the information. I don’t remember having anything like this.

  15. What a great idea! I am sending this to all my teacher friends!

  16. Two public schools that I know of in our area have running clubs that run one day a week after school. It was started by a mom (a runner!) Many of the kids participate in Marathon Kids and the mileage they run at school is recorded and counts for the Marathon Kids program. For these two schools, the PE coach helps but is mostly parent volunteer driven program. It’s a great thing to see so many kids from the schools out running and enjoying themselves.

  17. The only thing I remember is Jump Rope for Heart!

Leave a Reply

