Monday Madness

Good morning everyone! Did you miss me while I was away? I missed you guys! If you missed my beach recap from last week go here. I had such a good time and I owe a HUGE thank you to my beautiful mama for an awesome vacation! Thanks MAMA! ๐Ÿ™‚

Since I am back to the grind I figured why not start out this monday with a bangingย 9 miles (8:00/mile pace)! Anyone? Yes please! It was AWESOME! I will confess that I did not run once at the beach! Not once! It was honestly way too humid and I couldn’t stand the heat…am I a baby or what? I instead entertained myself with lots of Jillian Michael’s Shred and long walksย inย the beach water! It was actually a nice little break on my legs and joints. But I was jonesin’ for a run and this morning was exactly what the doctor ordered! In the words of my wonderful husband, “Holler at your girl!” haha!

So speaking of my wonderful husband, I have the most classic story for you. You ready? So on our 4 hour drive to the beach I told him that the Maroon 5 song, She Will Be Loved, reminded me of him. There is just something about that song that makes me think of Keith and it makes me feel safe.

Anyway, so I asked him what song reminded him of me. What did he pick? How about Juvenile, Slow Motion With Me.

Seriously, I am APPALLED!!! Really?! That is the song that he hears and thinks of me?!?! My first question was WHY?! He claims that it because when we started dating that song was very popular and we would always hear it when we would go out. This is TRUE but seriously, babe, you gotta find something else! haha!

Do you have a song that reminds you of your partner?

So last night, to celebrate my Dad’s birthday, his girlfriend Jann planned a surprise bowling party for him! It was so much fun and he was totally surprised! Look at him!!!

SURPRISE!

Keith and Josh (my brother)

Keith bowling...look at that cute butt!

Look at those candles!!!

Have you ever had a surprise party thrown for you?

HAPPY MONDAY EVERYONE!

39 Responses

  1. Hahahha I love that he told you THAT was the song. That is so something my husband would do. When we first started dating, my husband made me a CD every month for the first ~15 or so months, so there are a TON of songs that remind me of him!

  2. I’ve had one surprise part thrown for me before. It was very touching! I had no idea!

    Glad to have you back ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I have never had a surprise party thrown for me. I have thrown several for other people but yet no one has ever thrown one for me ……yeah…..I’m bitter……. : – )

  4. Hey girl – glad you had such a fantastic trip. I imagine taking a break from running was probably a good thing. Strolling on the beach, taking it easy is so much more fun! I have had a surprise party thrown for me on 2 occasions.

  5. I’ve never had a surprise party thrown for me. I would probably be upset because I would be upset I was wearing the wrong thing haha.

    and LOL at Keith’s song choice. Oh men.

  6. LOL LOL LOL

    Oh my gosh, that is SO something my husband would say too.

    On the first night we kissed, my husband and I sang “Opposites Attract” at a karaoke bar (or attempted to, anyway), so that song always reminds me of our “courtship,” ha!

  7. I always think of Matt when I hear “Small Town Southern Man” (for obvious reasons).

    Glad you’re back! I missed my daily Kelly updates!

  8. Glad you had a great time celebrating your dads birthday!

  9. Looks like a fun celebration!
    How do you like Jillians shred?

    • REALLY like it! the workouts are only 20 minutes long so it is easy to squeeze one in here and there…perfect! I got it off Amazon for $8.98 (including shipping…totally worth it!)

  10. If you didn’t run all last week and pulled out 9 miles at that pace, I feel that I must bow down to you… holy crap!

    Holla’!

  11. 9 miles at an 8 min pace all before 8am!! Wow!!

    What your husband said is hilarious!! What a sweetie ๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. Yay! Welcome back! I love your dad’s bowling cake. I think we’re going to see mine in a few weeks so I’ll have to bake him one! I had a surprise party thrown for me when I moved from here to Atlanta when I was 19. It left me with some of the best memories I can imagine.

  13. Great run!

    Aww! What a fun night! Your dad is too cute. ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Nope – I’ve never had a surprise party thrown for me. But I have helped throw some for others. I think I would totally embarrassed.

    And as weird as that song is that your hubby picked – I get what he’s saying. I connect very random songs with parts of my life. They come on and I’m immediately transported back. I can’t hear that “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” remake without thinking of our honeymoon to Hawaii b/c they literally played it everywhere!

    • Oh yeah…the song lyrics definitely don’t remind him of me but more that when that song came out we had just started dating and it was always playing…but still that is not that the song that I think I was associated with me!

  15. When we were trying to choose a song for our first dance at the wedding, Jensen suggested Baby Got Back! Haha! I had to laugh. I do got back and he loves it, so I’m cool with it.

  16. Bahahaa! Slow Motion w/ Me. Kelly…you dirty girl! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Kidding. Guys just don’t seem to connect to music like us women do.

    Yay for the awesome run.

  17. Sounds like your trip was awesome! So jealous you spent a week on the beach! That is awesome girl! I was dying when I read the song that reminds your husband of you…..too funny!
    Great run by the ran…dreading going to the gym. For some reason my Monday workouts are always lame and boring!

  18. hahah JUVENILE! that’s hilarious and i’m cracking up right now. juvenile is still my favorite. i could listen to “back that ass up” ALL DAY LONG!! (and sometimes i do!)

  19. hahha woah we literally just commented on each other’s blogs at the SAME TIME!! that’s love! ๐Ÿ™‚

  20. my hubby threw a surprise party for me this past year for my birthday…SO fun and i felt so loved!

  21. LOL about the Juvenile song! hah, I remember when he was really popular!

    The Frey reminds me of my BF because their songs were really popular when we first started dating almost 4 years ago.

    Great run this morning! I don’t do humidity either.

    I live in south GA and it gets so humid by like 8am. I have to walk my dogs super early b/c I just hate being outside when it’s all sticky out (unless I am at a beach of course!)

  22. There’s a few songs by NIN and Faith No More that remind me of my love. NIN was the first concert we went to together and we listen to FNM a LOT. ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Ha ha! Men. At least it wasn’t Baby Got Back. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Glad you had a fun trip!

  24. I love suprise parties now, but couldn’t stand them when I was younger. I would be surprised on the outside, but had a hard time showing it through facial expressions. lol Okay, so now I seem like a weirdo for saying that. haha maybe b.c I had a feeling what was going on.

  25. My friends threw me a surprise 18th. My best friend drove from SC to OH and my brother also made a 4 hour trek. The night before, I got food poisoning!! I was in bed all weekend except for maybe 10 minutes when I tried my best to party… It was terrible!!

    Happy bday to your dad :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  26. Hahahahahaha I love how that’s the song that makes him think of you. Men!!

    I think of my boyfriend everytime I hear There’s One in Every Crowd.
    Once I asked him what song reminds him of me. Don’t worry, his answer was pretty bad. Ready for it? Seriously … you need to be ready.
    Crazy Bitch by Buckcherry.
    Yah. I was as impressed as you were.

  27. haha I literally burst out laughing at “slow motion wit me” lol too funny. I have lots of songs that remind me of brandon but mostly The Zach Brown Band’s song “She’s got whatever it is.” He put some lines from that song in a letter to me on our wedding..it’s totally brandon. ๐Ÿ™‚
    I have had a surprise party thrown for me TWICE! I was VERY surprised! I actually had a look of horror that my friend captured. I’ll have to post the pic sometime lol You will laugh.

  28. Hahahaha what a typical guy answer!

  29. That’s hilarious about the song! And I have had a surprise party once- it was so much fun! Surprises are always exciting ๐Ÿ™‚

  30. hahaha juvenile slow motion…what a song that brings me back to high school! love it!

    when i was 15 my mom threw me a surprise party, i had just gotten a manicure walked in my house and BOOM there were all my friends! !i was so stunned and happy it was truly a surprise!! I would love another one!!

  31. On the subject of surprise birthday parties — I think I’m destined always to be the Thrower, never the Throwee . . . I love these photos, so glad you got them, Kelly! they do prove your dad was very surprised. and I know he enjoyed himself–especially because YOU were there!

  32. Bowling parties are the best! Happy Birthday to your dad!

Leave a Reply

