My Running Story

Happy Friday afternoon! So first, I want to back up to this morning! I was happy to see that everyone was just as appalled as I was by the marriage arrangement I heard about on the radio yesterday. So to follow up, here is the even more SHOCKING part. Yes, it get’s better! 99% of the women (YES WOMEN) who called into the radio station yesterday completely supported this arrangement! I am NOT kidding.

 Does that blow your mind?

It did mine! I was totally shocked! Most of the arguments centered around the idea that men want it too much anyway so why shouldn’t the women capitalize on that opportunity? Okay…excuse me while I pick up my jaw…it has actually fallen to the floor! I still think this is wrong and ridiculous on so many levels! Okay moving on…

I wanted to talk this afternoon about running. (GASP…big surprise) No but on a serious level I want to spend some time talking about why I run. I get a lot of questions, comments, and emails  from you guys wanting to know how I can motivate myself to run as much as I do. I thought maybe this would be a good time for me to share my running story with you.

I started running at a VERY young age. My Dad had me running competitive races around the age of 8. I went to track camps (yes they exist) and entered local races in Austin as I grew up. I always knew I was fast but I didn’t think much about it. My Dad saw it though…he saw something special and he molded that running mentality into me. I never played volleyball or basketball..I just ran. It was all I loved to do. Once middle school rolled around I was immediately involved with the track team! I was SO excited to actually run on an organized team and have coaches and workouts! I was in 6th grade and was already faster than most of the 8th graders. I started working out with the boys in an effort to push myself harder. In 8th grade the high school track coach came to my school and got me out of class to discuss my future.I was blown away! I went to a high school that had a really well-known track coach and the program was very elite. I couldn’t believe she was actually coming to my middle school to get me out of class to discuss MY future. It was my first realization that I was actually quite good. (I was always very modest and downplayed my talent but this made me think that I was actually fast!)

In high school I was a sprinter. I ran the 200 and 400 meter dash and I was good. I went to State my freshman year (15 years old) and loved every minute of it. About this time I started really honing my skills. I ran cross-country in the fall (for endurance), indoor club track in the winter, highschool track in the spring, and then club summer track (via AAU and went to the Junior Olympics!) When I was 16 this took its toll and I actually got several stress fractures in my foot. I actually ran on a broken foot for close to 4 months before I told anyone that is actually hurt. What can I say…I didn’t want to quit. That injury sidelined me for 6 months and I was DEVASTATED! But I bounced back and got over it. (Thankfully, to date, that has been my only injury…KNOCK ON WOOD!) But by the time my senior year rolled around I was quite honestly a little burned out. I was running full time year-round and running just wasn’t fun for me anymore. The pressure to always be better than before, break school records, get a scholarship took its toll and I started to actually HATE track. I was offered some college scholarships and regrettably I turned them down. (I regret that terribly to this day) and I quit. I didn’t run in college at all. I mean I quit COLD turkey! I switched to other forms of exercise…mainly spinning and Pilates. My freshman year I felt freedom from the rigors of competition but by my sophomore year I missed it terribly but was too embarrased to go to the coaches and ask to be a walk on. I told myself I wasn’t in shape to run at the collegiate level anymore and I let self-doubt hold me back. (again…regrets) So I graduated from college always wondering what if. I knew I had been good enough…now I just I wonder what would have been.

Post college the running bug started again and I started slowly by running 5K’s here and there. Then I decided maybe I could do a half marathon, and heck then I thought I can do a marathon. And it began again! haha! I still struggle with the idea that I am “good” but I am working on it. I qualified for the NYC Marathon this November and I am hoping to Boston Qualify there. I have run a bunch of half marathons and 1 full marathon already. If you are interested in my race recaps, times and training schedules go here.

As for staying motivated. I have always been a self motivator and usually am good at going after what I want. Running has always been a part of me and I don’t think about it anymore. The question on any given day isn’t if I will run but rather how much I will run. Running is like brushing my teeth…it is just something that I do. It is a part of me and a part of my life. I am just as much dependent on it as I am for air. Truthfully that DOES scare me a little bit. To have one single thing be SO important to me. We (Keith and I) are working on that! 😉 But running and me just go hand in hand and it something I hope to do for a very long long time!

 So there you have it…my running story. I hope you enjoyed it! If you have any questions just ask! Happy Friday guys!

43 Responses

  1. that’s really interesting….not that i have a reason but i wouldn’t have picked you for a sprinter (probably because you run distances so much now!) i loved reading this 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing your story! I really enjoyed reading it. Makes me feel so much better about not being able to maintain an 8 minute mile for 10 miles now 😉

  3. Wow so funny you were a sprinter and now loveeee distance. I ran the 200 and 400 also, I still hateeeee the 4, yuck. Sometimes I miss HS track a lot.

    • I agree…HS track was awesome! I used to hate the 400 too…it seemed so long! 26.2 miles later…I got some perspective! haha!

  4. What a great story. Thanks for sharing. I also am surprised that you were a sprinter. Although, now that I think about it, I’m not surprised looking at your splits from 10 milers. I ran cross country and track in school and even jumped hurdles for a while (I have really long legs) but although I was faster than I am now I was never your kind of fast. 🙂
    Bobbie

  5. Great story! I never knew you were that much of a beast 😉

  6. I really admire you. I was involved in tons of stuff like that years ago. NOw, reduced to walking only the last year…not just a month or so either…but OVER a year…
    like u said – i didnt realize how much it meant to me until i lost it –
    my whole identity vanished and dealing with guilt of a short walk a day…its just not good enuf ever to me
    but really making peace with it this last year and continuing to make peace with it.
    i have to know that there are other things in the world to enjoy and pursue …even if its just silly stuff like reading novels or baking something new…
    i try to be positive, but at this point, i know any athletic stuff is ruled out for future. got to appreciate just being able to walk.
    appreciate that i had the ability and experience in the past at all..better to have had than to not have had at all i suppose.

    • There are definitely other passions in life to be enjoyed! Cooking, baking, reading…I am glad you are finding things you love to do! And keep that chin up, girl! 🙂

  7. That’s a fantastic story. I wish that Newfoundland had developed track teams like that, I enjoyed sprinting (never an endurance fan – as you can already tell 5k’s kill me lol)

  8. And how are you not “really a runner”? It baffles me that you don’t consider yourself a runner!

  9. Wow! I loved reading your running story, totally cool – and look at you being so modest. You are a FANTASTIC runner. Just so ya know 😉

  10. I used to be an AVID runner! However, my knees can no longer take me past 3 miles. So I gave up running about 2 years ago now and just stick to other forms of cardio. I love aerobics!! But yea, I think it’s hard to explain to people who are not runners (or past runners) that something just gets inside you and you NEED to run. It helps clear the mind and that runners’ high is like nothing else. I used to LOVE it!!

  11. Wow woman – what a story! If you ever question yourself about being a runner again, I am going to yell at you! you have a runner’s heart and head without any doubt. I know so many really talented runners in highschool that just got burnt out. It was just too much sometimes. At my school, the coaches put sooo much pressure on the great runners that it was almost inevitable that they would get sick of it and running. I’m glad you got your running mojo back. Maybe if we both qualify for Boston we can FINALLY run together! 🙂

    • That would be so great! I would truly be honored to run with you!!! Goodluck this weekend and I hope we do both BQ!!! 🙂

  12. Thank you for sharing your story! It’s always fun to hear what drives others to run. Like you I ran cross country & track through highschool and made it to state a few years. When it came time for college, I was burnt out from competing and just wanted to run for fun. That’s what I did almost each day. I loved it! Running is just a part of who I am and I love my relationship with it. Good job of staying injury free! Keep up the good work!

  13. I loved reading your story. I always enjoy hearing how people got involved in their passions. Your love for the sport of running just shines through. I think that is very inspirational to many. It even makes me want to pick up running a bit more after I have my next baby.

    • Oh seriously Tina I respect you and hold you in such high esteem that to hear that I may have inspired you makes me really happy! 🙂

  14. Such a great story Kelly. I called myself a runner for a while, but I overdid it and got injured, and unfortuneately the injury is now chronic, so I can’t run as much as I’d like. Reading about your running workouts has inspired me several times to get outside though!

  15. Wow!! What a cool running story you have!! I was never a runner until right after college I started really getting into, but mostly as a way to lose weight. Then I found out that I actually *gasp* enjoyed it!! Running is such a great release!! Love it!! 🙂

  16. Great post.
    Be thank ful everyday for what you have and have the ability to do…we take for granted the things our bodies can do for us and only realize when it’s too late…

  17. Kelly, thank you for sharing your running story! I loved reading a little bit more about you. I was never a runner until I went to college and started running here and there. I didn’t start to truly enjoy it until I was about a senior in college. Have a wonderful weekend!

  18. Thank you so much for sharing your story! I’ve often wondered about it, but never wanted to ask in case you didn’t want to share or it was too personal. Thanks for opening up and sharing it– I really loved reading about your perseverance!

  19. Wow – thanks for sharing that!! I’m sure you get the comments accusing you of being “obsessed” with running… as I’m sure most all runners do in real life. It’s so funny though – it’s just like you said. It’s like brushing your teeth. Or eating lunch. You don’t think… you just do it!

  20. I wish I could run your times!

  21. Ahhh, I LOVE your running story. I love hearing about other people’s athletic talents (because I have none). You really are an amazingly fast runner! I can’t wait to read about your marathon running, and I know you’ll qualify for Boston!

  22. I loved reading your running story! Thanks so much for sharing. You are in such amazing shape, and your passion for running is fantastic!

  23. Thanks for sharing your story!!! I really enjoyed reading it! 🙂

  24. I loved reading your story! And I’m glad you didn’t sustain any more injuries 🙂 Every single runner I know has had knee problems, ankle problems, achilles, hips…
    and I’ve barely had any *knock on wood*

    You should be confident & proud of your abilities! I’m not sure what defines a “runner” or when you become one…but you def. are 😉

  25. the history of how each runner gets to where they are is so interesting and important to each person’s journey. thank you for sharing! I think it’s great
    Katherine

  26. Thank you so much for sharing! Great story! I love hearing how everyone got into running!

  27. You were such a star even at such a young age. I can’t believe they tried to recruit you in middle school! As a 13/14 year old I would have been so confused. It sucks that you regret not doing running in college. But you know what? LIfe is great for you now anyways so no worries girl! You will do GREAT at NYC and Im sure you will BQ. You really are fast and you run so much. I wish I could as much as you do. Some days I can go forever, sometimes I want to die at mile 3. Haha. I’ll stick to weights and running though. I like the balance sometimes. Weights make me feel like a beast sometimes 🙂 You are such an inspiration Kelly. Keep it up!!!!

  28. that is so gross the whole pay for nookie thing. i guess that just means we are all hookers b/c anytime we have sex with our husbands we are just doing it so they will keep paying us, either giving us grocery money or keeping a roof over our heads and our kids heads. My god. This sounds horrible, but there were have been FAR more outrage in a state like CA than in TX i think. Somehow I sadly think that southern women, many of them, not all, may think this is ok after generations of this type of thinking. I lived in the south, I understand the mindset, sadly 😦

  29. I am so happy that you shared that. I know it’s something dear to you and you hold it close. Love ya.

  30. thanks for sharing your running story!! i think its so interesting that you started at SUCH a young age. sorry that you regret not taking a scholarship but look at you now – your a speed demon and I bet you will qualify for Boston!

  31. […] case you missed it, I finally posted my running story yesterday. And I have to say thank you to everyone who left such amazing words for me! I had no […]

  32. I really ilked learning about your running story. It’s interesting how every runner has a “story” and they’re all totally different.

  33. And how could you NOT call yourself a runner? Girl, you were born to it!

  34. Hi Kelly, What a great running story!My daughter is 15 and also a sprinter. She runs the 200 for her school and is .6 tenths of a second from breaking the record! She loves it, and I am hoping to keep it that way.She can’t even imagine running long distances, I will have to tell her your story. I myself have just picked up running and ran my first half marathon in my 40’s.I keep asking her to join me on shorter runs, but she is so not interested.Keep on running, I can’t wait to hear about your quest for Boston, I am from Mass, so I know it well!!

  35. I LOVED reading this! Seriously — I always enjoy reading about WHY people run, but I think you’re story is awesome because I can relate to so much of it! I also started running at a young age because of my Dad, and it has amazed me how much this sport has truly shaped who I am today. Unfortunately I was not as lucky as you when it came to injuries — I was plagued with almost every single injury under the sun during high school…and some in college.

    Anyway, your story is truly inspirational! I never would have pegged you for a sprinter after reading about how much you run now. I’m sorry you got burned out before college (though that happens to a lot of high school runners), but I think it’s awesome how you’ve picked it right up with so much passion. Good luck with the marathon training — I really hope you BQ!!

Leave a Reply

