Right Smack in the Middle!

Dear Wednesday,

I know each and every week I curse you and make faces behind your back when you are not looking. I know I try to pretend that we are friends and that you don’t really bother me. I shrug my shoulders, act nonchalant and pretend that I live in a world where you don’t exist. But, alas, you do and I simply can not go on like this anymore. So after some long and hard thinking I have decided that this world is simply not big enough for the both of us. Therefore, I am blacklisting you. Yup, that’s right…you are officially blacklisted from Kelly’s world! Sad, I know. I think in time you will learn to live a full and happy life without me. But like I said, it is no use pretending that I like you, need you or even find your existence in the work week necessary. Sorry to be harsh, but this is just the way it has to be. So until I grow some sort of fondness for you, let’s part ways and just move on. Nice to know you, Wednesday! Peace Out and go make some one else’s life miserable for a while! πŸ˜‰

Sincerely,

Kelly

HAHA! Good morning! No seriously, for it being a Wednesday I am actually in a good mood! YAY!!! I had a ballerΒ workout this morning…10miles…hello how are you? I’m fine…thanks! And I have my running group in about an hour. I averaged about 8:20/pace and I have happy legs! πŸ˜‰ Coffee is on the brain…it is brewing but I am impatient so instead of staring at the coffee pot in a vain attempt to speed it up, I thought this would be a much better and productive use of my time! πŸ™‚ I am also cooking my breakfast…egg white omelet and some oats. I am so predictable…I know. But I think I should get a A+ for multitasking…coffee, breakfast, blogging…all at once! I personally think I am a great multitasker.

Are you good at Multitasking?

According to NPR “People can’t multitask very well, and when people say they can, they’re deluding themselves,” said neuroscientist Earl Miller. Hum…so apparently I am deluding myself. But no REALLY I think I am good at it. NPR sorry…but I might just be the one kink in your story! haha! πŸ˜‰

Dinner last night was easy. I bought some pre-marinated basil pesto chicken breasts at the Natural Grocer yesterday and I paired that with some couscous and some steamed asparagus. Not too shabby! Quick, easy, healthy…all checks! Happy husband…even better! πŸ˜‰

Basil Pesto Chicken over Couscous and Asparagus

My latest find! Okay guys I am so excited to tell you about this product! I have been testing it for a week and wanted to be sure before I gave my blessing. I hate to be pale but I also refuse to use a tanning bed! So I found the BEST self tanner!!!! NeutrogenaΒ MicroMist Sunless Tanning Spray (I use shade 2) and it is AMAZING! I am darker (no streaks) and it looks totally natural! I have had so many people tell me how great my color is looking! I highly recommend this!!

Do you have a new product recommendation?

I also want to say thank you to everyone who shared their stories yesterday on my “Do-Over” post. Some of your stories blew me away and I couldn’t help thinking that I have the most amazing readers ever!!! It is really special to me at how honest you guys are and how comfortable you are sharing with me! I truly appreciate it and value all of you!!

50 Responses

  1. I must try this one. I am soooo pale that everything (even the best, expensive, etc) turn me orange.

  2. I am so going out to buy that tanning spray! I’m always afraid to try them because some of them are so horrible! I cannot wait to get some color on this white body πŸ™‚

  3. I’m with you, I think I’m an excellent multi-tasker, in fact, I think I produce my best work when I’m running around doing a million things πŸ™‚

    Also, glad you found some good tan in a can, I can’t bring myself to use that stuff. Purely because even when people say they work, I just imagine streaks and orange on myself. ha.

  4. Oh, thanks for sharing your thoughts on that sunless tanner. I’m always so leery of which ones to try. They can be disastrous!

  5. Awesome, with Wednesday out of the way we can get to Friday faster. Thanks, Kelly.

    So I read that multitasking study too but it’s really only about doing two mentally tasking things at once–reading a book and having a conversation. I think doing mindless things at once is still totally doable!

    Here’s a question about the sunless tanner: Did you just spray it on or did you also rub it in? How long did it take to dry. My biggest pet peeve about using sunless tanner is that you have to wait to dress. I can’t leave the bathroom because it’s freezing, so I get kind of bored.

    • No you just spray it on…no rubbing at all. And it dries in about 1 to 2 minutes. Usually I spray my arms first and then move to my legs…once I am finished spraying my legs my arms are already dry.

  6. Thank you for posting the sunless tanner. I am always looking for good self tanners. I am going to have to pick this up!

    I think I might be one to delude myself with multitasking. I know I do it and I do think it helps me accomplish more in a day, but I still think I would do things with better quality if my attention was solely focused on one thing at a time. But I’m a mom…so that ain’t happening!

  7. I’m going to give this one a whirl as well. I’m pigmentally challenged unless I use the beds…speaking of something we regret.

  8. Thanks for the heads up about the self tanner! I’m always looking for a good one so I might have to pick this up next time I’m at the drugstore!

  9. you are one speedy runner girl!! I wish I could run that fast – heck I would be happy to bread a 9 minute mile πŸ™‚

  10. Thanks for the sunless tanning suggestion! I used to be an obsessive tanner in my younger years until I developed melasma, which causes these dark spots on your skin. I freaked out, realized that danger I was putting myself in and have become a sunless convert 100%. I have a tough time finding a good product through, so I will definitely give this a try.

    P.S. – I had Wednesday too. But way to starts your Wed out with a rockin workout and delish breakfast! I think you most certainly know how to multi-tast!

  11. I use the same spray- it’s great!! I also like the Jergens 3 day one- I forget the real name, but it gives you a tan pretty quickly!

    I’m a good multitasker πŸ™‚ Actually I HAVE to multitask to function, although I hear it’s not a good thing…

  12. Can we just agree to Blacklist Monday – Thursday? It’d make my life alot easier! πŸ˜‰

  13. Yeah, take that Wednesday! You’ve got the right idea by just showing it that you are in charge! I think I am good at multi tasking, but then I look around and realize I am only fooling myself. Oh well, I guess one thing at a time! Have a great DAY!

  14. Good looking dinner πŸ™‚

    Anything with pesto is a winner in my book!

  15. 10 miles? Go YOU! That’s great! I multi-task ALLL the time but I really don’t think I’m good at it because I end up makin myself crazy! lol

  16. Whatever– I think I’m good at multi-tasking too!! πŸ™‚ What does NPR know?

  17. Yay for HumpDays πŸ˜‰ Love all the positivity on this post Kelly!!! I am ready to take on down this Wednesday, love it!!!

  18. Great workout! Last night’s dinner looks great. Product recommendations… Outside of the shower, the only two things I’ve used in the last 24 hours are my store-brand cocoa butter and my Dove deodorant (and tooth paste and mouthwash, but those are boring). I freaking love Dove. They have new citrus-y deodorant, and I’m hooked on it.

  19. Hysterical letter. I am going to go get some of that self-tanner. I need to hot for my sister’s wedding!

  20. Ooooh I might have to pick up some of that self tanner!!!

  21. Hahaha your e-mail to Wednesday is cute.

    I’ve been in a slump the past few days myself. It seems like every day is a “wednesday” to me… bah!

  22. Thank you for that review! I can never seem to find a good self tanner…I may have to test that one out!

    I refuse to tan outside or in the tanning bed either, it’s horrible for you.

    Great lookin’ dinner last night! Looks so delicious!

  23. I’ll have to look for that spray tan! I am seriously, blindingly pale right now and I have a wedding coming up!

  24. I have been looing for a good fake tanner! I was sitting outside with my parents on the weekend and I needed sunglasses for the glare coming off of my arms. It was CRAZY.

  25. ahh I MISS YOU!! and gooo-AWAY wednesday! πŸ™‚
    hehe…the good thing is that there are 6-other great days in the week! TIME is seriously flying by! can you believe our birthday’s were 1-month ago!?! I can’t wait to get caught up on you and your fabulousness! πŸ™‚
    loveeees to u beautiful chica!
    xoxo!

  26. Thanks for the product review! I wonder if I could find it here…is it expensive? NO to tanning beds!!
    And totally agree about wednesday…God I hate it and I want out of work so bad and my mind is just a disturbed mess….blah…

  27. I’m good at multi-tasking…honestly too good at it. I need to slow down and enjoy life more!

  28. How does the spray smell? I’ve had problems with them being too smelly before.

  29. I finally tried that tanner. I love it, too. I accidentally got the level 3 instead of the 2 but I still love it. Super easy to use and not orange.

  30. i love that mist! i have been using nuetrogena toner after i wash my face, and LOVe it…my skin just feels cleaner and clearer!!! it gets all the impurities out of the pores!

  31. Depends on what I am multi tasking on.. I don’t think we are programed to do 100% at two things..

  32. I am a huge fan of the Alba self-tanner. It’s a little pricey, but worth it!

  33. I don’t know if I’m a good multi-tasker, but I definitely try to do things as efficiently as possible…and I share your Wednesday sentiments!

  34. I don’t know if I am good at multitasking, but I definitely pretty much constantly attempt it. In class I am always going online while taking notes haha.

  35. Happy Wednesday πŸ™‚
    Thanks for the review on the sunless tanner. I have never used a sunless tanner as I have heard so many orange tan line stories. I hate to say that I would choose the tanning bed over sunless tanner…..lame!
    I will have to give this sunless tanner a shot though! Thanks for telling us about it!

  36. I’ve only tried spray tanner once and I sprayed it really unevenly! I am afraid now.

  37. I am not good at multitasking! Did that NPR study talk about the supertaskers? I wrote about that on my blog and almost everyone thought they were one, LOL. I think you said you stopped texting and driving because you almost hit someone.

  38. That is my FAVORITE sunless tanner! You have now reminded me that I haven’t used it since the Fall and am so pale. I need to buy more ASAP.

  39. […] was truly in a FANTASTIC mood all day long yesterday! It must have been because I took control and blacklisted Wednesday! hehe! Or it might have been my quick trip to Lululemon where I scored a few items for my […]

  40. I fully admit I’m not a good multi-tasker. Problem is that I continue to try to mult-task regardless and then don’t get much accomplished. Sigh….will I ever see my dreams of being organized and super effecient realized?
    I use Aveda’s tinted moisturizer and I love it b/c it’s the whole package…sunblock, moisturizer and tint all in one.

  41. I am not capable of NOT multitasking. I get guilty and anxious and jittery if I’m not doing 20 things at once. It’s just not as productive feeling and I won’t finish something. Yes, I have issues haha, but NPR is totally wrong, only the best of us can efficiently multitask!
    Also, geez lady! How do you run so much every day!?! I’ve totally lost my motivation. After my last 10k 3 weeks ago the side of my toe was really hurting from my shoes so i took some time off. I’ve gotten back into yoga a lot, but I don’t really have an excuse to not be running. I really want to, but I always just come up with something else to do or some reason why I shouldn’t. I finally got myself to do 2 miles on the treadmill 2 days ago, then switched to the elliptical for another 2 miles because my feet were hurting. I feel like such a baby. And 4 miles is the most I can get myself to complete. I love how I feel afterward, I just can’t get started. Help!

    Thanks for the tanner recommendation, I had a streaky mishap just last week. Not attractive.

    • Running is just a part of me…I don’t quite know how to explain it. It just is….me, Sure there are definitely days when I do not want to do it and on those days I try to pick a different activity. I don’t want to ever force myself to run because then I will start viewing it as something I HAVE to do instead of something I GET to do. There is a BIG difference. My best advice would just to let yourself come back to running when you want to. You will know when that time is. Don’t think you are anything less because you aren’t running right now. It is okay…remind yourself how great you are and allow yourself to not run. Once you take that pressure off yourself you might be surprised at how your attitude changes!! Goodluck!!

  42. As a psychologist, I can tell you that the research does support what you heard on NPR…however, I’m like you. In my personal experience, I don’t agree! I’m an awesome multi-tasker too!!

Leave a Reply

