It’s my FAVORITE day!

HELLLLO! Monday! You know I love them!! This morning has started out fabulously! I did a longer version of my workout last Saturday. I did 12 miles that looked like this:

  • 2 miles @ 7.5
  • 1 mile @ 6.5
  • 2 miles @ 7.5
  • 1 mile @ 6.5
  • 2 miles @ 7.5
  • 1 mile @ 6.5
  • 2 miles @ 7.5
  • 1 mile @ 6.5
  • Total = 12 miles (1:42:20)

This is a GREAT workout. The hardest part ironically is the 1 mile runs at 6.5. It is hard to run that much slower than the previous 2 milesΒ but it is good for recovery! Try it out! Now I am a coffee slurping fool debating on what I would like to shovel into my hungry mouth after that monster workout! I am thinking strawberry vanilla oats (I made another batch this weekend) with an egg white omelet stuffed with lots of veggies! Yup…I think that is going to be it!

But first, let me update you on dinner from last night! We did our Mother’s Day celebration on Saturday (if you missed my Mother’s Day salad recipe…go here…trust me…you WANT this!) so last night it was just me and Keith! I made myΒ pineapple meatloaf! We love this! And it definitely hit the spot! Paired with some fresh steamed broccoli you got no complaints from my kitchen table! πŸ˜‰

I hope everyone had a great weekend! If I had to pick my top 3 highlights they would be:

  1. Spending Saturday night with my FABULOUS mama and grandma!
  2. Finishing about 60% of the Sunday LA Times Crossword (one day I WILL finish the entire thing!)
  3. Having a computer savvy father who was able to fix my computer when it mysteriously went a little nutty on Saturday afternoon! THANKS DAD!!!

What were your top 3 highlights from this weekend?

55 Responses

  1. 12 miles!? You are so hardcore. I love it. πŸ™‚

  2. What a great run!!

    My favorite part of the weekend was celebrating my first mother’s day! It was such a great day!!

  3. 1. Running 13 miles on Saturday in gorgeous weather with BFF!!
    2. Spending time with my mom, sister and niece Sunday for Mother’s Day.
    3. Being lazy with the hubs and so grateful I have him!

  4. Good run, too bad the fastest I run is 6.4, haha, you are too legit πŸ˜‰

    Sounds like a great weekend to me!!

    • That’s okay…you can just change it up a little and run your 2 miles at 6.4 and the 1 mile at 5.8 or something like that! It is a great workout and the time goes by really fast because you are constantly changing it up!

  5. Great run! Do you eat before you work out? I’m switching from night workouts to early workouts, so I’m very curious. Thanks!

    Nice job on the crossword. πŸ™‚

    • I do eat before I run…but something light because I literally wake up and hit the road. Right now I am on an applesauce kick. I know that sounds weird but really all your body needs is simple sugar and applesauce seems to work REALLY well for me. If I am going on a run longer than 13 miles then I will usually wake up earlier and eat a powerbar and then let it settle for about 15-20 minutes before heading out.

  6. Great job! Enjoy your day!

  7. Wow that is a SERIOUS run for a Monday, I’m impressed!

  8. oh man, it was a great weekend! i don’t know if i could pick 3 highlights…but i did enjoy the party we had saturday and mother’s day was fun too πŸ™‚

  9. Love the run plan, once I have time again I plan on trying it out!

  10. Great job on the run!! Happy Monday, you Monday lover, you! πŸ™‚

  11. 1. Spending time with a cousin I never get to see.
    2. Actually going out and being social with friends.
    3. My friends loving the cake that I’m making for their wedding!

  12. Wow, I am EXTREMELY impressed with that run! Way to go, girl! I have a 12-mile run planned for Friday (my longest run to date, and the last long run before my 1/2 marathon). I’m a little nervous about it for some reason!

  13. Getting my hair cut, seeing my family, and my sister coming home from college!

  14. Great run!!

    I have to try pineapple meatloaf, sounds yammy!!

    1. Finishing a difficult homework, eeee!!
    2. Lazy time to do nothing πŸ™‚
    3. Exciting plans for the future…

  15. Favorite highlights of my weekend. I’m including Friday because it was my birthday.

    1. Opening a birthday card from my very new and special friend who I haven’t even met yet and she is SO generous to me – that’s YOU KELLY!!!!!! ❀ ❀ ❀

    2. I finally got to go out with some NEW friends that I met a few weeks ago. I laughed til I cried, and I had SO much fun.

    3. I got a lot of sleep on Sunday. Sleep is key.

  16. what a neat recipe. i remember you posting this way-back-when! it sounds delicious!

  17. Nice run and awesome recipe! Saved it just like all the other ones.

    Highlight of my weekend was Ironman 2 and a lunch date with the boy.

  18. Din sounds good… I went to the gym for the first time since my surgery this morning and it was soooooooooooooooo good to be back.. not to my normal routine yet but at least I am back at the gym.

    Highlight of my weekend coming home to Sadie πŸ™‚

  19. that is a beast of a run. goooood work girl!! god…one day i will be able to run fast like you..one day…

  20. Awesome workout.

    1. getting 1st place in age div of race fri night
    2. watching my sis cross the finish line of her first race
    3. movies with the hubs yesterday

  21. Impressive!! Highlights from my weekend – my last “longish” run for training, 50th bday celebration for my Hubby’s sister and spending my mother’s day with my mom-in-law and being thankful that I got so lucky with my in-laws!

  22. That loaf looks good! What’s the red in it?
    You like Mondays – wow – and 12 miles on top of that…holy cripes – I am officially useless…;) seriously though…I can only just haul my butt out of bed…

  23. Great weekend overall, but here’s my Top 3

    1. mother’s day lunch with Mom
    2. new entryway tile (I can’t claim responsibilty for the work, but I am definitely enjoying the outcome!)
    3. Dinner date with the hubby on Saturday

    Oh, ok I have to have 4
    4. Rediscovering my hockey love and jammin at the game on Friday.

  24. I loved doing the 9 mile version of this workout on Saturday! I had to work all weekend, but the highlight was definitely the mass quantity of salsa my boyfriend brought over on Saturday night!

  25. My top three highlights…
    1. Going out for an early dinner and drinks Friday night.
    2. 52 mile bike ride on Saturday.
    3. Finally getting my car washed!

  26. 1. Mothers day brunch
    2. Seeing Emma Watson
    3. Fuuuudge

  27. Pineapple meatloaf??!! I’m going to print the recipe. Nice run this AM – are you running outside yet, or still on the treadmill?

  28. oooh, pineapple meatloaf! That sounds fantastic. I love pineapple!

    My highlights:

    Bargain shopping πŸ™‚
    Finally putting my laundry away
    Enjoying the 70 degree weather in GA before it gets too hot!

  29. Kelly, I want you to live at my house and cook for me!

    The highlights of my weekend were without a doubt Trader Joe’s, hitting up the farmers market, and going to bed at 9 on Saturday night.
    I am SO cool.

  30. I don’t know about the pineapple meatloaf. I bet it tastes good but some things I can be wary of. LOL I do like pineapple with steak though, so I should try it.

    And my highlights – I don’t think they can be beat!

    1. New Camera
    2. AMAZING NEWS!!!
    3. yummy pizza

  31. 1. Taking a break from work and my computer.
    2. Hitting Trader Joe’s before it got crazy busy! (Sad that is a highlight, I know).
    3. New shoes from my mother-in-law!

  32. The highlight of my weekend was definitely buying new running shoes…FINALLY! haha, I know that’s lame but I NEEDED them!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  33. 1. First trip ever to Fresh Market!
    2. Celebrated mother’s day with P’s mom.
    3. Stocked up on fresh produce from the cutest roadside stand!

    Congrats on your 12! That’s amazing!

  34. That sounds like such an awesome run~ I agree with Jessica…you are hardcore!!!
    I miss my runs…it’s been over a week!
    That meatloaf looks delicious…can’t wait to try it!
    Oh and the fav. parts of my Mother’s Day weekend. Getting to sleep in on Saturday AND Sunday, the farmer’s market and spending quality time with the fam~
    Bobbie

  35. Seriously 12 miles? And I was so proud of my 60 minute yoga workout hahahaha

  36. Ahh, what a great workout!! With interval workouts like that,I always find that the slower paces are the hardest, too…it’s like I just want to run, run, run and have it be over with, and sometimes by body just wants to stay at that steady fast pace. πŸ™‚ But I’ve never done it with 12 miles…haha, you’re my hero!

  37. You really do love Monday don’t you ! Wow, 12 miles…

    My three highlights were:
    1. Knowing I made a bijillion arrangements to make a lot of Moms happy : )
    2. My son making me a delicious healthy omelete for Mother’s day ‘brunch” (he is a teenager and sleeps till noon now!)
    3. A peaceful day of no arguing and seeing Ironman 2 with the family.

  38. 1. relaxing with my crossword puzzle
    2. relaxing with my book
    3. relaxing while gardening

    Do we see a theme here? πŸ˜€

  39. I’m so jealous of your run (jealous in a good way :)! I need to get myself back into running shape!

  40. Hey Kelly! OMG my goal in life is to finish a crossword also! haha I can never seem to get all the way through them- I always get frustrated…but one day!

    1) Seeing my mama and grandma (who’s been sick and in the hospital : (
    2) Going home and sleeping in my old bed!
    3) Going to Yoga Saturday morning with my bf before I headed home

    xo

  41. what is it with you and your crazy loafs?!?! this sounds super good actually. perhaps i shall have to recreate it when i can spend money again!

    and i am in awe of your running! 7.5 is like my all out sprint which i can only maintain for 1 min. way to rock it!

    • Thanks girl! I appreciate the compliments!

      I know I definitely add some crazy things to my meatloafs…but I promise they are all good!!! hehe!

  42. Nice job on the crossword puzzle! I am happy if I finish 20% but then again, I’m more of a People magazine crossword puzzle girl πŸ™‚

    Top highlights

    1) Laying by the pool
    2) Going to work with no distractions and getting alot done
    3) betty White on SNL!

Leave a Reply

