Happy Mother’s Day!!

Happy Mother’s Day!!! If you are a mom out there…then celebrate this day dedicated to YOU!!! We did our Mother’s Day celebration yesterday at my mom’s house! It was so much!! First the salad recipe I promised yesterday! This is what I brought over (courtesy of Cooking Light):

SOUTHWESTERN CONFETTI SALAD

  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1 cup fresh corn kernels
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped zucchini
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • ½ cup diced plum tomato
  • 1/3 cup diced red bell pepper
  • ¼ cup chopped green onions
  • 2 tablespoons diced red onion
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon grapeseed oil
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon chili powder
  • ¼ teaspoon fresh ground pepper
  • 1 (15 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl, stirring well to combine. Cover and chill at least 1 hour before serving.

Yields: 6 (1 cup) servings

CALORIES 122; FAT 3.1g (0.3g saturated fat); CARBOHYDRATE 22.7g; SODIUM 359mg; PROTEIN 4.1g; FIBER 4.5g

Well Hello There!

Drool....how good does this look?!

Happy Mother’s Day MOM!

30 Responses

  1. Oooh, the salad looks delicious! My mom still hasn’t decided what she wants me to make. She did say she wanted a dinner salad, though…

    Glad your mom had a nice day yesterday. 🙂

  2. Oh that recipe looks so perfect for the summer, thanks!! 🙂

  3. That salad looks great! Enjoy your lazy Sunday!

  4. What a beautiful salad! I love food with lots of colors!

    Have a great day! 🙂

  5. That recipe looks so delicious! It may be the new summer potluck staple – thanks for sharing!

  6. That looks DELICIOUS!

  7. You are a good salad artist. Have a nice day Kelly.

  8. Very nice looking salad.

  9. I love the colors!

  10. I can vouch for that salad being amazing! Its great with burgers or on a bed of greens. I think it says 6 servings, but I eat at least twice that for a meal!

  11. Now that is a salad…not just soggy lettuce leaves -blah!!
    You just need to add some cheese 😉 – then again I would probably drown it in cheese…

  12. Oh and what other dishes were served @ the Mother’s Day celebrations? 🙂

    • My stepdad grilled! We had Bison burgers and Salmon burgers! I had a salmon burger and it was fantastic and Keith had the bison…which he loved too! It was YUM!!

  13. Drooling for sure! Beautiful spring salad. Thanks for the recipe! Happy Mother’s Day to your mom 🙂

  14. What a beautiful salad!! I bet it was tasty 🙂

  15. I NEED to make this asap!! This look gorgeous Kelly, what a great filling recipe!

  16. That looks so good!

  17. YUM! I need some of that now, since it is dinner time and I have not prepared anything! That is right up my alley for a perfect dinner! So glad you got to see your mom! I hope you are having a great weekend! Tomorrow is MONDAY!

  18. Talk about a packed salad. It looks great!!

  19. How pretty is this salad? This is something P and I would really love to eat!!!

  20. WOW, that looks amazing! Next year I’m celebrating Mother’s Day with your family. 🙂 Haha

  21. That looks like such a yummy summer salad! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  22. Nice Kelly. I was just thinking of a new “mexican-style” salad to make since I have some left over black beans. I’ll cut the salad in 1/3 just for me. I think i can eat 2 servings 🙂 Thanks!

  23. Hope you had a great day! This looks fantastic!

  24. That salad should be called ‘The Works’ has everything I LOVe on it!!

  25. OOOHHH that looks SO good!!

  26. Mmmmm that looks wonderful! Hope you had a great weekend! 🙂

  27. Could you add some avocado? I could use a few bites of that!!

  28. […] Day celebration on Saturday (if you missed my Mother’s Day salad recipe…go here…trust me…you WANT this!) so last night it was just me and Keith! I made my pineapple […]

  29. Salad really looks good, kelly.

Leave a Reply

