HELLO Thursday!

Well guys…we are just truckin along aren’t we? It’s Thursday (holler for Wednesday being over)! This morning I was a little all over the place with my workout. First I ran 4.5 miles at 7.0 and then I did Hilary’s HIIT workout from Tuesday:

  • 1 min @ 6.5
  • 1 min @ 7.0
  • 2 min @ 7.5
  • 2 min @ 8.0
  • 1 min @ 7.0
  • 1 min @ 7.5
  • 2 min @ 8.0
  • 2 min @ 8.5
  • 1 min @ 7.5
  • 1 min @ 8.0
  • 1 min @ 8.5
  • 1 min @ 9.0

Then I finished with 25 minutes cool down on the elliptical. See, I told I was all over the place….haha! 🙂

Dinner last night was another Julie recipe! I made crock-pot pork chops with cinnamon and applesauce! SO good!!! And easy…Julie’s MO! I have made this before and it was just as good the second time around! Need an easy dinner? Make this!

Applesauce Porkchops with roasted broccoli...another happy Keith plate!

Are you a good goal setter? Do you set realistic goals that are attainable? I found a great little article by Ellie Krieger that addresses this perfectly: “You probably have a long-term goal or two in mind. Whether these goals consist of losing weight, improving your fitness level, or finding balance in your daily life (or all of the above!), it’s great to know what kind of “big picture” you’re aiming for. But it’s also important to set smaller, short-term goals that you can strive for and achieve along the way. Accomplishing these smaller goals will help you feel rewarded for your efforts, and it can help you stay motivated over the long haul.
The key is to set smart goals that you can realistically achieve. Your goals should be Attainable, In line with your priorities, and Measurable and specific (AIM for short).

A: You’ll want to make sure that the goals you set are attainable, or realistic. Biting off more than you can chew will just set you up for failure and disappointment. So aim to set a goal you can actually reach. When you have success with one small goal, you can look forward to setting another.

I: You’ll also want to make sure that the goals you set are in line with your priorities. Decide, for example, whether it’s more important to incorporate your physical activity into time you spend with your family (in which case a nightly walk with your children may work nicely) or to use it as time for yourself (in which case a solitary jog or yoga practice may be a better fit).

M: Finally, make your goals as specific as possible. Rather than just saying “I want to get in better shape,” aim to be able to walk a certain distance, jog a mile at a certain speed, or swim a certain number of laps. With specific, measurable goals like these, you’ll know exactly what you’re aiming for and you’ll know when you’ve gotten there!”

Are you a good goal setter?

38 Responses

  1. Love that advice! I’ve gotten better at goal setting and I think that making goals specific is SO important.

    Great workout too lady!!

  2. I am not much of a goal setter. I’ll make private goals, but I won’t emphasize them really. It kind of goes against so much of the blog world but it’s what works for me

  3. I set goals all the time, but get so impatient because I want everything NOW. I need to work on it. 🙂

  4. I’m a great goal setter…I’m just not a good goal GETTER!!! 🙂

    I love setting goals, but then I tend to kind of flake out on the hard work it would take to achieve said goal 🙂

    Hope you’ve been having a great week, Kelly!

  5. Love love love HIIT workouts. I am not a great goal setter at all.

  6. I am a horrible goal setter. I have all these things I think I’d love to do- but I never get them down to a measureable and realistic thing… I guess that’s something to work on? 😉

  7. I love setting goals, but I have to check in with myself b/c it can get out of hand. I’m also a huge list maker, so I can get into a zone of making lists full of lots of goals and I start to go a little nuts when I think about everything I have to accomplish!

  8. I can set goals— i just can’t follow the plan to get to them hahaaa 😉

  9. I set goals quite a bit. By setting goals, it makes me work harder in order to reach that goal. When you do reach that goal it like “yes”!

  10. I set attainable goals and have to readjust them at time due to situations that may have happened afetr the fact but I always have a goal which I think is good to get you going.

  11. I think I unconsciously set goals for myself. Like when I started running again, I really had not planned to run in races, but now that’s all i think about.

  12. woop, woop! glad you liked it! 😀 i am a semi-goal setter. i am not competitive, but i set mini-goals for myself to accomplish throughout the work day.

  13. No I need to work on that goal thing. I’m not sure what it is that I want…so that doesn’t help!

  14. I am not a very good goal setter. I get disappointed if something doesn’t happen when I want it to. I am better under the gun. So, I guess I set goals…I am just a procrastinator!

  15. I’m an okay goal setter, but I tend to start and stop things at random. I’m kind of scattered.

  16. I’m a horrible goal setter! I never set them. I know in general what I want, but I more focus on right now. I don’t put much thought into the future and I really should.

  17. Nice workout! I am SO glad it’s Thursday. Usually I’m pretty good with goal-setting. I’m a big fan of to-do lists and wish-lists 🙂

    p.s. I was in a funk earlier this week too. Must be something in the air. ALMOST WEEKEND!

  18. I tend to like to make 1 or 2 goals a month. Sometimes I see people with like 10 and I’m always amazed how they even remember them. I like to pick a couple and really focus in on them and get them done!

  19. I’m so glad someone finally broke down the HIIT thing, I’ve been wanting to try it as soon as my foot heals! Thank you! And I am a huge goal setter, I think it’s soo important. Not that I *always* follow through, but darnit I try 🙂

  20. We learned about goal-setting in school! Except we got the acronym “SMART” Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, Timely

    It’s actually sort of useful 😀

  21. I set goals but I don’t share them with others usually because I don’t like the pressure of not fulfilling them! Sort of defeats the purpose, right?

  22. My favorite way to eat pork chops is with cinnamon and applesauce. My mom used to make them when I was younger and it was one of my faves!

  23. I think I set too big of goals. I will set a HUGE goal to meet in a short amount of time, then get frustrated when I come up short. Baby steps, baby steps!

  24. I have very vauge goals but have a hard time getting specific. My motto is to keep striving to do my best in life and hopefully things will all fall into place as they should!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  25. This is good advice. I always try to set goals but I find it really difficult– I want to push myself but I don’t want to set the bar too high and expect to achieve something that just isn’t realistic. This is a nice outline to have a place to start!
    I LOVE applesauce and pork– yum, yum, yum!

  26. I used to work at an outdoor leadership school and we taught the kids to make “SMART” goals- Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic, and Timely. I try to do this too!

  27. I go through phases with goals, especially workout goals. But definitely having a specific and attainable goals is so important!

  28. gotta love GOAL setting. it keeps my eyes on the prize! (whtaever that may be!!) and I think those applesauce porkchopssound delish! although I do not eat pork, i bet that marinade would be amazing on chicken!

  29. I always have goals. I tend to AIM high though! 😀 I think it’s just in my personality!

  30. I’m a total goal-setter but I think I too often fall into the trap of setting TOO MANY goals and then I feel overwhelmed. 😉

  31. I do MUCH better attaining my goals if I have them listed out clearly. I stay on track with my fitness schedule if I have a specific goal in mind.

  32. Great workout!

    I like the idea of setting goals, but people tend to rain on my parade when I share my (incredibly reasonable) goals. If I don’t write it in my blog, it won’t happen. If I do write it, I’ll get equal amount of doubt and support. I like AIM. 🙂

  33. Fun workout!
    I am pretty good about setting goals, but terrible about following through with them haha.

  34. Holy workout batman! I love it!! Tempting, I might have to try that…

    For goals, you are so right you have to be specific. And for me it’s cold turkey. You really can’t “kind of” meet a goal.

  35. i’m a goal setter for sure. I have goals that I’m willing to share…and ones that I’m not. 🙂 usually the “not” ones are the pie in the sky goals.

Leave a Reply

