Wednesday Wiggles

Happy Wednesday!! So last night I had the wiggles! Does that ever happen to you? I tossed and tossed and turned and turned! Poor Keith…I know he was seriously fed up but he just kept asking if I was okay rather than getting annoyed! (Reason number 4,336 that I love him!) I was annoyed with myself so I can only imagine how he truly felt! Despite my lack of sleep I did manage a bangin’ workout: 6 miles at 7:56/pace followed by 35 minutes on the elliptical. My booty hurts! πŸ™‚

I am now enjoying the heck out of some coffee, egg whites and my strawberry oats before heading to running group. I am trying to get this “funk” out of my system…and we all know how I feel about Wednesday…rolling with it, peeps! πŸ™‚

Keith always tells me that he likes what I cook. But I know there are a few recipes in my arsenal that when he smells it cooking his eyes light up and a slow smile stretches across his lips. Chicken AdoboΒ is one of those recipes that makes Keith putty in my hands! haha! He was one happy man last with this in front of his face! The best part is that the actual recipe itself is a crockpot recipe that a five-year old could make! Now how great is that?!

I don't think that Keith could have piled any more into his bowl! haha!

Here’s an interesting question, would you (or have you) ever taken diet pills? In a world where weight loss and obesity has become a constant issue for millions of people, diet pills are being popped without a second thought. I will fully admit that when I was in college my freshman roommate and I thought it would be cool to take MetabolifeΒ 365. (Does anyone remember that one?!) Neither one of us were by any means remotely overweight but we thought if would help us drop a few pounds and avoid the Freshman 15! Well after one bottle we both gave it up…it was too expensive and we didn’t think it worked. (Probably because we didn’t have any spare fat to lose…but we never saw it that way). So what do you think? Are diet pills okay in some situations? What about ones that are FDA approved like Alli? Or are they just dangerous and money-making scams?

Do you believe in Diet Pills? Have you ever taken any?

Psst…Don’t forget to enter my Our Body Give-A-Way!!! Winners (yes there are 2) announced on Friday!!

46 Responses

  1. I hate tossing and turning! I had one of those nights on Sunday – they usually happen to me on Sundays. So annoying!

    Diet pills are crazy. When I was 17 I took Hydroxycut for one day when it still had ephedrine. I thought I was gonna die!

  2. I hate tossing and turning in bed, it doesn’t happen very often but when it does it’s so annoying.

    Diet pills have always scared the crap out of me.

  3. I know a lot of people who have taken diet pills, but I don’t know anyone that has had long term success with them.

    I’ll stick with exercise and a healthy diet. The pills scare me.

  4. I was tossing and turning all night too!! It was terrible, and I felt so bad for Joey!

    I need to make that recipe! It looks sooo good, and I have been trying to use my crockpot more, because it’s awesome!

    Lastly I have never taken diet pills, but I have taken laxatives (bad idea), but anyways I hate all those pills! Diet pills especially scare me because of all the times they seem to go back years later and say how bad for you they are!. No bueno!

  5. Sorry about the sleepless night! I hate when I spend half the night staring at the ceiling…

    I’ve never taken diet pills. I really don’t think they’d work that well… I feel like they’re just pills that have the placebo effect.

  6. I was tossing and turning so much the last 2 nights, I went to the couch to spare my poor husband. I hurt myself running, making certain positions uncomfortable, and then I’m pregnant, making just about every other position uncomfortable! I think I’m tired enough to pass out tonight!

    I love the chicken recipe. I’m going to try it!

  7. I used to do diet pills. Ephedra was my friends. Now I think it’s messed me up.

    They are a scam I think.

  8. Hey girl, I’m a terrible sleeper and toss and turn all the time. Good job with that running pace!

  9. Those nights are the worse. I think the frustration that comes from all that tossing and turning without sleep just fuels the fire. It’s horrible.

    I never have and never will take diet pills. I think they’re unsave. That said, if I were overweight or obese, I’d probably have another opinion. I could see myself taking them then.

    • Exactly, I have never been overweight or obese so I don’t know how I would feel then…I might see it as more of an option…I don’t know…I don’t plan to find out!:)

  10. Sleepless nights are the worse. But for you to run 6 miles this morning that is awesome girl! I don’t think I have ever tried a dieting pill. For me I believe that healthy eating and daily exercise will get you the results you need.

  11. i believe that diet pills work for a short period of time but they will never deliver lasting results, and the second you STOP taking them it all goes away…and i know this from personal experience. it’s not worth it!

  12. Yes, I took some for about 3 weeks when I dieted for a competition. They made me so jumpy! I would NEVER take them again, they’re pointless!

    Have a great day! πŸ™‚

  13. NEVER EVER have I taken diet pills. I haven’t had the need to, and I would never put something like that in my body. I even hate taking tylenol/advil stuff.

  14. Uhh, yes. Every diet pill known to man. The only ones that really worked on me were the RX ones, think phentermine, etc. But even those I grew a tolerence too. Anywho…that was the old me. Those are a no no these days. Doin it the old fashioned way…hard work and eating right!

  15. I have always wanted to try diet pills, despite knowing they are bad for you and likely don’t work, but I have never worked up the courage. Those ads at the back of Shape/Self always tempt me though!!

  16. I’ve taken them, I tried Metabolife too, I forget what the more recent one was, but I stopped because they really don’t work.

  17. One of my roommates in college and i split a bottle of Ephedra I think (splitting was the poor college student way, I guess πŸ™‚ ) I took it for a week but remember how it made me shake and quite frankly scared me. I also had roommates and friends in college that used laxatives as diet pills. GROSS!

    I don’t like the idea of diet pills. I think they are either dangerous or don’t work. There is no miracle quick fix. I would rather people lose it slowly the right way with diet and exercise.

  18. I hate when I’m a squirmy worm at night (and I know my boyfriend isn’t such a fan either)! I have never tried diet pills, but I know girls who have and their side effects did more than enough to scare me away!

  19. I personally am completely against diet pills or any fad claiming to help lose fat quickly. I do not know enough about them to give ultra sound arguments, but in the end it is a drug and it cannot be healthy on the long term. People need to learn habits not shortcuts πŸ™‚

  20. ill fess up…ive tried one diet pill brand. it gave me a serious anxiety attack for a week. its was pretty bad. since then ive learned my lesson…you dont get to take the easy way out…

    bummer about the wiggles…i have a very mild case of restless leg syndrome and it drives me insane when it keeps me up.

  21. Great run sweets!! And that chicken dish looks so tasty, I would be putty in your hands too. πŸ™‚

    I’ve tried diet pills (back in the day) but I didn’t feel that they worked and they made me super shaky. Never lasted more than a week on them.

  22. eugh, nights like that stink! you still managed a bangin’ run, so it’s all good πŸ™‚ i had to smile at your description of kieth with adobo chicken… we all did that at work yesterday when we walked into a room where bbq was being served! yum…

  23. I am firmly against diet pills. I think if someone wants to lose weight, they need to make lifestyle changes that will stick. Pills, yo-yo diets, fad diets, none of that will work. Ever.

  24. I am so against diet pills! I remember my brother tried them when he was trying to cut weight for wrestling. It made me so upset!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  25. sorry about your sleep! yes, i have taken diet pills-not anymore though. they are junk! i used to take them years ago when they had ephedra in them-loved them but sometimes they wacked me out πŸ™‚

  26. Great job on the workout!
    I have never tried diet pills and never will. Stay far far away, you don’t need those!

    • Oh don’t worry…I will not ever take diet pills!!! Are you kidding…I run too much to have a supressed appetitte!

  27. I am 100% against diet pills. Ive taken just about all of them and let be honest here, they dont work.
    I stopped taking them after I managed to get some pills that had ephedrine in them (totally shady how I even got them but we wont go there) and I couldnt handle them. The last time I took them I was having a nap and woke up to a feeling like currents going through my body and I could not open my eyes. Scariest moment of my life.

  28. I do know many people who have taken diet pills–I never have. I didn’t like what I saw and I don’t think I’d ever want to get wrapped up in that!

  29. I tried died pills but have never taken them. I know it sounds like I didn’t inhale but what I mean is metabolite made my heart race (only tried it once) other appetite suppressors did not work so I just gave up. I wish there was a fix all pill. Let me know when you find it.

  30. I am happy to say that I have never in my life even contemplated taking diet pills. I am too much of a sissy and those things are just scary!

    I’ve been tossing and turning the last few nights. I HATE it!!!

  31. I don’t really believe in diet pills though I did try them when i was younger. I think people are looking for a quick fix, but as anyone whos struggled with their weight knows, they are not the answer!

  32. I have done the same thing…taken one bottle of diet pills because I got sucked into the message during college before I knew better. Then gave them up for the price and them not working. Now I would never even consider them.

    I don’t think any of the diet pills out there are beneficial to the consumer. I don’t even agree that the FDA has an approved one. Sure, it may not have as many side affects as others, but it still isn’t focusing on the biggest issues.

  33. […] Posted on May 5, 2010 by Kelly Thanks for all your great comments on diet pills from this morning. All of your comments were awesome and some of them very personal and I thank you […]

  34. I’ve never taken diet pills nor will I ever. I don’t even like taking tylenol if I don’t really, really need too!

  35. I have never taken diet pills out of fear of what they would do to me but I have known people who have. I think diet pills, and celebrities who endorse them, send out the signal that the pills are an OK way to lose weight, and will leave you with an amazingly toned body! People must know in their head that taking these pills is an unhealthy way to lose weight! Society today looks at losing weight in the wrong light- they want to take the easy way out instead of developing healthy eating and exercise habits.

  36. Nooooo diet pills! Just not a good idea. As far as Alli, I guess its ok. I’m no doctor…

  37. Diet pills…contemplated taking them after my second pregnancy and then finally when he was 18 months the weight finally started to come off…and now I’m back in Austin and running and eating healthier along with my two boys. What’s funny is so many people take the pills, shed the weight and once they stop taking the pills the weight is back and with a vengence. It’s viscous cycle.

    Love your page, it’s my favorite past time at work and the patient census is low.

  38. I once convinced myself that I was taking diet pills. Does that count? I had postpartum depression. Because I was having so much trouble losing the baby weight, my doc chose a depression pill that would also slightly suppress my appetite. I was so in denial about the PPD that I convinced myself I was just taking an appetite suppressant. I stopped taking it like four months ago, and I’m doing great! Girl, imagining YOU on diet pills is crazy! πŸ™‚

    • Haha…what can I say? I was an 18 year old who thought I needed to lose the non existent butt I was carrying around. I just shake my head now and think, “what was I thinking?!?!” πŸ™‚

      I am glad you are doing better too! PPD is scary…one of my best friends went through it and thankfully she is doing a lot better now too!

  39. I am on the fence about pills. It seems like sometimes people use them without also trying to alter their diet and exercise and that doesn’t help them out… but they can be healthy if they go with a healthy life style!

  40. Oh diet pills. I also fell trap to them when I was a freshman in college and they just made me sick. Antsy and sick. I am not a fan of them now. But, I think it’s also easier for me to say that now because I am happy with my weight (or at least not unhappy with it)…

Leave a Reply

