Food and PH Levels

Thanks everyone for all the “get out of my funk” wishes! I don’t know why I am so blah…but I guess we all go through it. I am definitely just going to roll with it and I am sure it will move on! 🙂 Anyway…onto the afternoon post of goodness! Check this out:

A surprising number and variety of physical problems and diseases can be caused by the problem of foods that are acid-producing after digestion. Today the vast majority of the population in industrialized nations suffer from problems caused by the stress of acidosis, because both modern lifestyle and our diet promote acidification of the body’s internal environment. Our current typical Western diet is largely composed of acid-forming foods (proteins, cereals, sugars) and alkaline-producing foods such as vegetables are eaten in much smaller quantities. Stimulants like tobacco, coffee, tea, and alcohol are also extremely acidifying. Stress, and physical activity (both insufficient or excessive amounts) also cause acidification. 

Many foods are alkaline-producing by nature, but manufactured processed foods are mostly acid-producing. It is important to consume at least 60% alkaline-producing foods in our diet, in order to maintain health. We need plenty of fresh fruits and particularly vegetables (alkaline-producing) to balance our necessary protein intake (acid-producing). And we need to avoid processed, sugary or simple-carbohydrate foods, not only because they are acid-producing but also because they raise blood sugar level too quickly; plus they tend to be nutrient-lacking and may be toxic too.
 
Note that a food’s acid or alkaline-forming tendency in the body has nothing to do with the actual pH of the food itself. For example, lemons are very acidic, however the end-products they produce after digestion and assimilation are alkaline so lemons are alkaline-forming in the body. Likewise, meat will test alkaline before digestion but it leaves acidic residue in the body so, like nearly all animal products, meat is classified as acid-forming. So don’t worry about that beloved grapefruit! haha!
 
It is important that your daily dietary intake of food naturally acts to balance your body pH. To maintain health, the diet should consist of at least 60% alkaline forming foods and at most 40% acid forming foods. To restore health, the diet should consist of 80% alkaline forming foods and 20% acid forming foods. See the chart below for a spectrum of foods from High Alkaline to High Acid. Pretty cool huh?

FOOD CATEGORY High Alkaline Alkaline Low Alkaline Low Acid Acid High Acid
BEANS, VEGETABLES, LEGUMES Vegetable Juices, Parsley, Raw Spinach, Broccoli, Celery, Garlic, Barley Grass Carrots, Green Beans, Lima Beans, Beets, Lettuce, Zucchini, Carob Squash, Asparagus, Tomato, Rhubarb, Fresh Corn, Mushrooms, Onions, Cabbage, Peas, Cauliflower, Turnip, Beetroot, Potato, Olives, Soybeans, Tofu Sweet Potato, Cooked Spinach, Kidney Beans Pinto Beans, Navy Beans Pickled Vegetables
FRUIT Dried Figs, Raisins Dates, Blackcurrant, Grapes, Papaya, Kiwi, Berries, Apples, Pears Coconut, Sour Cherries, Oranges, Cherries, Pineapple, Peaches, Avocados, Grapefruit, Mangoes, Strawberries, Papayas, Lemons, Watermelon, Limes Blueberries, Cranberries, Bananas, Plums, Processed Fruit Juices Canned Fruit  
GRAINS, CEREALS         Amaranth, Lentils, Sweetcorn, Wild Rice, Quinoa, Millet, Buckwheat Rye Bread, Whole Grain Bread, Oats, Brown Rice White Rice, White Bread, Pastries, Biscuits, Pasta  
MEAT             Liver, Oysters, Organ Meat Fish, Turkey, Chicken, Lamb Beef, Pork, Veal, Shellfish, Canned Tuna & Sardines
EGGS & DAIRY     Breast Milk Soy Cheese, Soy Milk, Goat Milk, Goat Cheese, Buttermilk, Whey Whole Milk, Butter, Yogurt, Cottage Cheese, Cream, Ice Cream Eggs, Camembert, Hard Cheese Parmasan, Processed Cheese
NUTS & SEEDS     Hazelnuts, Almonds Chestnuts, Brazils, Coconut Pumpkin, Sesame, Sunflower Seeds Pecans, Cashews, Pistachios Peanuts, Walnuts
OILS     Flax Seed Oil, Olive Oil, Canola Oil Corn Oil, Sunflower Oil, Margarine, Lard        
BEVERAGES Herb Teas, Lemon Water Green Tea Ginger Tea Cocoa Wine, Soda/Pop Tea (black), Coffee, Beer, Liquor
SWEETENERS, CONDIMENTS Stevia Maple Syrup, Rice Syrup Raw Honey, Raw Sugar White Sugar, Processed Honey Milk Chocolate, Brown Sugar, Molasses, Jam, Ketchup, Mayonnaise, Mustard, Vinegar Artificial Sweeteners

 

Don’t forget to enter my Our Body Give-A-Way! You have until Friday to get in on this awesome deal!!

22 Responses

  1. I love all the information! This is why I drink apple cidar vinegar. It’s been known to level your PH levels. It’s hard to drink at first but now my water seems bland without it!

  2. I’ve always been really intrigued by the acid/base concept of food. It can get really confusing though since it’s almost counterintuitive- fruits aren’t high acid, and almonds are high alkaline but walnuts are high acid? Ay ay ayyyy! I definitely support the idea that the more processed, the harder on your body. Great info Kelly!!

  3. THank you for all of that info–it’s great to know!

  4. Another great list! Thanks:)

  5. Yay for more charts! This another one I need to save for a quick reference.

  6. Great information!! I really had no idea about this, thanks Kelly! 🙂

  7. This is awesome! As I was reading, I was all, yeah yeah, I eat tons of veggies, but then that last bit about stress and exercise caught my eye. The chart also made me see that a lot of the veggies I eat daily are in the low acid and alkline groups, and I eat a TON of eggs, mustard, peanuts (in butter form) coffee, tea and vinegar (all acid).

    Hmm, off to buy some raw honey and hazelnuts!

  8. Hm, I’m addicted to a lot of acids: vinegar, mustard, pickles. At least I eat them with veggies! This was really interesting, Kelly.

  9. Honestly I didn’t know anything about this before I read this. I had seen the chart before but I didn’t really get it. I guess this is why eating fruits and veges is SO important to staying healthy!

  10. I’ve done lots of research on this since I have acid reflux disease but I didn’t know lemons are alkaline-forming… kind of bizarre!

    I’ve always been kind of interested in the pH levels of things. I did a very long research paper on the pH of blood. This is how much of a dork I am: when I get sick to my stomach I like explaining how hyperventilating releases excess carbon dioxide which decreases the amount of H+ ions, which helps regulate the pH of blood. And then whoever’s listening is like, “Uhm… okay?”

  11. This is an interesting chart! And now I see why almond butter is considered “better for you” than peanut butter 🙂

    Andddd no surprise that coffee is highly acidifying lol. That’s why I stick to veggies 😀

  12. Interesting information!
    Hope your blah feeling goes away! Everyone gets like that sometimes!!! 🙂

  13. This is really interesting. I’ve read a few blogs where it is touched upon, but I never really understood the theory behind it. Interesting that goat cheese is alkaline and blueberries are acidic!

  14. This is why my dad drinks a hot mug of apple cider vinegar every day (gag)! He claims it “keeps him balanced”

  15. Yeah, I’m with Tracey…I have ALOT of vinegars, mustards, etc…all combined!…I wonder if that’s why my tongue has been soooo dried out and , well, gross lately…?

  16. That’s very cool – thanks for the list. Gives me quite a bit to think about!

  17. i am such a big believe in body ph and chemistry…love this post, kelly!

    brendan brazier triathlete who wrote the thrive diet talks extensively in his 1st book about this, if you ever need another book to read, it’s chock full

    great post!

  18. Great post! I read Brendan’s book but I had forgotten so much info ! I love that apples are alkalizing as I would have thought the opposite.

  19. wow
    i didn’t know that black tea and peanut are high acid..
    those two are my favourite…
    thak you kelly for this great info

  20. Very very cool chart! I learned some new things looking at it. The way it is set up is very “user friendly.”

    Thanks for sharing that info!

Leave a Reply

