Thank You

Keith and I officially have the best neighbors! We got really lucky and have a GREAT street. All of our neighbors are friendly, take great care of their homes, and are super generous! Case in point, last week our neighbor from 2 houses down stopped by to bring us fresh lettuce, green onions, spinach and cilantro from his garden. Not only that, he told us to just to help ourselves to his backyard garden whenever we wanted! How great is that! So far we have been loving the totally fresh homegrown produce we have been getting! So to say thank you, I baked! He and his wife have two small boys (4 and 6 years of age) and I thought some cookies were definitely in order! 

I made peanut butter chocolate chip cookies (gluten-free of course…but ssshhh I didn’t tell…sneaky Kelly) and I think I have officially made friends for life with 2 little boys!! 🙂 

PEANUT BUTTER CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES 

  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (this is where I substituted gluten-free flour)
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 2 ½ tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • ¼ cup natural chunky peanut butter
  • ¼ cup + 2 tablespoons packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup chocolate chips (I used about a 1/4 cup of mini chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F; spray two baking sheets with non-stick spray. 

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. In another medium bowl, with an electric mixer on high-speed, cream the butter and peanut butter. Gradually beat in the brown sugar; add the egg and vanilla, beating until fluffy. With the mixer on low-speed, gradually beat in the flour mixture until blended. Stir in peanut butter chips. 

Drop the dough by generous tablespoons onto the baking sheets, forming 12 cookies on each sheet; with back of a fork, lightly press each cookie to flatten in a checkerboard pattern. Bake until lightly browned on the bottom, 12-15 minutes. Cool completely on a rack. 

Yields: 24 cookies (2 cookies per serving) 

CALORIES 180; FAT 8g (5g saturated fat); CHOLESTEROL 24mg; SODIUM 205mg; CARBOHYDRATE 22g; FIBER 1g; PROTEIN 5g 

Would you like one?

 

How do you say “thank you?” 

Oh and check out this article on the 50 Germiest Places in the World. It is really interesting!

49 Responses

  1. this is so cute! i love saying thank-you with food 🙂 cookies and/or brownies are a HUGE fave! also, i thought of you last night…the Magnolia Cafe in Austin was on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. SO GOOD!

  2. Those look delish! And it sounds like a great neighborhood!

  3. hey beautiful!!
    ummm this article just killed me a little…the GERM FREAK side of me is crazzzzy about anti-bacterial! 🙂
    Thanks for enlightening me with the DIRTY! hehe!!
    LOVEEEE you gorgeous girl~!
    xoxo!

  4. Thats so sweet of your neighbors!! Yum those cookies look great. I love the criss cross on top 🙂

  5. Well, I can say THANK YOU for this recipe, for starters!!

    I love sending flowers or baking. Those are my go-to shows of appreciation.

  6. Yes, I would love one, thank you! 😉

  7. How sweet of you to do that.

    The boyf LOVES PB anything too, except I don’t make it. I like peanuts on their own, and not in annnnnnnnnnything else. Yeuch.

    Recipe sounds tasty though – for him. Maybe I’ll surprise him with it some day ahhaa

  8. Oh yum. LOVE peanut butter cookies. That’s so great that you have such fantastic neighbors. We are very lucky and have some awesome neighbors that share our parking pad (their house is behind ours). We swap veggies, even plants for that matter. I try to do things for them like give them a loaf of homemade bread, or a jar of my spaghetti sauce. They’ll sometimes do fun things like bring over homemade mojitos (no premade stuff) if we’re sitting outside.

  9. YUM! My kids will be so happy.

  10. Lucky! I’d love to have a garden, or unlimited access to one.
    These look SO good. I haven’t baked with peanut butter in forever. I should really get on that. 😉 I love saying thanks with food, too. I thank people way too much so it’s nice to make something to show I really mean it. Last year I made loaves of potato-rosemary bread to thank my teachers. It was the first time I ever made bread, and it was hard work, but they loved it!

    I’ll check out the article later. Something tells me the mysophobe in me shouldn’t read an article about germy places right before going to a sweaty gym…

  11. These look great!

  12. That sounds nice.
    Those cookies look like winners!

  13. I just found your site and love your recipes! I have an online store for people with food allergies and intolerances. I try to offer additional resources to them and one is to showcase cookbook authors/bloggers. I will post a recipe with full credits and links back to your website. Also, I put in press releases and social media mentions as well. I would like to share one of your favorites. I look forward to hearing from you.

  14. you’re so sweet and im jealous of the kind of neighborhood you live in. such an ideal place.

  15. Yes please!

  16. How nice of you to make cookies as a thank you gift!! Can you please be our neighbors so we can get yummy gluten free treats, haha!! Our neighbors really keep to themselves… 😦

  17. Awww– I want neighbors like that!!! And I want those cookies, too 🙂

  18. oh these are such a nice way to say thank you! i am sure the kids will love them. what a nice gesture 🙂

  19. There is nothing tastier than home grown produce! Yum! I love neighbors. That reminds me that I should make something for our neighbors!

  20. UMM YES I want one 🙂

    thats so sweet of your neigbor! home grown spices and veggies are the best!!

  21. I love peanut butter cookies! Unfortunately the BF won’t eat baked peanut butter (in anything). 😦 So I rarely make cookies with peanut butter anymore…

  22. Tha’ts an awesome neighbor you have. Aww, baking is what I also do to say thanks…cookies look great.

  23. these look incredible! not much better than peanut butter & chocolate together!

    I love to say ‘thank you’ with a hand written note. We don’t get/send many of those anymore.

    • I totally agree…hand writte notes are the best! I still send out handwritten thank you notes for birthday and holiday presents!

  24. awww your neighborhood sounds awesome!!

    I like to say thank you with a note or food or both! 🙂 Sometimes even a little gift card or a “happy” – cute/cheap item from like Crate & Barrel (like a little apron!).

  25. These look delicious! It has been too long since I have had a homemade cookie!

  26. Aw, that’s so sweet of both you and your neighbor. And I won’t be reading that article–or I’ll never leave my house. 😉

  27. Yum! You’d know I’d have one of those

  28. That’s so nice of your neighbor! Southern hospitality, right? 😀

    Those cookies….

  29. girlfriend, you cant go wrong with those cookies! going to read that article now…… I can only imagine.

  30. Um, I am afraid to look at that list! I definitely bake to say thank you! What nice neighbors you have! Those cookies look delicious! I need to make some cookies for my boys. I have been baking other things they have been requesting, but now they want cookies! Cookies are fun to bake though, so I am on it!

  31. Giving baked goods is definitely my way of saying thank you also! What kind of gluten free flour do you use for these? they look so good!

  32. My thank you is almost always cookies. I have loved making them (and eating the dough) since I was little. You had me at Peanut Butter and Chocolate . . .

    So nice that your neighbors are friendly. Up here we have met maybe one or two of them once. 😦

  33. That is so nice of your neighbors! I am jealous 🙂

    And cookies make everyone happy!

  34. Sounds like you have graet neighbours, so nice. Cookies look yummy and I haven’t hade peanut butter anything in years and PB is my fave but my daughter is allergic to peanuts so we stay far far away from it!

  35. Giving thanks is food for the soul.
    DEFINITELY MAKING THOSE COOKIES STAT!!! I just made carrot muffins and have been eating those in unGodly amounts…when I’m not even hungry – just knowing the darned things are there…gah….I can’t win!

    I want your neighbors…or you as a neighbor please 🙂

  36. I think you just said “Thank You” to me by posting this recipe!!

  37. I haven’t baked in sooo long 😦 I can’t wait until I have a kitchen of my own so I can bake anything I want!!! I love cooking and eating , so whenever I want to thank someone I either cook for them or treat them to a meal out. Either way I get to eat, haha!!

  38. Peanut butter and chocolate cookies are my absolute favorite! I am a “thank-you-baker” as well–everybody loves something fresh from the oven! 🙂

  39. I grew up with a giant Emily Post book so a thank you note is a must, and I love to include some baked goods or I usually bring my employees coffee after a hard day!

  40. Oh, how nice of them and you! I want to live on your street too!! I love cilnatro too 🙂

  41. Oh I love baking to say thank you! I always try to include a hand-written note, too. It’s so simple and personal…reminds me of the good ol’ days! Your cookies look delish! Sounds like a great neighborhood!

  42. Oh I would love to have a street like that! No one here talks to anyone except the moms only talk to the other moms. I’ve lived here for 4 years now and still only know the people on either side of me. One of which doesn’t even remember my name. It’s a nice ‘hood but no interaction at all which sort of bums me out.

Leave a Reply

