Team For Kids

Hey guys! So I have exciting news! I am been talking with New York Road Runner (NYRR) Team For Kids and I am going to get the AMAZING opportunity for them during the NYC Marathon this November. I qualified for the NYC Marathon back in January and was then shocked to receive a call from this organization asking me to help spread their mission for youth programs across the country! They agreed to let me be a part of their amazing mission even though I did not need charity entry into the marathon!

NYRR Team For Kids provides free or low-cost school and community-center based health and fitness programs to children who would most likely otherwise have no access to regular physical activity. Their programs currently serve nearly 100,000 children each week in more than 400 schools and community centers in New York City, nationally, and in the Cape Town region of South Africa. Does this sound like an organization that I would LOVE to be a part of, or what?! It is a perfect fit!

Over the coming months, I am going to be blogging about this amazing organization and once I get into marathon training mode (late August) I will blog my training workouts that I will be getting from online coaching from Team For Kids.

Today I urge you to go and check out their website and see what amazing things they are doing around the world to help keep kids active! Or check out this videoΒ  http://blip.tv/play/gfkr059YAg to watch Team For Kids in ACTION!! This is a cause that is so near and dear to my heart and I know all you awesome readers will support me and Team For Kids!

37 Responses

  1. How exciting Kelly!!!! Congrats! What a wonderful program to be a part of!

  2. That is awesome news Kelly! I’m looking forward to reading about your training. πŸ™‚

  3. What an amazing opportunity! It definitely sounds like the perfect fit for you. And I can’t wait to hear more about it. πŸ™‚

  4. That’s awesome! Congrats!

    I really do love how passionate you are about the cause- I look up to you for that!

  5. How awesome, congrats Kelly!

  6. I’m so proud of you!! How exciting, congratulations Kelly!!!!!!!! πŸ™‚

  7. This is a great organization! I’m a NYRR Member and on the NYRR Young Professionals Committee that raises money and awareness for the same youth programs that Team For Kids supports! I’ve heard from runners who have run with TFK that it’s a great support group and they would only run the marathon with TFK!
    Have fun! Can’t wait to hear about your journey with them over the next few months!

  8. Congratulations on such an awesome opportunity!! I’ll keep an eye out for you here in NYC πŸ˜‰

  9. what a cool project! congratulations! i am excited to read more.

  10. how exciting! that looks like such a cool organization to get involved with πŸ™‚

    • I think so! I am beyond excited because this is totally something that I believe in and I am glad to get an opportunity to help first hand!!

  11. That seems like an amazing opportunity for an amazing organization. Congrats! You will do great!

  12. That is awesome! Can’t wait to read more πŸ™‚ You are going to ROCK that marathon!!!

  13. Wow that’s such an amazing opportunity! I am going over to their website to see if there is any way I can get involved since I live in NYC! thanks for blogging about this!

  14. Wow, what a great organization! I was involved in Girls on the Run in Washington, DC and was amazed by the impact physical education had on kids’ self-esteem. And the fact that NYRR targets children in underprivileged neighborhoods makes the mission that much better. πŸ™‚

    Is there anything we can do to support you in this cause? I don’t like anywhere New York, but would love to help! I look forward to hearing about the work you’ll be doing with them!

    • I LOVE this organization too!! I think that the emphasis is on underprivileged areas is awesome too! I don’t live in NYC either…I am actually in Austin, Texas which is why I was so thrilled when they contacted me!!!

      As for helping out…that is awesome! There isn’t really a way to support me directly…except for good marathon vibes (haha) but if you go to the Team For Kids website there is lots of information for donating and things to do! Awesome! Awesome!! Thanks so much for be willing to be a part of this!

  15. That’s really cool Kelly! Once I’m settled in a new city/job I want to get involved with some cool running/kids organizations. I’ve been looking into Girls on the Run but always great to hear about awesome programs out there.

  16. What a fabulous opportunity, Kelly! It’s my dream to combine my passion for teaching kids with my passion for running…can’t wait to hear more!

  17. I am SO HAPPY for you! What a fantastic opportunity, girl! So, so proud of you! You are a rock star, as always. Can’t wait to read more about this!

  18. Wow, congrats Kelly! This is perfect for you! I love that they work in areas where the kids usually can’t get physical activity.

  19. holy! i’m so happy for you!!!!!! congrats my dear, you so deserve this.

  20. I am so proud of you. Just for Qualifying first of all…and now to be part of such a great organization. It is so nice to see you really loving life. It inspires me for hope one day. Keep doing what your doing!

  21. Hi Kelly! I finally have my blog back up and running (runningphoodie.wordpress.com). Please go check it out- I appreciate you commenting in the past. Also, I am doing a giveaway that ends tomorrow and only have a couple of people entered, so give it a shot πŸ™‚

  22. What a great group, and what a great fit for you! I am so excited to read everything you’ll be posting! Also, congrats on qualifying for the NYC marathon. πŸ™‚

  23. this is so awesome, kelly, way to go! so proud of you!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. You are so amazing!! What a wonderful honor for you and how lucky they are to have you. πŸ˜€

  25. Kelly, I think this is such a great fit for you! I can’t wait to read your posts about the training and the organization!

  26. What a crazy cool opportunity Kelly! I can’t wait to read all about it!

  27. You’re such a doll with such a big heart πŸ™‚ Congrats on qualifying, that is such huge news!!

  28. Kelly you are a miracle! I’m so proud of you and in awe of your passion!! I can’t wait to read more about this fantastic opportunity- you are the most perfect person for it!! Have a lovely Tuesday, darling!

  29. Congrats Kelly! That is amazing, you will be a wonderful ambassador for that group!

  30. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Team For Kids, Karlyn Mequiston. Karlyn Mequiston said: Team For Kids Β« HEALTHY LIVING WITH KELLY: I am been talking with New York Road Runner (NYRR) Team For Kids and I … http://bit.ly/aK80g5 […]

  31. Welcome to Team for Kids, Kelly! We are thrilled to have you join us for the 2010 ING New York City Marathon.

    Just a reminder to check us out on Facebook: http://tinyurl.com/399mkyw and follow us on Twitter: http://twitter.com/TeamforKids.

    Thank you, everyone, for your positive comments! We look forward to keeping in touch.

Leave a Reply

