Just Another Manic Monday!

Happy Monday! My favorite day of the week! YES! I honestly crave and look forward to Mondays…not sure why but I do. I used to be a Monday hater back in the day but over the years I have definitely changed and now I think I can honestly say that Mondays take the cake in my book!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Workout: 11 miles…hollar for me! I ran pretty even splits averaging about 8:16 pace. NICE! I have my beginningย running group in a few hours that usually acts as my cool down run of about 3 miles. Happy Runs = Happy Legs = Happy Kelly!

HOORAY FOR MONDAYS (and good runs!!)

So dinner last night was awesome (if I do say so myself) and it was EASY! Now who doesn’t love that? I took frozen chicken breasts and shoved them in the crockpot with a large jar of salsa, a can of black beans and a can of corn. Let it cook all day and then it shreds beautifully for tacos! Sweet! Towards the end of the day I wasn’t craving chicken so Iย sauteed a few shrimp and had shrimp tacos but I got all the yummy salsa/bean/corn mixture from the crockpot and some fresh cilantro…so good! Keith LOVES chicken and he made quite a dent and now there are only a few tacos left! haha! Check out of mine and Keith’s plates:

My Shrimp Tacos..wow I obviously love onions!

Keith's Tacos!

Moving on: Whole Foods, I love you! Aside from the obvious reasons to love Whole Foods I have another one for you!!! Yay! Whole Foods is introducing a new campaign called “Celebrating Your Choices” that is going to be a series of shopping lists and information for those people on special diets! According to Whole Foods, “[they] believe that food should bring pleasure along with good health, and these guides are intended as a resource to help everyone experience as many healthy, natural food choices as possible.” Now how cool is that?!?ย  The special needs lists so far include: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Low Fat, Low Sodium, Soy, Sugar Conscious,Vegetarian, and Wheat-free. To find some of these special needs grocery lists alongย with recipes, links, tips and more go here!

And lastly, for those of you who didn’t read blogs this weekend (good for you) here’s what you missed:

Why do you think Mondays get such a bad rap?

59 Responses

  1. How did you become a Monday lover?! I wish I loved them! I used to, but now…not so much!

  2. Ahhh, so jealous of that beautiful morning sun in the background of your pic!! Have a great Monday, girl!!

    • Oh my gosh the weather could not be prettier here right now! I am trying to enjoy it because I know the hot and humid 100+ weather is well on it’s way!!

  3. I need some of your Monday enthusiasm!!

  4. Tacos sound like a great idea. Chicken or shrimp would be nice choices with everything else for the assembly.

  5. Girl you’re just too darn happy for Monday LOL ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good for you though. That’s how we should all be starting off the week. I think they get a bad rap b/c it means the weekend is over and it’s back to the daily grind for most people. Time to get up early again, head to the office. I’m sorry, but I’d prefer an extra hour of sleep, no office, getting in my workouts when I was ready, just being more leisurely.

  6. I wish I could love Mondays. I think a big reason why I don’t is that I don’t really like my job.

  7. I think they’re dreaded because you can no longer sleep in… And it’s right after the “day of rest” – Mondays can be pretty blah sometimes!

  8. Youre gorgeous ๐Ÿ™‚ Happy Monday! I wish I lived near you so I could be in your beginner runners group!

    • Oh thanks! I feel like I look very messy in that picture but that is how I roll almost everyday! ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish you lived here too…it would be so fun to have you in my running group. We have so much fun. We just chatter the whole time and I try really hard to take their mind off the fact that they are running! hahah!

  9. I love tacos. I bought everything to make tacos on Friday and then The Man felt sick so we scrapped the idea. They’re on my menu for this week, though.

    Here’s why I hate Monday: Early wakeup after a weekend of sleeping past 6, plus work for 11 hours a day, five days in a row. Saturday on the other hand…

  10. Ugh I wish I could be like you – I am a total Monday hater!! I think it’s because I know that there’s going to be so much work at work and anything I avoided the previous week will be right there waiting for me.

  11. Love the fact that you LOVE Mondays. I don’t mind them as it gets me back into more of my routine than the weekends do, but if I have a bad day, then I blame it on it being a Monday haha!
    Love what Whole Foods is doing too! That is awesome!

  12. I don’t LOVE Mondays but I do like them. I think for me I hated Mondays when I worked, but now that I stay at home every day is pretty much the same lol

    Have a great day Kelly!

  13. I don’t love Mondays, they’re okay. I don’t like Tuesdays for some reason. Have a great week!

  14. Great run! I love that you post pics of yourself from time to time. You are so pretty!

    Those tacos look great!!

    I love Mondays, too.

  15. Can you run some of your Monday love off on me? Please?! And 11 miles?! Awesome job!

  16. 11 miles is AWESOME girl!! I am always happy with my 3 ๐Ÿ™‚ hehehe! Congrats!

  17. Mondays are sucky because you have the WHOLE work week ahead of you, lol!!

    Your supper reminds me, sorta what I’m having for din-din tonight! Quesadillas. ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. girl, i LOVE onions…so much flavah ๐Ÿ˜‰

    and i guess i was oblivious to the comment issue on Peanut Butter Fingers yesterday, but i really appreciate that you were so classy in your response to it ๐Ÿ™‚ that why i love ya!

  19. Hey gorgeous Run-Bud!!
    OHHHH MY GOSH!!! I HAVE BEEN WORKING ON HELPING CREATE some of the “special diet” SHOPPING LISTS at my WHOLE FOODS!!! YEAAAHHHH, so excited to see you post this! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I loveeee reading your monday happiness, it always jumps starts me and reminds me to be HAPPY too! HECK YES for RunGroup, have fun on those 3-miles…when’s the last time you ran only 3? you are going to feel like you blink and they are over!
    LOVEEE U chica!
    ~xoxo!

  20. Monday, Monday….work day. Remember that you are one of the lucky few who LOVE what they do (which is awesome!!!) Plus Monday you get to run again = Happy Kelly!

  21. I started Monday off with a bang myself and felt really good about it! I think it is going to be a GREAT week! My guys would like those chicken tacos and they always love shrimp tacos! YUMMY! Great job on the run!!!

  22. Great job on 11 miles!!

    Mondays are sometimes good and sometimes bad. I play so hard on the weekends I usually need one more day to unwind and relax! ๐Ÿ™‚

  23. I love that chicken idea. Seriously, whoever invented the crock pot was a freaking genious!

    I think Mondays suck because they mean you have to go back to work. Id rather get paid to stay home.

  24. I’ve never really minded Mondays. I think Tuesday is the big letdown day of the week! Mondays are fun because you get to check in with your coworkers, get back into the groove, but Tuesdays are so far away from the weekend and you usually have a whole pile of stuff to do…

  25. Great minds think alike – Monday blog titles! Whole foods guides, such a great idea!

  26. Taco’s are my favorite! What kind of shells/tortillas do you use?

    • The corn tortillas are just the store brand and the hardshells are blue corn organic ones by Garten of Eatin…both are gluten-free! ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. oooh those tacos look awesome!

    Nice job on the great run – woo!

    i’m having a bit of a crap Monday, going to go try to exercise myself out of my funk during lunch!

  28. You typically seem to run in the mornings – what time do you wake up?

    • I HAVE to run first thing in the morning! It sets the whole tone for my day. My husband I both wake up every morning between 4:30 and 5:00…we are 5:00-5:30am workout people. It sounds early but we have done this for going on 2 years now so it is just normal for us! haha!

  29. Mondays are no fun because the weekend is so far away!! I just love being totally free to do what I want, and the weekends are perfect for that :).

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  30. I love the idea of adding canned beans, corn and salsa to the crock pot! I will definitely be trying that ๐Ÿ™‚

    NICE run today!

  31. Tacos look great. Hope you have a wonderful week! Cheers!

  32. That’s so cool about Whole Foods!
    And I have to say, both types of tacos sound absolutely fabulous!!! Cilantro absolutely MAKES a taco!

  33. mondays get a bad rap in my book because it is back to the grind for me….but i love them when i don’t have to work ๐Ÿ™‚

  34. I think Mondays get a bad rap because many people don’t enjoy their work and Monday is when they have to go back to it. I don’t hate Mondays anymore because I don’t have to dread going to work. And hopefully when I do go back to working it will be something I am passionate about and don’t dread doing.

    And that is really great about Whole Foods. I love when people make healthy living more approachable.

  35. yum that crock pot sounds so easy and simple to make!! i love it!

    nice job on those 11 miles! you are a rockstar, girl!

    have a wonderful day

    oh and yeah, I hate mondays ๐Ÿ™‚ probably ebcause the whole ‘work’ thing

  36. That crockpot chicken sounds SO easy!! I’m definitely going to make it this week. Definitely.

    I DREAD Modays on Sunday, but once I’m at work, it’s never so bad. In face, Sundays are my least favorite day just because of the Monday anticipation. Hah.

  37. Yay for the great 11 miler!
    I actually kinda like Mondays too because always try to start the week of well.
    I never would have thought to try the lean pockets, but that one actually looks really good hehe.

  38. Interesting article for you about “Meatless Mondays”

    http://www.cnn.com/2010/LIVING/homestyle/04/26/meatless.mondays.green.healthy/index.html

    My favorite part:
    When Baltimore City Public Schools adopted Meatless Mondays last year as a way to cut costs, conservative commentator Glenn Beck deemed it an indoctrination of children to vegetarianism and veganism and decried it as an over-extension of governmental control.

    SERIOUSLY!?!?! What a crock!

  39. ROCKing Runner – holy smokes. That inititative sounds interesting!
    Can you hook me up with a job…uh, for real? ;)…
    You look too cute Kell…and 3 more miles after!…(shakes head here)

  40. WTG on that run ! Wow.

  41. Happy Monday!

    I ran 11 miles today as well ๐Ÿ™‚

  42. damn girl! Go you. 11 mile is impressive : )

    I’m like- I walked to walk 14 blocks and 2 avenues to get to work and I’m impressed with myself! haha

  43. Mondays get a bad rap in my house because Daddy has to go back to “stinky work,” as my girls like to call it! Great Run–as usual..woo hoo!

  44. Only you would like Mondays, Kelly. Gosh darn, I do love your positivity! I like Mondays better than Sundays. I always find it hard to shake the Sunday blues, but those tacos just might be the cure I need ๐Ÿ™‚ Yummm.

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  45. Great job on the 11 miler! You’re speedy!!! (and the best part is you get to eat lots to make up for all the calories burned!!) <— my favorite part! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I'm happy to hear about WF having that new campaign! FINALLY!

  46. NICE run this morning!!!

    Also- how did you change your thinking about Mondays?? I would love to know how to think more positively about Mondays, than just knowing I’m going back to work..

  47. I wish I could love Mondays but just cant. The peeps at work even know not to bother me before 2P because thats when I mentally wake up

  48. You look gorgeous girl. You have a really pretty smile ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love onions too! Especially caramelized ones.

    I think Mondays get a bad rap because people don’t want to go to work/school. Let the weekend continue please!!

  49. Mondays are nice only if you like your job…and sometimes, I dread going back to work. Ok, a lot of times.

Leave a Reply

