Give Me An F…

For FRIDAY!!! Woot! We made it guys! [Inset a loud WOO HOO!] I had a fantastic run today…after yesterday’s speedy run I needed to chill today. I ran 7 miles (using even splits) holding 8:30/pace. It felt nice and I actually got so zoned out and just allowed my mind to wander. I didn’t really focus on form or my body but more just on enjoying the run! It was nice. Now I am caffenating myself and getting ready to tackle the day!

Side note: I get emails asking about how much coffee I drink everyday! haha! I am actually not nearly as addicted as I think I portray. I drink extremely weak coffee…about 1/4 scoop per cup and I normally brew about 4-5 cups every morning and usually drink 2. Keith does joke that really I am just drinking coffee flavored water! 🙂

Dinner last night was flipping awesome!! Again, another recipe ala my cookbook…Honey Orange Chicken (page 39)! This is so good guys…it would seriously give Pei Wei a run for its money.

HONEY ORANGE CHICKEN

  • 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts or thighs
  • 1 Tbsp. grapeseed oil
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 3 Tbsp. honey
  • 4 Tbsp.orange juice concentrate
  • 1 orange, peeled and segmented
  • 2 Tbsp. soy sauce (I use wheat-free tamari)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Place chicken in a baking dish; set aside.

Heat oil in a small skillet and saute garlic and onions until soft but not browned, about 2 minutes. Add honey, orange juice, orange segments, and soy sauce, stirring evenly until honey is completely dissolved.

Pour sauce over chicken. Bake, uncovered, for 45 minutes, basting once or twice, until chicken is cooked through. Serve over 1/2 cup brown rice and steamed broccoli, then drizzle extra sauce on top! Makes 4 servings.

Calories 211.8; Fat 4.0g (0.3g saturated fat); 55mg Cholesterol; 681.1mg Sodium; 20.8g Carbohydrate; 1.2g Fiber; 13.1g Sugar; 24.2g Protein (nutritional information does not include rice and broccoli)

Right out of the oven

Homemade Chinese Food!!! YUM!

Last night Keith and I stayed up way too late watching the first round of the NFL draft. I was amazed at watching these kids (yes kids) being drafted for millions of dollars to play a professional sport. I must admit, part of me was a tad jealous! I would LOVE to be a professional athlete and get paid to play a sport that I was good at…how cool!! So that got me thinking, if I could be a professional athlete which sport would I pick? (oh…and I made myself exclude running because that would be too obvious) I didn’t have to think long before deciding that I would love to play on the AVP Tour (AVP = association of volleyball professionals). Keith and I love to watch the AVP tour and we have even been live when they came to Austin. Those players are off the hook amazing! I debated a half second between that and tennis because I just know me and Venus Williams would be great friends! haha!

If you could be a professional athlete, which sport would you chose?

50 Responses

  1. That chicken sounds so delish! I have never made orange chicken but i think it is a dish my hubby would die for!

  2. Wow that chicken looks amazing, I may be trying that recipe out. I would want to be a gymnast. I used to do competitive gymnastics before I got too tall, and I would love to go back to it!

  3. I think I’d chose basketball. I love running, but there’s something to be said about having a whole team of people working with you…

  4. Of all the professions I daydream about making a gazillion dollars doing, I never think about getting paid to do sports. I can’t think of any sport I’d want to play–even for millions.

  5. Oh your chicken dinner looks so yummy! I’m not a fan of sports really, I think these athletes (hockey, baseball, basketball, etc) get paid way too much, a bit excessive if you ask me. I would love to compete in gymnastics….very stressful but what a talent!

    • I know I complain about how much professional athletes get paid too but then I am the hypocrit who watches all the games, buys tickets and follows ESPN like a religion…

  6. Yay for Friday and yay for fantastic runs!!!

    I always wanted to be a gymnast growing up, probably because I was so tall and awkward, lol. 🙂

  7. Well, pretending that I could actually do other sports well…;)…I’d say Tennis…there are some hot guys involved there 😉

  8. Saving this recipe to make this upcoming week. Thanks!!! 😀

  9. That chicken looks SO good! I’d love to be any athlete in the olympics. I just love the olympics!

  10. i just wish i could do more than walk — literally.

    nice dish!

  11. Love using OJ with soy sauce for a marinade. Miso paste adds another nice layer of flavor too. I’d be a professional dance (ballet not pole).

  12. I would love to be a professional figure skater!!

  13. my roommate JUST maade something so similar to this dish! yum it sound sso good!!

    I would LOVE to be a professional anything! to be that talented…ill take anything I can!!

  14. I would love to be a professional singer or dancer. And the chicken looks great, will have to pass this recipe on!

  15. i’d do beach volleyball or golf…one of my best friends plays on the tour and it’s such a cool camaraderie there!

  16. Love the chicken recipe! Nice job on the run – is it nice enough to run outside now? I can’t wait to get back outside running. I’m convinced coffee is just fine, in moderation of course. 2 cups a day is nothing compared to many people and I don’t consider 2 cups a lot at all. The more antioxidents, the better!

    • It isdefinitely outdoor running temperature here in Texas! I need to enjoy it while I can beause by next month at this time it will easily be 90 degrees by 9:00am! Blech!

  17. I’d take whatever I could get! I think I’d like to be a professional swimmer. Or triathlete 😉

  18. I need to try that chicken! I’ve recently developed a love for chinese food. I would have to say professional volleyball! I miss playing organized volleyball so much! But if it was my JOB, would I like it as much? I’m not so sure…

    • That is definitely a valid point…I am not sure if running would be as fun for me as it is now if I HAD to do it everyday as a job…but then again I think if millions of dollars were on the table (haha) I would make myself like it! 😉

  19. Mmm, chicken looks Yum-my! Hmm…good question. I’d probably say I’d be a professional swimmer. I swam very competitively when I was younger, and I just loved the way it made me feel. It’s such an INTENSE sport, but a great full-body workout. Not to mention all the guy swimmers had rock-hard bodies. Practice was always fun 🙂

    http://www.firednfabulous.blogspot.com/

  20. Dinner looks delicious! I am not sure what kind of athlete I would be. I am not really athletic…I just like to workout.

  21. As always, chicken dish looks delish! I think I’d be a tennis player or an iceskater. Those are the only two other sports I even slightly enjoyed and excelled besides running.

  22. Great run chica!!!! Too bad we aren’t running budies, we are the exact same pace!!!

    Chicken looks delish!!! I’d be a gymnast of figure skater 🙂

  23. Even though I think being a professional athlete would be amazing, my secret dream job is to be the token female sportscaster during NFL games who always stands on the sidelines, wears a sassy hat, and rarely gives any news that is relevant to the game.

  24. Oh man that chicken looks awesome.

    If I could play a professional sport it would have to be Soccer. Grew up watching it and it looks so fun and quite the work out.

  25. bookmarking the recipe! Thanks doll!

    I’d probably wanna play football. Basketball and baseball both have tons of games!

  26. I would choose soccer. I don’t play soccer, but if I could choose any sport and was miraculously good at it, it’d be soccer.

    I can vouch for the orange chicken. It’s awesome!

  27. It’s funny…the answer to that question has changed over the years – Tennis, ice hockey, golf, scuba diver (are there professional scuba divers??), triathlete….I wonder what I’ll say in 10 years???

  28. i would definitely pick tennis. i ❤ the cute outfits. 😉

  29. I’ve been making almost the same dish for years, always a hit! I use the sauce to cook up couscous for a side dish.

    I’d be a competitive rower, I am but I would love to be able to devote all my time to training instead of having to have a pesky job to afford to pursue my passion

  30. Hey beautiful!
    I have a coffee addiction and I like mine strong! 🙂 hehe! no shame!
    when I grow up I wanna be LANCE ARMSTRONG!!…no no seriously he is the ultimate athlete! I would LOVE to be able to RIDE in the Tour De France and RUN the NYC marathon in under 3-hrs~! holler! Or maybe be a professional triathlete for LUNA BAR!
    have a great friday my gorgeous sisssta!
    ~xoxo!

  31. If I were a guy i’d want to play professional Hockey or Lacrosse but since I’m a girl…soccer all the way! 🙂

  32. I love that recipe, we had it last week in fact! Hmmm, to be a pro-athlete what would I be? Either Tennis (which I don’t play and pretty much suck at) or a Pro-Cyclist. That would be awesome. One of these days T and I are going to go to France during the tour and watch and ride. It’s going to be awesome.

  33. I’d pick tennis. Love that sport!

    – Beth @ http://www.DiningAndDishing.com

  34. That’s a fun question. Can I cheat and say a triathlon athlete? 🙂

  35. cycling for sure! happy friday 🙂 super funny about the coffee!

  36. That chicken looks so good!!

    Im not much of an athlete. Of course, my dad would argue that Im naturally good at everything, but refuse to do it. I think he just tries to see the best in me because Im his kid. lol
    However, I do LOVE tennis. Im not good at it (I get distracted by things like birds flying by) but I love it, so I pick tennis.

  37. I would be an equestrian, I love the sense of freedom that I get when riding. Glad you had a nice run today and happy Friday to ya!

  38. SO SO DELICIOUS!! I can’t wait to make this for Daniel- he would fall in love with this dish!

    I guess I would be a pro swimmer!

    Have a lovely day tomorrow my love!

  39. That chicken looks great! I was watching over some of the picks and some of those guys look like babies, they are so young!!

  40. I would be a swimmer! I get tired after about 2 minutes of being in the water 🙂

  41. This looks amazing! I need to try it asap! I would be an Olympic swimmer of course 🙂

  42. When I was a little girl, I wanted to be the first female in the MLB.

    Or I would want to be a swimmer – it’s not as hard on your joints and you can have a longer career than most sports.

  43. so hungry …:)

  44. I NEED to try that chicken recipe out. I’m adding it to my blogger recipe tab right now. Love your blog too!

Leave a Reply

